Singer Simi To Upcoming Artistes: "If You Want It Badly, Always Sell Yourself" - Celebrities (3) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Entertainment › Celebrities › Singer Simi To Upcoming Artistes: "If You Want It Badly, Always Sell Yourself" (19934 Views)
| Re: Singer Simi To Upcoming Artistes: "If You Want It Badly, Always Sell Yourself" by BluntTheApostle(m): 12:11am On Jan 08, 2022 |
CalmElder:Read this: However, talent was definitely not sufficient because the most talented individuals were rarely the most successful. In general, mediocre-but-lucky people were much more successful than more-talented-but-unlucky individuals. The most successful agents tended to be those who were only slightly above average in talent but with a lot of luck in their lives. https://blogs.scientificamerican.com/beautiful-minds/the-role-of-luck-in-life-success-is-far-greater-than-we-realized/ As for countries who have become wealthy, I had written earlier that luck plays a role in the decisions we make. Some people always make the right decision, not necessarily because they are smart or think deeper, but because they trust their gut feeling. They make a good decision on the spur of the moment, and succeed, while smarter people draw up big plans, and still end up failing. Talent is great, but luck will always be the deciding factor as far as success is concerned. One thing wealthy people will never tell you is how they really made it big. They will never agree that they were simply lucky. No one wants to hear that they were lucky. They want people to respect their abilities, talents, perseverance. Which is why someone like Simi will give motivational talks about hustling till she hit big. She would never mention the luck she enjoys over countless others who could easily be in her place, only if they were luckier. |
| Re: Singer Simi To Upcoming Artistes: "If You Want It Badly, Always Sell Yourself" by CalmElder(m): 12:27pm On Jan 08, 2022 |
BluntTheApostle:Well... I don't have a link with which to back up my position, but I still think it's unfair to place luck over hard work as the basis for success. Sounds somehow... really. |
| Re: Singer Simi To Upcoming Artistes: "If You Want It Badly, Always Sell Yourself" by BluntTheApostle(m): 1:04pm On Jan 08, 2022 |
CalmElder:Here is another piece from yet another financial expert: Are you confusing your good fortune due to your own skill rather than due to luck? I’m here to argue that your outsized wealth is mostly due to luck. Therefore, stop deluding yourself into thinking you’re so great! As President Obama said in a July 13, 2012 campaign election speech, “If you’ve got a business, you didn’t build that.“ When I first heard Obama say this sentence, I was taken aback. From 2009-2012, I had been working on Financial Samurai for three years from about 5 am – 7 am and from 10 pm – 12 pm after working 12-hour days in finance. If I wasn’t building Financial Samurai, who was?! I had also recently left my finance job because I wanted to be free. All I really desired to do was write while traveling around the world, so that’s what I did. But as I’ve gotten older, I’ve come to understand more of what President Obama was talking about. Just like it takes a village to raise a child, it takes a lot of help along the way to achieve your goals. Besides, Obama was referring to not building the roads and bridges that helped your business prosper along the way. I firmly believe that it was mostly luck (~70%) that helped me achieve a basic level of financial independence at age 34. Of course, effort is also required to get ahead, but it’s not the main reason. There are plenty of people who work much harder than you or I, yet will not achieve what we have. The more we can recognize our luck and not take our luck for granted, the more prosperous we’ll become. I encourage you to list as many fortuitous events that have happened in your life. This way, you’ll appreciate more of what you have and fight harder to achieve your goals and freely help others. https://www.financialsamurai.com/your-wealth-is-mostly-due-to-luck-be-thankful/ |
| Re: Singer Simi To Upcoming Artistes: "If You Want It Badly, Always Sell Yourself" by CalmElder(m): 1:37pm On Jan 08, 2022 |
BluntTheApostle:I think I understand what you and the analysts are driving at. Seizing the moment and taking of chances is what is referred to as luck. C'mon, as long as you still take in oxygen and breath out carbon monoxide, one will always be coming in contact with opportunities, if you are able to make use of them, it's going to be because you prepared for them, not knowing where or when it's going to come, that time of preparation (work) is the reason why you can seize the chance? Remember you said that Wande Coal took a chance and succeeded? He thought, sat down, wrote and composed a couple of songs, went to a studio, paid money that he toiled for. Hustled for transportation money and gate fee. Got there early, deliberately chosed a good spot at the front, armed with his demo, waiting for Don Jazzy to draw closer so as to thrust it into his hands...and everything goes well. Are all these deliberate efforts (hardwork) by Wande Cole far less important than the role of luck? |
| Re: Singer Simi To Upcoming Artistes: "If You Want It Badly, Always Sell Yourself" by l0uie(m): 12:13am On Jan 09, 2022 |
Chloraseptic:Leave them, my brother. Na God, then grace. Because you fit get the grace, but if god never want make grace shine on you, them no born am well to. People dey sit for exams come fail and you pass no mean say them no read. So in all, all this talk na dust but that one no mean say make you no put in effort for the grind. |
| Re: Singer Simi To Upcoming Artistes: "If You Want It Badly, Always Sell Yourself" by adeniyi65(m): 10:01am On Jan 09, 2022 |
FERNANDEZISBACK:the title itself is misleading if not read the body of the the thread. |
| Re: Singer Simi To Upcoming Artistes: "If You Want It Badly, Always Sell Yourself" by FERNANDEZISBACK: 10:02am On Jan 09, 2022 |
adeniyi65:Confusion mode I dey... |
"We need to fix our country" - Simi To Buhari, Nigerians • 'Stop listening or buying Our Music' - Singer Simi to Yahooboys • Simi To Release Her Next Album On Her 31st Birthday • 2 • 3 • 4
Pirates Beware! Shan George To Send Juju To Movie Pirates • Why I Won’t Be Pleading For Verydarkman’s Release – Saidaboj Tells Nigerians • Uche Jombo And Family In Adorable Christmas Photos