Stats: 3,329,340 members, 8,440,123 topics. Date: Monday, 06 July 2026 at 01:21 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup - Sports (16793) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentSports"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup (17545472 Views)

1 2 3 ... 16790 16791 16792 16793 16794 16795 16796 ... 19517 Reply (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 12:36pm On Oct 14, 2024
lbrichman2:
Till nowhuh
Let the players start going back to their base in Europe, simple.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 12:38pm On Oct 14, 2024
humility33:
Hope you have gone through Mr adepoju tweet to see how clueless your nff and sports minister are in handling the matter?
My Brother, even the tweet of the Nigerian head of missions (or whatever his position is) muzzed me. I will find it and share it here.

Meanwhile... Ekong updates.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by lbrichman2: 12:41pm On Oct 14, 2024
Goke7:
Let the players start going back to their base in Europe, simple.
They need to be allowed to leave the airport first
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by lbrichman2: 12:42pm On Oct 14, 2024
I like how Ekong is updating
We need video evidence too
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by isan(m): 12:42pm On Oct 14, 2024
Make federal government send Nigeria Air Force to evacuate the team back to Lagos
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by mekabuachi(f): 12:44pm On Oct 14, 2024
Nff bad yes... But make una calm down
Na who no know Libya go blame nff
Even nff sends a plane for them same Libya fit divert the plane or do something crazy

This is not longer in the hands of nff but libyian authorities

Omooo
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by semid4lyfe(mod): 12:45pm On Oct 14, 2024
humility33:
Hope you have gone through Mr adepoju tweet to see how clueless your nff and sports minister are in handling the matter?
Mr Adepoju tweet is inciting and aims to pit Nigerians against the NFF and the Sports Minister.

I am certain the NFF and Sports Minister are doing everything they can but somethings are out of their direct control in this matter.

I say this as someone who has been involved in Protocol and Logistics operations in the past.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by mekabuachi(f): 12:46pm On Oct 14, 2024
semid4lyfe:
Mr Adepoju tweet is inciting and aims to pit Nigerians against the NFF and the Sports Minister.

I am certain the NFF and Sports Minister are doing everything they can but somethings are out of their direct control in this matter.

I say this as someone who has been involved in Protocol and Logistics operations in the past.
Exactly... When it comes to logistics something's are out of ones control
Those blaming nff are just naive
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 12:46pm On Oct 14, 2024
JayromWrites:
E be like you never sleep for bench before. Diplomacy keh
I tell you no mind that guy, I've been held like this though due to the plane being faulty at Douala in Cameroon en route Gabon in 2012, it was Air Nigerian then, omo, we have to wait for almost 24 hours for another plane from Lagos to come and pick us up. Come and see frustration, we shout so tey na expired snacks from the plane dem give us chop, na person wey never sleep for airport before go dey yan rubbish online. Social media was not a big thing then, can't even connect to anyone back home. Being stranded in a land that's not yours talkless of a region like Libya the fear wey go catch you no be here o
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by timay1: 12:46pm On Oct 14, 2024
semid4lyfe:
Poor damage control.

Anyone with a brain can read between the lines of the Libyan FF response.

The conciliatory tone screams guilt and the excuses are shallow

I hope CAF sanctions the Libya FF severely.
Libya wanted to do the mind games and distraction stuff, now it went out of hand. Instead of stopping, gthey now keep doubling down. I doubt they will escape Snction
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 12:47pm On Oct 14, 2024
lbrichman2:
They need to be allowed to leave the airport first
It's terrible, shebi next time we go dey complain if players no show for national duty, here is it o
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by lbrichman2: 12:48pm On Oct 14, 2024
See wetin CAF dey post??
Can you just imagine??

