Stats: 3,152,171 members, 7,815,098 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 07:15 AM

What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? - Jobs/Vacancies (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Jobs/Vacancies / What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? (14279 Views)

My Experience As A Recruiter-chika Uwazie @chikauwazie / Points to note before sending out your CV to a recruiter / Interview Etiquette 101: My Personal Experience As A Recruiter (2) (3) (4)

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by GodWrites: 3:39pm On May 11, 2023
backtovillage:
I pity op.
If I am an employer I will ask stupid question.
Some employers might want to test your tolerance and how you handle difficult issues, but you here woke gen z "I must report everything on social media" "feminist madam" thinking you are at the top of your game

Tolerance indeed.

You will spend 6 months looking for that person that will tolerate your insensitivity.

You are not yet ready to hire.
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by randymirrors(f): 3:42pm On May 11, 2023
deen84:
The MD was asking me my parents occupation

What's his business? Now this is what I regard as a stupid question.

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by OvertheTop(m): 3:43pm On May 11, 2023
leroi01:
Hehehe...back in the day...2017 precisely.
I'd aced all tests and interviews for a middle management position with a financial consulting firm (big one).

It was time to meet the MD for the last chat.

HR and his secretary already told me I had the best evaluation results the company ever saw (wasn't surprised ) and the man was looking forward to seeing me.

Myself, oh..well... Let's get it started.

Had a zoom meeting. MD was a young dude taking over from his pops..

Introduced myself etc etc and then, Bam! He asked me-. So... They told me you are smart. I saw your scores. If you are that smart how come you did not graduate with a first class?

Me - excuse me?

He goes ahead - you graduated with 4.4... (looks at transcript) ...how come..you didn't make a first class?

Touchy subject for me cos it was blood sweat and tears. But I smiled and answered , well, if circumstances were different .. I might have, but that right there is what I have.

Him "hmm". Your cv says you've held this position at this place. I know the chairman. Are you sure or I should call him.

I shrug. and smile- As you please sir.

He grunts , then- " you look like trouble. You seem arrogant. You are not humble. The impression I get is almost like you are doing is a favour by attending this interview.

I'm shocked and now pissed. So.. I say...well, sir. I am humble but also confident in myself and my abilities. You have a wrong impression of me (but in my head I'm thinking ... Bros.. if you have nothing reasonable to ask me, Ogbeni... Don't waste my time)

Next - Are you married? No.

Why- Personal reasons

Him-This is an interview. Answer the question.

I smile - Personal reasons.

He looks at me - I don't think we need a secretive person for this role.

I smile- I thought confidentiality was one of the top requirements for the role.

He's pissed but nods.

He asks me- what do you know about this company, I tell him.

He sneers and talks down at me saying I didn't do my homework bla bla.

Last last, he asks if I have any questions , "just 1" I respond.

So I ask. From your perspective as the MD , what can you tell me about your company and its value proposition?

Dude is gobsmacked, he tells me that's a stupid question.

I smile (and decide to be an A.hole) - Is it? I respond? It's your company, is there...a probl. Well never mind. I thought it will be best to hear it from the visionary himself.

Somewhat flustered... He struggles and stammers through 3 minutes of talking rubbish.

Manages to end the interview with some platitudes.. but I already knew it wasn't gonna happen....plus Nah! I don't want to work here.

Looking back that was the most annoying.

Before he met you, He Already Hated that Word 'Smart' attached to u.

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by Opeyemic01: 3:43pm On May 11, 2023
mofedamijo:
Don't confuse a recruiter, a hiring manager and a random manager as the recruiter.

I own a recruiting and staffing company, and I totally understand the frustration of some candidates.

We recruiters have a specialized training and industry standards on questions to ask and not to ask a candidate.

I am not based in Nigeria, and every country I have recruited from have a standard. Some of the questions I have read here shows that those people are not trained recruiters. They are probably just some random managers that the company assigned the interview duties to.

If you ask some of these questions in certain companies or countries, you will be fired. Those are terrible and highly unethical.

