"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup - Sports (17836) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Entertainment › Sports › "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup (17688944 Views)
1 2 3 ... 17833 17834 17835 17836 17837 17838 17839 ... 19553 Reply (Go Down)
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 9:53pm On Sep 16, 2025 |
gbamatically said QueenJazz: |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 10:14pm On Sep 16, 2025*. Modified: 11:55am On Sep 23, 2025 |
zuchyblink:I know I said it was strange but I no laugh. So to you wey laugh, pls note that an Azerbaijani club just beat Portuguese Giants Benfica on their own home turf in the UCL. So, who's laughing now? #FlyingEagles2025
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 11:07pm On Sep 16, 2025*. Modified: 11:56am On Sep 23, 2025 |
Nice one my good man. Next up is the boys arriving in CIV for the Wafu B U17 Afcon Qualifiers. We play on the 24th and 27th vs Benin and Burkina Faso respectively. Here we go! #GoldenEaglets2025 solonnachi: |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 11:08pm On Sep 16, 2025 |
Like Father, Like Son. The Weahs and the Bernabeu. 31yrs apart, both have scored at the Legendary Santiago bernabeu.
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 11:16pm On Sep 16, 2025 |
Deborah Abiodun made her 2nd straight league start for Washington Spirit. This time was against the league leaders https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sUyQPSlTpn0 |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Ragingthunder(f): 1:01am On Sep 17, 2025 |
The ruling sees Equatorial Guinea drop from second place with 16 points to fifth position with 10 points in Group H. This dramatic shift elevates Namibia to second place with 15 points, keeping them in contention for the continental play-off round. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Ragingthunder(f): 1:01am On Sep 17, 2025 |
The West African nation had been docked six points—three each from victories against Namibia and Liberia—after it was found that striker Emilio Nsue was not eligible to represent the national team at the time. Nsue scored the decisive goals in both 1-0 wins last November. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 6:34am On Sep 17, 2025 |
Quick recovery wishes to our Number 1 RB. His hamstring surgery was successful. Expectes to be back December 2025. Godspeed Mr Lulu
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Amedino99(m): 8:29am On Sep 17, 2025 |
Ragingthunder:thought they deducted the points long ago. Didnt know they just gave the ruling. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by solonnachi: 8:58am On Sep 17, 2025 |
TheSuperNerd:Hope Manu Garba and his wards don't make the same mistakes they made last year. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 9:48am On Sep 17, 2025 |
I hope not too. On prep note, they land in CIV today. The team played 13 friendlies during their Abuja Camping, winning 10, drawing 2 and losing 1. Scored 25 goals and conceeded 5. Time will tell even though Manu sounds confident. solonnachi: |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Nomyth: 10:01am On Sep 17, 2025 |
elyte89:I just read from a Zimbabwean newspaper now that Zimbabwe has moved the match to Botswana. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by elyte89: 10:02am On Sep 17, 2025 |
TheSuperNerd:Nff shld stop dese friendly model of playing friendlies with amateur clubs (both u-17 and u-20) ,it gives deceptive angle about aw prepared the teams are ,when Dey can actually play against deir fellow countries like Benin 🇧🇯 Togo 🇹🇬 Ghana 🇬🇭 and co (under age teams) ..this is one of the reasons affecting us to qualify |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 10:29am On Sep 17, 2025*. Modified: 11:56am On Sep 23, 2025 |
Relax. It has been a practice since the 80s/90s. I remember reading about the 1993 Golden Eaglets and how they prepped themselves towards to the World Cup. They played close to 40-50 friendlies I think, mostly with amateur sides from before the African qualifiers till the world cup itself. But I see your point, winning 10 out of 13 friendlies does not paint a clear picture which is why time will tell. I have not even seen the team play yet. #GoldenEaglets2025 elyte89: |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by solonnachi: 10:58am On Sep 17, 2025 |
Funny enough, all our national teams except the U23 will be engaged this ember season. Super Eagles in October and December (WORLD CUP QUALIFIERS and AFCON) Super Falcons in October (WAFCON qualification against Benin) U20 Flying eagles in September and October play the U20 FIFA World cup in Chile U17 Golden eaglets WAFU B Zonal qualifiers in September U20 Falconets engage Rwanda this weekend and next week in U20 FIFA Women World cup qualifiers in Poland U17 Flamingoes qualified for U17 FIFA Women world cup in Morocco Its a loaded season of football incase the Super Eagles break our hearts. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by elyte89: 11:00am On Sep 17, 2025 |
