Stats: 3,325,464 members, 8,422,213 topics. Date: Sunday, 07 June 2026 at 09:24 PM

Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept - Education (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralEducationMan Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept (14918 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by fergie001: 2:00pm On Jul 02, 2025
I remember UI that year grin

Hahahahahahahahahahaha
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by FutureFocus: 2:01pm On Jul 02, 2025
Safyqueen:
That's not the work of a university professor.
In technical field those designed to handle practical work are called technicians. Those below them to manufacturer the tools used by them are called craftsmen. Those above them are called technologist before the engineers at the top.
No need to further elucidate on these.
How do you confidently teach the students if you don’t have practical experience, I rather school myself on YouTube

Just hand me your syllabus or course outlines
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by omoredia: 2:01pm On Jul 02, 2025
If Nigerians hate it then just know that it is the truth that is being said.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by SmallmebigGod: 2:01pm On Jul 02, 2025
A very ignorant post. Where in the route to becoming a professor is learning to repair generator or working as technician. If you are informed enough you know being a professor means knowing so much on a much narrowed subject.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by Politicstoday: 2:02pm On Jul 02, 2025
Nawaoooo. Na theory professor's we get for this nation. Where are the practical ones.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by Offpoint1: 2:02pm On Jul 02, 2025
mrvitalis:
So you think practicals are superior to theories? Mehn we are doomed in this country

Any idiot can do practical... Intact and robots can be programed do repairs

Lmaooo do you guys even know what goes into designing a bolt? ... Just a bolt or shaft?
So you even know what goes into treatment of materials to achieve desired properties?

That's even done with limitations in space and cost... Lmao

Why do you guys think it take care 15 years to change engine design for cars even with that the new one is designed as an improvement of the old not just afresh

Just because you loosed something and replaced parts you think you are better than someone who use calculus to solve problems

Designing clearance alone for he piston cylinder system, the injection valve system, the stress analysis with head and temperatures control Lmaooo

You go market buy parts lose and replace then you think u are doing good Lmaooo

You can't even defend the design of a bolt before an engineer ...

Engineering is theory and problems solving... Google is your friend... If you want practical go and learn craftsman job
With these you've wrote, how come we are yet to design or come with one machine as a country? All we do is import and assemble
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by Arostar2023: 2:03pm On Jul 02, 2025
FutureFocus:
My former Boss turned diver was a mechanical engineer trained in Germany, I love old heavy diesel patrol vehicles, his mechanic couldn’t fix the last one her got and this man started telling the mechanic what to do, boom within 2hrs mins the vehicle started working , no university faculty of engineering does that in Nigeria
Anyone that has mechanical aptitude , doesn't need to go to a university to learn how to fix broken things. I have a mechanic that never went to school but can fix cars.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by kentokay71: 2:03pm On Jul 02, 2025
You are right my brother what is the essence of professors of engineering that cannot fixed a faulty generator
TruthsFM:
Man laments as engineering professors fail to fix faulty faculty generator in his department.

"I was in this faculty some time ago, when the faculty generator had issues, none of the professors of engineering could fix it. They had to look for – my question is why is why is it a faculty of engineering if the diesel power plant had problems and it could not be fixed?" – A Nigerian youth stirs reactions after sharing a surprising experience at his university’s faculty of engineering.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=25GqDvzfn9A?
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by Arostar2023: 2:05pm On Jul 02, 2025
FutureFocus:
How do you confidently teach the students if you don’t have practical experience, I rather school myself on YouTube

Just hand me your syllabus or course outlines
Have you ever studied engineering ? In an engineering faculty, there are lecturers and lab technicians whose job is to conduct practicals with students. The two are different. Una ignorance is so embarassing.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by DIVINEEVIDENCE: 2:06pm On Jul 02, 2025
Zionmdde:
Only the ignorant cannot differentiate between an engineer and a technician
An engineer translates the theories into designs and models which are actualized by the technicians under the directions and supervision of the engineer

So a mechanical engineer has no business repairing a generator. Not in Nigeria, not even in Germany. He can only give an idea of what is wrong with the generator and not to repair it
Anyone who can specify what is wrong with a machine can as well repair it.

Anyone who can design a machine can couple, disassemble and fix it.

So, civil engineers should not know how to mix mortar and operate cement mixers?

Don't be a Reno Omokiri.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by funsho75(m): 2:13pm On Jul 02, 2025
Engineering is not for everybody...

