Stats: 3,160,422 members, 7,843,284 topics. Date: Tuesday, 28 May 2024 at 10:01 PM

What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? (658 Views)

Why Prayers Of Many Christians Are Hindered / Labour To Get Your Own Divine Strategy - 2 Kings 2:14 / Who Should Go With You? [judges 7:1-8, 2 Kings 18:1-18] (2) (3) (4)

What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by judedwriter(m): 8:16am On May 12
2 Kings 3
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
¹⁶ And he said, Thus saith the LORD, Make this valley full of ditches.
¹⁷ For thus saith the LORD, Ye shall not see wind, neither shall ye see rain; yet that valley shall be filled with water, that ye may drink, both ye, and your cattle, and your beasts.
¹⁸ And this is but a light thing in the sight of the LORD: he will deliver the Moabites also into your hand.
¹⁹ And ye shall smite every fenced city, and every choice city, and shall fell every good tree, and stop all wells of water, and mar every good piece of land with stones.

The kings of Israel, Judah and Edom teamed up together to fight against Mesha, King of Moab because he defaulted in paying tributes to the king of Israel.

After a prophecy of total victory over the Moabites by the prophet Elisha and a miraculous outflow of water, the three kings began to subdue the Moabites and destroy their territory according to the Word of God.

However, as the alliance were pressing the battle unto the last remaining stronghold of the Moabites, a city wall called Kirharaseth to capture king Mesha and completely overcome his land; he did something that provoked "great indignation" against the three kings.

He raised an altar and offered his eldest son, his heir apparent, on the city wall to Chemosh god of the Moabites. (2 kings 3:27) And the three kings falling under a restraining demonic force, retreated from him.

Here we can see the great power of altars. What makes an altar really powerful is the quality of sacrifice on it. The greater the sacrifice, the more powerful the altar.

Although the three kings of Israel, Judah and Edom were backed by a divine prophecy, they couldn't completely fulfill it because of an altar that was raised at a great cost.

We see a similar case like this in Mark 9: 17-29.

The disciples of Jesus couldn't cast out a particular demon that proved just too powerful.

When probed why it occurred this way, Jesus said "this kind goes out by nothing but prayer and fasting".

Have you ever wondered:

1. Why you are so close to a life changing breakthrough, and you suddenly lose it?

2. Why you fail unexpectedly after working and planning so hard?

3. Why you can't seem to progress no further despite all your efforts?

4. Why destiny fulfillment is becoming more and more difficult?

5. Why after all your prayer efforts, nothing much seems to happen?

The shocking truth is that in these last evil days, more and more powerful altars with very costly sacrifices are raised against us to stop God's prophecies/destinies over our lives.

The only way to overcome these powerful altars is through faith, fasting and prayers through Jesus Christ.

No other altar is more powerful than that of Jesus Christ, who offered His own blood as an eternal sacrifice to God for the cleansing of sins:

1 Peter 1
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
¹⁸ Forasmuch as ye know that ye were not redeemed with corruptible things, as silver and gold, from your vain conversation received by tradition from your fathers;

¹⁹ But with the precious blood of Christ, as of a lamb without blemish and without spot.

From the the days of Abraham to these present times, all manners of altars have been raised and dedicated to God and the devil.

However one particular altar stands out from them all, and through this altar, we have complete victory:

The eternal altar of Jesus!

If God Himself offered up His own son as a sacrifice, which altar is more powerful than God's?🔥

Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by Michael547(m): 8:44am On May 12
judedwriter:

2 Kings 3
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
¹⁶ And he said, Thus saith the LORD, Make this valley full of ditches.
¹⁷ For thus saith the LORD, Ye shall not see wind, neither shall ye see rain; yet that valley shall be filled with water, that ye may drink, both ye, and your cattle, and your beasts.
¹⁸ And this is but a light thing in the sight of the LORD: he will deliver the Moabites also into your hand.
¹⁹ And ye shall smite every fenced city, and every choice city, and shall fell every good tree, and stop all wells of water, and mar every good piece of land with stones.

The kings of Israel, Judah and Edom teamed up together to fight against Mesha, King of Moab because he defaulted in paying tributes to the king of Israel.

After a prophecy of total victory over the Moabites by the prophet Elisha and a miraculous outflow of water, the three kings began to subdue the Moabites and destroy their territory according to the Word of God.

However, as the alliance were pressing the battle unto the last remaining stronghold of the Moabites, a city wall called Kirharaseth to capture king Mesha and completely overcome his land; he did something that provoked "great indignation" against the three kings.

He raised an altar and offered his eldest son, his heir apparent, on the city wall to Chemosh god of the Moabites. (2 kings 3:27) And the three kings falling under a restraining demonic force, retreated from him.

Here we can see the great power of altars. What makes an altar really powerful is the quality of sacrifice on it. The greater the sacrifice, the more powerful the altar.

