Stats: 3,328,617 members, 8,436,560 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 June 2026 at 01:21 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup - Sports (17017) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentSports"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup (17422422 Views)

1 2 3 ... 17014 17015 17016 17017 17018 17019 17020 ... 19451 Reply (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 1:13am On Dec 17, 2024
mrwilliams9:
Mikel and Enyema were the only players that came close to ending our drought.

I think we can regain the form of the 90s with Naija players being at the top. Lookman is already on track for another CAF POTY.

If Atalanta win the Scudetto and make a deep run in UCL, I don’t see why he won’t be front runner especially if he keeps on putting up his current numbers.
You’re very right including victor Moses but yaya toure was just too much in that era.

Salah with his crazy form now might just be the challenge for Lookman now. Mourinho some months ago said Salah and osihmen are African’s current best, he may have to update his info now with Lookman, such is life o!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 1:15am On Dec 17, 2024
Bannedlargejr:
Seria A might just be a good luck league for our boys and they should remain at that league. Two of our players won the APOY playing at the Seria A while the likes of Aina, ekong improved playing at the Seria A. Sometimes, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it
Na true o, may be our boy Boniface should face that side abi?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Bannedlargejr: 1:24am On Dec 17, 2024
Goke7:
100% if a big Seria A team come for him, let him accept. I was surprised at the venom Nigerians were pouring at Napoli when osimhen was playing there and also the people advising Lookman to leave Atalanta instead of remaining and becoming a Club Legend. Two back to back APOY playing at Seria A omo na our goodluck charm. Epl, although the best league in the world is too hustle/work
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 1:31am On Dec 17, 2024
that's exactly my point. dragging with Ghana year in year out means we don't even want to look forward or progress as a country

Bannedlargejr:
Which kind of low self esteem Dey worry una here? We win our award and una Dey tok about small teams SMH. Our rivals should be Argentina
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 1:31am On Dec 17, 2024
iggy na the word i need you to embrace.

Odunayaw:
grin you are not aware of how some of their lads were preparing to pepper us with this pic if he didn't win
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by BankyGee(m): 1:41am On Dec 17, 2024
Odunayaw:
Is that an unbeaten record?
Yes, but na unbeaten record in our favour sir 😂🙏🏾
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by BankyGee(m): 1:42am On Dec 17, 2024
TheSuperNerd:
Wetin bring your relationship enter this Lookman moment now?? 😂😂
Just stating the facts, if we no breakup before next year December, Osimhen or Lookman again 🔥🔥🇳🇬🦅🦅
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by BankyGee(m): 1:48am On Dec 17, 2024
daveP:
The 7th. Perfect number. Make we win AFCON asap.
Ademola Lookman!
Wears number 7 jersey for Nigeria 🇳🇬
The 7th Nigerian winner of the CAF Player of the Year Award
The 7th player to score a hat-trick in any UEFA competition final!

Ade-Sniper! James Bond 😎 I'm sure he'll be in the 7th heaven tonight!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Bannedlargejr: 1:55am On Dec 17, 2024
BankyGee:
Ademola Lookman!
Wears number 7 jersey for Nigeria 🇳🇬
The 7th Nigerian winner of the CAF Player of the Year Award
The 7th player to score a hat-trick in any UEFA competition final!

Ade-Sniper! James Bond 😎 I'm sure he'll be in the 7th heaven tonight!
Wetin consign samklef noni with the conversation. Omo any nonentity wey near lookman must collect. Watch your mouth
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Ppogbae: 2:54am On Dec 17, 2024
Odunayaw:
grin you are not aware of how some of their lads were preparing to pepper us with this pic if he didn't win
The photographer did him dirty here grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by mrwilliams9(m): 4:24am On Dec 17, 2024
Goke7:
You’re very right including victor Moses but yaya toure was just too much in that era.

Salah with his crazy form now might just be the challenge for Lookman now. Mourinho some months ago said Salah and osihmen are African’s current best, he may have to update his info now with Lookman, such is life o!
Yaya was just too much when he was with City.

I think we can get back to the 90s where Nigerian ballers really strangled the APOTY year award.

