Stats: 3,326,995 members, 8,428,940 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 June 2026 at 08:41 AM

Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It - Business - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralBusinessShoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It (3395 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by Bestmanfornow(op): 4:20pm On Jun 09, 2025
I have visited many ShopRite outlets in different locations in Nigeria I realized that it's no longer what it use to be, what's going on?
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by RingRoadMafia: 4:24pm On Jun 09, 2025
Go on FP and see them hailing the same man who has impoverished Nigerians the worst since 1960.
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by Jakumo(m): 4:25pm On Jun 09, 2025
Bestmanfornow:
I have visited many ShopRite outlets in different locations in Nigeria I realized that it's no longer what it use to be, what's going on?
Shopping malls world wide are going the way of the phone booth and the VHS video machine. In other words, shopping malls are dying a natural death because the world is turning to online shopping and mail-order delivery.

Shoprite Nigeria is still the best place to meet hot single women, so I certainly hope that the franchise survives in the long term.
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by SarkinYarki: 4:27pm On Jun 09, 2025
Disposable income is down by almost 90 percent so what do you expect , yet 🤡🤡 are hailing the failed govt
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by kettykin: 4:28pm On Jun 09, 2025
Shoprite is just a flying kyte, I don't want to talk bout the eateries, tech companies, malls, hotels, etc, littered here and there.

Most companies are on loan from banks .

Nigeria is in slow motion to an unknown destination.
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by Bestmanfornow(op): 4:28pm On Jun 09, 2025
Jakumo:
Shopping malls world wide are going the way of the phone booth and the VHS video machine. In other words, shopping malls are dying a natural death because the world is turning to online shopping and mail-order delivery.

Shoprite Nigeria is still the best place to meet hot single women, so I certainly hope that the franchise survives in the long term.
Bad economy is killing these guys
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by kettykin: 4:30pm On Jun 09, 2025
Jakumo:

That's the world but in Nigeria even e-commerce companies like Jumia are in decline. Somethings are not adding up.
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by Holyfic: 4:35pm On Jun 09, 2025
Nor who dor chop de shop
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by jmoore(m): 4:35pm On Jun 09, 2025
Na my papa get ShopRite?
How many people patronize ShopRite sef?

They just realized it was a tourist centre which wasn't their intention..
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by Soulsymbol99: 4:48pm On Jun 09, 2025
Most shoprites na provision store now grin
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by dederocs(m): 4:49pm On Jun 09, 2025
It has since been sold
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by mrvitalis(m): 4:50pm On Jun 09, 2025
Bestmanfornow:
The man who bought it ran it aground... Yes the Nigeria economic situation is bad but doesn't mean shop rite would be that empty

It's competitors like spars, marke square, ebano and the rest are not struggling that much

Shoprite buying is obviously another loan scam by the buyer
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by gulfer: 5:10pm On Jun 09, 2025
Don't worry, ShopRite will be okay laslas because we're so standing on a mandate currently undecided undecided undecided undecided undecided
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by KingDashx(m): 5:17pm On Jun 09, 2025
Bestmanfornow:
na that old weasel for villa
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by free2ryhme: 5:18pm On Jun 09, 2025
Bestmanfornow:
mention the name of the different locations
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by kingi777: 5:34pm On Jun 09, 2025
I think taxation is responsible. You'll get a change of 200 to 300 naira buying an item from normal stores than supermarkets now. In the last government, most of the big supermarkets used to bubble with crowd. Then, a can of Guinness stout was between 400 to 600 naira; but now between 1200 to N1400. Infact, people dey respect themselves now; no more show.
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by wildernessVoice: 5:45pm On Jun 09, 2025
You mean they're now shopping wrong.

What do you expect from a retail store that you can equally get the same quality of goods at cheaper rate from Mallam shop in this tinubulation.
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by SmartPolician: 5:49pm On Jun 09, 2025
Tinubu has destroyed Nigeria's economy while his goons are all over social media hailing him.
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by muyico(m): 5:49pm On Jun 09, 2025
Already sold to Nigerian
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by Exceed15: 5:50pm On Jun 09, 2025
Tinubu government finished them
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by SarkinYarki: 5:56pm On Jun 09, 2025
Jakumo:

Our own is because of bad economy nothing else , people don't have enough to shop
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by SarkinYarki: 5:58pm On Jun 09, 2025
mrvitalis:
The man who bought it ran it aground... Yes the Nigeria economic situation is bad but doesn't mean shop rite would be that empty

It's competitors like spars, marke square, ebano and the rest are not struggling that much

Shoprite buying is obviously another loan scam by the buyer
Spar is struggling too , I am a great spar for years and things are not the same again , they are also empty, before I shopped at spar every day but now just once in a while
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by columbus007(m): 6:18pm On Jun 09, 2025
Remaining it's carcass undecided
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by Emmabyte: 6:25pm On Jun 09, 2025
Not just Shoprite all business if we are to tell ourselves the truth
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by iwaeda: 6:42pm On Jun 09, 2025
I posted a video of shoprite in Ilorin few weeks ago, it was lamentations. How will economy grow, when people can save to buy necessities. grin grin grin grin
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by Ofemannnu:
Bestmanfornow:
Shoprite is still kicking and doing better than spar,ebano etc.

Ebano operates only in Lagos and Abuja while spar is only in 5 states.
Shoprite is in 13 states and it is bigger than all the ones you mentioned.

Name the locations you went to.Abi den no get name ni?
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by Godfullsam(m): 6:52pm On Jun 09, 2025
Things are so expensive these days. Everyone is in a survival mode right now.

I remember visiting shop right at wise zone 5 few yrs back to get some drinks for my family to celebrate December.

I only spent 32k and my boot almost filled up with drinks.

Today, what you will get with 32k at shop right won't fill up a polythene bag.
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by Dronedude(m): 7:13pm On Jun 09, 2025
Now you have brought it up to be talked about. It will be revived again.
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by Bestmanfornow(op): 7:30pm On Jun 09, 2025
Ofemannnu:
Shoprite is still kicking and doing better than spar,ebano etc.

Ebano operates only in Lagos and Abuja while spar is only in 5 states.
Shoprite is in 13 states and it is bigger than all the ones you mentioned.

Name the locations you went to.Abi den no get name ni?
Keep fooling yourself
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by galantjoe(m): 7:31pm On Jun 09, 2025
Many franchises are favorable competing with them

They re losing it because they can't patent or bought eating right like how they bought all viewing rights of major sports events

Nothing last forever. One day DStv and gotv will go sane way
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by Ibechris2:
Bestmanfornow:
What are u saying,Shoprite is no longer in Nigeria. They left during the time of Buhari bad leadership precisely 2021.

People are just trading with their name but the organisation left as a result of FX disruption and bad APC leadership for making it hard for them to repatriate their funds.

They sold it to Ketron and those ones can't manage it as the real shoprite.
Re: Shoprite Nigeria Is Sinking And Nobody Is Talking About It by BlackViper: 7:42pm On Jun 09, 2025
Jakumo:

1 2 Reply

This Nigerian Man And His Friends Slept At Shoprite In Lagos#Xenophobia: Lekki Shoprite Shut Down To Avoid More Attack As People Stormed ItShoprite Nigeria Warns Against Internet Scam234

NSE: Market Capitalisation Up N88bnHow To Become A Virtual Assistant TrainingDom Account International Transfer From Nigeria Not Possible Online?