Check the comments
Safe to say they will find a way to rob Lookman of that APOTY award
And nothing will happen, because we have no balls and they know it
Na only for social media we Sabi shout

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by mekabuachi(f): 12:51pm On Oct 14, 2024
Can you see this is out of nff control?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by humility33(m): 12:52pm On Oct 14, 2024
semid4lyfe:

BRO If they're stucked they can get the presidency involved. The Secretary to the federal government Hon Femi can be contacted asap and with the presidential inputs I am so sure alot can be done immediately

The CAF president can be phoned as well...this is a matter of this guys safety and it is wickedness taken too far
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 12:52pm On Oct 14, 2024
Immediately this was posted, Nigerians lynched the tweet. Trust Naija people. They absolutely devored it but shaa... CAF normally drop match updates like this but then the "...doesn't stop" was quite insensitive.

lbrichman2:
See wetin CAF dey post??
Can you just imagine??

Check the comments
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by lbrichman2: 12:53pm On Oct 14, 2024
See CAF oh!.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by minfelix(m): 12:54pm On Oct 14, 2024
i have been reloading all social media platform just to read headlines such as:
-“CAF cancels Lib v Nig match”
- “Libyan FA sanctioned for”….whatever they can sanction them for let them just sanctioned those ppl abeg.
-“ Match moved to a another date in another venue”
Those guys think say we be mate in soccer ni?
was it not in 2018 we flog them 7-2 on aggregate over both legs? courtesy of ighalo scoring over 4goals?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by jihday(m): 12:54pm On Oct 14, 2024
mekabuachi:
The whole stuff has gone viral worldwide
Fabrizio just posted it

Omo I shame for africa
Sevilla already posted about it
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by lbrichman2: 12:54pm On Oct 14, 2024
TheSuperNerd:
Immediately this was posted, Nigerians lynched the tweet. Trust Naija people. They absolutely devored it but shaa... CAF normally drop match updates like this but then the "...doesn't stop" was quite insensitive.
Can you imagine??
That phrase was very insensitive!!!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by humility33(m): 12:54pm On Oct 14, 2024
mekabuachi:
Then they should reach out to Mrs president or senate president

Cmon this guys lives are at risk even the US won't allow their citizens be in Libya at this time let alone in a risky situation as this

It will be embarrassing if this players clubs or second nationality start reaching out for their safety while the NFF still claim to be handicapped
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by kennysville(m): 12:54pm On Oct 14, 2024
This Libya saga has to go down in history as the worst vindictive attack on a fellow African country. This is simply unacceptable. This is football and not World war. On top say even if the Libyans qualify, they wont make it out of group stages. What's their problem? I dont see the need for us playing this match. To hell with 3 point. No be today we never qualify for Nations cup. Safety is more important this inhumane treatment. And here we are preaching Pan Africanism! What a shame.
With all these shenanigans going on, how can we as Africans rise to even begin to challenge world powers when we cant even unite to play an ordinary game of football?

If this is a payback for whatever happened to the Libyans in Uyo then somebody in Naija FA needs to be fired. The same thing happened to the South Africans in one of our Airports. The way I see it, this trend is going to continue as people countries are gonna start weaponizing this delay tactics to demoralize opposing teams. I think it's high time CAF made a scape goat. This is to say the least, APPALLING!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by semid4lyfe(mod): 12:54pm On Oct 14, 2024
This issue has gone viral worldwide and is the stuff of podcasts.

I'm glad we won the internet/social media information war over Libya on this one.

I expect a lot of our players to appear on podcasts in the coming weeks and months to talk about this stuff.

Even SuperSports go milk the issue on that African football Show that features Peterside Idah.