I’m hoping Lookman can lead Atalanta to the Scudetto and a strong UCL showing. That’ll be how he can push off a challenge from Salah or Nico Jackson.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by mostob(m): 5:21am On Dec 17, 2024
Up and grateful.

Nigeria, mo ki gbogbo yin o. E she modupe
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Ppogbae: 6:11am On Dec 17, 2024
mostob:
Up and grateful.

Nigeria, mo ki gbogbo yin o. E she modupe
All that remains is world cup qualification. Give guys like Osimhen and Lookman the biggest stage of them all, they'll deliver.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by kentebemoney: 6:37am On Dec 17, 2024
BankyGee:
📈 OFFICIAL: Two Nigerian players have won the African Player of the Year award consecutively since me and my girlfriend started dating!

History! 🇳🇬🦅

Make una just dey pray make we no breakup 😏
Omoooo!!!!
See line wey my guy go take get some "good and wet coochie". Enjoy my guy
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Kog45(m): 7:36am On Dec 17, 2024
Bannedlargejr:
Did you really watch prime obagoal destroying Maldini in the champions league semi final? Boniface is an extremely talented player but he wasn’t better than prime obagoal bundesliga or No bundesliga. Sometimes, you just had to watch the actual games to judge
Boniface wey never score a goal for national team😄 na him Dem dey compare with Martins....Kai Boniface rating for here no be small o
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Kog45(m): 7:39am On Dec 17, 2024
Goke7:
I don't see Boniface winning APOTY without performing in eagles.He needs national team performance to make it happen

The sure bankers for more APOTY are Osimhen and Lookman.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by mostob(m): 7:41am On Dec 17, 2024
Ppogbae:
All that remains is world cup qualification. Give guys like Osimhen and Lookman the biggest stage of them all, they'll deliver.
Yea... Hopefully we will get the slot.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by minfelix(m): 8:43am On Dec 17, 2024
Thank you Jose peseiro for being part of Lookman awesome stats

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by zicky(m): 8:57am On Dec 17, 2024
TheSuperNerd:
Hakimi don suffer shaa. Twice he is hyped as potential winner.. and twice now runner-up.

In 2023, Hakimi and WC 2022 performance + PSG league win hyped..... eventually Osimhen inevitably won.

Now again in 2024, Hakimi and his Club President dey come marrakech in private jet!!! Hakimi hyped again..... eventually LOOKMAN UNDISPUTABLY WINS AND IS NOW THE REIGNING BEST PLAYER ON THE AFRICAN CONTINENT.

ALL HAIL THE NEW LORD OF THE AFRICAN GAME

ALL HAIL ADEFIRE🔥🔥🔥 THE ORIGINAL ADEBALLER!!
Have you seen the video of some Moroccan leaving the venue immediately lookman was announced the winner. And Nigerians were singing one by one dem don dy go 😂
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by robosky02(m): 9:03am On Dec 17, 2024
TheSuperNerd:
Hakimi don suffer shaa. Twice he is hyped as potential winner.. and twice now runner-up.

In 2023, Hakimi and WC 2022 performance + PSG league win hyped..... eventually Osimhen inevitably won.

Now again in 2024, Hakimi and his Club President dey come marrakech in private jet!!! Hakimi hyped again..... eventually LOOKMAN UNDISPUTABLY WINS AND IS NOW THE REIGNING BEST PLAYER ON THE AFRICAN CONTINENT.

ALL HAIL THE NEW LORD OF THE AFRICAN GAME

ALL HAIL ADEFIRE🔥🔥🔥 THE ORIGINAL ADEBALLER!!
Kudos to Hakimi a very good player and has been consistent
We are proud of his achievement

But it's not is turn
The Nigerians are back
2023, 2024 and even next year
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 9:44am On Dec 17, 2024
Danielnino00:
2024 Nairaland Nigeria Football Fans Award

Update

Gents,

The next step now is to select members of the nomination committee.
The committee will be responsible for selecting the the awards categories as well as nominees for each category.