Comment here are so funny...

Most people don't even no anything about engineering

We have so many aspects of engineering...

So if u see me tomorrow now and I introduce myself as engineer.

You expect me to be able to fix generator, run wire in a building, fix laptop, dig foundation,

Hahahah funny people
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by AdUlAM(m): 2:15pm On Jul 02, 2025
Pythagoras001:
Their are people trained for fixing generators and that is not a part of a university professor job description whose primary job is research , teaching and comunity service. while a professor of mechanical engineering understands how the generator works and could also design one. fixing a particular generator even if he wants to do it himself would take considerable time as he may have no working tools for the task and have no experience with the design of the current generator.
what are you even saying? Please explain sir.. 40 characters is a goal.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by CodeTemplarr: 2:18pm On Jul 02, 2025
TruthsFM:
Nawaoooo. What is the essence of studying machines and its functions in the school then.
You or/and the man are deeply ignorant.
The job of these professors is to teach design principles and advance/expand the body of knowledge(academic researchers). Engineering is broad at degree level the way NUC has structured it. It takes masters degree in a specific subfield to start handling your own design talk less of other peoples designs.
To make it more complicated, most products nowadays incorporate principles from wide range of engineering fields which is almost impossible for any single professor to be proficient in all of.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by phytomanherbs(m): 2:18pm On Jul 02, 2025
Na dy dx equations full their head, just theories no practical,that's why it's good as an engineering student to go to polytechnic first and expose yourself to practicals very well.

It's everywhere in Nigeria institutions especially universities.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by APOPTOSIS: 2:18pm On Jul 02, 2025
Hmmm..mmmm
In as much as he has points, such a system he described should be adopted.
Learn from 7am to 12noon, then Go Learn work from 1 to 4pm.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by Amalekki:
This illiterate debate again.

If you want to fix your generator, go to a generator technician and learn it. If you are brilliant and naturally inclined to hands-on tech it won't take you 3 months to start making sense of it. You don't need engineering degree or any science background for that.

Stop embarrassing yourself with these ignorant threads on the field of engineering.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by RightToReject(m): 2:19pm On Jul 02, 2025
Ignorance is a disease and this guy has it in great quantity.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by phorget(m): 2:19pm On Jul 02, 2025
The too much emphasis on paper qualifications has really ruined Africa, our educational theoretical system and the absent of practicals in some major fields isn't a good at all. Even those artisans doing the dirty works are been looked down upon.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by FutureFocus: 2:20pm On Jul 02, 2025
Arostar2023:
Have you ever studied engineering ? In an engineering faculty, there are lecturers and lab technicians whose job is to conduct practicals with students. The two are different. Una ignorance is so embarassing.
It’s wrong to hire kazzem with OND and wear him a lab coat to teach Bachelor of Engineering student practical , what we are saying is that professors should know more than just theories, universities should be doing researches and coming out with inventions

Not just to grade students only, that’s why our graduates are not employable and we have to rely on the Chinese for development and infrastructures
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by Bar1941(m): 2:20pm On Jul 02, 2025
Professor of Medicine taught and groom many doctors that perform different surgery operations in hospitals, but he himself may not be able to perform the simplest form of surgery because it’s not in his job description to perform one.

If a professor in your university was able to fix his generator, how will a roadside generator repairer make money to feed his family?
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by TenQ: 2:22pm On Jul 02, 2025
christejames:
That happens when your brain is loaded with theories...

Our curriculum needs to be overhauled, that's Nigeria 🇳🇬 need a change of govt.
It's not like that sir.
Completely different skill sets are needed for repairing Generators.

I design and build electronic circuits on PCB, and they could include both analogue and digital components.

However, one thing I am not good with is repairing damaged electronics because it takes experience with repairing to do such

The one who can repair usually cannot design and implement a given circuit
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by dultmax(m): 2:22pm On Jul 02, 2025
OLODO. So a Prof should be fixing Gen? Ignorance at its peak. Do you know what it takes to be a Prof? Do you think it is buy bolting and unbolting screws and nuts?.... have you asked yourself how that screw was able to fit into the nut and who programmed that? have you asked yourself who designed the Engine Block that makes the pistons run effectively?

try and create a Gen yourself before coming to insult a Prof. OLODO
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by APOPTOSIS: 2:23pm On Jul 02, 2025
Bar1941:
Professor of Medicine taught and groom many doctors that perform different surgery operations in hospitals, but he himself may not be able to perform the simplest form of surgery because it’s not in his job description to perform one.

