Stats: 3,154,173 members, 7,821,977 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 May 2024 at 11:20 PM

Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing - Health (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing (31089 Views)

Thousands Of NY COVID Patients Are Being Treated With Anti-malarial Drug / BREAKING: US Approves Anti-malarial Drug, Chloroquine To Treat Coronavirus / I'm Still Experiencing Malarial Symptoms After Treatment (2) (3) (4)

Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by Dibo001: 1:02pm On Dec 23, 2023
smiley

Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by Woodshot: 1:02pm On Dec 23, 2023
Yyr
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by Chicagograduate(m): 1:02pm On Dec 23, 2023
sms4sure:
Delay might cause more serious damage, pls to the hospital ASAP. Talking from experience
Some chemist are own by doctors and nurses.I won't advise him to go to the hospital because he go spend money wey he no budget for a minor illness.

Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by Geovanni412(m): 1:02pm On Dec 23, 2023
Whizzdom:
On Tuesday (21-12-2023), I was having serious fever, so went to buy an over-the-counter malaria drug and one flu tablet. The lady chemist told me to use 4 tablets in the morning and 4 in the afternoon for the malaria drug, but for the Flu medicine, I should use 1 tablet in the morning and at night. I took 4 tablets in the afternoon that day. On the next day, which is Wednesday, I took 4 tablets making 8 tablets in total plus 1 Flu tablet, A few hours after I took that medicine, I felt a sharp pain in my left hear, after which the pain subsided.

I am Welder by profession, I went to work that same moment, at work, I was using a grinding machine to grind iron to make iron smooth, the machine makes noise, but this day, as I was grinding, I could feel something in my brain or inner ear bringing buzzing sound or noise into my ear, after grinding that iron, I couldn't ear anything, all I was hearing is just noise.

The next day, which is today Thursday, I could hear people speak but they have to be loud, and my ears can't tolerate noise at all.

To go hospital hard me because I no gallant because of the series of test they will have me run which will expend my money I don't have.

My question is to the learned health practitioners in the house, should I give it time for it to heal on its own or I should go to the hospital for doctor's opinion on the matter.

Attached are the medicines for your scrutiny, I hope it is not one of those fake drugs.

Probably tinnitus

Tinnitus has no cure.

Try eating ginger and taking ginger tea, increase your fluid intake.

Observe yourself after like 1 week..the noise would reduce to the extent that you can hear people.

Go to hospital and check if there has been other damage to your ear beside the 'shrr' noise you are having in your ear

Not a doctor. Just speaking from personal experience.

Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by Teeklef(m): 1:03pm On Dec 23, 2023
Haaa!!! 4 in the morning is too much nao. Naxo one fake nurse kill one celebrity guy oooπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by rezzy: 1:03pm On Dec 23, 2023
It will stop, it's a gradual process
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by danowena: 1:03pm On Dec 23, 2023
U better go to hospital immediately so they can mitigate the damage. Otherwise, u will spend more. Don’t be penny wise pounds foolish. A delay may cost you your hearing as it may be irredeemable. People have lost sight and hearing from fake drugs. Be smart.

Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by Donyenye: 1:06pm On Dec 23, 2023
Wahala no dey ever finish. So sorry about that. The healing power of God almighty rest upon you πŸ™
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by occfx: 1:07pm On Dec 23, 2023
Whizzdom:
On Tuesday (21-12-2023), I was having serious fever, so went to buy an over-the-counter malaria drug and one flu tablet. The lady chemist told me to use 4 tablets in the morning and 4 in the afternoon for the malaria drug, but for the Flu medicine, I should use 1 tablet in the morning and at night. I took 4 tablets in the afternoon that day. On the next day, which is Wednesday, I took 4 tablets making 8 tablets in total plus 1 Flu tablet, A few hours after I took that medicine, I felt a sharp pain in my left hear, after which the pain subsided.