Traditionally, selecting of members of the nomination committee was done through voting. I personally like that method because it ensure that all members of the thread have the chance to select the most passionate and knowledgeable monikers to nominate players for the award.
However, every year, there's always this problem of those who are voted to be part of the committee not being active... Last year, almost 80% of monikers that were voted to be part of the committee quit... Others were either inactive or unavailable.
I understand that we all have our lives to live and work stuffs won't allow some of us participate actively.
On this note, I've decided that this year, the nomination committee will be made up of members who Volunteer to join.. that way, we can be ensured of some level of commitment.

Here's how it will be done: If you're interested in being a member of the committee, quote this post with one word "Interested". Other members of the thread will give credence to your nomination by liking the post.
The top 8 monikers with the most likes and shares will make up the nomination committee alongside I and icon4s who, by default is a honourary member of the committee,being the founder of this award.

Voting closes on Monday December 16th 2024 at 6pm Nigeria time

Thank you

CC: Icon4s, semid4lyfe

PS: if anyone has an objection to the chosen method of selecting committee members, do not hesitate to let me know...maybe we can work out another method
Only two volunteers so far.... this is not encouraging at all... we need at least 6more volunteers.
I've decided to extend the deadline to Sunday.. If by Sunday, we don't get at least 3 more volunteers, I might go back to the previous format of selecting committee members. either way, we have to ensure that the award hold this year ...
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 9:56am On Dec 17, 2024
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by daveP(m): 10:43am On Dec 17, 2024
WarHammer2000:
Okay, let me do this.

Venue: Morocco. Great choice. Especially as the WC will soon be hosted there. The ceremony venue (decor and facilities) was top-notch. 10/10.

Publicity: I noticed some publicity efforts on the CAF social media handles. However, I didn't see any sponsored ads meaning only people who were already following those platforms could see it. CAF can do better. 5/10.

Language used: The worst part of the whole show. The English interpreter(s) spoke horrible English and while I realize they were under pressure as it was a live translation, I certainly expect better from interpreters handling an occasion of such magnitude.

This is why we must continue to hire Foreign English speakers as commentators for our AFCON tournaments. As if the bad grammar wasn't enough, the interpreters made some really unforgivable blunders like saying Barbra Banda was Nigerian..... (1/10).

Style of Award Presentation: Just okay. 9/10.

Stage performance by musicals: I only caught two performances. The one by the Arab musician and that of Diamond Platnumz. I enjoyed the Arab's performance honestly but I felt Diamond's was rather too long and boring. But then, the beauty of music lies in the ear of the listener so I'll just leave that. 7/10.

Throwbacks and Clips timing: The clips I saw were just fine. 9/10.

Speech and honorary award: I think some of the speeches were unnecessarily long. Or maybe it's just because I couldn't wait for the Lookman award, Lol.

Liveliness in the audience: Actually, I think the audience was rather dead. I don't remember any serious organic input from the audience (cheers, sing-alongs, boos, etc) until Lookman was on stage when I heard some cheers. 2/10.

Carrying along of African Legends in award process: They did well in this regard. 10/10.

Any other thing you noticed: Well, Motsepe seems to be quite the politician. I noticed the way he was cuddling up and famzing with Gianni😎😎. Also the fact that he created a special category of awards for random African dictators to collect money and secure patronage......

PS:
Whoever handled that camera deserves to be sacked.

Nice ceremony in all. 8/10.
Thanks for responding.

Cc: TheSuperNerd, BankyGee, Kog45, etc to initial post, pls I'll love your contribution
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by daveP(m): 10:47am On Dec 17, 2024
zicky:
Have you seen the video of some Moroccan leaving the venue immediately lookman was announced the winner. And Nigerians were singing one by one dem don dy go 😂
i saw it. Lol

If it was a close contest, they for get point. But let's swap realities fes. If na their guy finish top 15 for Balon D'or, they'll milk that fact till the last hour. They got 6 other awards. They should goan siddon outside and touch grass. Na Motsepe i blame.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by forgiveness: 10:58am On Dec 17, 2024
Goke7:
Omo so we were in the wilderness for twenty four good years. Later some folks will come and tell us the likes of Obafemi martins(who I like o) are far better than the current crop of players we are now having. aah we don try no be small
Martins won CAF promising young player of the year twice. We know injury regressed his career
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by forgiveness: 11:02am On Dec 17, 2024
Goke7:
Story! That Boniface has 3 trophies already and was europa cup top scorer for 2022-23 season
Martins won 8 trophies including UEFA intertoto competition across top European leagues. Are you aware?

