Stats: 3,327,812 members, 8,432,683 topics. Date: Wednesday, 24 June 2026 at 07:35 AM

What Are Your Thoughts On The Wife Having A Higher Income? - Romance - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralRomanceWhat Are Your Thoughts On The Wife Having A Higher Income? (552 Views)

1 Reply (Go Down)

What Are Your Thoughts On The Wife Having A Higher Income? by Parkflash(op): 6:50pm On Mar 25, 2024
I came back from work today and met my brothers discussing about a friend of theirs.

Apparently, the guy called off his engagement with his fiancée because she recently got a job with a multinational organization which resulted in a huge increase to her monthly income coupled with a furnished apartment and an official car.

According to my brothers, the guy said the difference in their pay grades was to large and he felt that he won't be comfortable in the marriage and doesn't think she will be as submissive as he wants her to be.

So what are your thoughts on this?

As a man will you be able to marry a woman whose income is way higher than yours?
As a lady, will you be comfortable in a marriage where your husband's income is a lot less than yours?
Re: What Are Your Thoughts On The Wife Having A Higher Income? by thesicilian: 6:53pm On Mar 25, 2024
It's not just about being submissive per se. It is very difficult for a woman to remain humble to her husband after she starts making more money than him. She won't even want equality then, she'd want to become the major decision maker in the home.
Re: What Are Your Thoughts On The Wife Having A Higher Income? by MrBrownJay1(m): 6:55pm On Mar 25, 2024
thats just the mindset of men with misplaced ego married to yeye women....

A) make sure that you marry a woman that would treat you the same whether you are RICH or POOR
B) ultimately the extra money is for the FAMILY so no big deal
C) whoever makes more money pays a bigger percentage of the bills
D) her gain is MY gain!

if the only reason a woman is good to you is because you make more money than her (and the minute she makes more money than you she will treat you like garbage) then i am sorry to say that you are in the wrong marriage.
Re: What Are Your Thoughts On The Wife Having A Higher Income? by thesicilian: 6:57pm On Mar 25, 2024
MrBrownJay1:
thats just the mindset of men with misplaced ego married to yeye women....

A) make sure that you marry a woman that would treat you the same whether you are RICH or POOR
B) ultimately the extra money is for the FAMILY so no big deal
C) whoever makes more money pays a bigger percentage of the bills
D) her gain is MY gain!

if the only reason a woman is good to you is because you make more money than her then i am sorry to say that you are in the wrong marriage.
You're either not married or a woman
Re: What Are Your Thoughts On The Wife Having A Higher Income? by MrBrownJay1(m):
thesicilian:
You're either not married or a woman
you people should continue settling for these liabilities that see no value for your person... in these yeye union a corner away from being dismissed, by the very woman that "you" decided to share your life with. what kind of sorry stressful/useless life is that?

the type of men you describe are ignoramus who think they can control women with money (because these men have nothing else to offer), thus why they end up in the above yeye union you are talking about on this thread.

IMAGINE WHAT YOU ARE SAYING.... gladly marrying a woman whose ONLY reason she has respect for you, is because you make more money than her.
Re: What Are Your Thoughts On The Wife Having A Higher Income? by thesicilian: 7:22pm On Mar 25, 2024
MrBrownJay1:
you people should continue settling for these liabilities that see no value for your person... in these yeye union a corner away from being dismissed, by the very woman that "you" decided to share your life with. what kind of sorry stressful/useless life is that?

the type of men you describe are ignoramus who think they can control women with money (because these men have nothing else to offer), thus why they end up in the above yeye union you are talking about on this thread.

IMAGINE WHAT YOU ARE SAYING.... gladly marrying a woman whose ONLY reason she has respect for you, is because you make more money than her.
I maintain my initial stance
Re: What Are Your Thoughts On The Wife Having A Higher Income? by emekalovepets: 7:36pm On Mar 25, 2024
Some foolish people go watch Nigeria home video come dey talk nonsense who told you that husband don’t like wife earning more then them wen Tinubu have turn the economy upside down 🙃 Okoro wife making money and husband making money this days that is the go stop 🛑 caping nonsense
Re: What Are Your Thoughts On The Wife Having A Higher Income? by Goodlyhrt(m): 7:39pm On Mar 25, 2024
emekalovepets:
Some foolish people go watch Nigeria home video come dey talk nonsense who told you that husband don’t like wife earning more then them wen Tinubu have turn the economy upside down 🙃 Okoro wife making money and husband making money this days that is the go stop 🛑 caping nonsense
I endorse this bro.
Re: What Are Your Thoughts On The Wife Having A Higher Income? by Jeon(f): 10:56pm On Mar 25, 2024
They don't want liability, yet they feel threatened when a successful woman is in the building.

Stupid Men.
Re: What Are Your Thoughts On The Wife Having A Higher Income? by Aaaaarghmed(m): 12:11am On Mar 26, 2024
Na stupid man go reason like that,my foreign new babe works in the energy sector using a serious 2024 highlander. I love dem rich ,more than me,better grin
1 Reply

Man Catches Wife Having Sex In Matrimonial Home With RelationAngry Man Caught His Wife Having S3x With Another Man – WATCH What He DidMan Catches His Wife Having Sex With Gym Instructor In Zambia (Photos)234

Woman Accidentally Weds After Boyfriend’s False Modeling OfferPlease I Need Help With This Quantitative ReasoningKayode Olarewaju Vs Will Smith Vs Red Pill