TheSuperNerd:I get ur point too but One can’t compare the quality of clubs back then to what we have now. The recent CHAN tournament is a perfect example. I’ve noticed that our underage teams often struggle in competitions because the results we get during preparation against amateur clubs give a misleading impression of our strength. These warm-up games make us look flawless before the tournament, but once the real competition begins, our weaknesses become apparent. Preparing against amateur clubs acts like camouflage,the flattering results don’t reflect the team’s true readiness.” |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by solonnachi: 11:01am On Sep 17, 2025 |
Nomyth:This better be true. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 11:06am On Sep 17, 2025 |
I get you. But you must understand that it is easier organizing multiple friendlies locally than against national sides at cadet level. The logistics involved are much simpler too. We have decent amateur sides as well. Anyway, time will tell if Manu have been wasting time in Abuja or indeed putting together a decently solid u17 side that will redeem his dented image from the last U17 Wafu. elyte89: |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by do4luv14(m): 11:10am On Sep 17, 2025 |
What is this nonsense am hearing about the Nff planning to sack Chelle ![]() |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by elyte89: 11:23am On Sep 17, 2025 |
do4luv14:Dey want to save deir face 🤣🤣 at Mujtahida ;please forward my resume to nff |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Ragingthunder(f): 11:26am On Sep 17, 2025 |
Osimhen has missed the final training session for the match against Frankfort, expect baris to start and icardi as sub |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 11:45am On Sep 17, 2025 |
Christantus Uche vs Millwall yesterday in the EFL Carabao Cup Round 3. Palace won 4-2 on penalties after a 1-1 scoreline at the end of regulation time.
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 11:50am On Sep 17, 2025 |
Now you see what a club from Azerbaijan can do?? Bruno Lage has been fired due to that shocking result and Jose Mourinho is being lined up. Infact, reports say he is close to signing as Benfica's new manager. Mourinho vs Chelsea loading. ⏳️⏳️ TheSuperNerd: |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Samueltemi337(m): 12:17pm On Sep 17, 2025 |
TheLoneCitizen: NIGHTMARE0O7:Osimhen not even part of the squad to face Frankfurt You two got something to say now? |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Mujtahida: 12:20pm On Sep 17, 2025*. Modified: 7:31pm On Sep 17, 2025 |
elyte89:You need to update it Sir. The one we submitted was 2022. You need to add the training courses you did in Kazakhstan and Andorra |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by opes: 12:49pm On Sep 17, 2025 |
Samueltemi337:Even the falsely quoted Gyan said he personally called Osimhen to debunk and deny the malicious news. This is the same guy who usually uses Osimhen’s commitment to the national team to criticize Black Stars players for not giving all |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Nomyth: 12:55pm On Sep 17, 2025 |
solonnachi:It's true . South Africans are claiming Botswana is more or less home for them too. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by QueenJazz(f): 1:08pm On Sep 17, 2025 |
solonnachi:I'll be following the bolded ones religiously, judiciously and expeditiously. I won't be following the others in similar fashion, but I'll keep tabs on them for the results. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Amedino99(m): 1:40pm On Sep 17, 2025 |
NIGHTMARE0O7:show face bros |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Odunayaw(m): 1:56pm On Sep 17, 2025 |
Nomyth:People who I heard on Twitter space saying they can't travel a 1hr + journey to watch the match against Nigeria? Home kor |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by BankyGee(m): 2:13pm On Sep 17, 2025 |
Samueltemi337:You dey mind them? Just open mouth waaa say anything wey come head. The dey downplay injury just to push narrative say he no dey committed to national team whereas that's the most committed player you'll see in the Super Eagles. If the player talk now them go say he talk. Person wound, still dey ginger for touchline, Una say na fake, now he's set to miss a third match after that incident. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 3:11pm On Sep 17, 2025 |
TheSuperNerd:Small digress to Athletics again as Naija shines... And Ezekiel Nathaniel is into the Men's 400mH final!!! He cruised to victory in his semis heat. 47.47 secs. Damn smooth. The 400mH final lineup: 47.47🇳🇬Nathaniel Ezekiel 47.61🇶🇦Ismail Abakar (PB) 47.63🇶🇦Abderrahman Samba 47.72🇳🇴Karsten Warholm 47.83🇩🇪Emil Agyekum 47.85🇺🇸Caleb Dean 47.95🇺🇸Rai Benjamin 48.16🇧🇷Alison dos Santos I hope he carries this form into the final and medals with Gold or worse a Silver and a record too. A tough task awaits him as he comes up against the Big 3 of the 400mH for men... Karsten Warholm Rai Benjamin And Alison Dos Santos. Nathaniel must try break that trinity hold on the event😤 Note, He is the reigning NCAA 400mH champion. 😉
Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen • Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) • AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) • 2 • 3 • 4
Viewing this topic: Subzero047, jihday(m), AndSunGorilla, Usurper and 25 guest(s)