Stats: 3,326,962 members, 8,428,827 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 June 2026 at 04:03 AM

Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsWill Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? (2630 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? by Vulturereloaded(op): 10:43am On Oct 30, 2022
seunmsg:
Yorubas irrespective of religion voted for Awolowo, Abiola, Olu Falae (1999), Obasanjo (2003) and Osinbajo (2015 &2019).

If you check the list very well, you will observe that Abiola is the only Muslim there. We don’t care about religion in the south west. We vote for whoever we feel is better and that’s it. In 2023, we will vote for Bola Ahmed Tinubu as President because he’s the only one among the major contenders that has a track record of verifiable achievements.
Ok so the interest of Yoruba Christians are not factored in, because Yoruba muslims know that a mosque will never be attacked under Tinubu's Muslim Muslim presidency?

When you voted Buhari because of Tinubu, what was his track record?

You voted Buhari because or Tinubu's record, but you dont want Tinubu to be voted based on Buhari's record? grin grin grin
Re: Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? by NwaMamaIwota(f): 11:03am On Oct 30, 2022
Aldol:
Lol you are here again, as usual you will continue to fail. You think you can use religion to bring division to Yorubaland just like you did in your place. Your joy is to always see the downfall of Yoruba, what a people
My sibling who is a Muslim is with me now and I just showed him your comment, if I tell you what he said to you ehn, you may commit suicide.
see pain ooo
oga you're a Yerba maslem
stop crying
we dey sell handkerchief ooo
Re: Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? by Akanbiedu(m): 12:16pm On Oct 30, 2022
seunmsg:
Yorubas irrespective of religion voted for Awolowo, Abiola, Olu Falae (1999), Obasanjo (2003) and Osinbajo (2015 &2019).

If you check the list very well, you will observe that Abiola is the only Muslim there. We don’t care about religion in the south west. We vote for whoever we feel is better and that’s it. In 2023, we will vote for Bola Ahmed Tinubu as President because he’s the only one among the major contenders that has a track record of verifiable achievements.
End of story.
Re: Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? by Kagd10:
seunmsg:

Yoruba don't even care about anyone's religion but competence. Abiola was voted for example.

Yoruba don't care whether you're (Atheist, IFA which is older than any religion on earth, Jewish, Muslim or Christian or Buddhist etc) but your competence.

However, I believe Tinubu shouldn't put his eggs in only one basket considering the Fulani and their conquered Hausa slaves who are planning to betray him hence he should pick a North central man. Even Abiola needed the South South and North central to win over Tofa.
Re: Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? by Vulturereloaded(op): 12:35pm On Oct 30, 2022
Kagd10:
Yoruba don't even care about anyone's religion but competence. Abiola was voted for example.

Yoruba don't care whether you're (Atheist, IFA traditionalist which is older than any religion on earth, Jewish, Muslim or Christian or Buddhist etc) but your competence.

However, I believe Tinubu shouldn't put his eggs in one's basket considering the Fulani and their conquered Hausa slaves who are planning to betray him hence he should pick a North central man. Even Abiola needed the South South and North central to win over Tofa.
You are right.

If Yoruba cared about religion, Tinubu would have picked a Christian VP after the owo church attack, to boost the confidence of Christians.

But he cared less about the Christians in his decision.
Vulturereloaded:
You are right.

If Yoruba cared about religion, Tinubu would have picked a Christian VP after the owo church attack, to boost the confidence of Christians.

But he cared less about the Christians in his decision.
Not just the Yoruba thou. Developed countries don't care about religion too.

However, I believe Tinubu made the Muslim Muslim ticket decision to appease the Northerners who wanted to be his VP, considering their political clout. However since it has come to this, that is, the Fulani betrayals, then I believe Tinubu should consider those in the North Central and South South too.
Re: Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? by seunmsg(m): 12:39pm On Oct 30, 2022
Kagd10:

Yoruba don't care whether you're (Atheist, IFA traditionalist which is older than any religion on earth, Jewish, Muslim or Christian or Buddhist etc) but your competence.

