Stats: 3,330,939 members, 8,447,812 topics. Date: Sunday, 19 July 2026 at 04:25 AM

Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? - Travel (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralTravelCan This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? (63774 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by Artscollection: 8:59pm On Nov 04, 2023
Vips yes!!
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by treatise: 8:59pm On Nov 04, 2023
Neictraema:
Mr. Minister of Interior
Yes and No( yes in my dream country and no in reality)
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by Mccullum: 9:03pm On Nov 04, 2023
Nigeria embassy have provision for it, that of Nigeria is known as Emergency Travel Certificate. It can only be used for one journey back to Nigeria.

When the traveller reach Nigeria, he/she will go and apply for new passport.
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by tegrianonigltd(m): 9:05pm On Nov 04, 2023
BigDawsNet:
Yes, very possible... we have issue with collecting Passport faster because we have large number of people planning to japa...

In the US.. People don't line up from the Passport office to the express because they are waiting for Passport... some Americans don't even know the process of collecting a passport... so they have low turn up population requesting for passport... so that means.. it will be easy for the few dat need it
Excuse upon excuse, like say china no plenty pass us times 7 lol, excuse,

Una go explain tire lol

China too have emergency passport. Apart from passport, them dey do well, them travel like us too, doesn’t deprive them from not doing well.

You go explain tire no evidence
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by Goldbw122(m): 9:08pm On Nov 04, 2023
I would say it will take a lot of time for something like that to happen, but when you really need the passport then you have to have money so that the process will be faster, and trust me it would be faster than you imagine.
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by porthouse7(f): 9:19pm On Nov 04, 2023
Neictraema:
Mr. Minister of Interior
you can get emergency travel certificate a Nigerian embassy in jourb in 24hr, I have done it b4
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by Nobody: 9:20pm On Nov 04, 2023
BigDawsNet:
Yes, very possible... we have issue with collecting Passport faster because we have large number of people planning to japa...

In the US.. People don't line up from the Passport office to the express because they are waiting for Passport... some Americans don't even know the process of collecting a passport... so they have low turn up population requesting for passport... so that means.. it will be easy for the few dat need it
Stop justifying inefficiency and systemic rot...

There are more passport holders in America than Nigeria, get your facts right. The percentage of Nigerians with passport is less than 20% of the entire population.
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by Rhozabeth(m): 9:21pm On Nov 04, 2023
Till thy kingdom come, ko le werk! Not in this generation!
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by Kingluqman(m): 9:25pm On Nov 04, 2023
Isupaefugbemi00:
Rome you mean
Even Road sef grin
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by Hezmatosky: 9:42pm On Nov 04, 2023
They did it for Davido papa, what's special about special treatment? Lose your American passport in Nigeria and call American embassy in Nigeria and see if America na your mate sad
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by DrKlever(m): 9:42pm On Nov 04, 2023
wittywriter:
Sighs....

Wittyness.
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by Fizalis(m): 9:43pm On Nov 04, 2023
BigDawsNet:

Excuse Excuse Excuse! This ur explanation no logical at all oh!
Is America Nigeria and is American system efficient and mago mago free?
The answer to these questions will explain things better for everyone!
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by Snakedoctor1: 9:44pm On Nov 04, 2023
Neictraema:
Mr. Minister of Interior
A colleagues got the next day in Abuja but I won't say how much he paid.

Its doable in naija.
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by zudozz: 9:44pm On Nov 04, 2023
Zxcvbnmghtr:
grin You can answer the question yourself.
The person that is asking this question does not really know how useless this UAR is!
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by adecz: 9:49pm On Nov 04, 2023
⭕️⭕️⭕️✖️✖️✖️⭕️⭕️⭕️
Nigerians are well trained and
know their job very well..

The problem is that public servants
are paid peanuts, so the only way they
survive is through egunje.

Therefore they must things difficult
for us in order to collect their "pound of
flesh".

Oyibo governments pay their workers
well, so the workers do not need to
engage in sharp practices to survive.

The average pay of a civil servant can't
last up to 10 days since we got cursed
with APC government⭕️✖️❗️❗️❗️😕
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by YeyeBoyfriend: 9:52pm On Nov 04, 2023
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by YeyeBoyfriend: 9:53pm On Nov 04, 2023
Yes, it happened to be before in 2016,
my passport expired and the Nigerian embassy at the country I was residing in doesn't print passports, but they gave me an emergency travel sheet of paper, I entered Spain without a valid passport nor visa, as soon as I alighted from the train station in Madrid, immigration officers stopped me, ask their normal questions, and I explained to them my predicament then showed the the note from the Nigerian embassy, they placed a call on the number on the note, afterwards i was let go to renew my passport and that took just less than 30 minutes to get without paying in dime
Neictraema:
Mr. Minister of Interior
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by DaddyGngeess(m): 9:56pm On Nov 04, 2023
Yes, is called TC in Nigeria embassies all over the world is just for you to travel back to your country no big deal
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by Burgerlomo: 10:03pm On Nov 04, 2023
All I can say is God bless America and also God bless Nigeria and lastly God bless me and my family 🙏
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by Machinegun91(m): 10:05pm On Nov 04, 2023
Nigerian embassy get phone numbers?

