"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup - Sports (18026) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Entertainment › Sports › "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup (17254611 Views)
1 2 3 ... 18023 18024 18025 18026 18027 18028 18029 ... 19376 Reply (Go Down)
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Mujtahida: 10:06pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
TheSuperNerd:That third goal was superb. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Cocony(m): 10:06pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Odunayaw:Osimhen is good and I may add better when compared with Yekini. Yekini was a goalgetter but hardly or rarely ran back to provide support or assists as Osimhen. Yekini with all his flair played for a mediocre Vitoria Setubal, Mediocre Sporting Gijon and a slightly above average Olympiakos but had the benefit of good midfielders in the Super Eagles. The current crop of Super Eagles midfielders are no where near the 1992-1996 midfielders. Add to the above the quality of teams and leagues Osimhen played in. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Mujtahida: 10:08pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Odunayaw:Yes and more. He was so dependable. I was driving home after today's match and several times, I'd exclaim Osimhen na man! |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by mank1234(m): 10:08pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
solonnachi:With the points earned in this window, it will remain in this order. So Nigeria will face Gabon. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by lexyman(m): 10:09pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Odunayaw:Yekini , doesnt play fancy football . he doesnt miss penalty , he can score free kick . he can kill anyone with shot power ... he was a beast to watch . Osimhen will get there and surpass his record . only if the team play for him ... he has been the only passionate player Nigeria has had in over 2 decades . i wish we have others that can give their all |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Cocony(m): 10:10pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
TheSuperNerd:I know of a certainty that DR Congo will leapfrog Cameroun when the next FIFA ranking is released by virtue of the results gotten over the strength of certain teams played. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Spainever(m): 10:10pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
JP and Finidi George could only secure 3 points from 4 matches Zimbabwe 1 vs Nigeria Lesotho 1 vs Nigeria 1 Benin 2 vs Nigeria 1 SA 1 vs Nigeria 1 Ah these results were horrible ..Chele not very good but I appreciate his boldness to bench Ekong . |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by QueenJazz(f): 10:11pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
minfelix:Exactly. And Angola were so poor. If Angola had met this Benin side today, dem for collect at least 2. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 10:11pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Fun Fact: Osimhen's race to Top Yekini's NT Goals record At the end of Yekini's 43rd NT Cap, he had 28 goals. Today was Osimhen's 43rd NT Cap, he is on 29 goals. The race continues. Note: Disregard the 44 caps reference all media houses keep yapping, remember the Togo 2017 game is null and void. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by COOL10(m): 10:12pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Mujtahida:Lol, I'm glad you quoted Bob Marley because he also said, "In this bright future, you can't forget your past." It's not in my DNA to forget and demean those who helped me when I was down, but then again, people are different, I guess. 🤷🏽♂️ |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by mrwilliams9(m): 10:13pm On Oct 14, 2025*. Modified: 1:18am On Oct 15, 2025 |
If we qualify from the CAF playoffs I think we’ll make the WC. The teams in the inter-confederations playoffs are rather weak. Bolivia is only troublesome when they play at home due to high elevation |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Spainever(m): 10:13pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Cocony:Yekini was a great striker ,however he was lucky to have oliseh and Okocha who are very good with assists and passes . |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by QueenJazz(f): 10:13pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
CapitalCee:To be honest, our chances of emerging as winners of the inter confederation playoffs is above 80%. We are in a very good position. I'm calling it now, if we secure the Africa ticket, we're going to the World Cup. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Cocony(m): 10:14pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
lexyman:If my records are right only one freekick goal against Congo Brazzaville in Pointe-Noire in the 1st qualifying phase for USA 94 WORLD CUP. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by forgiveness: 10:17pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
E don set.