Although the three kings of Israel, Judah and Edom were backed by a divine prophecy, they couldn't completely fulfill it because of an altar that was raised at a great cost.

We see a similar case like this in Mark 9: 17-29.

The disciples of Jesus couldn't cast out a particular demon that proved just too powerful.

When probed why it occurred this way, Jesus said "this kind goes out by nothing but prayer and fasting".

Have you ever wondered:

1. Why you are so close to a life changing breakthrough, and you suddenly lose it?

2. Why you fail unexpectedly after working and planning so hard?

3. Why you can't seem to progress no further despite all your efforts?

4. Why destiny fulfillment is becoming more and difficult?

5. Why after all your prayer efforts, nothing much seems to happen?

The shocking truth is that in these last evil days, more and more powerful altars with very costly sacrifices are raised against us to stop God's prophecies/destinies over our lives.

The only way to overcome these powerful altars is through faith, fasting and prayers through Jesus Christ.

No other altar is more powerful than that of Jesus Christ, who offered His own blood as an eternal sacrifice to God for the cleansing of sins:

1 Peter 1
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
¹⁸ Forasmuch as ye know that ye were not redeemed with corruptible things, as silver and gold, from your vain conversation received by tradition from your fathers;

¹⁹ But with the precious blood of Christ, as of a lamb without blemish and without spot.

From the the days of Abraham to these present times, all manners of altars have been raised and dedicated to God and the devil.

However one particular altar stands out from them all, and through this altar, we have complete victory:

The eternal altar of Jesus!

If God Himself offered up His own son as a sacrifice, which altar is more powerful than God's?🔥

Please explain the meaning of Destiny.
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by MightySparrow: 8:50am On May 12
Michael547:

Please explain the meaning of Destiny.

The purpose of God for your life which you must find out by His help.
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by Michael547(m): 8:53am On May 12
MightySparrow:

The purpose of God for your life which you must find out by His help.
So are you saying that God does not have a general purpose for which he created men on earth?
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by MightySparrow: 9:00am On May 12
Michael547:

So are you saying that God does not have a general purpose for which he created men on earth?

He has, just like a university has all courses, you apply and follow your own.
Then, you fulfill the aim and objectives of the university.

Within the general is the particular.
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by Michael547(m): 9:05am On May 12
MightySparrow:

He has, just like a university has all courses, you apply and follow your own.
Then, you fulfill the aim and objectives of the university.

Within the general is the particular.
So what is the general purpose of God for creating men on earth? Let's start from there first.
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by judedwriter(m): 9:35am On May 12
Michael547:

So what is the general purpose of God for creating men on earth? Let's start from there first.

1. To be fruitful

2. To multiply

3. To dominate

Genesis 1 vs 28

However God created man to worship Him.

Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by Michael547(m): 9:38am On May 12
judedwriter:

1. To be fruitful

2. To multiply

3. To dominate

Genesis 1 vs 28

Thank you.....how long were men suppose to live on earth?
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by MightySparrow: 10:38am On May 12
Michael547:

Rev.4.11 - Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.

This is the general purpose any other purpose?
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by Michael547(m): 11:19am On May 12
MightySparrow:

Rev.4.11 - Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.

Oga....what is the General purpose of God creating men on earth? That is the question.
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by Veecruz: 11:45am On May 12
judedwriter:

1. To be fruitful

2. To multiply

3. To dominate

Genesis 1 vs 28

To dominate was repealed and replaced with "and the fear of you and the dread of you" Genesis 9:2

Also, we are not created to worship Him, no, it is incidental that we be very thank fulll and very much appreciative of Him exactly as a baby is thankful and appreciative of his parents when fed and cleaned and played with.

It is natural to be appreciative and be filled with gratitude, which we lift up as a praise.

We were created to enjoy the earth also, hence our plentous gratitude and praise and worship.
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by MightySparrow: 11:52am On May 12
Michael547:

Oga....what is the General purpose of God creating men on earth? That is the question.

If this does not answer your question, tell us your own perspective
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by Michael547(m): 11:53am On May 12
MightySparrow:

If this does not answer your question, tell us your own perspective
Oga you are the teacher here....I am here to learn from you....if you don't know, kindly admit that you don't know.
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by MightySparrow: 11:59am On May 12
Michael547:

Oga you are the teacher here....I am here to learn from you....if you don't know, kindly admit that you don't know.

Since you know more than the teacher, give your answer.

My own answer is clear, ' He created all things for His pleasure'.
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by Michael547(m): 12:33pm On May 12
MightySparrow:

Since you know more than the teacher, give your answer.

My own answer is clear, ' He created all things for His pleasure'.
I never said I knew more than you.
So God created all things for his pleasure without a purpose?
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by MightySparrow: 1:59pm On May 12
Michael547:

I never said I knew more than you.
So God created all things for his pleasure without a purpose?