I am Welder by profession, I went to work that same moment, at work, I was using a grinding machine to grind iron to make iron smooth, the machine makes noise, but this day, as I was grinding, I could feel something in my brain or inner ear bringing buzzing sound or noise into my ear, after grinding that iron, I couldn't ear anything, all I was hearing is just noise.

The next day, which is today Thursday, I could hear people speak but they have to be loud, and my ears can't tolerate noise at all.

To go hospital hard me because I no gallant because of the series of test they will have me run which will expend my money I don't have.

My question is to the learned health practitioners in the house, should I give it time for it to heal on its own or I should go to the hospital for doctor's opinion on the matter.

Attached are the medicines for your scrutiny, I hope it is not one of those fake drugs.

E fit no be the drug... Next time wear head phones when grinding but I think the ear will heal if the vibrator is not broken

Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by shedy03(m): 1:07pm On Dec 23, 2023
The noise in your head is called tinnitus. That thing don't like noise.
Go see a doctor, health first.

Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by occfx: 1:08pm On Dec 23, 2023
God1000:
Please go to any hospital and see the doctor immediately, they will examine your ear and tell you what to do next, don't hesitate because of money

Na Nigeria him dey ooo... Make the remaining quack doctors no disconnect the ear finally
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by Gbadebo19(m): 1:10pm On Dec 23, 2023
Whizzdom:

Wait first, how is Tuesday, December 21
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by AfroBeatDiary: 1:10pm On Dec 23, 2023
It will go, I don experience am before during the days of camoquin

Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by oguns222: 1:11pm On Dec 23, 2023
Whizzdom:

Why didn't you scratch the number to find out about its originality before using the drug?
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by OlujobaSamuel: 1:14pm On Dec 23, 2023
I doubt it's the drug, you are a welder on medication due to illness, getting yourself exposed to such level of noise can trigger it.
I avoid noise and too bright lightening whenever I'm ill
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by YourKarma: 1:14pm On Dec 23, 2023
Greatzeus:
Shout out to the science students in Abia, mixing anything mixable, killing innocent people for money.

Tinnitus is what's happening to him. It's a side effect of that drug on a very low number of people, it's not caused by fake drug. The noise and vibrations he is being exposed to in his line of work, coupled with the drugs, must've made his ear drums very sensitive and led to this
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by Sheffieldconsul: 1:15pm On Dec 23, 2023
Which state are you? Go to a state or federal teaching host and ask for ENT clinic. They won't ask you to do any test. For Malaria treatment:
Lonart DS
Amatem soft gel or
Emal injection.

Take your health seriously and always.
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by Saladdin: 1:15pm On Dec 23, 2023
Hello bro @Whizzdom, sorry about what you're currently facing.

What you're going through is most likely a combo of self-induced and ototoxic deafness.

By ototoxic, I mean drugs which can cause deafness or other ear-related problems as a side effect. You ought not to have started your work ASAP. Discontinue for at least 10days. It's your ear/hearing we are talking here!

What you should do now is buy ear muffs/plugs. And if you can't afford it, use cotton wool to plug out those noise. Then go to the hospital for diagnosis.

I'll post a link to my psot on a similar issue.

Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by Integrafamoo: 1:17pm On Dec 23, 2023
Whizzdom:

We may likely go back to herbal medicine soon. Most drugs are fake and the available doctors are no longer competent or committed. Everyone is waiting for the next available flight. I took my child to a teaching hospital, I observed a wrong diagnosis and wrong prescription. There was only one Dr in the children's ward. He felt like crying and he transferred the aggression to care givers. I had to fight him before he could visit my child after 48hrs. I later took my ward to a private pharmacist who rendered perfect service.
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by ehissi(m): 1:17pm On Dec 23, 2023
Whizzdom:

Changes of hearing is one of the side effects of this drug. Coupled with the occupational hazard of your job which is exposure to loud noises, it can trigger changes in your hearing.....

You should have stayed away from work for at least a week while taking this medication.

See an ophthalmologist, they are specialist in ear related cases. The deafness may just be temporary but if not handled well may become permanent.