It'd be an interesting few months to look up to
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by minfelix(m): 12:56pm On Oct 14, 2024
mekabuachi:
until una hear say Al-shabab don kidnap all of them, everyone go start dey run kitikiti katakata…mae we dey play oo
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by humility33(m): 12:57pm On Oct 14, 2024
lbrichman2:
See CAF oh!.
If that sport Minister agree ehh

Let the match be played in a other neighbouring country like Tunisia on a separate date
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by humility33(m): 12:58pm On Oct 14, 2024
minfelix:
until una hear say Al-shabab don kidnap all of them, everyone go start dey run kitikiti katakata…mae we dey play oo
Don't mind them making case for the incompetent nff and sport Minister

Those guys should be flown out... I so much wish this was in obasanjo time as president

Don't be surprised Mr. President is not even aware
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 1:01pm On Oct 14, 2024
Meanwhile reports from some higher ups are saying they are doing what they can to sanction some movements into the location of the players but their efforts are being botched by the Libyan authorities.

Humility33, perhaps you should free Gusau and Enoh on this one. They are doing all they can and some action steps are already being taken.

The NFF is incompetent in other areas, yes but not in this matter. I understand he (NFF president) is on ground with them and the head of the Nigerian community in Benghazi had to come all the way to where they are at the airport to help them with WiFi and other stuffs. Omo... it is crazy out there.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 1:03pm On Oct 14, 2024
The Sports Minister already replied this saying no, that the game cannot go on as planned citing the non safety of the players and unpleasant conditions upon the team's arrival.

lbrichman2:
See CAF oh!.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 1:03pm On Oct 14, 2024
This is why the game in Africa will never develop, it's been a trend for smaller teams in Africa to use these antics against stronger sides by playing victims all the time even when there is no need. I remember the Kenya national team many years ago when they came to Nigeria for a wcq they intentionally went to a primary school bare ground field to train and create the impression we were a bad host. When we play stronger sides you normally won't see all these antics because they know they can match us home and away.

It's high time countries in Africa decide if they want to play football, the game is not for chickens and cowards, if you know you can't compete kindly withdraw from the competition, this will continue sadly until CAF begins to spelt our penalties if they can for teams who come up with antics with their host even when the evidence shows otherwise.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m):
lbrichman2:
See wetin CAF dey post??
Can you just imagine??

Check the comments
wetin concern what u post and lookman apoty aspirations?

Because Libya hold our team hostage caf should not post matches to be played today again?

Oga carry ur propaganda rest abeg 🤦‍♀️
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by mekabuachi(f): 1:05pm On Oct 14, 2024
minfelix:
How this Libya sef take enter Africa?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 1:06pm On Oct 14, 2024
TheSuperNerd:
Meanwhile reports from some higher ups are saying they are doing what they can to sanction some movements into the location of the players but their efforts are being botched by the Libyan authorities.

Humility33, perhaps you should free Gusau and Enoh on this one. They are doing all they can and some action steps are already being taken.

The NFF is incompetent in other areas, yes but not in this matter. I understand he (NFF president) is on ground with them and the head of the Nigerian community in Benghazi had to come all the way to where they are at the airport to help them with WiFi and other stuffs. Omo... it is crazy out there.
Nigeria needs to stand its ground now not to play tomorrow, even if Libya gets all the points, it's already a bad image for them and diplomatically our govt need to recall our ambassador in Libya if there is one. This is purely a hostage situation and not a football matter anymore
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by minfelix(m): 1:07pm On Oct 14, 2024
God help me, as at saturday i was having a negative vibe around this return leg….from their flighting to landing to logistics.
even when a monicker here asked a question, “have the super eagles landed in Libya yet?” that question got me uncomfortable….make them just forfeit the match abeg…already its now less than 24hrs before kickoff.
as early this morning i checked on AfconQ 2025 wikipedia i saw
Rwa vs Ben
Venue: Kigali
Time: 21hrs

Lib vs Nig
Venue: Benghazi
Time: No time
imagine no time fixed yet, those guys really wanna play dirty game walai
1 2 3 ... 16790 16791 16792 16793 16794 16795 16796 ... 19517 Reply

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 StolenSuper Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures)AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws)234

Viewing this topic: Goke7, bennie1980(m), mekabuachi(f) and 7 guest(s)