Stats: 3,152,689 members, 7,816,811 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 05:41 PM

Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. - Travel (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. (15620 Views)

Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 10 / Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 / Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 8 (2) (3) (4)

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by Basicend: 12:34pm On Jan 10
tensazangetsu20:
Truck driving is good but it's not what will keep you after studies.

Why?
Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by Konquest: 12:36pm On Jan 10
Gerrard59:

It is good you know it is not easy to remain after studies in the US. That said, no company will issue you a work visa based on truck driving. Your best aim is to marry an American, most likely an African American, so you can obtain Green Card status (permanent residency). Also, authorities don't recognise certain skills certifications obtained from certain developing countries. If that were possible, the US would have listed Nigeria alongside South Africa in visa classes for certain jobs.

I checked Reddit/MBA, the labour market is dealing with foreigners really bad. Indians don hear am after collecting hooge loans. That is the advantage our people, especially men, have: there is an existing black population to mingle with and marry. Like this now, if I want to school in the US, I would target Atlanta where rumours have it that black women are in dire need of single and heterosexual black men to date and marry.

Green card in the bag grin grin
Better to stay off those shawties on the southside of Atlanta.
Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by Burgerlomo: 12:37pm On Jan 10
Go and learn Mechanic if possible and thank me later
Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by sammirano: 12:37pm On Jan 10
this is so wrong, If you don't know your father's handwork, it should come naturally to you.
Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by Konquest: 12:39pm On Jan 10
tensazangetsu20:

Op is better off learning how to Bleep, get a six pack and learning to toast women than to learn truck driving grin grin grin
That cracked me up... grin grin
Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by tishbite41(m): 12:43pm On Jan 10
Gerrard59:

It is good you know it is not easy to remain after studies in the US. That said, no company will issue you a work visa based on truck driving. Your best aim is to marry an American, most likely an African American, so you can obtain Green Card status (permanent residency). Also, authorities don't recognise certain skills certifications obtained from certain developing countries. If that were possible, the US would have listed Nigeria alongside South Africa in visa classes for certain jobs.

I checked Reddit/MBA, the labour market is dealing with foreigners really bad. Indians don hear am after collecting hooge loans. That is the advantage our people, especially men, have: there is an existing black population to mingle with and marry. Like this now, if I want to school in the US, I would target Atlanta where rumours have it that black women are in dire need of single and heterosexual black men to date and marry.

How about Whites?
Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by Impactever(m): 12:50pm On Jan 10
ednut1:
even guys with good careers that went to USA for MBA. They have all married African Americans or about to marry one after graduation. 🀣
Learning Truck driving in Nigeria is a waste of time as its not even recognized , our standards here are not up to theirs and you have no actual work experience too.

What about going for a PhD program through a fully funded scholarship in the US with a student VISA.

Is there any hope of any chance of staying back to live and work in the US after finishing my PhD program for some time before applying for a PR ?

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by BigDawsNet: 12:51pm On Jan 10
Nairalandforme:
Please,I dont know if this is the right section to post this; your advice is really needed from our guys who stays in the US.

I am considering learning a skill before going for an MSc in the US in 6-months time. I would like to go for Truck driving because my dad drives one and I know he will expose and teach me well, faster and with all his heart. He has been on it right since my birth (over 30 years) here in Naija, He has drove for many companies including don.gote, tetr.alog, and the likes. I learnt it is not easy to get a job that can sponsor a work visa to remain in the US after ones study, so if I learn this from him, maybe I could and get certified, I can get a company that can sponsor a work visa easily why eyeing my dream job. I need an advice on this if it will worth it .

Pls, I need a sincere advice from our brothers over there.
Mod pls help me move this to front page Abeggg!!!

You must have been driving a truck for decades to get a sponsorship just like that after study in the US... some with years of experience are still looking for job in that role... I will advice to start leaving Tech... 6 months is enough for u to learn and acquire skill if u truly focus on it

Goodluck

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by Leebeedo(m): 12:54pm On Jan 10
Nairalandforme:
Please,I dont know if this is the right section to post this; your advice is really needed from our guys who stays in the US.

I am considering learning a skill before going for an MSc in the US in 6-months time. I would like to go for Truck driving because my dad drives one and I know he will expose and teach me well, faster and with all his heart. He has been on it right since my birth (over 30 years) here in Naija, He has drove for many companies including don.gote, tetr.alog, and the likes. I learnt it is not easy to get a job that can sponsor a work visa to remain in the US after ones study, so if I learn this from him, maybe I could and get certified, I can get a company that can sponsor a work visa easily why eyeing my dream job. I need an advice on this if it will worth it .

I don't think you can get work visa sponsorship with truck driving. What area is your MSc?
Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by benjsniper33: 12:56pm On Jan 10
GboyegaD:
There are many ways to stay back in the US besides marriage. In terms of what skills to learn, I will leave that to your passion.

List them up sir .. help a bro 😎
Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by Dyfynezz12(m): 12:57pm On Jan 10
Burgerlomo:
Go and learn Mechanic if possible and thank me later
Seconded
Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by luminouz(m): 12:59pm On Jan 10
Gerrard59:

Your comment showed you haven't been to the US at all. You think the best bet is to marry an African American? Who told you that nonsense? Nawa for armchair commentators sha.