No
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by mvem(m): 10:10pm On Nov 04, 2023
[img][/img]
BigDawsNet:

I don't think that's the case. The US is a country of over 300 million people and I believe it boils down to strong database and efficient system. Nothing makes your passport undoable in matter of hours or at most few days if your have a good database system and solid structure in-place

You speak of Japa...do you know how many Americans are overseas ?

You think the number is less than the Nigerians overseas?
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by godofuck231: 10:10pm On Nov 04, 2023
You go die for Afghanistan your bones go loss , you go pass 1000000 ports you no go see passport talk less emergency
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by soccerlite: 10:17pm On Nov 04, 2023
Ihaveleftnaija:
If you have money, yes. If you're broke, forget about it lol
Like how much money not to be called broke

Funny lots
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by Mandate1: 10:17pm On Nov 04, 2023
BigDawsNet:

you actually think Nigerians travel more than Americans? I don't think any country travels more than America. No country in the world you won't find a US citizen.
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by EconFinance: 10:22pm On Nov 04, 2023
Fugazy2023:
Rome was not built in a day. We can achieve it.
I don't expect yam leg people with very flat skulls to believe it's possible because they are bunch of haters and enemy of progress
This is why Nigeria will not work
Cos of comments like this
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by gabaih(m): 10:26pm On Nov 04, 2023
It is the same with Emergency Travel Certificate (ETC) issued across Nigerian Embassies abroad.
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by 7arrows: 10:43pm On Nov 04, 2023
Neictraema:
Mr. Minister of Interior
Even the normal passport never come out na emergency passport you dey ask for. Hahahaha very funny. They will ask you to go to Abuja, as if the machine to print only works in Abuja. We need to change that stupid idea of Abuja.
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by RightToReject(m):
Any just and experienced Nigerian traveller knows that it has always been possible in every Nigerian embassy anywhere in the world - especially within the working hours and days. There's no difference between American emergency passport and Nigeria ETC.
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by ramalot(m): 10:55pm On Nov 04, 2023
The definitive answer is.. YES.
I know this, because I did it only 3 months ago. A standard passport renewal, not an emergency passport like this lady got.

For context, I travel with a US passport, but use my Nigerian passport when going to Nigeria, or some African countries.
I've renewed both my US and Nigerian passports in multiple countries (as I travel quite a bit), so I've had some experience with this.

From the OP's image, it's clear the lady was NOT in the US at the time of getting the emergency passport. In the US, we don't go to an "embassy" to get a passport, as "US embassies" don't exist in... the US.

I was in a US embassy in a South American country last year, to renew my US passport, and met people getting emergency passports. It's no big deal. The emergency one comes with only 5 or 6 pages, so you still need a standard renewal when you get home. I was there for a standard renewal, for a larger 50-page booklet, as I had enough time (2-3 weeks). So mine clearly wasn't same-day.

All that said, I went to Brasilia, Brazil 3 months ago, to renew my Nigerian passport, as that was the only passport-issuing location in the region I was traveling. The entire process from getting there, to receiving my new passport was a few hours. It wasn't some emergency passport either. It was a standard passport.

I paid online, booked an appointment, went there. Paid an administrative fee, did the capturing and walked out with my new passport all in 2-3 hours. I was literally the only person being attended to at the Nigerian embassy, though. It was empty, except for about 4-6 embassy staff I saw.

Not only can you get your international passport at a Nigerian embassy in a few hours, it's a permanent passport - not an emergency one. So shout out to the embassy in Brasilia, Brazil. The embassy in New York is a different story. Took me many months to renew there, in 2017.

The attached image is from a video I took outside the Nigerian embassy, in Brasilia, Brazil.

Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by APCNig: 11:46pm On Nov 04, 2023
Neictraema:
Mr. Minister of Interior
Whatever you are smoking, stop it before it stops you.

Even if your Mama call you, you dey answer her quick like that?
Re: Can This Happen At Nigerian Embassies? by chima47(m): 11:50pm On Nov 04, 2023
No need calling the embassy, l will construct one for myself.
1 2 3 4 5 Reply

Proof Some Nigerian Embassies Issue Passports On The Same DayNigerian Embassies In Romania, Hungary Receive Over 200 Nigerians From UkraineWhy Do Nigerian Embassies Employ Foreigners234

Nigeria Ineligible For US DV-2015500 Nigerians Deported From The UK Arrive LagosJust Got My Visa To Travel To Germany For Work, I Am Having Cold Feet.