Stats: 3,158,369 members, 7,836,488 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 May 2024 at 08:41 AM

LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) - Education (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) (25413 Views)

Poly Ibadan Bans Students From Carrying "Cross Bags" / FUOYE Bans Students From Using Cars On Campus (pics) / Delta State Polytechnic Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (Photo) (2) (3) (4)

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by Nobody: 4:15pm On Apr 19, 2023
They have no right to do that. What about postgraduate students who are well mature and cannot afford to take shuttles?

If their staff are feeling intimidated or even if the students are driving rough, this isn't the solution.

What kind of university is this one? Lautech na wa undecided

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by IPDGP: 4:16pm On Apr 19, 2023
They should rather control the use of vehicles by students
Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by danvon(m): 4:17pm On Apr 19, 2023
vastolord4:
The intimidation these staff feel is probably not how they should perceive it.. cars are a necessity and shouldn't be as a flaunt! But are minds are darker than black.. just the way the army intimidates harmless citizens in this country for no reason

Oga if those kids are rich what are they doing in Lautech? Why not travel abroad or attend private uni? Since they can afford expensive cars they can afford it

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by TippuTip: 4:17pm On Apr 19, 2023
The students' union should take them to court
Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by nelcliff(m): 4:18pm On Apr 19, 2023
Na so fight take dey start *****

In M.I Abarga Voice

I'm just passing..

Check my signature and join my group .

Money must be make
Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by nairalanda1(m): 4:19pm On Apr 19, 2023
danvon:

Oga if those kids are rich what are they doing in Lautech? Why not travel abroad or attend private uni?

Many Nigerian parents don't like sending their kids abroad even if they can afford it. They think the kids would pick evil vices oversea

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by PotatoSalad(m): 4:19pm On Apr 19, 2023
A lot of Nigerians in offices no be problem solvers sha.
Bringing cars to school isn't problem. Monetize it. Create car parks and slap heavy fees to it.
Any student caught defaulting by parking in any other part of the campus other than the designated parks will be heavily fined.

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by danvon(m): 4:20pm On Apr 19, 2023
nairalanda1:

Many Nigerian parents don't like sending their kids abroad even if they can afford it. They think the kids would pick evil vices oversea

So send their kids to Covenant university or Babcock since evil vices is their problem

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by LORDKing001: 4:21pm On Apr 19, 2023
Flight90:
A welcomed development 😌
Backward development. So you mean a MSc student or PhD student can not own a car to drive or what
Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by onuman: 4:21pm On Apr 19, 2023
This one na VILLAGE UNIVERSITY? University students are adults, unless the administrators of this university think that they are administering a junior secondary school.
Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by LORDKing001: 4:22pm On Apr 19, 2023
webdevprof:
They have no right to do that. What about postgraduate students who are well mature and cannot afford to take shuttles?

If their staff are feeling intimidated or even if the students are driving rough, this isn't the solution.

What kind of university is this one? Lautech na wa undecided
my point exactly
Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by bionixs: 4:24pm On Apr 19, 2023
Students of nowadays overdo things and don’t use their senses

In our days , we have regards for our lecturers and staff but they still felt threatened. Students had to park far away from where their eyes could see to avoid running a course of 5 years for 11 years

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by Slurity(m): 4:25pm On Apr 19, 2023
Lautech has not improved in anyway since i left the school over 13 years ago. the circular is very senseless, the forgot that their students include PGD, MSc and PhD students. If they stop all students from bringing cars to the campus, the revenue of the school will disappear like ice and school management will run into troubles soon. They will adjust this circular like 4 times before they got the result they want. They can not reason once to achieve anything, they are always in haste to punish students and later regret it.

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by TheNiceGuy(m): 4:25pm On Apr 19, 2023
They're definitely abusing the privilege.
They should have just put some measures in place instead of total ban anyway
vastolord4:
The intimidation these staff feel is probably not how they should perceive it.. cars are a necessity and shouldn't be as a flaunt! But are minds are darker than black.. just the way the army intimidates harmless citizens in this country for no reason

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by Megabig: 4:26pm On Apr 19, 2023
Them don intimidate lecturer
Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by PJtech: 4:30pm On Apr 19, 2023
embarassed

I made a post on reddit earlier last month, i got a mail this week from a scottish man he's from St Andrew.. he asked if i can work as a customer service representative(he runs a laundry service). It's a remote job and pay is £40 2 weeks.

