USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions - Business - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Business › USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions (11499 Views)
| USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by BlackViper(op): 8:07am On Aug 28, 2025 |
When Chinyere, a petty trader in Lagos, tried to transfer N5,000 to her supplier using her bank’s USSD code, she thought it would take only seconds. Instead, the transaction failed midway.https://nairametrics.com/2025/08/28/the-hidden-cost-of-ussd-how-nigerians-are-losing-money-to-failed-bank-transactions/
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by meobizy(m): 8:11am On Aug 28, 2025 |
As crucial information is hidden in a long write-up, I’ll exit the thread without contributing an opinion. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by HeatSeeker(m): 8:23am On Aug 28, 2025 |
meobizy:You should have avoided commenting all together. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Gadaffi9ja(m): 8:24am On Aug 28, 2025 |
I practically don't know why I've never trusted this ussd thing, I've never try using it. I like doing what I will get evidence of payments for. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Brendaniel: 8:25am On Aug 28, 2025 |
That's what you get when you have an insane man enthroned as president by some certain people, does Nigeria of today look like what a sane person is ruling? |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Kimo21(m): 8:25am On Aug 28, 2025 |
HeatSeeker:That person is a known attention seeker. Ignore him |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Trymeee: 8:25am On Aug 28, 2025 |
Even opay is inclusive of this Shenenigan. But this is Nigeria, anything goes and no one is held accountable. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by DataDoc: 8:25am On Aug 28, 2025 |
BlackViper:The other day, I did *894# to recharge my Airtel line from my First Bank account. It didn't even connect, yet, seconds later, almost 7 Naira was already deducted from my account. I think 6.94 Naira or so. They sent me the SMS, yet the reason I used the code was not achieved. They know what they're doing. Low-key rip thousands of people of their 7 Naira daily. Who will I complain to that Airtel and my bank scammed me of 7 Naira? |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by sheedy407(m): 8:25am On Aug 28, 2025 |
Can we sue for services paid for but not rendered? In a saner country where i was born, you can sue the company and win |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by dalongjnr: 8:26am On Aug 28, 2025*. Modified: 8:51am On Aug 28, 2025 |
The surest way to put yourself into trouble is to use USSD for bank transactions. It's frustrating and the rate of failure is 65%. No dispute resolution mechanism,no refund for sms charges if transactions failed and the chance of autoreversal of failed transactions is 85%. Best solution,use your phone numbers to open moniepoint account, opay,palmpay and most of this Chinese backed banks. You can check real-time network services of other banks and can dispute transaction easily without officially reporting any failed transaction. 2. Go for second tire bank like polaris,sterling and jaiz bank, their network and services are more better. 3. Use 1st tire banks only as a domiciliary account for foreign transactions. About two days ago,access bank services across all platforms were unacceable,even within the banking halls in some branches. It was jaiz, moniepoint and opay thar saved the situation |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by derico(m): 8:32am On Aug 28, 2025 |
Ways forward According to Eromosele, to regain user trust and ensure fairness, the USSD charge must only apply after the transaction is successfully completed. He added that telcos must auto-refund airtime where a session fails or terminates prematurely just like bank reversal notifications ........ Is this for Nigerians or for NCC/CBN. We had this argument right during the peak of the implementation, no one listened to us the customers. They said, if you don't want their conditions of service, you can always close your account. Banking is a private enterprise. You can pay with your lump sum cash...receivers only need to notify the authorities, but no one will reject your cash payment. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by palsenator(m): 8:32am On Aug 28, 2025 |
The failed leaders and the counterparts in the banking industry are stealing from many Nigerians. The people that should be protected are the ones they are stealing from. Obviously this is a broad day robbery. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by MistyDense(f): 8:33am On Aug 28, 2025 |
Kimo21:I swear, you're right. She's an attention seeker really. She is always on every thread |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Adewale1603(m): 8:33am On Aug 28, 2025 |
Gadaffi9ja:so there isn't evidence of payment for ussd transactions. What happens to the response message you will receive or the debit alerts message you will receive, of which you can screenshot out. Even if you checked whatever other channels, bank app and others, that ussd transactions would still be in your statement of account. So evidence dey |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by morikee: 8:33am On Aug 28, 2025 |
Sometimes i feel like they just want to debit you on failed transactions to make more money and why should USSD transaction has a fee when you are preaching financial inclusion |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by nwosunnanenye(m): 8:38am On Aug 28, 2025 |
I thought they've curbed all of those... I keep wondering when naija economy and settings will be like that of the white people. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Bluntemperor: 8:44am On Aug 28, 2025 |
