Stats: 3,330,213 members, 8,444,401 topics. Date: Monday, 13 July 2026 at 01:57 PM

New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony - Career - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralCareerNew Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony (16505 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by lagostrendboy(op): 7:02am On Oct 07, 2025
A newly sworn-in lawyer has shared the breakdown of her nearly N2 million expenses during her call-to-bar ceremony, giving Nigerians an insight into the costs of this prestigious rite of passage.

The ceremony, which took place from September 23 to 25, 2025, saw 4,437 new lawyers officially called to the Nigerian Bar. During the event, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, Chairman of the Body of Benchers, reminded the new lawyers of the nobility of the legal profession and the need for ethical conduct. Eyes Of Lagos reports,
A Costly Celebration

The lawyer, known online as @GirlIsPosh on TikTok, revealed that she spent a total of N1,945,000 on the ceremony. Here’s a breakdown of her expenses:

Outfit: N80,000 (discounted price)
Mother and Grandmother’s Outfits: N70,000 each
Nails: N30,000
Shoes: N52,500
Hairstyle & Styling: N185,000 + N65,000
Makeup: N80,000 (discounted due to distance)
Flight to Abuja: N225,000
Lodging for five nights: N160,000

@GirlIsPosh commended her hairstylist for excellent work and shared her excitement about being part of the legal profession, describing the event as a memorable milestone in her career.

Her post quickly went viral, sparking conversations online about the costs associated with call-to-bar ceremonies and how much new lawyers spend to mark their induction into the profession.
https://eyesoflagos.com/newly-sworn-in-lawyer-reveals-she-spent-nearly-n2m-on-call-to-bar-ceremony/

Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by Perfectnumber6(m): 11:05am On Oct 07, 2025
Lawyers are liars all of them just all of them are
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by KingDashx(m): 11:06am On Oct 07, 2025
Wow..
Wow
Wow
Wow

This news has stopped world hunger.
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by algomachine: 11:06am On Oct 07, 2025
lol, in your first 5years of practice, you may not make this much grin

Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by destinychildolu(m): 11:06am On Oct 07, 2025
It's a worthy investment. Her two months salary will take care of that.
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by georgee(m): 11:06am On Oct 07, 2025
Nonsense

How many characters do i need?

Eight or 1
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by SeeWahala: 11:06am On Oct 07, 2025
Hehehe 🤭😂

Any man wey decide to carry this one as wife go spend at least N15 million on the wedding day proper 🤗
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by MyExpression(m): 11:07am On Oct 07, 2025
Firstly, I don't know why the need for the fanfare around these things.
Well, we are all entitled to our joy and milestones.

However, 2million no be money again guys!

1m is spent on one night out with the team...After a big win.
2m is nada
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by oweniwe(m): 11:08am On Oct 07, 2025
It is always that gender

Na them Sabi blow money pass

355,000 on make up, hair and nails grin
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by SeeWahala: 11:08am On Oct 07, 2025
destinychildolu:
😂 This statement alone makes me know you've never worked a single day in your life for salary in this today's Nigeria cool
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by Pootle: 11:08am On Oct 07, 2025
useless lawyers everywhere, the profession has lost its respect more like LIS now
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by LagosOrigin: 11:08am On Oct 07, 2025
The money from her pocket or she has a "Big god" somewhere that bankrolled her ?

Just asking for Regina Daniels
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by fyneboi79(m): 11:08am On Oct 07, 2025
Who cares how much she spent,!! Does she have the Brains?
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by ewosk: 11:08am On Oct 07, 2025
no problem, 10% deed of conveyance will offset it in no time....

Seller Agree to sell for X amount, Buyer agree to pay X amount but without Lawyer, their agreement nor dey valid? so they have to cough out 10% to someone for stamp...

E be things.ng
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by SeeWahala: 11:09am On Oct 07, 2025
MyExpression:
Firstly, I don't know why the need for the fanfare around these things.
Well, we are all entitled to our joy and milestones.

However, 2million no be money again guys!

1m is spent on one night out with the team...After a big win.
2m is nada
Na your type dey always make mouth say 'money na water' outside but for inside house na garri and groundnut you dey swallow steady grin

lol 😂😆 2 million on nights out after 'big win' lol na arsenal or Chelsea win? 🤔
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by Apcnewrecruit: 11:09am On Oct 07, 2025
So how does this affect us? That's why this new tax law must be encouraged by all. We waste so much money on frivolities
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by RandomFellow: 11:09am On Oct 07, 2025
Nail no pass 5-10k. This budget or whatever is highly inflated. She's lying
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by LagosG: 11:10am On Oct 07, 2025
Social media is slowly removing commonsense from our reality
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by mascot87(m): 11:10am On Oct 07, 2025
Lol... Who send this one? Nails 30k for what?
Na new shoe she buy? Why she no wear one of the shoes she has.

And of what value is this information?
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by vincenteger: 11:10am On Oct 07, 2025
So wat should we do with this information
Someone else spent about 100k and yet they're fine.

You choose to fly plane, make your nails and hair.
It's non of our business
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by elmodee7(m): 11:12am On Oct 07, 2025
LAMBA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LAMBA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!LAMBA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!LAMBA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!LAMBA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!LAMBA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!LAMBA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!LAMBA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by Esthered: 11:14am On Oct 07, 2025
Congrats to her but we didn't ask.

The most important things is what next post call to bar.
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by davodyguy: 11:14am On Oct 07, 2025
destinychildolu:
In which firm will she earn ₦1m every 30 days? May be with an SAN
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by davodyguy: 11:15am On Oct 07, 2025
algomachine:
lol, in your first 5years of practice, you may not make this much grin
Exactly.

Which law firm will pay Lawyers a million every month?
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by MyExpression(m): 11:19am On Oct 07, 2025
SeeWahala:
Na your type dey always make mouth say 'money na water' outside but for inside house na garri and groundnut you dey swallow steady grin

lol 😂😆 2 million on nights out after 'big win' lol na arsenal or Chelsea win? 🤔
Alaye calm down jare!

You and who dey argue dat mumu talk?!

2 million na money, but now, it can't really buy much in some class of spendings.
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by lexy2014: 11:20am On Oct 07, 2025
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by callmeDDD: 11:22am On Oct 07, 2025
That's how they always expose themselves to be kidnapped.
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by bigpicture001: 11:22am On Oct 07, 2025
destinychildolu:
Who pays lawyers salary...

See, the best paid it for lawyers are banks ND big manufacturing firms...

U see bug law firms.. na lie.. they are too stingy and don't pay... Moreover, if u go as an inhouse lawyer to firms.. u cease to use ur call to bar.. u only become a legal adviser.. no court room drama
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by Gbadugbakun(m): 11:26am On Oct 07, 2025
You mean a guy spent 2m on her call to bar ceremony. Nigerian girls don't spend money on themselves.

Know this and have peace.
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by Kobicove(m): 11:29am On Oct 07, 2025
You spent up to that amount because you wanted to so stop whining!
Re: New Lawyer Reveals She Spent Nearly ₦2M On Call-to-bar Ceremony by kayyyy44: 11:33am On Oct 07, 2025
Lamb lamba lambest
1 2 Reply

Call To Bar 2022: How A Little Girls Dream Became A RealityLaw Graduate Shares Sultry Photo To Celebrate Her Call To BarWoman & Lawyer Dad Recreate Childhood Picture With Dad After She's Called To Bar234

4 Ways To Achieve Your Career Goals Faster As A NigerianRemote Workers: How Do You Cope With Foreign Accents At Work?Nigerian Doctors Defend Yourselves From Smooth-Talking Medical Jobbbers