Whenever I do the first phase of interview with the candidate, I submit their names to the hiring company including an executive summary. Then the company does their own interview. However, I am always present at the interview (virtually). If you ask my candidate a stupid and ridiculous questions, or a question that is sensitive and unethical. I will dive in and ask that you either rephrase the question or end the interview. I will let the hiring company know why the question was wrong and if they can't find someone else to do the interview, then its a goodbye. I have collected my upfront fee. The loss is on them.

I will not let anyone disrespect or ridicule my candidate. If you ridicule them in an interview, then you will certainly ridicule them when they start working. The last thing I want to ever have, is for my candidate to call me that they are been subjected to any form of abuse at their work place.

If you treat candidate with disrespect, then certainly, your company's culture stinks.

Please sir let me send you my CV if you have openings for research analyst position. Remote job. Thanks
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by randymirrors(f): 3:48pm On May 11, 2023
OmoOshodi:
SSS interview.....sitting in the waiting room from 7am till 6pm and nobody to tell you someone is coming to attend to you....only for someone to show up at 6pm to come he following day....for 3 days

Only the smart ones will notice the hidden camera in the room and knows that while sitting down there it is already your interview

Lol grin

These kind of situations are the easiest for me. I can hold myself well during interviews. If you like delay for hours on end, I wouldn't flinch or break. I know their game. Whereas in the real world, I'm an impatient person. Impatient to the extent that I don't use the ATM cos of queues. I'm so impatient to the extent that, people who know me personally will often tell me, " o de ma ni suru" - be exercising patience ahn ahn"

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by mofedamijo(m): 3:48pm On May 11, 2023
Opeyemic01:

Please sir let me send you my CV if you have openings for research analyst position. Remote job. Thanks

All my recruiting projects have been in the U.S and Europe, the only countries I do in Africa are South Africa and Mauritius.

Regardless, send me your email. I will send you an email where to send your resume.

Whenever there is an opening for fully remote role, then I will let you know.

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by Opeyemic01: 3:50pm On May 11, 2023
mofedamijo:

All my recruiting projects have been in the U.S and Europe, the only countries I do in Africa are South Africa and Mauritius.

Regardless, send me your email. I will send you an email where to send your resume.

Whenever there is an opening for fully remote role, then I will let you know.

Thank you and God bless

michaelopeyemi946@gmail.com
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by mofedamijo(m): 3:50pm On May 11, 2023
Opeyemic01:

Thank you and God bless

michaelopeyemi946@gmail.com

Thank you.
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by randymirrors(f): 3:55pm On May 11, 2023
leroi01:
I'd aced all tests and interviews for a middle management position with a financial consulting firm (big one).

Whether you agree or not, you were arrogant.

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by BennyDGreat: 3:57pm On May 11, 2023
mofedamijo:
Don't confuse a recruiter, a hiring manager and a random manager as the recruiter.

I own a recruiting and staffing company, and I totally understand the frustration of some candidates.

We recruiters have a specialized training and industry standards on questions to ask and not to ask a candidate.

I am not based in Nigeria, and every country I have recruited from have a standard. Some of the questions I have read here shows that those people are not trained recruiters. They are probably just some random managers that the company assigned the interview duties to.

If you ask some of these questions in certain companies or countries, you will be fired. Those are terrible and highly unethical.

Whenever I do the first phase of interview with the candidate, I submit their names to the hiring company including an executive summary. Then the company does their own interview. However, I am always present at the interview (virtually). If you ask my candidate a stupid and ridiculous questions, or a question that is sensitive and unethical. I will dive in and ask that you either rephrase the question or end the interview. I will let the hiring company know why the question was wrong and if they can't find someone else to do the interview, then its a goodbye. I have collected my upfront fee. The loss is on them.

I will not let anyone disrespect or ridicule my candidate. If you ridicule them in an interview, then you will certainly ridicule them when they start working. The last thing I want to ever have, is for my candidate to call me that they are been subjected to any form of abuse at their work place.

If you treat candidate with disrespect, then certainly, your company's culture stinks.

You are speaking from a well structured environment with standard practice.

In Nigeria, people do as they like....do you recruit for remote creative roles?
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by OVB123: 4:00pm On May 11, 2023
gigabyte13:
Interviewer : mentioned a certain amount as my monthly pay.