However, I believe Tinubu shouldn't put his eggs in only one basket considering the Fulani and their conquered Hausa slaves who are planning to betray him hence he should pick a North central man. Even Abiola needed the South South and North central to win over Tofa.
APC is doing well in the north central. I have no doubt the party will win the region. South south will be difficult considering the historical preference of the region for PDP. APC will get some votes in Edo, Delta, Cross River, Bayelsa and Rivers (if Wike works for the party). However, it won’t be enough to win the region.
seunmsg:
APC is doing well in the north central. I have no doubt the party will win the region. South south will be difficult considering the historical preference of the region for PDP. APC will get some votes in Edo, Delta, Cross River, Bayelsa and Rivers (if Wike works for the party). However, it won’t be enough to win the region.
The Plateau state is dicey.. likewise the Benue state. Others may swing too except Kwara and Kogi.

However, if Tinubu picked a North central man like Lalong, all North Central would be in for Tinubu plus the Southwest. Which is enough. Then we can start looking at the South South who will readily support too, if someone like Lalong is picked. Wike doesn't like the two Muslim Muslim ticket hence it has to be out of the way for him to come in. This is for the better good. Shettima can always have another role.
Re: Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? by Vulturereloaded(op): 12:46pm On Oct 30, 2022
seunmsg:
Yoruba's dont care about religion when Tinubu a Yoruba muslim is contesting.

But when Osibanjo a yoruba christian is contesting, they care.

Re: Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? by Spandau: 12:58pm On Oct 30, 2022
seunmsg:
So, kini yen ko wa?
Re: Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? by Spandau: 1:00pm On Oct 30, 2022
seunmsg:

Yoruba voted for Osinbajo? So Osinbajo had been a factor since 2015? Osinbajo has been the president? Your royal monkeyship! We here you.
Re: Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? by Spandau: 1:01pm On Oct 30, 2022
seunmsg:
Fixed!
Kadoso Mutairu! Don Fixer.
Re: Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? by buckeyemedia: 1:02pm On Oct 30, 2022
Afamed:
Obiediots this one is dead on arrival, the divide and rule no work here. You talk of Muslim / Muslim ticket on monday. Tuesday you don join plane to go and lick urine from the same muslim in Kaduna. Obigos no wise
Very good point, Peter Obi The Hypocrite Clown.
Re: Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? by buckeyemedia: 1:05pm On Oct 30, 2022
Spandau:
Yoruba voted for Osinbajo? So Osinbajo had been a factor since 2015? Osinbajo has been the president? Your royal monkeyship! We here you.
You must have been highly pained and in a hurry to respond without thinking, because what you said, makes no sense whatsoever?
Re: Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? by Spandau: 1:10pm On Oct 30, 2022
buckeyemedia:
You must have been highly pained and in a hurry to response without thinking, because what you said, makes no sense whatsoever?
Oh, sorry phuckeyemedia. Your royal monkeyness, please enlightened me on how Osinbajo was voted for. Personally, I thought it was the principal that got voted for while the vice just fitted in. I didn't know that you voted for the vice while the president just fitted in.
Re: Will Yoruba Christians Choose Ethnicity Over Eternity? by oluwarotimi504: 1:17pm On Oct 30, 2022
the message is addressed to you and writer who don't know that Yorubas intellectuals is more than Petty religious bigot like you others.the message is addressed to you and writer who don't know that Yorubas intellectuals is more than Petty religious bigot like you others....
1 2 3 Reply

State Police: Will Yoruba Be Wise This Time?"I Regret Choosing Ethnicity Over Competence" Tinubu's Surpporter, OgunrindeIgbo Business Men Gave Tinubu 1 Billion Naira? When Will Yoruba Business Men Giv234

If Federal Capital Territory Is a State, Who Is The Governor?Which Former Governors Should Tinubu Appoints As Ministers?Tinubu's Government Lacks Legitimacy- Wole Soyinka