Let us not talk about his exploit in MLS and China where Messi dey use collect Ballon'dOr. This is reality not story.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by femianski: 11:06am On Dec 17, 2024
daveP:
The 7th. Perfect number. Make we win AFCON asap.
It would be very hard for us to win it. Don't forget Morroco are the hosts and they'll use every of their dirty tactics to win it and the officiating might be on their side. WAFCON 2022 comes to mind.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by M7even(m): 11:11am On Dec 17, 2024
Goke7:
Una go explain tire, what you folks are not observing is that the current crop of Nigerian players are taking clubs that are not in the elite category of European clubs to the highest levels of accomplishments e.g. osihmen with Napoli, Ademola with Atalanta, boniface with leverkusen, even an Aina with notts is currently 4th in the epl can you beat that? It tells you the impact of these guys in teams with no big players but still pushing them to the summit of the game. And that’s the outcome we are seeing with these awards. No sentiments it’s what it is.
On the other hand, football has changed. You'd never see Brazil and Argentina invite players from Brighton, Westham , Everton to their national teams. It used to be players from AC Milan, Juventus, Real Madrid, Barcelona and such elite teams. But today we've seen McAlister from Brighton now playing for Liverpool play for Argentina.
Football is cyclical and today it's emphasis on national team cohesion as against big clubs players.

But that's not the justification for bringing a player in the English 3rd division into our team. We are not Gabon or any of those lesser african football powerhouses to do such. If we can work out something for our consistent and best players that are playing in teams you mentioned earlier I think that will be great for our national team
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by forgiveness:
Goke7:
Una go explain tire, what you folks are not observing is that the current crop of Nigerian players are taking clubs that are not in the elite category of European clubs to the highest levels of accomplishments e.g. osihmen with Napoli, Ademola with Atalanta, boniface with leverkusen, even an Aina with notts is currently 4th in the epl can you beat that? It tells you the impact of these guys in teams with no big players but still pushing them to the summit of the game. And that’s the outcome we are seeing with these awards. No sentiments it’s what it is.
Inter Milan was not different from Napoli, Atalanta, Nottingham forest and Leverkusun when Martins won the Seria A with Inter Milan.

Even Martins won League cup with lowly
Birmingham City

So, don't be confused. So, give honor ro whom honour is due.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by forgiveness:
Goke7:
Boniface sin is national team performance and I I get that like you said he still has some time hoping he makes use of it but professional wise he’s had an outstanding career. Oba goal on the other hand got us no where in the national team if we are being honest too.
Without one legged Obagoal, we for no go smell World cup in South Africa. He came on despite limping and he got us the goal that qualified us to the world cup.

Blame the National team coach that kept benching for some players. Although, Yakubu na baba ooo.

Nevertheless, Martins has 2 bronze medals in AFON.

He could have won in 2013 when he was at his peak but late Stephen Keshi with his bias selection dropped him from the team.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by forgiveness: 11:22am On Dec 17, 2024
Goke7:

Mourinho already knew Lookman when he was Roma coach.

Infact, he requested the scout to get him but the scout doubted Lookman's ability hence the decision not to buy him.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by zicky(m):
forgiveness:
Without one legged Obagoal, we for no go smell World cup in South Africa. He came on despite limping and he got us the goal that qualified us to the world cup.

Blame the National team coach that kept benching for some players. Although, Yakubu na baba ooo.

Nevertheless, Martins has 2 bronze medals in AFON.

He could have won in 2013 when he was at his peak but late Stephen Keshi with his bias selection dropped him from the team.
He could have.... 🤔 But he didn't.
See Martins even when he was introduced last nite as Nigeria legend, I just laff, say who make this one Nigeria legend. Same thing people will say about Boniface in years to come if he do not improve.
1 2 3 ... 17014 17015 17016 17017 17018 17019 17020 ... 19451 Reply

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 StolenSuper Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures)AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws)234

Viewing this topic: GMBOFASIA, Lamsco, kodded(m), Samueltemi337(m), Sugarboyy(m), minfelix(m) and 16 guest(s)