OP should learn whatever he needs to.

You know nothing, Jon Snow

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by goodsam23: 1:01pm On Jan 10
My brother, your Dad is a good father. Learning how to drive a truck in Nigeria is one of the best things you can do in terms of skills acquisition before leaving for Msc studies. It is true that USA will not recognise the skill or Naija Truck category drivers license. However in the event you wish to learn alongside your studies, it is easier to master how to drive the longer more modern Truck models in the USA if you already know how to drive the more mechanical models used in Nigeria.
Secondly that knowledge is also vital if in the 5 you want to work operating heavy Machinery like forklifts and tow trucks.. They are more mechanical in nature & such jobs pay well. It costs average of $10,000 to be certified as a truck driver/fork lift operator in the US. The advantage you will have over people who dont have a clue is that they can pay the money & yet fail to master Truck driving within the stipulated timeframe. You cannot fail the truck driving course/test if you already have the fundamental skills and knowledge of truck driving.. No knowledge is a waste & truck driving or operating heavy Machinery pays better than some Msc jobs. I know a forklift operator who earns $52/hour at a seaport..He holds an Msc, though from a Naija Uni.
I can guarantee it is not wasted knowledge.

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by luminouz(m): 1:01pm On Jan 10
Gerrard59:

They find it harder just as our men do with second-generation Nigerian-American women. Which is why our men target AA women. Indians don't enjoy that privilege. Our women in the US would be more sceptical about a Nigerian immigrant than an AA women. Also, it is a game of numbers. Omo, I gats visit Atlanta o grin grin
Damn, you really suck at this

Don't talk what you have no idea of dude. Just stop.

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by mobilemykel: 1:10pm On Jan 10
Kobicove:

If he learns forex trading and is able to trade profitably then I see no point in him relocating to another country

He said he’s moving there for his MSC, if not I see absolutely no reason to relocate, if he learns it and becomes profitable
Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by 43Ronin: 1:20pm On Jan 10
Bros forget about the USA and go to Canada for studies instead. It will mostly end in premium tears for international students in USA. At least in canada, there's a sure path from student to resident. In the US you have to have schooled in a STEM subject and hope to het H1B after your 2 years PGW permit. Believe menits easier to pass tru thr eye of a needle than to get that H1B. H1B is fiercely being competed for. Last year the us govt issued only 60k H1B viss against the hundreds of thousands of people seeking for it. To make matters worse because the Canadian economy is poor many Canadians are migrating to us and getting jobs there with possibilities of employer giving them the same H1B. You will suffer if you go to USA that's the honest truth cos there's no pathway to citizenship after schooling except marriage and avatar dey jonze at least 60% of niggers after spending hugely on them. Worst is if Donald Trump becomes president grin you can best believe you are coming back to naija after your studies.

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by theamazonguru(m): 1:21pm On Jan 10
GboyegaD:
There are many ways to stay back in the US besides marriage. In terms of what skills to learn, I will leave that to your passion.

I believe you can hint us the number of ways here. You can't tell who would find it helpful.

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by SuperOnyi: 1:22pm On Jan 10
LooneyLester:

American women are too feminist and not submissive

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by uvie66: 1:25pm On Jan 10
ednut1:
even guys with good careers that went to USA for MBA. They have all married African Americans or about to marry one after graduation. 🀣
Learning Truck driving in Nigeria is a waste of time as its not even recognized , our standards here are not up to theirs and you have no actual work experience too.
nonsense talk, our truck is the same as in the US, most important thing is the length and gears. Once you can appreciate the length and size and have confidence in driving it you are good to go, I will even go as far to say it is easier in US than Nigeria because they have smooth roads and traffic lights are obeyed by the citizens.
Here in Nigeria drivers have to negotiate massive pot holes on a daily basis and put up with inconsiderate drivers. Lastly no skill is a waste, interstate truck drivers regularly earn above $100k a year.

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by Cocolatti(m): 1:33pm On Jan 10
Kobicove:

If he learns forex trading and is able to trade profitably then I see no point in him relocating to another country
Exactly, why go to the USA when you can do it here.
Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by ednut1(m): 1:38pm On Jan 10
uvie66:
nonsense talk, our truck is the same as in the US, most important thing is the length and gears. Once you can appreciate the length and size and have confidence in driving it you are good to go, I will even go as far to say it is easier in US than Nigeria because they have smooth roads and traffic lights are obeyed by the citizens.
Here in Nigeria drivers have to negotiate massive pot holes on a daily basis and put up with inconsiderate drivers. Lastly no skill is a waste, interstate truck drivers regularly earn above $100k a year.
i read your old posts and saw that you are an old man. I for insult you. When uk was having truck drivers shortages in 2021 did they take any truck driver from Nigeria the way they took nurses and doctors Cho cho cho respect your age and dont come here to say nonsense. I have lived in UK and Canada and have never seen where a Nigerian truck driver was hired to come work there. Eastern European truck drivers and South Africans are the ones being hired globally. Nigerian truck driving industry is not rated or recognized.

