Stats: 3,153,748 members, 7,820,584 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 05:35 PM

Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi - Sports (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi (28639 Views)

No African Country Voted For Osimhen For Balon D'or (Photo) / Ferdinand And Crouch Warn - Another Lionel Messi Ballon D'or Would Be "Travesty" / Benin Gets To The Quarter Finals Of AFCON2019 Without Winning A Single Match (2) (3) (4)

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by joshuaidibia(m): 9:42pm On Nov 03, 2021
MangekyoAlt:

Of course lewandoski stands a very good chance. Even when I'm a messi fan, I see him edging messi

THE ONLY WAY messi can win it this year is if lewandoski is given 2020's Ballon d'or.
I doubt if Fifa would give him 2 Ballon d'ors.

What's the difference giving him two D'ors when Messi won 3 in a row?
Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by HonestFriend: 9:42pm On Nov 03, 2021
DoggoneDogg:
What has he done since this season started? 0 goals, 0 assists.
So he wants to win Balon D'Or with a half season performance where he wasn't even the best??

Deluded dwarf
Wetin concern this season and last season, abi u no read am?
Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by MangekyoAlt: 9:49pm On Nov 03, 2021
joshuaidibia:

What's the difference giving him two D'ors when Messi won 3 in a row?

It wouldnt feel right giving him the 2 in one night, especially since it's clearly messi deserves it as much as him. It should be shared with both of em.
Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by joshuaidibia(m): 9:53pm On Nov 03, 2021
MangekyoAlt:

It wouldnt feel right giving him the 2 in one night, especially since it's clearly messi deserves it as much as him. It should be shared with both of em.

Doesn't feel right have nothing to do with giving it to someone if they really deserves it. Did it feel right when they gave it to Messi during the 2010 D'or? I understand your angle as a Messi fan. I wish the best player wins.
Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by Chochovini: 10:01pm On Nov 03, 2021
DoggoneDogg:
So he wants to win Balon D'Or with a half season performance where he wasn't even the best??

Deluded dwarf
. Don‘t mind that diminutive dwaf. Even the so claimed 6th balon was actually robbed. He doesn‘t really deserved it. Ronaldo does.
Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by MangekyoAlt: 10:07pm On Nov 03, 2021
joshuaidibia:

Doesn't feel right have nothing to do with giving it to someone if they really deserves it. Did it feel right when they gave it to Messi during the 2010 D'or? I understand your angle as a Messi fan. I wish the best player wins.

First of, are you a Ronaldo fan?
Man Im not saying it should be shared amongst both just because im a messi fan if that's what you're thinking.

What I'm saying is Messi had a very fantastic season and he won all the individual awards in almost all the competitions he played in, plus winning major trophies.

Just because I say Lewi does have a little edge doesn't mean I'm also saying messi doesn't deserve it at all.

On what basis does lewandoski deserve it more than Messi ifi may ask? Your answer would probably be "He ScOrEd MoRe GoAlS" forgetting that Lewandowski is the man striker in a very good bayern team dominating the German league compared to messi who is nowhere near being the striker in his very poor team.

The fact that messi while playing as an AM/WG had almost as much goals with a main striker should speak volumes. Messi's main objective is to assist, and then maybe score if he has the chance.

The fact that he has more goals+assists combined than lewandoski plus 2 major trophies should tip the odds to his favor.

That said, if they were going to give out just a balon dor then I would 100% want lewi to win it but since it's 2, one should be given to him and the other to messi since he deserves it just as him.

Also, referencing the 2010 Ballon d'or, I can't say messi 100% deserved it. But that's why I asked you if you were a Ronaldo fan.
Ronaldo didn't deserve the one he won in 2013 too. Ribery 100% deserved it.

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by CSTR2: 10:11pm On Nov 03, 2021
donforeign:

He over deserve am
What did he do last season that others did not do, even more than that?

If not for Copa America, we won't be hearing this bullshitt.
Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by donforeign: 10:32pm On Nov 03, 2021
CSTR2:

What did he do last season that others did not do, even more than that?