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Arizoner: 10:19pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Praise master jesus. Its official, we are meeting gabon |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by forgiveness: 10:22pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Ragingthunder:Hmmm!!! |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 10:23pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Sweden has two. Isak and Gyokeres. Not even a next stage qualification Playoff spot is guaranteed. Nigeria has Osimhen. He Delivers. HE is HIM
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by MKPUOGALIGA: 10:23pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Spainever:Indeed, Yekini was surrounded by great ball handlers in Siasia, Finidi, Okocha , Amokachi, Adepoju, Oliha, Oliseh and Okocha |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Mujtahida: 10:23pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Nwabali na mumu. After Onyeka score, Nwabali run go dey shake Chelle shoulders. 😂😂 |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by semid4lyfe(mod): 10:24pm On Oct 14, 2025*. Modified: 5:49am On Oct 15, 2025 |
Cocony:I shared a screenshot to prove you were banned by the anti-spambot. That you still refer to the bot as "supposed self operating bot" suggests that you believe otherwise. Kindly refer to the thread below to hear from the horse's mouth https://www.nairaland.com/8511650/nairalands-bot-out-control The bot was programmed by the forum admin/owner and only he knows the words or phrases it flags as inappropriate. Cocony: Secondly, kindly point out what I said that was false and defamatoryThe emboldened below is you falsely accusing the moderator(s) of tribalism, favouritism and being biased in moderating this section. I take that personally because I am the ONLY active Sports section moderator. Cocony: I must state an obvious observation with the moderators of this Sports section: LEARN TO CENSOR WRONG INFORMATION AND NOT SOMEONE THAT STATED WHAT IS RIGHT. SECONDLY , DO NOT GIVE THE IMPRESSION THAT THERE SEEMS TO BE A PREFERENCE FOR A PARTICULAR SET OR TRIBE TO BE HEARD MAKING CORRECT ANALYSISAgain, the below is you calling the moderator(s) dishonest and shameless. Cocony: THIRDLY, KNOW THAT TWITTER IS AVAILABLE. AND AN ABOUT TO BE LAUNCHED SOCIAL MEDIA APP CALLED IN NIGERIA SO BE HONEST IN YOUR ACTIVITIES AS MODERATORS (AS I TRIED TO UNDERSTAND YOUR SHAMELESS RATIONALE FOR PUTTING SOME MINUTES BAN ON ME. Cocony: In comparison to many others that kept posting and reposting that even if we win 100-0 we will not qualify or is it those that kept using the word MUMU with ease and continuity and nothing was done to themEveryone is allowed to freely express his/her opinion, and no one is banned for a "wrong" opinion. Also, debates get passionate sometimes, and insults fly in the process. It's all good natured banter, and you shouldn't take it to heart. I rest my fingers, and will not be responding further to you. Continue to savour the victory and play-off qualification of the Super Eagles, and have a good night sleep. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by daveP(m): 10:24pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
QueenJazz:They'll be overwhelmed this time if we meet. We made them feel good all those last 3 times we met |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by mank1234(m): 10:24pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
In Africa's world cup qualifier draw, only 3 teams in pot1 failed to qualify directly: Nigeria, Cameroon and Mali. Of these three, only the last failed to make it to playoff. 3 teams from pot2 made it: Ghana, South Africa and Cape Verde. Most of the teams pot5 and 6 finished bottom loosing almost all the matches while conceeding wheelbarrow full of goals. FIFA ranking is reflective of powerhouse and indeed contrally to what our ex footballers make us to believe, there are still minnows in African football. Nigeria should shelve the mindset of no minnows in African football and play to win all games home or away. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by daveP(m): 10:25pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Unlimited22:The African playoffs will be harder than the Intercontinental one. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by MKPUOGALIGA: 10:25pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Yekini is actually better on the ball than Osimhen. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Ragingthunder(f): 10:25pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
ChrisKels:una dey talk o,or is he the next scapegoat? |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by daveP(m): 10:27pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
lovewins:Wow. You mean it? So we skip one game? |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Ragingthunder(f): 10:27pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Mujtahida:no too much talk |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 10:27pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
Tolu Arokodare's High Praise for Benjamin Frederick and message to Nigerian fans
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Spainever(m): 10:28pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
MKPUOGALIGA:Well said ! Who surrounds Osihmen ? Lol 😆. We used too many players during the qualifiers . Uzoho also was invited lol |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by mank1234(m): 10:28pm On Oct 14, 2025 |
semid4lyfe:So why you dey waste time to comot those South Africans wey dey stress us na? |
Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen • Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) • AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) • 2 • 3 • 4
Viewing this topic: GMBOFASIA, FiveFootNinja(m), elyte89, JorgedeToledo, mindsta(m) and 17 guest(s)