Stats: 3,156,694 members, 7,831,156 topics. Date: Friday, 17 May 2024 at 02:35 PM

Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 - Travel (662) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 (2202816 Views)

Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) / Living In The USA - Life Of An Immigrant Part 1 / Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (659) (660) (661) (662) (663) (664) (665) ... (714) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by njambert: 7:19am On Aug 04, 2023
sirabbey:

Congratulations on your landing. May Maple land favour you and yours.

Out of curiosity, why are you mulling moving back to Calgary knowing fully well that things are cheaper in Edmonton as well as the cost of living being lower in Edmonton?

Thank you.
Actually I'm pretty good with Edmonton and we have an excellent church community here.I would only leave for Calgary if I get a convincingly high paying on-site job there.Calgary's more beautiful,but the rental situation was crazy.Each rental we checked on had tens of people on the waiting list and requirements were so high we wouldn't qualify.Our place here in Edmonton is atleast 25% cheaper than we could possibly find in Calgary.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Nobody: 7:21am On Aug 04, 2023
njambert:

Thank you.
Actually I'm pretty good with Edmonton and we have an excellent church community here.I would only leave for Calgary if I get a convincingly high paying on-site job there.Calgary's more beautiful,but the rental situation was crazy.Each rental we checked on had tens of people on the waiting list and requirements were so high we wouldn't qualify.Our place here in Edmonton is atleast 25% cheaper than we could possibly find in Calgary.
getting an accommodation in Edmonton is easier that Calgary??
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by njambert: 7:37am On Aug 04, 2023
Viking07:
getting an accommodation in Edmonton is easier that Calgary??

Much easier and cheaper. There's also a better community feel or living in Edmonton than Calgary from my little time of observation. Edmonton is slower.I feel you don't need to push yourself too much to make a good living here.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Nobody: 7:40am On Aug 04, 2023
Deleted.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Nobody: 7:50am On Aug 04, 2023
njambert:

Much easier and cheaper. There's also a better community feel or living in Edmonton than Calgary from my little time of observation. Edmonton is slower.I feel you don't need to push yourself too much to make a good living here.
Thank you.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by NuCypher: 7:54am On Aug 04, 2023
Viking07:
There is a Nigerian currently stranded in Toronto. All the contacts he had failed him. He’s a student of Seneca college.

I don’t know if there’s any kind of help he can get from folks over there. He slept outside yesterday.

Cc @ednut1 etc. any kind of advice would help as he’s still looking for assistance on the telegram group.

His name is Oluwaseyi and can be reached on phone via: 4376612820

Can he not get into an AirBnB for now?
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Nobody: 7:57am On Aug 04, 2023
NuCypher:

Can he not get into an AirBnB for now?
He spent all he had to the last $200. That’s all he’s got left.

$200.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by NuCypher: 9:56am On Aug 04, 2023
Viking07:

$200.
How did he ever end up in such situation? He has no proof of funds? I wish I could help, but I'm not in Toronto at the moment. If he's unable to find someone, I suggest he goes to the nearest Canada branch of his church from Nigeria, e.g. celestial, redeemed, etc, if he's a Christian. That may help. Otherwise, he can go to YMCA's closest branch or salvation army. He may also find help there if he explains himself, though they are also likely to ask about his visa status and proof of funds, etc. If they can't help him directly, they'll surely provide needed assistance in finding the right shelter to at least get him started. There are also a few city shelters out there for temporary stay. He can google to get their addresses and go to the nearest one.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Nobody: 10:10am On Aug 04, 2023
NuCypher:

How did he ever end up in such situation? He has no proof of funds? I wish I could help, but I'm not in Toronto at the moment. If he's unable to find someone, I suggest he goes to the nearest Canada branch of his church from Nigeria, e.g. celestial, redeemed, etc, if he's a Christian. That may help. Otherwise, he can go to YMCA's closest branch or salvation army. He may also find help there if he explains himself, though they are also likely to ask about his visa status and proof of funds, etc. If they can't help him directly, they'll surely provide needed assistance in finding the right shelter to at least get him started. There are also a few city shelters out there for temporary stay. He can google to get their addresses and go to the nearest one.
thank you. I have screenshot your message to him. 🙌
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by tenderjunkie: 11:03am On Aug 04, 2023
A friend of mine used an agent to apply for a visitor visa. However there was a fallout with the agent.

Now he's interviewing for some sponsored jobs and the chances of getting an offer is very likely.

He wants to have access to his portal but it is unlikely the agent will release the details.

Can he create a new account and ask IRCC to link it to the old one?