If not for Copa America, we won't be hearing this bullshitt.

oga quiet e....
compare all player stats , u tink ballon d or na team award, na individual stats

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by donforeign: 10:33pm On Nov 03, 2021
NORSIYK:

No, your father is

since u no kuku get papa, i understnd d feeling
Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by MT: 10:33pm On Nov 03, 2021
ddippset:
1.Won the Spanish league Golden boot for top scorer.
2. Won the Spanish FA cup or Copa Del Rey.
3. Registered 38 Goals and 12 Assists across the season.
4. Won Copa America.
5. Won the Golden ball for best payer at Copa America.
6. Won the Golden boot for highest scorer at Copa America.

Above is Messi's credentials for ballon dor.

I am still waitng for all these meatheads and bubblegum lips people who say he doesn't deserve it to show us better credentials for this year's award.

Enough said!

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by Omonigeriarere: 10:42pm On Nov 03, 2021
chris259:
E non go make sense if this midget win the balon dor.. if doesn't deserve it lewandoski, and benzema are better options

The award is not the best goal scorer award. It is meant for best player.

Get this drilled into your head.

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by Murphyenemuwe: 10:42pm On Nov 03, 2021
You're the deluded one here. Copa america suddenly becomes a major tournament that influences who balloon dor winner is because messi won it this year. You're not wise brother
MangekyoAlt:

What has he done this season?
Please don't be deluded.

He won 2 major trophies, both on club and country.
He won the best player in laliga, as well as the golden boot.
Won the best player in Copa America as well as winning the highest goalscorer award, and assists too.
These are the things that are relevant.

The fact that he's had a slow start in paris doesn't change anything. The 5 matches he's failed to score aren't even important. He's scored on more important matches in the UCL.

Meanwhile, Cr7 is currently in better form than messi. But it is safe to say he would be nowhere near messi in that list. I even doubt if he'll be among the top 5s.

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by Omonigeriarere: 10:47pm On Nov 03, 2021
gemanob:
2010 Balon D'or belong to Sneijder but he was robbed and they give Messi

2yrs Ago, CR7 was robbed and it was given to Modric

Messi probably will win it but I pray they give it to someone else

And Messi had more goals in 2017,2018 when Ronaldo and Modric won it

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by 02Kebreal(m): 10:52pm On Nov 03, 2021
DoggoneDogg:

Deluded dwarf

Its obvious you don't even know what this award is all about.
It's about performance for the last season Sir.
Not this season

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by Yusman316(m): 10:53pm On Nov 03, 2021
ddippset:
1.Won the Spanish league Golden boot for top scorer.
2. Won the Spanish FA cup or Copa Del Rey.
3. Registered 38 Goals and 12 Assists across the season.
4. Won Copa America.
5. Won the Golden ball for best payer at Copa America.
6. Won the Golden boot for highest scorer at Copa America.

Above is Messi's credentials for ballon dor.

I am still waitng for all these meatheads and bubblegum lips people who say he doesn't deserve it to show us better credentials for this year's award.
From comments, I have come to understand many don't know the voting process of ballon d'or. Players performances counts until the last month when the ballon d'or is awarded. Let's assume Messi performed better than everybody else last season and was ahead on voting points. How about the points that will be gotten from when the season restarted until the ballon d'or is awarded?
There was a year CR7 won the ballon d'or ahead of Messi. But when that season ended Messi was the clear favorite, but got injured immediately the new season started. He was laid off for months due to that injury and unfortunately for him, CR7 picked form from the resumption of that season. And the points CR7 got from the start of that season until the ballon d'or was awarded made him edged off Messi with a narrow point margin to win. Some believe Lewandowski's form since the start of this season will tip things in his favor

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by Omonigeriarere: 10:54pm On Nov 03, 2021
OnMyBiz:
Abeg, make another person collect am. Seriously, Messi has not been much impressing this season.

My signature is still very much active as it was increased till November 23, 2021.

