Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA - Satellite TV Technology (1166) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Entertainment › TV/Movies › Satellite TV Technology › Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA (3415184 Views)
1 2 3 ... 1163 1164 1165 1166 1167 1168 1169 ... 2397 Reply (Go Down)
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tsiriman(m): 8:38pm On Apr 26, 2022 |
NiyiOmoIyunade:Thank you very much for sharing your experience, this will really help in guiding me to make an informed decision on my DIY battery bank. |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by olopan(m): 10:36pm On Apr 26, 2022 |
The GUI of these BMS with parameters display is quite easy to understand and yet detailed. NiyiOmoIyunade: |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by mctfopt: 6:32am On Apr 27, 2022 |
NiyiOmoIyunade:Currently use JK with 2A balance current. Two years and it's still kicking ![]() Used it in both 24v system and 48v. Pretty great BMS
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Dam5reey(m): 7:37am On Apr 27, 2022 |
mctfopt:What's your balance open voltage? Balancing at below 3.3V is just creating unbalance cells. From 3.4V or below 3.0Vper cell is where balancing is necessary. |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by bbally: 4:59pm On Apr 27, 2022 |
uniqUN:Hello bro, I will suggest you try out new pure sine wave inverter that kiekie just advertised instead of ordering from AliExpress and waiting for 3weeks. it has 2000w(1000w) and 2400w(1200w) in 12/24/48v variance. I just got one from him too and as far as av tested it's good and the wave was smooth. |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Xmen149(m): 7:35pm On Apr 27, 2022 |
Guys,please whom has used Felicity charge controller here,80amps. Will it pick system voltage first and come on on battery before solar connection. Or solar and battery must be present(battery first) before it can come on. Urgent!..anyone? Bcs am beginning to think the supplied device is defective |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by adrusa: 7:49pm On Apr 27, 2022 |
Xmen149:I'm not sure what you are describing, but the good practice of installing charge controller is to connect the battery first and solar thereafter. As for Felicity CC, it has this quirk that I later discovered, if there is no solar, the CC sleeps off, no sign of life. You need to tap the button on it for it to come alive. Once you connect the battery, the voltage will be automatically identified. You can then go ahead and do the settings. |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by uniqUN(m): 8:38pm On Apr 27, 2022 |
bbally:Oh wow. I wish you had mentioned it earlier. I already ordered for it. Nevertheless, since you recommend him, I might still get to buy something from him moving forward. Thanks for the reply. |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by bbally: 8:56pm On Apr 27, 2022 |
uniqUN:No prob baba, just bought from him on Monday and as far as it, everything is in order. I was about to order too before I saw his advert and decided to use my church mind to try it out. |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ojeysky(m): 9:08pm On Apr 27, 2022 |
NiyiOmoIyunade:I give the higher balance current to jk, but once cell is initially balanced everything should stay put subsequently. ANT BMS has been a good companion from my end
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by kiekie1(m): 9:32pm On Apr 27, 2022 |
bbally:Thanks for the patronage Sir ! |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by kiekie1(m): 10:33pm On Apr 27, 2022 |
kiekie1:Limited stock! Quality product!! Get yours now & join the league of pure sine wave power inverter users ... Distance is never a barrier as usual ![]()
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tsiriman(m): 1:30am On Apr 28, 2022 |
Is Growatt SPF 5000 ES 5kVA inverter a good inverter to use with DIY lifepo4 batteries? I was considering a victron quattro 48/5000 but I can seem to find any incountry and the price is too high? Which is the next best thing after Victron to use with lithium batteries? Next best thing. |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ojeysky(m): 2:37am On Apr 28, 2022 |
tsiriman:Growatt is very good, if you can get Deye that is much better as well. |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by NpvnStar(m): 8:38am On Apr 28, 2022 |
Darediamond and all other Ogas on this space. Abeg All I need is links from either AliExpress or Alibaba that's worked for you. Just give me an inverter setup with Batteries for 800W load. Abeg � |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ajabani4allah(m): 8:42am On Apr 28, 2022 |
I am planning to get solar panels and CC to charge my 12v 100Ah lifePo4 battery. Pls I need recommendation on the wattage, voltage and current rating of both the panel and the CC and how to connect them |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Equipmentpro: 8:56am On Apr 28, 2022 |
olopan:Yes we have Energy loggers available,, For more info on this please visit: https://www.powerpro.ng/pages/contact-us |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Equipmentpro: 9:08am On Apr 28, 2022 |
Equipmentpro:
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by IYGEAL(m): 11:17am On Apr 28, 2022 |
olopan:Thanks for the mention |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by IYGEAL(m): 11:18am On Apr 28, 2022*. Modified: 7:41pm On Apr 28, 2022 |
olopan:Sorry bro. Save contacts in email addresses instead of SIM/phone; that way you can always have them in a new phone when you log in. |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Xmen149(m): 1:39pm On Apr 28, 2022 |
adrusa:Thanks man I have figured it out. I think it's a new firmware on the their new devices(like energy saver). So on your first connection of the battery the cc won't come on until you connect the solar cables,..after it dosnt detect supply from the pannel(say night)it goes off on its own. |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by FireTheSun: 4:14pm On Apr 28, 2022*. Modified: 4:32pm On Apr 28, 2022 |