I need a phone to start the work on 21/4/2023........ I'm humbly soliciting for help to buy a phone(min 3g ram), i can be paying installmentally starting may ending

I'll appreciate if i can get the help. Thanks
Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by IamaNigerianGuy(m): 4:34pm On Apr 19, 2023
DrTee1:
This is a poorly conceived University management decision - and my reason for stating this isn't because I do not acknowledge the driving and traffic problems that had led to this, but because it is a primitive approach by the University.

It only tells how lowly the standards of education and consequently the governance/administration of same, has descended in Nigeria. Short-sighted, quick-fix, hurried management decisions like this should not emanate from what should be the Ivory Towers of Nigeria. LAUTECH is ordinarily a third or fourth-generation Nigerian university and a first-generation Nigerian State University, if I am not mistaken.

What happens when you ban all students from driving cars is that you would have to check if every car driven in the school is by a visitor or staff.

In that case, do you deprive working-class postgraduate students from using their cars - as the release did not distinguish between classes of students.

Would you deprive children of university staff e.g professors, who are students of the university, from driving their parents cars e.g to pick their siblings from primary or secondary school on campus premises?

Would you deprive university staff who are junior lecturers and also postgraduate STUDENTS from driving their cars on campus - where they are students and lecturers at the same time?

How would you ask everyone driving into the school gate for studentship? How do you differentiate students from other schools, or other young people coming for inquiries and driving their cars from LAUTECH students if the former do not bear such educational means of identification card?

The university management and council should ordinarily be infallible, so to speak. LAUTECH may have dropped the ball with this sweeping ban. It leaves a metallic taste.

Again. look back at the conduct of the recent elections superintended by university lecturers to get a glimpse of how dumb they are.

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by erico2k2(m): 4:36pm On Apr 19, 2023
Ademola47:
The management of the Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomosho, LAUTECH has banned students from driving cars on campus.

Vehicles with no registration numbers and with tinted cars are also banned.

See attached pics.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/punchng.com/lautech-bans-students-from-bringing-cars-to-campus/%3famp
Lobish, talking of misplace priority, why not separate the car park from the school

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by DoxxAnon: 4:38pm On Apr 19, 2023
Ladoke Akintola Senior Secondary School

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by SKIBiNSKI(m): 4:40pm On Apr 19, 2023
Good idea, School is not beer garden, nightclub, ice cream palour,hook up joint or Pub.
Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by Dijita: 4:40pm On Apr 19, 2023
DrTee1:
This is a poorly conceived University management decision - and my reason for stating this isn't because I do not acknowledge the driving and traffic problems that had led to this, but because it is a primitive approach by the University.

It only tells how lowly the standards of education and consequently the governance/administration of same, has descended in Nigeria. Short-sighted, quick-fix, hurried management decisions like this should not emanate from what should be the Ivory Towers of Nigeria. LAUTECH is ordinarily a third or fourth-generation Nigerian university and a first-generation Nigerian State University, if I am not mistaken.

What happens when you ban all students from driving cars is that you would have to check if every car driven in the school is by a visitor or staff.

In that case, do you deprive working-class postgraduate students from using their cars - as the release did not distinguish between classes of students.

Would you deprive children of university staff e.g professors, who are students of the university, from driving their parents cars e.g to pick their siblings from primary or secondary school on campus premises?

Would you deprive university staff who are junior lecturers and also postgraduate STUDENTS from driving their cars on campus - where they are students and lecturers at the same time?

How would you ask everyone driving into the school gate for studentship? How do you differentiate students from other schools, or other young people coming for inquiries and driving their cars from LAUTECH students if the former do not bear such educational means of identification card?

The university management and council should ordinarily be infallible, so to speak. LAUTECH may have dropped the ball with this sweeping ban. It leaves a metallic taste.
NYU is one of the best university in the world. Their medical school is tuition free. If you drive there you have to go and pack outside the campus. That is quite expensive. If traffic on campus is getting to the point where the school operation is been hindered, it is not a bad policy. yes they could have handle it better. It is however been handle the way we handle everything in Nigeria.
https://www.nyu.edu/about/visitor-information/parking.html

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by GboyegaD(m): 4:40pm On Apr 19, 2023
Nigerian institutions be like places where the motto is "backward ever, forward never". Why ban students from bringing cars on campus? If the concern is safety, why not put measures to ensure the campus is safe. Instead of banning cars, why not bring up policies that will discourage them from bringing their cars to campus such as paid parking, toll fees for non staff members etc?