Me : instantly l no do for that amount

Interviewer : Got angry, something that people are looking for

Me : Na Dem be that
Collect my papers from him and leave

Make l come work from
7am-7pm daily
For #30k including weekends....
Even if l be machine, l go quick spoil

That was in 2013
Fo
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by OVB123: 4:06pm On May 11, 2023
sherylbaky:
grin grin grin LWKM
They wanted to consider you for marketing but I guess you had an extremely saint look as at then
You are right bro. Marketing in banking sector is similar to oloshoism. That was why the interviewer asked her that question.
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by randymirrors(f): 4:07pm On May 11, 2023
mofedamijo:

Wow. Finally, someone who's passionate about HR. Many people do this course and get certified for name's sake. They couldn't care less.

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by GodWrites: 4:08pm On May 11, 2023
randymirrors:

This was really funny. But I wouldn't get angry if I'm asked why aren't I married cos really why am I not married at my age. It's a very sensible and objective question if you asked me.

You probably lack boundaries. Check your relationships and tell me I am wrong.

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by randymirrors(f): 4:15pm On May 11, 2023
GodWrites:

You probably lack boundaries. Check your relationships and tell me I am wrong.

You're absolutely wrong. I have very strong boundaries both in my personal and professional life. I no dey take nonsense o. Now regarding interviews, I'm there for the job and the money, nothing else concerns me. Not even my interviewer's opinion or personality matter. I'm not an insecure person so nothing breaks me.

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by leroi01(m): 4:16pm On May 11, 2023
randymirrors:

Whether you agree or not, you were arrogant.

It's your opinion.
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by leroi01(m): 4:29pm On May 11, 2023
randymirrors:

You're absolutely wrong. I have very strong boundaries both in my personal and professional life. I no dey take nonsense o. Now regarding interviews, I'm there for the job and the money, [/b]nothing else concerns me. Not even my interviewer's opinion or personality matter.[b] I'm not an insecure person so nothing breaks me.

This is exactly why your employer will treat you like shyt, disrespect you and still expect you to be grateful for it.

If you know the value you offer, you would Have some self respect.

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by Jefferyhi86(m): 4:30pm On May 11, 2023
I remember applying for one teaching job years ago, the school proprietor ask me why am yet to get married, my reply was is it 24000 salary I will use to get married or she can give me one of her staff who's single to get married to, I just ask of my cv n left the place, some of the teachers who were present was shock at my response, Na me she wan disgrace publicly

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by Sunnybabe(m): 4:30pm On May 11, 2023
SegunBABA007:
What’s your name ? , And the idiot is holding my CV.
🤣🤣🤣
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by randymirrors(f): 4:33pm On May 11, 2023
leroi01:

This is exactly why your employer will treat you like shyt, disrespect you and still expect you to be grateful for it.

You're daft. No employer has ever disrespected me. Infact, every job I ever left, my employers wanted me back and never wanted me to leave. Also, I always take the lead at my work place and every other place I find myself. If not that this is a very anonymous forum, would have posted proofs for you to eat your word like shit.
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by Edoziesmart(m): 4:35pm On May 11, 2023
gorgeousnogo:
Are you still a Virgin?

(Access bank, Main market branch)
I just finished NYSC, in 2016, and I was going round the banks around Onitsha to submit my CV.

Got there and I was sent upstairs to submit my CV.
AHH
Is the interviewer a pervert ?

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by randymirrors(f): 4:41pm On May 11, 2023
leroi01:

You know, it's even very daft of you to go interviewing for a job carrying your shoulders. This is what I tell people. It's not a smart move, just daft daft daft. Humble yourself and get the job. That don't make you a doormat. When you get in, you can then do as you like, your skills and confidence will speak for you.

It's only insecure people and those who don't know their onions people walk all over. Not even your MD will disrespect you on your job cos you're confident. So when you go into an interview with pride, what do you gain other than add to your stupidity? You need to be strategic to achieve your goals. Not everytime gra gra. Go and read my posts on this forum, then you'll know I'm not a pushover.