HeatSeeker:Don't mind mofo like this- because it is not Political news,as they don't understand anything economic, Banking and Finance, nor the telecommunications! Most comments you see on Social Media are wired by their ineptitude,but are more -on tribes, ethnic and religious,Not on anything to contribute to the National Development of Nigeria 😕,just too partician on Politics. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Tolu2024(m): 8:50am On Aug 28, 2025 |
I tried to use it with useless FirstBank and I was debited N6.98 5X |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by edogu(m): 8:52am On Aug 28, 2025 |
I only use them, if the app is not working. The problem is entirely from the bank. Sometimes even when you have succeeded in gaining entrance into the bank menu using the ussd code, it will still tell you've spent so much time and log out. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Silasworld(m): 8:58am On Aug 28, 2025 |
This is the major reason a lot of people no longer apply for bank App |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by tommy589(m): 8:58am On Aug 28, 2025 |
Except for sums above ×××k I use palmpay. More reliable |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Dogalmighty17: 8:59am On Aug 28, 2025 |
If I tell you Nigerian banks aren't thieves I'll be lying. A ussd transaction failed from your end and yet you charged the customer! The failure was from you but the customer pays! Imagine stealing like this in broad daylight! Yet the CBN and the NCC sit doing nothing. Nigerian banks are thieves. All of them. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Heffalump(m): 9:00am On Aug 28, 2025 |
Banks are making illicit and illegal money via failed transactions in Nigeria because the institutional system to regulate this process is weak and compromised. Look at the telecommunication industry, it's the same way the service providers are making illegal money via dropped calls and poor internet services. The funny thing is that NCC knows about this and can't enforce a regulation to make this companies sit up. There should be a regulation that allows subscribers to get compensated for poor service delivery. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Box18: 9:09am On Aug 28, 2025 |
Same thing happened to me several times I will be deducted 6 naira for failed transactions there is no reversal of airtime charge,it's appalling honestly |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Offpoint1: 9:21am On Aug 28, 2025 |
DataDoc:The funny thing is the N6.95 debit sms they sent to you, they'll still charge you another N6 for the sms, that's losing N12 for one failed transaction. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Westman001: 9:21am On Aug 28, 2025 |
This #7 airtime deduction for ussd service started this Tinubu time. It's very annoying. It's just wickedness and fraudulent. It was not like that before. I've vowed not to ever put money in any of these commercial banks. They will continue ripping Nigerians off and nothing will happen cause it's a nonsense country. The little things matters alot. They make billions from that #7 everyday. It's very very wrong to pay for ussd service. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Hespee93: 9:29am On Aug 28, 2025 |
People are still using USSD to make transactions in this era? |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Oritna94(m): 9:29am On Aug 28, 2025 |
When you travel out and see how things work, you will know that we are really suffering in Naija. Nobody cares about the citizens. Everybody is just looking for a way to scam . It is really unfortunate. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by Ablesam171: 9:43am On Aug 28, 2025*. Modified: 10:37am On Aug 28, 2025 |
This is the nonsense that's being faced by millions of Nigerians. I had a conversation with a POS operator and he narrated how a customer came to make withdrawals and was making the transfer using USSD. The transaction failed and she repeated it 13x because she needed the money that she wants to withdraw urgently. She didn't know that di were telecom/bank has debited her 13x when she initiated the fourteenth time she was told "insufficient fund" because almost ₦100 has been debited from the poor woman's account (if this is not madness, i don't know what we should call it). The POS operator said the woman started crying in his office. Now i wasn't there when it happened but i understood the frustration and pain that the woman was going through. The POS operator had to let go give her ₦100 to complete her money because the ₦6,000 wey she come withdraw dey very important. I keep saying it that telecom and banking sectors are the two sectors that steals directly from Nigerians (customers). |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by themanderon: 9:45am On Aug 28, 2025 |
That is what the government has done to us. They have left us at the mercy of greedy capitalits who device various means of fleecing us. From the banks to telecom sectors the story is always the same. |
| Re: USSD: How Nigerians Are Losing Money To Failed Bank Transactions by nwirinedu(m): 10:08am On Aug 28, 2025 |
There is a plot to kill the use of ussd, the forcing of customers to pay with their airtime for bank transactions is a fraud. These evil entities don;t want to assume any responsibility for anything, they make money out of thin air and still want their exploited customers to pick up the tabs. |
What's Happening To Inter Bank Transactions?. • UBA And Gtbank Top Failed Bank Transactions List Amid Customer Frustrations • First Bank Reacts To Failed Robbery Incident At Abuja Branch • 2 • 3 • 4
Access Bank To Publish Names Of Debtors • A Good Man Returns Extra N35k Paid To Him By A POS Operator • IMF says eNaira and other CBDCs are better than Bitcoin, altcoins