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by shiwex: 4:41pm On Apr 19, 2023
Flight90:
A welcomed development 😌
You are backward....are is this a welcome development. This is rubbish, why will you stop university students from bringing their cars to school.

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by Basicend: 4:42pm On Apr 19, 2023
sholikay:
Yahoo headquarters..😁😁

Dem don oppress the lecturers soteh. . .
Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by ugodson(m): 4:45pm On Apr 19, 2023
All i see here is simply BAD BELLE. Dont you think more cars will even encourage student hustle more

If u come for me u get bad belle
Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by Hussein035: 4:47pm On Apr 19, 2023
Simplythebest:
What kind of stupid policy is this. So they want their students to be poor. Here in Europe students come with their cars. I don't understand why we are still thinking backward. We really need help

In Europe students who use cars worked for it or their parents are rich and their cars are not so exotic like the case of Nigeria students who are into Yahoo then get cars that a professor who's been working for 10 years cannot afford they will definitely run it on their lecturers eyes.

They should even ban student having 10 million in their account without already working in a reasonable organization. That LAUTECH is a home of yahoo. If your ward is admitted there he is already yahoo in two months unless he is 100% contented from home
Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by Somatohadidas(m): 4:50pm On Apr 19, 2023
PotatoSalad:
A lot of Nigerians in offices no be problem solvers sha.
Bringing cars to school isn't problem. Monetize it. Create car parks and slap heavy fees to it.
Any student caught defaulting by parking in any other part of the campus other than the designated parks will be heavily fined.

I was looking out for this solution.

Monetize parking. Lecturers and students should pay monthly (yearly) dues for parking. Create separate parking lots for students and faculty and enforce towing with heavy fines for anyone defaulting the set rules.

This should fix the problem once and for all.

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by ejimatic: 4:51pm On Apr 19, 2023
Ademola47:
The management of the Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomosho, LAUTECH has banned students from driving cars on campus.

Vehicles with no registration numbers and with tinted cars are also banned.

See attached pics.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/punchng.com/lautech-bans-students-from-bringing-cars-to-campus/%3famp
. Why banning cars owned by students? If I am a student there I cannot use a car in the School? The rule is too general and a trample on the right of the students.
Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by PotatoSalad(m): 4:51pm On Apr 19, 2023
Somatohadidas:

Monetize parking. Lecturers and students should pay monthly (yearly) dues for parking. Create separate parking lots for students and faculty and enforce tolling with heavy fines for anyone defaulting the set rules.

Simple

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by nonny1212: 4:53pm On Apr 19, 2023
The intimidation is too much!
Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by believeMEyou: 4:55pm On Apr 19, 2023
Somatohadidas:

Monetize parking. Lecturers and students should pay monthly (yearly) dues for parking. Create separate parking lots for students and faculty and enforce tolling with heavy fines for anyone defaulting the set rules.

you're talking as if Na every student wey dey the school get money or dey drive car. In the average Nigerian University, if there are 1000 students, the one's wey get car no reach 50.. That is the problem with that your solution.....This policy stems from pure jealousy and nothing else because I don't see any benefit what so ever of such satanic policy.. The average Nigerian elderly are always pained to see young people who are more successful than them

Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by Simplythebest: 5:03pm On Apr 19, 2023
Hahahahah lol it means that every youth now is a yahoo person is that what you are saying. And who told that student who use car in Europe work for it. Here if u are earning 1500 euro a month you can easily buy a car. What are u talking about. Stop supporting that useless policy that want students to be poor and don't afford cars.
Hussein035:

In Europe students who use cars worked for it or their parents are rich and their cars are not so exotic like the case of Nigeria students who are into Yahoo then get cars that a professor who's been working for 10 years cannot afford they will definitely run it on their lecturers eyes.

They should even ban student having 10 million in their account without already working in a reasonable organization. That LAUTECH is a home of yahoo. If your ward is admitted there he is already yahoo in two months unless he is 100% contented from home

Veritas University, Abuja Shuts Down Academic Activities Over insecurity / I Have Three Children In Public Universities – Ngige / UNILORIN Shut, Students, Staff Turned Back (photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 60