Again, for your record, I've not had any personal experience regarding this topic or I'd have shared mine. Perhaps because I got the looks and I have a good taste in fashion. My appearance is always very appealing so you wouldn't want to "disrespect" me. Also, I'm very likeable so I always ace my interviews. Any questions directly about my personal life wouldn't hurt me, just don't bring my family into it.
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by ItisWell22(f): 4:45pm On May 11, 2023
Even while reading, I was annoyed.

I think it’s just one of the “let my people go” graduates, who also happens to be a privileged kid; trying to make a good, hardworking individual feel less of himself.

Glad you handled him well…

leroi01:

It was time to meet the MD for the last chat.

HR and his secretary already told me I had the best evaluation results the company ever saw (wasn't surprised ) and the man was looking forward to seeing me.

Myself, oh..well... Let's get it started.

Had a zoom meeting. MD was a young dude taking over from his pops..

Introduced myself etc etc and then, Bam! He asked me-. So... They told me you are smart. I saw your scores. If you are that smart how come you did not graduate with a first class?

Me - excuse me?

He goes ahead - you graduated with 4.4... (looks at transcript) ...how come..you didn't make a first class?

Touchy subject for me cos it was blood sweat and tears. But I smiled and answered , well, if circumstances were different .. I might have, but that right there is what I have.

Him "hmm". Your cv says you've held this position at this place. I know the chairman. Are you sure or I should call him.

I shrug. and smile- As you please sir.

He grunts , then- " you look like trouble. You seem arrogant. You are not humble. The impression I get is almost like you are doing is a favour by attending this interview.

I'm shocked and now pissed. So.. I say...well, sir. I am humble but also confident in myself and my abilities. You have a wrong impression of me (but in my head I'm thinking ... Bros.. if you have nothing reasonable to ask me, Ogbeni... Don't waste my time)

Next - Are you married? No.

Why- Personal reasons

Him-This is an interview. Answer the question.

I smile - Personal reasons.

He looks at me - I don't think we need a secretive person for this role.

I smile- I thought confidentiality was one of the top requirements for the role.

He's pissed but nods.

He asks me- what do you know about this company, I tell him.

He sneers and talks down at me saying I didn't do my homework bla bla.

Last last, he asks if I have any questions , "just 1" I respond.

So I ask. From your perspective as the MD , what can you tell me about your company and its value proposition?

Dude is gobsmacked, he tells me that's a stupid question.

I smile (and decide to be an A.hole) - Is it? I respond? It's your company, is there...a probl. Well never mind. I thought it will be best to hear it from the visionary himself.

Somewhat flustered... He struggles and stammers through 3 minutes of talking rubbish.

Manages to end the interview with some platitudes.. but I already knew it wasn't gonna happen....plus Nah! I don't want to work here.

Looking back that was the most annoying.

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by mofedamijo(m): 4:47pm On May 11, 2023
BennyDGreat:

You are speaking from a well structured environment with standard practice.

In Nigeria, people do as they like....do you recruit for remote creative roles?

Even in the U.S, we have some horrible recruiters. They are everywhere. However, they can be reported and someone is likely to join the job market if reported.

I do. Unfortunately, my recruiting projects have been in the U.S, Europe and South Africa. In the last nine months, I have been working on a role in South Africa (recruiting and team building) for a U.S based company.

It was so sad because I couldn't bring the opportunity to Nigeria due to several factors. The salary is around 1million/month (sales executives). Its really difficult convincing any client about hiring from Nigeria. Quite sad.

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by mofedamijo(m): 4:48pm On May 11, 2023
randymirrors:

Wow. Finally, someone who's passionate about HR. Many people do this course and get certified for name's sake. They couldn't care less.

That's so true. HR is an art tangled in sales, customer service and people management. It is a very sensitive industry. As an HR personnel or recruiter, you are the face, brand and culture of a company a prospective employee will first encounter.

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by thecommunist(m): 5:06pm On May 11, 2023
One HR guy interviewing me for a new role was asking me what I want to use that kind of big money for when I told him my salary expectation .
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by leroi01(m): 5:31pm On May 11, 2023
randymirrors:

You're daft. No employer has ever disrespected me. Infact, every job I ever left, my employers wanted me back and never wanted me to leave. Also, I always take the lead at my work place and every other place I find myself. If not that this is a very anonymous forum, would have posted proofs for you to eat your word like shit.

