Stats: 3,330,595 members, 8,446,222 topics. Date: Thursday, 16 July 2026 at 09:28 AM

Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria - Christianity Etc (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralChristianity EtcCathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria (32196 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by discusant: 12:58pm On Oct 12, 2025
Lagos' West Minster Abbey, abi?
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by APOSTLECHUMA: 1:03pm On Oct 12, 2025
THE BEAUTY OF A CHURCH IS THE CHARACTER OF THE PEOPLE WHO WORSHIP THERE.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by ayoplenty: 1:07pm On Oct 12, 2025
The St Peter Anglican Church Ake Abẹokuta was actually built in the year 1844 and rebuilt with corrugated iron sheets in 1847 after it was burnt down by the traditional worshippers in 1846.

Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by IAM4BAT4plus4: 1:12pm On Oct 12, 2025
Goodlady:
Getat!

Since this below happened.

Of all pardons, how una take skip this man. It should be looked into holistically.
https://thenigerialawyer.com/supreme-court-upholds-deaith-sentence-for-farmer-sunday-jackson-who-killed-fulani-attacker-in-self-defense/
What else do you know other than that to insult people?

May God deliver you
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by Omoawoke(m): 1:18pm On Oct 12, 2025
omoredia:
Okay because u are in prison dont be a nice person. Thats ur argument. Should ur condition affect ur obidience to God?
Oga stop all this talks, it’ sound like someone not educated

Is being in prison same as being a slave?
How can a Bible verse be saying slaves should obey their masters

That’s the Bible verse they read to your ancestors to enslave them
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by Uzosaint(m): 1:21pm On Oct 12, 2025
THE ADENUGA'S
THE OKEOWO'S
THE ALAKIJA'S
SANWO-OLU
EMMA BISHOP OKONKWO
ETC.
ALMOST ALL OF THEM GATHER HERE EVERY SUNDAY.
IN THESE CHURCH YOU GET THE GDP OF SOME COUNTRIES.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by Omoawoke(m): 1:23pm On Oct 12, 2025
omoredia:
Regardless of who is the victim u must obey God. Thats the point of Jesus message
So if human traffickers are able to capture you and sell you to Libya to go do slavery, don’t you think it’s okay to obey them?
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by Omoluabi16(m): 1:38pm On Oct 12, 2025
Smh! After all these years I have still not struck worshipping in the cathedral off my to do list. It is just beautiful.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by erniok(m): 1:47pm On Oct 12, 2025
fergie001:
It used to be the seat of the Primacy until it moved to Abuja.

Former Heads of the church, Olufusoye & Adetiloye sat there.
You have an Anglican bishop in your family. No? Your knowledge of the Anglican bishopric is deep.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by Goodlady(f): 1:49pm On Oct 12, 2025
IAM4BAT4plus4:
What else do you know other than that to insult people?
I m meek and holy.
I v not insulted you but to state truth to ya face. You're not doing well.

IAM4BAT4plus4:
May God deliver you
Visit nearest bible believing church or synagogue for deliverance.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by fergie001: 1:57pm On Oct 12, 2025
erniok:
You have an Anglican bishop in your family. No? Your knowledge of the Anglican bishopric is deep.
Hahaha...

It was more than that ...primed and trained from 8 to be a Vicar of Christ in the church, from the sacramentals to the canonical hours, church vestments to the Anglican liturgy, from labico to the Emmanuel College, Ibadan until something happened. so I was trained for it from a very very early age.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by erniok(m): 2:00pm On Oct 12, 2025
fergie001:
Hahaha...

It was more than that ...primed and trained from 8 to be a Revd in the church, from the sacramentals to the canonical hours, church vestments to the Anglican liturgy, from labico to the Emmanuel College, Ibadan until something happened. so I was trained for it.
Ahhh...now I can relate. You seem to know most bishops posted on this platform especially from the anglican communion. From almost a priet to a lawyer. Congrats bro. Greater heights await thee.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by fergie001: 2:02pm On Oct 12, 2025
erniok:
Ahhh...now I can relate. You seem to know most bishops posted on this platform especially from the anglican communion. From almost a priet to a lawyer. Congrats bro. Greater heights await thee.
Funny enough, I still speak to them when I need one or two favours. I am not a lawyer oooo.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by feelme3(m): 2:40pm On Oct 12, 2025
Oga say what you know. It is Anglican. I've been privileged to cover a number of events there.