Go to any teaching hospital or ask any doctor working in a teaching hospital to refer you to an ophthalmologist.....It is well!

I once experienced bad side effects with an anti malarial drug that was recommended by a pharmacy that killed my sense of touch, killed my appetite for food and bruised my kidneys, and I was urinating pure blood for days, till i got help from a doctor....

The drug dealt with the malaria oooh, but I follow the malaria collect.

One time during my ordeal, It took 30minutes in the bank for me to activate ATM card, fingerprint reader couldn't see my finger. I will be having tingling sensations in my fingers for days .Some days I can't use my phone, because the touch screen couldn't feel my finger. I use to bite my finger till it turns red, just so I can use my phone.

That's why now, any antimalarial drug whey pass Lonart DS, I no dey do, I can't kill myself by myself, with my own money.....

Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by MartinsD12(m): 1:18pm On Dec 23, 2023
Whizzdom:

You see all these chemist people avoid them , they don't know anything about medicine, they are quack, I remember having malaria some weeks ago, got to chemist shop gave me drugs that even made my sickness worse na God save me I swear, it's a miracle, I got worse for like 4 days before I got a good malaria medicine from a pharmacy, Nigerians avoid chemist people at all cost .
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by Almunjid(m): 1:20pm On Dec 23, 2023
Whizzdom:

Don't go to the hospital for doctor's opinion Ooo. Just wait for it to heal on its own, by then u go don turn deaf totally. grin
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by enemyofprogress: 1:20pm On Dec 23, 2023
Say goodbye to your ears
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by drimzsmoke(m): 1:20pm On Dec 23, 2023
Mohisah:
Dem no gv u paracetamol n small vitamin C (white) mk u dey use follow am ne. May God strengthen u

Do not take vitamin C with antimalarial drugs(ACT)!!!

Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by Hawkler: 1:21pm On Dec 23, 2023
BigDickProblems:
This is why I hate taking drugs. Some drugs kills you slowly but you don't know it. There were some drugs that the adverse and lifelong side effects were determined many years after their production, and were thereby banned from the market.

This malaria stuff is avoidable depending on your environment and if you use mosquito net.
All drugs are poisonous without proper prescription.
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by sgtponzihater1(m): 1:23pm On Dec 23, 2023
Don't joke with your hearing. Rush to see an ENT doctor. God bless
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by sylve11: 1:23pm On Dec 23, 2023
UptownVibes:
Could be side effect or fake drugs..

There is this quinine that is yellow in color that does similar thing those days.. They will tell you,when you take it you are to sit for a while ,if you lay down na deafness straight. If only we have a working Nafdac ,things like these will be reduced.. So many are dead cux of things like this.

That one na another government agency wey government needs ban. sad cool
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by UptownVibes(m): 1:24pm On Dec 23, 2023
sylve11:

That one na another government agency wey government needs ban. sad cool
Walai.. They are just wasting tax payers money on them..
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by sylve11: 1:24pm On Dec 23, 2023
Greatzeus:
Shout out to the science students in Abia, mixing anything mixable, killing innocent people for money.

Hmmm cool
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by RepoMan007: 1:25pm On Dec 23, 2023
Shortcut gone wrong.

Drink enough water first and hope it goes away or rush to hospital first.
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by MadamExcellency: 1:27pm On Dec 23, 2023
Why are people this ridiculous to be shouting fake medicine while the scratch card in the package posted can just confirm if it's original or fake?

Oga, scratch off the silver lining and use your phone to confirm if the malaria drug is authentic.
Re: Anti-malarial Medicine Blocked My Hearing by drimzsmoke(m): 1:28pm On Dec 23, 2023
Whizzdom:

Finish your drugs first and wait for the next 5 days. If you're still having that symptom, then go to a teaching hospital around you. DO NOT go to a private hospital or general hospital ooo!!!

COVID-19: GTBank setting up 100-Bed Intensive Care Center / Ebola: West-African Nations Approach Lagos For Help. / Kaduna's 300-Bed Specialist Hospital Taken Over By Weeds

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 83