If a professor in your university was able to fix his generator, how will a roadside generator repairer make money to feed his family?
Who lied to you that Professors of Medicine and Surgery can't perform Surgeries ?
Who lied to you...?

Never never never bring Medicine into such discussions.
Haven't you been to Teaching Hospitals, Federal Medical centers and Private settings to witness Professors do surgeries?
Or you want sick first before you understand too
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by Bimpe29(m): 2:23pm On Jul 02, 2025
It's incredibly stunning when a university don cannot practically apply theories and concepts he has been teaching. What happens to the practical sessions at the laboratory? We are just bunch of people teaching and learning not for the learning purposes. 😔
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by NotOfThisWorld(f): 2:23pm On Jul 02, 2025
See engineering building sef, what do you expect? Come and see the buildings at the schools of engineering at Universities here and know Nigeria has a lot of work to do.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by Amalekki: 2:24pm On Jul 02, 2025
The ignorance is embarrassing.

The point that they are trying to make is obvious but engineering is a standardized field across the world and the curriculum in Nigeria reflects that. Nigeria's peculiar problem affects everyone, not just engineers. They leave Nigeria and thrive.

If you need more hands for your generator repair, face your technical colleges.

Bar1941:

Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by Arostar2023: 2:25pm On Jul 02, 2025
FutureFocus:
It’s wrong to hire kazzem with OND and wear him a lab coat to teach Bachelor of Engineering student practical , what we are saying is that professors should know more than just theories, universities should be doing researches and coming out with inventions

Not just to grade students only, that’s why our graduates are not employable and we have to rely on the Chinese for development and infrastructures
The problem of your country is not that you have too many professors. The problem is that you have few technicians and your education sector is underfunded. Professors don't build physical infrastructures , the design mostly.
The two are different and both are equally important. We have Polytechnic and technical schools were technical knowledge are meant to taught. But today it's a different ball game. Not everyone need to spend five years in the university, one year certificate program is enough to get some people started in their field of interest. For your information, there are no Chinese professors in Nigeria building infrastructure for you, but technicians and laborers.

Go and research how much it cost to fund researches. Who is going to fund those researches you are talking about? Do you know how much it cost to build a standard engineering laboratory? You think those things you have in federal school are up to standard? You get what you plant, my friend.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by APOPTOSIS: 2:26pm On Jul 02, 2025
NotOfThisWorld:
See engineering building sef, what do you expect? Come and see the buildings at the schools of engineering at Universities here and know Nigeria has a lot of work to do.
Exactly
I'm more concerned about the Engineering Building than the message.
The building looks like a slaughterhouse
Looks like where Fulani Herdsmen keep their namas
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by BabaO2: 2:26pm On Jul 02, 2025
There are different fields of engineering man. They didnt design the generator you are ignorantly talking about.
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by Lebee4(m): 2:28pm On Jul 02, 2025
It's unfortunate to note that most of you are expecting a Prof. to fix the generator.
The same people complaining will still be here shouting about how the Prof who alredy has a job is stopping them (skill workers) to progress.
For the records, the duty of an Engineer is to design, the Poly graduate interprete the design to the OND holder, who in turn supervises the Skill workers (Craftmen).
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by yusufmurry: 2:29pm On Jul 02, 2025
This ignorance by author.

He isn't a Professor to fix the generator.

There is:
An Engineer
A Technologist/Technician
An Artesian
A Craftsman

Each plays a different role in the profession
Re: Man Laments As Engineering Professors Fail To Fix Faulty Generator In His Dept by BENEAMATA: 2:32pm On Jul 02, 2025
A country where vanity is the main reason we want to be " a graduate " not really as a career or driven by the passion fot the field/course . Next thing , it's the ' illiterate mechanic' that will fix the generator perfectly . Some proffesor!
1 2 3 4 5 6 Reply

FUPRE Lecturer Laments, As Students' Cars Take Over Parking Space (Photo, Video)20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 PassHow ABU Zaria Students Failed In The Dept. Of Computer Science234

NECO Releases June/July 2019 Examination ResultsUniversity Of Benin To Hold Virtual Matriculation Tuesday 15th Of September 2020Closing Date For Abu Zaria Remedial Form