tsiriman:If we judge by Popularity and spread of use, l think the Daly BMS is the best and most used . But they can be pricey, which ofcourse, you would expect from a product that have stood the test of time. I also think they are about the easiest to connect. A Noob like myself, connected Two units of 200A Daly BMS to 32 St`rings of 280Ah LiFePO4 Cells (16S 2P) and they without any hitch! But there appears to be cheaper variants of the Daly BMS as well though l will rather use the "original", if l can afford it and that is a personal policy. Edit: reading later, what @NiyiOmoIyunade wrote and knowing that he does this for as a Business, l will defer to his opinion since l have not used the other variants and his experience will be very valuable in that regard, so far, l am enjoying both Dalys, without any issue with them |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by FireTheSun: 4:24pm On Apr 28, 2022 |
JUO:If it was still under Warranty, then it should have been replaced with a new One, depending on what caused it to stop working (I know some damages are not covered by Warranty) and if it was out of Warranty, then repairs should not cost almost close to the price of buying a New one! It is good to hear that you are eventually sorted after that experience. |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tsiriman(m): 8:45pm On Apr 28, 2022 |
ojeysky:Than you for the suggestion, my batteries are on the way, I'll check for Deye |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by duwdu: 8:48pm On Apr 28, 2022 |
NiyiOmoIyunade:Oga Niyi; This your post, singlehandedly, woke me up from a ~ 18-month(?) slumber of not logging into NL... The post has "forced" me to log in again, just to give my 2 Kobo on the JK BMS! Thanks for outing it here in your usual fat-free writing style. (It's my loss anyway when I sleep on this thread. Ha.) So guys, my own JK BMS (JK-B2A24S15P) has been flawless. All Oga Niyi wrote about the BMS is factually correct in real life and balanced, so I can add only so much. I may end up fleshing out some points, though. To start with, the build quality of this thing is superb... what with an all metal, sleek design. It just reels premium. The idiot proof design of its firmware cum input settings and operations paradigm, is literally a [battery] life saver. For example, the unit automatically estimates and displays the resistance across each balance wire, in real time. In the process, it picks out and highlights any potentially disruptive — even dangerous — resistances across any balance wire and stops further operations, until the danger that threw up the symptom, is sorted. For those of us who haven't already picked out where this is going, unusual resistance across a balance wire is a sign of trouble for the battery pack as a whole. Among other things, this symptom could mean that the sequential connection of the balance wire is wrong, or it has poor connections, or internal break(s) or is otherwise bad. Thing is, these resistances are relatively tiny and could be easily missed even during due diligence while building a pack. So, for a BMS to not only estimate and display but actually act on them in real time or at anytime the BMS is on to help avert danger, is a big plus, IMO. It's certainly not a common feature in the top BMSes I know of. Further as Oga Niyi touched on, the active balancing function in a JK is awesome in its effectiveness and is a joy to behold in operation. Of course it's almost lossless. Now, some of our folks may say, "but active balancing — lossy or near lossless — is not altogether advantageous to the pack, since it would work all through the charging AND discharging range?" It's nice to be able to state here that on the JK, one can set the point (in the charging/discharging voltage range of the pack,) where balancing commences/stops. And for me, the design of the passive white-green and active red-blue letterings on a dark background as shown on the UI, is very soothing. The only other interface design that is more so for me, is the shades of blue and gray on Victron Energy gear. I can't afford those VE gears — not brand new or yet, anyways. But why would Oga Niyi hold all the aces nau? ![]() Of course there are quarks and a learning curve to using the JK in all it's glory. For me, it's all been worth it, and I'll purchase some more. Sorry for the wordy epistle, my friends, and many thanks to all for the thread! -------- P34c3 |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tsiriman(m): 8:49pm On Apr 28, 2022 |
FireTheSun:I have heard about all the other BMSs except JK till @NiyiOmoIyunade mentioned it and shared his experience, I have decided to go for JK majorly because of the active balancing. |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Fapemz: 7:12am On Apr 29, 2022 |
felaliveson:Buy Lithium battery or keep your money ....avoid lead acid battery like plague. it is like using Symbian phone when android can serve better plus lead acid are like a drain on the pocket now as most users have to replace their battery every 3 year or less where Lithium can serve you for up to 10years. For your intended need, the Lithium battery will be just fine Sir. I assemble lithium battery as powerbank for laptop and inverter battery for homes and the customer review are amazing to say the least.
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Namzy(m): 7:31am On Apr 29, 2022 |
Fapemz:Are you sure lithium ion can last for 10 years? |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Fapemz: 7:34am On Apr 29, 2022 |
Namzy:Sure Sir, a good example of that is the INEC Blue Battery that introduce many of us to LiFePo4 Battery. Some are still using them till date. They were imported for INEC voters registration of 2010 if memory serves me right! |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Namzy(m): 8:19am On Apr 29, 2022 |
Fapemz:I know but I meant lithium ion not LIFEPo4 |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by MJ01: 10:19am On Apr 29, 2022 |
IYGEAL:Contact details? |
| Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by kola42: 11:19am On Apr 29, 2022 |
How much for 100 and 200ah? Fapemz: |
UPS Back-up, Also A Complement To FTA • FTA Frequency • Cctv Installation A Complement To Fta And Solar Energy • 2 • 3 • 4
Free To Air Satellite Tv General Thread
Viewing this topic: orkman(m), Hero2t, ClassicMan202(m), sirrotex

auto detection and adjustment and less cumbersome. I do not intend to use it for more than the things I have listed. In fact, when the time comes for upgrades, I'm just going to overhaul everything if I have familiarized myself with one or two about solar energy.
Also does it mean a 12v solar panel can not charge it…. Also if I decide to switch my solar panel to lead acid battery with 12v inverter, can the 18v solar panel charge the lead acid 12v battery ?? Reachable via 08065..316307