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by iamtardey: 1:38pm On Jan 10
Mo mor igbo wey. Ko soro
Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by IntelLord: 2:01pm On Jan 10
Kobicove:
I'm not sure having truck driving skill is enough to guarantee you a green card cos it's not something special or rare undecided

If you want to guarantee your stay then I think you need a skill which is rare and very difficult to replace!

What kind of skills which are rare and difficult to replace do you suggest?

Skills which raise his value & increase his chances of staying in the US?
Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by obaidan: 2:35pm On Jan 10
Impactever:

What about going for a PhD program through a fully funded scholarship in the US with a student VISA.

Is there any hope of any chance of staying back to live and work in the US after finishing my PhD program for some time before applying for a PR ?

It depends on what exactly you are trying to study. See these days, even the IT industry is slowly becoming uneasy to break into for new comers. People with green card and US passports are taking up multiple jobs now doing 2 to 3 jobs remotely. Employers also do not want to go through the stress of filing for people when there are numerous skilled people applying for the same job and they do not have to file for those ones. For better chances of staying back, u are better off studying health related course(nursing in particular) or IT. And for IT you will be better off mastering a skill, not just having the degree. Also know that the 3 years postgraduate IT work permit you get after graduation is 1 year + an extension of 2 years which is conditioned on you fulfilling some funny conditions for the the first 1 year. Conditions like getting a job(related to your field) not later than 90 days after your permit is approved( know that u also have 60 days to stay in the US after graduation without a work permit). Another condition is that during that one year period, you can't stay jobless for more than 3 months cummulatively. All these conditions may be d reason u will still see lots of people with good jobs n degree still opting for the marriage route.

And yes phD gives you sufficient time to plan your next move, also helps you build your profile so you can explore applying for green card via a route called NIW/EB2. If you decide for phD, try to write n publish at least one paper.

But like others have adviced you, you are actually better off sharpening your interaction skills with women, learning to open up and be receptive to women of different culture because marriage is the surest. The earlier you get your green card the better, because it's after you get your green card you can start living your American dreams properly. You begin to use government and financial services support to conquer and expand.

10 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by Streetmovement(m): 2:36pm On Jan 10
Wotoporiously cool speaking

with a B-1/B-2 Visitor Visa, you could stay in America for up to 6 months during a 12-month time period. An H-1B Work Visa will allow you to live and work in the USA for up to 3 years; it can be renewed for an additional 3 years; and there is an option to apply for a US Permanent Resident Green Card.

Why you wan use study route?

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by InvertedHammer: 2:39pm On Jan 10
Nairalandforme:

/
Make up your mind on what skill you want to learn. Go there and learn it because it will come with some kind of certification.

Any of this kind of skill you learn in Nigeria is a total waste of time. You are most likely to start from the bottom.

No trucking company will hire you because you. have been driving for donkey years in Nigeria. Do you call what you do
in Nigeria "driving"?

/

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by Burgerlomo: 2:40pm On Jan 10
Dyfynezz12:

Seconded

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by tensazangetsu20(m): 2:43pm On Jan 10
obaidan:

It depends on what exactly you are trying to study. See these days, even the IT industry is slowly becoming uneasy to break into for new comers. People with green card and US passports are taking up multiple jobs now doing 2 to 3 jobs remotely. Employers also do not want to go through the stress of filing for people when there are numerous skilled people applying for the same job and they do not have to file for those ones. For better chances of staying back, u are better off studying health related course(nursing in particular) or IT. And for IT you will be better off mastering a skill, not just having the degree. Also know that the 3 years postgraduate IT work permit you get after graduation is 1 year + an extension of 2 years which is conditioned on you fulfilling some funny conditions for the the first 1 year.
And yes phD gives you sufficient time to plan your next move, also helps you build your profile so you can explore applying for green card via a route called NIW/EB2.
But like others have adviced you, you are actually better off sharpening your interaction skills with women, learning to open up and be receptive to women of different culture because marriage is the surest. The earlier you get your green card the better, because it's after you get your green card you can start living your American dreams properly. You begin to use government and financial services support to conquer and expand.

That country is very stingy with green card. Read a lot of things on Reddit with regards to studying in the US for international students and it just made me weak.

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by ijobaoke: 2:44pm On Jan 10
ASIA countries don cast
Abeggy which county in ASIA re u referring to ?
LooneyLester:
Just day where you day

US don full , they don't need more truck drivers

If you be Igbo bobo , enter Asia or eastern yurop

Re: Advice: Learning A Skilled Work Before Moving To US For Msc. by nwetadinobi042(m): 2:44pm On Jan 10
My question is about the pic you inserted, what kind of skilled worker can I call the man in the pic?
Nairalandforme:

LASWA Rescues Stranded Boat Passengers (Video & Pictures). / 269 Stranded Nigerians Arrive From India / FAAN Issues 7-day Ultimatum To Owners Of Abandoned Aircraft At Lagos Airport

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 77