If not, what are his options?
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by oluayebenz: 11:46am On Aug 04, 2023
Viking07:

$200.

Damn....
That will be tough, I hope he's old enough to bear the experience cos It won't be funny o.

Toronto base in the house should pls help.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by ednut1(m): 12:00pm On Aug 04, 2023
NuCypher:

the average student from Nigerian or Indian does not the proof of funds they showed during application. It rained yesterday self, and he slept outside ah. Will reach out to him

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Nobody: 12:29pm On Aug 04, 2023
ednut1:
the average student from Nigerian or Indian does not the proof of funds they showed during application. It rained yesterday self, and he slept outside ah. Will reach out to him
Thanks boss. Biko let us know how it goes. The guy is still lamenting on WhatsApp/telegram.

Thanks once again.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by lanresz(m): 1:30pm On Aug 04, 2023
This is another sad story. Sleeping outside can have a long term impact. The implication of not have the proof of funds they showed during application always have negative impacts. Hopefully the person gets the help they need. Hopefully, some NGOs or a good Samaritan can help. If I'm in Toronto I could have but I'm not there.

ednut1:
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Nobody: 2:49pm On Aug 04, 2023
Viking07:
There is a Nigerian currently stranded in Toronto. All the contacts he had failed him. He’s a student of Seneca college.

I don’t know if there’s any kind of help he can get from folks over there. He slept outside yesterday.

Cc @ednut1 etc. any kind of advice would help as he’s still looking for assistance on the telegram group.

His name is Oluwaseyi and can be reached on phone via: 43766

Update about this guy.

He has refused to pick several video calls to verify his claims instead he prefers typing.

I don’t know how he got all the documents he posted earlier on but this smells like a scam. We’ve blocked & deleted him from the group.

Cc @ednut1

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by NuCypher: 3:02pm On Aug 04, 2023
Viking07:
Update about this guy.

He has refused to pick several video calls to verify his claims instead he prefers typing.

I don’t know how he got all the documents he posted earlier on but this smells like a scam. We’ve blocked & deleted him from the group.

Thanks for the update. Please remove his phone number.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Viking007(m): 3:06pm On Aug 04, 2023
NuCypher:

Thanks for the update. Please remove his phone number.
Okay.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by olabanji88(m): 4:36pm On Aug 04, 2023
so guys what is the diy way to travel to canada now
best opportnities to emigrate that gets you PR later
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Oge2dey: 6:03pm On Aug 04, 2023
Taken
Oge2dey:
I have a fully furnished ensuite room with a smart TV (Netflix available) and working table/chair in my home/house for a short stay (Sept to Dec 2023). Kitchen and laundry will be shared. The house is within GTA and precisely in a quiet neighbourhood in Bowmanville Durham Region, Ontario. Anyone interested can reach out to me. We can accommodate for just a month if that's what works for you till you find a permanent place to settle. There are only 3 individuals in the house (a four bedroom detached house) for now (Husband, wife and mother)

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Oge2dey: 6:12pm On Aug 04, 2023
Kaiii
Viking07:
Update about this guy.

Cc @ednut1
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by 73O9: 7:54pm On Aug 04, 2023
Viking07:
Update about this guy.

Cc @ednut1

He might be genuine, I gave him a call after I saw your update.
He said he was in a bank trying to get credit when he got the video call, I laughed and told him credit doesn't work that way.

He can be tried again but should be done carefully as people tend to take people's kindness for granted.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Nobody: 9:22pm On Aug 04, 2023
73O9:

He might be genuine, I gave him a call after I saw you update.
He said he was in a bank trying to get credit when he got the video call, I laughed and told him credit doesn't work that way.

He can be tried again but should be done carefully as people tend to take people's kindness for granted.
Thank you for the feedback. I was actually coming here to post an update only for the anti spam bot to ban me for no reason. Thanks to the moderator who assisted.

We later verified his information. He’s genuine and we’ve contributed the little we can. But he still needs help from anyone in Toronto in getting an accommodation as he’s about to spend the 2nd day sleeping outside.

😢.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Enculer2: 10:17pm On Aug 04, 2023
Nigerians are never straight.

Always dodgy.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by megastu(m): 5:43am On Aug 05, 2023
Bruv, all shelters are full. Social services are stretched out. When you tell people that if you do not have loads of money don't go near Toronto they will think it's a joke.

Hope you are following the refugee stories? I was at the forefront of people who fought for better conditions for them. Its turf out there!
NuCypher:

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by yeldey: 6:15am On Aug 05, 2023
ednut1:

Ednut1 and the truth lol.