Shush there. We know your type.

You've been abused for so long it is now normal to you.

Like I said, have some self respect. Particularly cos you are a...lady.
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by leroi01(m): 5:40pm On May 11, 2023
randymirrors:

You know, it's even very daft of you to go interviewing for a job carrying your shoulders. This is what I tell people. It's not a smart move, just daft daft daft. Humble yourself and get the job. That don't make you a doormat. When you get in, you can then do as you like, your skills and confidence will speak for you.

It's only insecure people and those who don't know their onions people walk all over. Not even your MD will disrespect you on your job cos you're confident. So when you go into an interview with pride, what do you gain other than add to your stupidity? You need to be strategic to achieve your goals. Not everytime gra gra. Go and read my posts on this forum, then you'll know I'm not a pushover.

Again, for your record, I've not had any personal experience regarding this topic or I'd have shared mine. Perhaps because I got the looks and I have a good taste in fashion. My appearance is always very appealing so you wouldn't want to "disrespect" me. Also, I'm very likeable so I always ace my interviews. Any questions directly about my personal life wouldn't hurt me, just don't bring my family into it.

I mentioned an experience that happened 5 years ago... And you are worked up like this in 2023?

Seek help. You can Google some self help books.

It should help boost your self esteem . And help you learn "manners".

You claim to be good... Nice, confident, but the first thing you comment on a stranger's post is "how he's arrogant , whether he agrees or not". And the next is to call him daft?

What "manners" do you want to teach your kids?

Where do you begin with teaching or helping them assert their confidence?

Rather you'd teach them to grovel and see a job offer as a favor as against an avenue to "add value and get paid for it.

Get your mentality right.

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by randymirrors(f): 5:41pm On May 11, 2023
leroi01:

Shush there. We know your type.

You've been abused for so long it is now normal to you.

Like I said, have some self respect. Particularly cos you are a...lady.

Oga shut up there. It's obvious you have nothing upstairs, otherwise your insecurities wouldn't have gotten the better of you during that interview of yours.
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by randymirrors(f): 5:47pm On May 11, 2023
leroi01:

I mentioned an experience that happened 5 years ago... And you are worked up like this in 2023?

Seek help. You can Google some self help books.

It should help boost your self esteem . And help you learn "manners".

Oh just shut up. Who cares if it's 10 years ago? You were unreasonably arrogant. When you go for an interview, you're not going there to beg, you're not begging anyone for money or favors. You're there to win. And your senses should have told you that, when you want something from someone, the other person automatically has the upperhand. Give to Caeser what he deserves. Nobody asked you to grovel. And yes, you're daft and arrogant. No where did I say or imply that I'm nice. Afterall, I referred you to my comments on this forum.

You don't tell your interviewer "as you please" . That's just too much.
Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by leroi01(m): 5:50pm On May 11, 2023
randymirrors:

Oh just shut up. Who cares if it's 10 years ago? You were unreasonably arrogant. When you go for an interview, you're not going there to beg, you're not begging anyone for money or favors. You're there to win. And your senses should have told you that, when you want something from someone, the other person automatically has the upperhand. Give to Caeser what he deserves. Nobody asked you to grovel. And yes, you're daft and arrogant. No where did I say or imply that I'm nice. Afterall, I referred you to my comments on this forum.

See...just move on.. okay.

Move.

If you know your worth and have options, you would think and react differently.

Just move.

Thanks for your interest.

Bye.

Re: What's The Most Insensitive Question(s) A Recruiter Has Ever Asked You? by TheGift: 5:52pm On May 11, 2023
[quote author=QuinModah post=123070014][/quote]

Many recruiters come to recruitment with an air of superiority. Meanwhile, they may not be able to talk to some of those candidates eye to eye on a very good day. Your job as a recruiter is to find the person's fitness (or otherwise) for the role. Not to make them feel small or uncomfortable, or begin to act as a counselor for their personal affairs. It is highly unprofessional.

Screening Invite From PSIN / Common But Costing Mistakes Of Job Seekers / Help!!!! Two Interviews On The Same Day!

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 92