ibabz:
This is Catholic Church.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by maik: 3:19pm On Oct 12, 2025
ibabz:
This is Catholic Church.
It is Anglican Church.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by jojothaiv(m): 3:22pm On Oct 12, 2025
My nigga was part of the renovation team, man was a top boy.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by Svoboda(m): 3:30pm On Oct 12, 2025
Uzosaint:
THE ADENUGA'S
THE OKEOWO'S
THE ALAKIJA'S
SANWO-OLU
EMMA BISHOP OKONKWO
ETC.
ALMOST ALL OF THEM GATHER HERE EVERY SUNDAY.
IN THESE CHURCH YOU GET THE GDP OF SOME COUNTRIES.
I heard it was in this church Gen TY Danjuma donated 5b naira sometimes in 2020. Someone else made an anonymous donation of 500m. Whether it was for the cathedral alone or for the entire diocese, I don't know.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by omoredia: 4:03pm On Oct 12, 2025
Omoawoke:
So if human traffickers are able to capture you and sell you to Libya to go do slavery, don’t you think it’s okay to obey them?
Jesus said serve them according to the Lord. Even those that are free if u cheat ur employer u are not serving as unto the Lord. So the message is to please God as we serve man
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by omoredia: 4:04pm On Oct 12, 2025
Omoawoke:
Oga stop all this talks, it’ sound like someone not educated

Is being in prison same as being a slave?
How can a Bible verse be saying slaves should obey their masters

That’s the Bible verse they read to your ancestors to enslave them
Are Nigerians not in slavery? But in this slavery we are to serve others as unto the Lord. The message is about our service despite our condition
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by Goodlady(f): 4:39pm On Oct 12, 2025
Omoawoke:
Ban him for what exactly?
For derailing thread.

You have been on this site for whole and know better.
Except if you're birds of sane feathers.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by Omoawoke(m): 4:43pm On Oct 12, 2025
Goodlady:
For derailing thread.

You have been on this site for whole and know better.
Except if you're birds of sane feathers.
How did he derail the thread?

You want him banned because you don’t agree with him and nothing more.
The world doesn’t work that way, because you don’t like someone’s opinion doesn’t call for their ban or imprisonment.

He didn’t break any rule…

For example, I insist that the Bible is a myth concocted together to control the mind of gullible people.
You may not like my opinion but doesn’t mean you should ban me
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by Goodlady(f): 4:59pm On Oct 12, 2025
Omoawoke:
How did he derail the thread?

You want him banned because you don’t agree with him and nothing more.
The world doesn’t work that way, because you don’t like someone’s opinion doesn’t call for their ban or imprisonment.

He didn’t break any rule…

For example, I insist that the Bible is a myth concocted together to control the mind of gullible people.
You may not like my opinion but doesn’t mean you should ban me
Everyone's entitled to their opinion. You're not in people's mind to know what they think about opinions.

But when you make it habit of disrespecting other's fate it's wrong.

Then this matter no concern you so why you dey shook mouth?
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by FORWARDEVERLY: 5:03pm On Oct 12, 2025
fergie001:
It used to be the seat of the Primacy until it moved to Abuja.

Former Heads of the church, Olufusoye & Adetiloye sat there.
Oh I miss his grace Most Rev'd Abiodun Adetiloye ...
Special shout out to Most Rev'd Peter Jasper Akinola ...

Ever since his Grace Most Rev'd George Carey retired, the church of England has been bastardised...
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by olajigaolamide(m): 5:17pm On Oct 12, 2025
Beautiful Structure
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by fergie001: 5:23pm On Oct 12, 2025
FORWARDEVERLY:
Oh I miss his grace Most Rev'd Abiodun Adetiloye ...
Special shout out to Most Rev'd Peter Jasper Akinola ...
I remember Adetiloye's last Episcopal service during a confirmation service in Lagos, December 1999 (days before his retirement)

Ever since his Grace Most Rev'd George Carey retired, the church of England has been bastardised...
You are spot on.
I remember when he was in Nigeria years ago.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by napoleon77(m): 5:27pm On Oct 12, 2025
Racoon:
This imposing edifice is the most visible and fascinating structure that often welcome the new visitor to the Lagos Marina. Its ancient gothic structure pattern of building is simply awesome and splendy. It was in this place Gen Yakubu Gowon married his wife in the 1969.
I attended the church in the 70s and 80s. Two of my siblings got married there, and the funeral service of my late parents where.
Re: Cathedral Church Of Christ Marina, Lagos; The Oldest Anglican Edifice In Nigeria by Omoawoke(m): 5:35pm On Oct 12, 2025
Goodlady:
Everyone's entitled to their opinion. You're not in people's mind to know what they think about opinions.

But when you make it habit of disrespecting other's fate it's wrong.

Then this matter no concern you so why you dey shook mouth?
It’s not compulsory for everyone to respect your faith.

Religious people carry so much importance to their faith doesn’t mean everyone cares…

I’m sure you see traditional worshippers as people doing evil and destined for hell just because they don’t believe what you believe , have you respected those practicing Hinduism ? Or those worshiping trees, cows, stones?
So you worshiping a fictional character who supposedly died 2k years ago on a cross aren’t special… anyone can mock your faith..
1 2 3 4 5 Reply

Nsukka Dedicates St Theresa's Cathedral Church BuildingHoly Names In Celestial Church Of Christ And Their Uses In PsalmsIs Catholic Church Of The Transfiguration Most Beautiful Church In Nigeria?234

Ghanaian Woman Storms Church To Take Back All Her Tithes And Offerings (video)Join Now!,size Doesnt Matter In SatanismGhanaian Police Commander Orders SCOAN To Host Activities In Bigger Venues