What more purpose than what a thing is created for?
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by elated177: 5:22pm On May 12
Judedwriter, how wasn't the prophecy fulfilled?
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by judedwriter(m): 5:30pm On May 12
elated177:
Judedwriter, how wasn't the prophecy fulfilled?

The prophecy was fulfilled, but not completely.

That's why I used the word "hindered".
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by elated177: 9:05am On May 13
Judedwriter, what part of it was not fulfilled?

Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by elated177: 9:07am On May 13
Judedwriter, are you saying that chemosh stopped the Israelites or what?
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by Michael547(m): 11:16am On May 13
MightySparrow:

What more purpose than what a thing is created for?

So it therefore means that all the evil things happening in the world today are happening for God's pleasure, right?
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by MightySparrow: 2:48pm On May 13
Michael547:

So it therefore means that all the evil things happening in the world today are happening for God's pleasure, right?

Isa.54.16 - Behold, I have created the smith that bloweth the coals in the fire, and that bringeth forth an instrument for his work; and I have created the waster to destroy

Isa.45.7 - I form the light, and create darkness: I make peace, and create evil: I the LORD do all these things.

Note the bolded.

What is your opinion Sir?.
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by Michael547(m): 2:51pm On May 13
MightySparrow:

Isa.54.16 - Behold, I have created the smith that bloweth the coals in the fire, and that bringeth forth an instrument for his work; and I have created the waster to destroy

Isa.45.7 - I form the light, and create darkness: I make peace, and create evil: I the LORD do all these things.

Note the bolded.

What is your opinion Sir?.

You could have easily replied yes or no.
Is the evil happening in the world today a pleasure to God? Yes or no sir?
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by MightySparrow: 2:57pm On May 13
Michael547:

You could have easily replied yes or no.
Is the evil happening in the world today a pleasure to God? Yes or no sir?

I don't need to as a Christian, you suppose my opinion is weightier than God's words, His own words?
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by Michael547(m): 2:59pm On May 13
MightySparrow:

I don't need to as a Christian, you suppose my opinion is weightier than God's words, His own words?
How can you say answering yes or no is your opinion?
Are you not the one who quoted a scripture and is expected to interprete it to arrive at a conclusion?

Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by Aemmyjah(m): 3:24pm On May 13
Veecruz:

To dominate was repealed and replaced with "and the fear of you and the dread of you" Genesis 9:2

Also, we are not created to worship Him, no, it is incidental that we be very thank fulll and very much appreciative of Him exactly as a baby is thankful and appreciative of his parents when fed and cleaned and played with.

It is natural to be appreciative and be filled with gratitude, which we lift up as a praise.

We were created to enjoy the earth also, hence our plentous gratitude and praise and worship.

Our own needs and God's worship
Which is first?
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by MightySparrow: 3:57pm On May 13
Michael547:

How can you say answering yes or no is your opinion?
Are you not the one who quoted a scripture and is expected to interprete it to arrive at a conclusion?

What interpretation can you give to those scriptures?

Let us hear your opinion different from the words of God.

I am waiting.
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by Michael547(m): 3:59pm On May 13
MightySparrow:

What interpretation can you give to those scriptures?

Let us hear your opinion different from the words of God.

I am waiting.
I don't have any opinion sir. You are the teacher here. I am listening.
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by MightySparrow: 4:17pm On May 13
Michael547:

I don't have any opinion sir. You are the teacher here. I am listening.

Is anything wrong with the scriptures or the writers?
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by StillDtruth: 4:32pm On May 13
Aemmyjah:

Our own needs and God's worship
Which is first?

We were born having needs first.

Then we find our needs are fulfilled and saistfied, hence our thankfullness and gratitude.

Then we real eyes our needs were fulfilled because God had provided it, thus, we are very thankfull and very much appreciative of God for we see that if He did not provide for it, then we are born to die.

Imagine if we live in a world of no water yet we have the sun, aint we gonna die of thirst?

So, we are born not knowing God and worship and all but our needs will definitely let us see what God has already done and afore given us even when we did not know Him!
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by Michael547(m): 4:43pm On May 13
MightySparrow:

Is anything wrong with the scriptures or the writers?
Oga what I'd the interpretation of what the writer wrote na? No be you go interpreted again?
Re: What Hindered God's Prophecy In 2 Kings 3:19? by MightySparrow: 4:46pm On May 13
Michael547:

Oga what I'd the interpretation of what the writer wrote na? No be you go interpreted again?

What interpretation?

He created all things for His pleasure'.
He creates light and form darkness.

He creates wasters to waste.

Okay adjust these scriptures and then interprete.

For me, it is clear enough.

Raised From The Dead In Nigeria / Opinion On Dis Evil Adverts On Magazines / The Time Is Short And Now Is The Time

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 64