Stats: 3,162,129 members, 7,849,541 topics. Date: Monday, 03 June 2024 at 11:49 PM

Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting - Crime - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Crime / Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting (28756 Views)

Zambian Man Commits Suicide After Killing His Wife / How I Got Scammed Of ₦150,000 On Fairmoney / Lagos Building Collapse: Woman Commits Suicide After Losing Two Children (2) (3) (4)

Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by Redomi(m): 3:05pm On Dec 08, 2021
The Federal Capital Territory Police Command on Tuesday said it was investigating the death of a man identified as Adegbite, who allegedly committed suicide after losing N150,000 to sport betting.

The incident happened in Pegi in the Kuje area council of Abuja in November.

Adegbite was said to have placed a bet with the money which his boss gave him to pay his colleagues, hoping to replace it after winning.

One of his colleagues at work, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said Adegbite committed suicide after he lost the money.

He said, “We were surprised when it happened. He was given the money to pay some people at his place of work. The money was in the region of N150,000. He took the money to a sport betting shop and staked it. He selected some matches but he did not win. He had hoped he would win and pay back the money.

“The following morning, he was not seen by his neighbours. They noticed that he was inside; they broke the door open and found his body dangling on the ceiling fan. They alerted the police, who removed his body.”
The spokesperson for the FCT Police Command, DSP Josephine Adeh, confirmed the incident.
She, however, said investigation was ongoing into the incident.

https://punchng.com/man-commits-suicide-after-losing-companys-n150000-on-betting/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook#Echobox=1638970528

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by AJOBI77(m): 3:08pm On Dec 08, 2021
While not taking risk is a BIG risk, one must take calculated risks

180 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by enchy: 3:10pm On Dec 08, 2021

292 Likes 19 Shares

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by Karlovych: 3:10pm On Dec 08, 2021
embarassed I'll have to admit Buhari's body odour rightly struck in this case, if he had succeeded he would have used a larger chunk of the company's money to try again, putting his colleagues at risk of losing their means of livelihood.

34 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by habsydiamond(m): 3:11pm On Dec 08, 2021
Na addiction kill this one.. When u are addicted to sport betting u can use a country's daily contribution to stake games. There was this barber then that use the money meant to procure rotation chairs for a friend about 100k. The fool went to stake the money on two teams Madrid playing one team and barca playing another.. Madrid won but barca lost. Na to refund be problem.. Na at the end their eyes dey clear.. Na virtual worst pass

97 Likes 1 Share

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by ghostboy: 3:13pm On Dec 08, 2021
Some people just get mind sha
How will you use money you can't refund to bet?

104 Likes 1 Share

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by Shellsploit: 3:18pm On Dec 08, 2021
Amazing suicide!

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by Kingjames(m): 3:19pm On Dec 08, 2021
what of baba ijebu? that red devilish machine full of lies
gambling is evil
enchy:
Please I beg all Nigerians of all classes, race and tribe, stop playing betting even if you believe it's for fun... just stop it completely, I know what I am saying.

64 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by caesymore(m): 3:22pm On Dec 08, 2021
Mehn...

Poverty na deadly sin Just N150k.
May poverty steer clear our road.

91 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by Maxymilliano(m): 3:22pm On Dec 08, 2021
Arsenal no go ever stop to kill people lipsrsealed

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by Nobody: 3:33pm On Dec 08, 2021
Ordinary 150k chia

14 Likes 1 Share

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by AOresources: 3:57pm On Dec 08, 2021
He has done well.. Rest in peaces

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by Nobody: 4:07pm On Dec 08, 2021
He played virtual soccer not real soccer.Virtual baby na shortcut to suicide.Especially,if you use community contributions take play am.

48 Likes

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by englishmart(m): 4:50pm On Dec 08, 2021
I remember when a friend of mine who was always bragging about how good at virtual bets he was. So one fateful day, a neighbor sent him the sum of 40k to transfer to his wife who was staying away from town. My friend then invited me to accompany him to our usual Bet9ja shop, which I gladly obliged. After the first few games, it was like all was still going well, (Win 5k, lose 5700) but as time went on, 40k started diminishing noticably till it got to 15k. One terrible thing is that the next fixtures are always sure until baby-rubber do you thirty.
When I realized he was sweating profusely in a fully air-conditioned room, I tapped him to give me 1k first for our tp back home to avoid begging for tp. When we got home, he concocted some lies about how he didn't know his pocket had a deep hole and the money fell without his noticing. He was like "Make una ask Martins, na two of us go to deposit am"
I retorted immediately, "which yeye Martins, me, I no know wetin you dey talk o. Me wey nova leave house since morning"
Long story cut, he was arrested and tortured for a few days before he was bailed. After that incident, my guy left the ama and moved to Nsukka.
Nothing good comes easy, not even Bitcoin or any kind of business. Everybody wants profit, nobody will let you get it easily.

110 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by Crusadee: 4:51pm On Dec 08, 2021
Because of 150k u kiii ur self come kpai join? U no try @all.

Anyways make I begin dey dance free rice dey come hope say chicken go follow with coke,

Make una dey lost bet dey kpai, we go just dey chop rice and chicken dey dance for your burial... Nothing do us.

Abeg make sure say hero go dey oo

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by Laggafin: 4:51pm On Dec 08, 2021
Buhari on de beat again
Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by God1000(m): 4:51pm On Dec 08, 2021
But why? The money isn't that much
Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by dicexoo: 4:51pm On Dec 08, 2021
Rest easy, you have played your part !!!

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by Golan007: 4:51pm On Dec 08, 2021
He wasn't ready.
Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by floss(m): 4:51pm On Dec 08, 2021
Foolishness killed him not betting.

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by Chibudollar: 4:51pm On Dec 08, 2021
Run go another state, and start life all over

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by Dailymice: 4:51pm On Dec 08, 2021
Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by seguntravels009(m): 4:52pm On Dec 08, 2021
It's a big risk to gamble.
Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by Mko123(m): 4:52pm On Dec 08, 2021
Pastor righteousness will definitely know where the young man soul is heading to

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by BruncleZuma: 4:52pm On Dec 08, 2021
It would have been funny if he wasn't dead. RIP to him and fortitude to bear the loss to his family.
Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by SportsHD: 4:52pm On Dec 08, 2021
Childofdoom

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by eedimo(m): 4:52pm On Dec 08, 2021
He shouldn't have.
He could have just vanished into the thin air until nerves are calm.

Betting ehhh.

Re: Man Commits Suicide After Losing Company’s ₦150,000 On Betting by Buzwaya: 4:52pm On Dec 08, 2021
150k isn't worth the life of anyone embarassed embarassed embarassed

A Child Sleeping By The Roadside With His Plantain Tray At Night In Lagos / Mohammed Ness, Faceless Nigerian Facebook User Who Lures Women To Send Nudes / Our Abductors Vowed To Kill Us, Watch Cows Step On Our Intestines — ABSU Student

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 21