In your myopic mind, the award is in respect of this season?

The award is in respect of 2020/21 season as we are just at the beginning of a new season.

As for his current form, nothing new for him.
When he’s start season 2019, no goals, 1 assist after 6 games.

At the end of the season, he won pichichi, 24 assists, most goals in UCL and forged ahead to win Balon d Or �.

Just relax and cool your temper�

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by Omonigeriarere: 10:57pm On Nov 03, 2021
joshuaidibia:

It marvels me how everyone tend to forget about Lewi

He is a goal pocher in the class of Rinaldo, nothing more.

That is why both of them have never won player of any tournament.
Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by DoggoneDogg: 11:00pm On Nov 03, 2021
02Kebreal:

Its obvious you don't even know what this award is all about.
It's about performance for the last season Sir.
Not this season

Tell us what he did last season that surpassed others.

He wasn't the highest goalscorer - that's Lewandowski.
He wasn't the highest assists - that was Muller
He didn't win his league.
He didn't win the Champions league. As a matter of fact, he was disgraced out of the UCL by a small Mbappe.
All he has is a useless Copa Del Rey & a Copa America.

Bonucci, Chiellini, Chiesa all won the Copa Italia & Euros (same as Messi's trophies), oya give them the Balon D'Or na.

Nonsense.

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by obonujoker(m): 11:18pm On Nov 03, 2021
MangekyoAlt:

What has he done this season?
Please don't be deluded.

He won 2 major trophies, both on club and country.
He won the best player in laliga, as well as the golden boot.
Won the best player in Copa America as well as winning the highest goalscorer award, and assists too.
These are the things that are relevant.

The fact that he's had a slow start in paris doesn't change anything. The 5 matches he's failed to score aren't even important. He's scored on more important matches in the UCL.

Meanwhile, Cr7 is currently in better form than messi. But it is safe to say he would be nowhere near messi in that list. I even doubt if he'll be among the top 5s.

Oga he didn't win laliga best player... What the hell man??
Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by valETA1(m): 11:22pm On Nov 03, 2021
Honestly, I don't know y sm pple who claims to be football fans following ballon d'or award for years r so dump and stupid, not knowing d award is being given out based on the achievement of previous seasons not a current one.

Some say Benzema deserves, pls... What in God's name did Benzema achieve at Madrid, Benzema who started performing and topping highest goal just this season immediately Messi left, and will be an outright insult on Messi of which some deluded fans refuse to admit.

Yes Lewandoski is good, bt what did he achieve tournament wise aside individual achievement outside that BayernLiga and Germany.

Always shitting on Messi's case, ok make Rinaldo cm carry am na mk we rest

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by Ghostmode2two(m): 11:24pm On Nov 03, 2021
Lamasta:
He should focus his energy on scoring goals for PSG and stop eyeing the Baloon D'or cos he won't win it.....

Our RONALDO is the one and only true G O A T..
Lol. your only GO was used for Salah by Liverpool. He can reject it when given the award hat would be honourable than being crazy

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by chris259(m): 11:29pm On Nov 03, 2021
Omonigeriarere:

The award is not the best goal scorer award. It is meant for best player.

Get this drilled into your head.
U are obviously confused.... All this Messi fans self... Because Ronaldo and lewandoski has more goals than ur midget u now say the award is for the best player not goal scorer lol... Keep confusing urself
Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by ddippset(m): 12:04am On Nov 04, 2021
Kingcalls:

Messi came 2nd on both occasions, so even if they dint give Ronaldo, Messi wud have won it
And who says Messi would have won?

The point is; Ronaldo should have 2 less. Ronaldo should have at most 3 Ballon dors.

3 max, maybe 2 sef.

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by ddippset(m): 12:22am On Nov 04, 2021
Kingcalls:

Copa is actually below both
Below both in what sense?

Of course football is in Europe. The glamour, the excitement, the anticipation, the advertisement and the money.

But Copa America is as much a continental tournament to a South American player as the Euros is to a European player.