Boss let's connect off here.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by aestake: 2:15pm On Aug 05, 2023
Viking07:
Thank you for the feedback. I was actually coming here to post an update only for the anti spam bot to ban me for no reason. Thanks to the moderator who assisted.

We later verified his information. He’s genuine and we’ve contributed the little we can. But he still needs help from anyone in Toronto in getting an accommodation as he’s about to spend the 2nd day sleeping outside.

😢.
Shey POF loss?
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by aestake: 2:21pm On Aug 05, 2023
megastu:
Bruv, all shelters are full. Social services are stretched out. When you tell people that if you do not have loads of money don't go near Toronto they will think it's a joke.

Hope you are following the refugee stories? I was at the forefront of people who fought for better conditions for them. Its turf out there!
I see them at Dundas E. before Wharton Way, Mississauga ...Kenyans, Ugandans and Nigerians (healthy babes and guys)...huh.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by NuCypher: 3:01pm On Aug 05, 2023
megastu:

You are right, bro. Social services are certainly stretched out in a big city like Toronto. But perhaps some emergency shelter out there can rotate people in and out enough to have some small space.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by lyndaoyewole(f): 8:20pm On Aug 06, 2023
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Zeewirld: 11:27pm On Aug 06, 2023
Please I need candid advice from seniors and experienced persons in Canada..I have financial background and my partner is business inclined.. I have Gotten ITA but presently confused on which province to target for settlement.My consideration is affordability and ease of settlement.
No family member in Canada just acquaintances.
I have streamlined my searches and enquires to Alberta; Edmonton and Calgary ,and Ontario with focus on Ottawa, Mississauga, Hamilton and Niagara region.

Please seniors and experienced persons in Canada..My enquires are;

✓Which province/city would you suggest my family and I settle.

✓Which province/city supports business persons more in terms of getting customers easily and government supports?

✓Which period/time of the year would you suggest I land?

✓Would you suggest I transition to Tech or continue in the financial sector.

@Ednut1
@aestake
@everyone

Please assist.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by NuCypher: 12:01am On Aug 07, 2023
Zeewirld:

✓Which province/city would you suggest my family and I settle.

✓Which province/city supports business persons more in terms of getting customers easily and government supports?

✓Which period/time of the year would you suggest I land?

✓Would you suggest I transition to Tech or continue in the financial sector.

Please assist.
First and foremost, nobody knows your situation better than you do. You are the one in the best position to decide where you should go. Add to that the fact that people may offer you several opinions which are likely to confuse you even more, you find you are better off doing your research yourself and arriving at your own conclusions. Nevertheless, let me give this a go.

Given the list you drew up, I'd say you are better off in Ontario if you want to do business. However that depends on the nature of the business. If your business is mostly going to serve people of Nigerian heritage and can only be delivered physically, then Ontario is likely your best bet. That's where you'll find the most Nigerian. Perhaps, Calgary comes second here. If your business can be delivered online, then you can stay anywhere actually. Doesn't matter. Edmonton, Calgary, wherever you want. Most provinces will offer support to small businesses. So there's no reason to choose one over the other here.

Period of year to land is probably summer, from around late April to September, if only because it allows you move around without worrying too much about the cold. And you are going to move around a lot in your first few weeks, especially if you are renting or buying a home. Summer is also probably most favorable if you want to start your business immediately since you'll be doing a lot of running around too. Still, it doesn't matter too much. People have arrived and moved around in winter without a lot of worry. It's just a lot more complicated and you'll worry about transportation.

Are you doing business or working? You need to make up your mind. Don't make the mistake of coming to Canada and unsurely going about your settling down. If you are very good at your finance, stick to it. Get additional certifications, put together a nice resume and start looking for opportunities immediately. You don't need to dabble into Tech if you are an excellent finance person, except you just want to complement your skills and sell yourself in part as a financial analyst with impressive Tech skills by the side. However, if you are not confident about your finance skills or you think they are inadequate or non-lucrative, then you can consider going into Tech. Start with something you think you can do easily or something you can build on. For example, a good pivot for a former finance person is business analysis or financial modelling. You can do a few certificates here and there, and reconstruct your resume to sell that side of you. If you have the brain for it though, go for cyber security, frontend development or data science. Those are good ones with a lot of job opportunities. If you are even smarter and can take the pressure, go for software development. In doing all of this, make sure to make up your mind once and follow through. Don't dilly-dally.

15 Likes 2 Shares

(1) (2) (3) ... (659) (660) (661) (662) (663) (664) (665) ... (714) (Reply)

Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. / Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program Connect Here

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 69