The value that players from South America like Brazil, Argentina and Paraguay attach to their Copa America is the same value that European players attach to their Euros.

In fact Euros, Copa America and Africa Cup of Nations are 3 competitions of the same cadre as the major continental championships.

But of course we all know that the Euros is the richest and most glamourous.

So Messi values his Copa America as much as any European player like Bonucci values his Euros.

So you guys are actually being extremely dubious with your constant declaration that "Messi won ordinary and useless Copa America"

If Ronaldo or Lewy had won the Euros that would have been your first argument for them winning Ballon dor.
That would have been your first item on the list;

Just imagine the chaos that would have ensued if Ronaldo or Lewy had won the Euros trophy, won the player of the tournament and won the highest goal scorer.

It would have been madness from Ronaldo fans.

"He won the Euros" bla bla bla
"He won the Golden" boot" bla bla bla
"He won the Golden ball" bla bla bla

No player has ever done that bla bla bla

But in Messi's case, it is "he won ordinary Copa America"

But I understand why majority of those saying that Copa America is useless are Ronaldo fans.
I understand...

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by Nobody: 12:26am On Nov 04, 2021
marveangel:
He just might win it
We all know he deserves ALL the BALLON D' ORs
He is not Normal at all.
I humbly appreciate PENALDO for challenging his god to a Fight. He did well.

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by ReeLoaDead(m): 1:19am On Nov 04, 2021
Lewandowski all the way.
Messi does not deserve it this year
Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by Successkay12(m): 2:05am On Nov 04, 2021
XXXXTENTACION:
Bad man feeling blessed...
say tonight me and my guys we go jam gbedu... Wowo wowo...
say tonight man no go stress oo
say tonight me and my guys we go jam gbedu ... Wowo wowo
you see I don't wanna talk about the things we go make me frown tonight...
I Just wanna hold on to my lady in my corner make she cool me down ahaa...
Wizkid ft Damian marley (Blessed) booms from the speaker as XXXXTENTACION grooves to the vibes....

Some people are just blessed...
Messi is blessed aswear.... cheesy
7 Ballon d'or is not an easy feat...
I pray every hustler out there to receive blessing... embarassed

AMEN
Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by anonymous1759(m): 2:22am On Nov 04, 2021
olaric:
Giving it to Messi the 7th time would be the most controversial decision ever! What did he achieve in the last one year--maybe the COPA America; but certainly not enough.

Tell me what's enough if you're not a bad belle?
I'll still give it to Messi. Because he performed for both club and country last season .
Lewy only performed in club .
On current form Messi is not the best player but as for last season he's certainly the best unless they just want to do Abracadabra.

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by anonymous1759(m): 2:26am On Nov 04, 2021
Namibian97:
This guy is a fraud, imagine struggling in a farmers league

Ballon D'or belong to Lewadowski

Someone that has not played up to 20% of the season is struggling?
It's really a pity . Some of you are just too delusional and hateful.

Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by anonymous1759(m): 2:31am On Nov 04, 2021
DoggoneDogg:

Deluded dwarf

Last season started 2021 August and ended June or July I guess . And Messi's performance fell within this space tell me how is that a half year ?
You guys are delusional and hateful .
Every players performance from this years August till July will is what FIFA will use for 2022 world best.
Your hate can't stop him from winning
Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by Johel(m): 2:58am On Nov 04, 2021
DoggoneDogg:

Deluded dwarf

Chai...you need hanky?? grin grin
Re: Winning A 7th Balon D'or Would Be Crazy - Lionel Messi by olayiwola72(m): 3:03am On Nov 04, 2021
aluyapreston:

Captains, coaches and journalist dey vote and one unknown Nigerian dey call am robbing. What irony. You think say na 9ja election.

Throwback Pictures Of The Two Generations Of Super Eagles "Marvelous 4" / List Of Most Expensive Football Players In The World / Leicester City's Ashleigh Plumptre Invited To Super Falcon Matches In September

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 63