From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves - Celebrities - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Entertainment › Celebrities › From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves (18363 Views)
| From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by cityboylagos(op): 3:08am On Oct 26, 2025 |
In Lagos, the rhythm of worship doesn’t end when Sunday service closes. It often begins there. Many of Nigeria’s biggest gospel stars — the ones now commanding global stages and streaming platforms — started as humble choir members in local Lagos churches.https://eyesoflagos.com/from-choir-boy-to-superstar-lagos-gospel-singers-making-global-waves/
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by DolapoX: 5:42am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Gospel music is forever here to stay, kudos to our singers |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by INTROVERT(f): 5:42am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Happy Sunday. All glory and praise to God |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by IamAtAnger: 5:44am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Yinmu... Na only God sabi who dey truly worship am DolapoX: |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by Savenigeria2023: 5:47am On Oct 26, 2025 |
It’s not LAGOS choir OP. These superstars emerge from different local congregations from across the country Enough of these unnecessary tribal colorations |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by tiswell(m): 5:56am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Is this not a sponsored post ![]() If not, where's the superstar? |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by wman(m): 5:56am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Dunsin Oyekan was COZA's choir master too. |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by englishmart(m): 5:58am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Making waves doing a man-made, senseless activity, in the guise of appealing to the unknown. |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by ChizzyBuna(m): 6:00am On Oct 26, 2025*. Modified: 6:18am On Oct 26, 2025 |
One thing I like about Gospel Singers There are one of the hypocrites I have meet in my lifetime. Many of them live double life Not all of them. Infact I will quote one gospel artist that I knack, she said "Chiboy I'm only doing my job. My job is to tell people what to do and believe. It is not must that I believe in it. All that matter is people believe in it and I give them what they want Just because I tell you to drink coca cola doesn't mean I myself must drink coca cola" What she means is that singing gospel music is just for hustling. She is one of the top gospel singers in my state that get invited to perform in different events. Our knacking was strictly at a hotel of her choice. To prevent casting and it was usually best at night I miss that woman |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by Eboofa: 6:05am On Oct 26, 2025*. Modified: 12:43pm On Oct 26, 2025 |
Savenigeria2023:I do not even know what he is crowing about...............Mercy chinwo is a Port Harcourt Girl......sef! All of a sudden Lagos wants to become a cosmopolitan city again...i thought Lagos was for agbado politicians only! |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by AntiChristian: 6:20am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Na gospel music Jesus sang with Mary Magdalene as choir mistress and Peter as coordinator! Gospel Fuji! Gospel hip hop! Gospel pop! Gospel Jazz! Gospel Apala! Gospel Alujo! Tope Alabi, Ayefele, Don Moen, Kirk Franklin, Ron Kenoly..... |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by ChiefOloye(m): 6:31am On Oct 26, 2025 |
There's no such genre as gospel music, every music artist in Nigeria is a hustler! Imagine the guy that kiied his girlfriend for rituals in Mararaba also called himself a gospel musician |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by Matooosa222: 6:35am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Shola alynson is among biko |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by Kayberg: 6:57am On Oct 26, 2025 |
What about the other artistes? Satan sabi target singers o! |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by ARISHEM: 6:57am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Some of them did not start in Lagos. You forgot to mention Tems. You also forgot to mention Beyonce. She is also a superstar. Even though she is not a Lagosian ![]() |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by Buffalo2(m): 7:05am On Oct 26, 2025 |
IamAtAnger:I am telling you. 99% of them are just hustling for their daily bread and nothing more. |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by Bahamas95(m): 7:27am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Most of them are like secular artistes to me. |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by SIRTee15: 7:29am On Oct 26, 2025 |
why can't this eyeofLagos write articles devoid of chatgpt. why can't he learn to write is his own articles. its so annoying reading his predictable chatgpt writeups |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by Yashita: 7:56am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Polygamy is not permitted by any Allah or any God. It’s man that made that law. All religions are man made. That’s why every religion is different from the other because every set of humans come up with something different based on their different intuitions, but some decided to put it into writing ✍🏾 & force it down the throats of other humans. |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by DeOTR: 7:59am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Matooosa222:Her own brand of music is one of a kind. Tope and Shola are my favorites (for female category) |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by sainthumble: 8:05am On Oct 26, 2025 |
I never see my name on that list |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by sainthumble: 8:07am On Oct 26, 2025 |
I never see my name on that list, why? |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by chibnnodi: 8:10am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Frank Edward and Sinach stand out! |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by Ublaize: 9:46am On Oct 26, 2025 |
cityboylagos:Lagos did not shape Mercy’s singing prowess in whatever form. This writer is a pathetic liar. Mercy was still based in PH when she blew and she’s still based in PH |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by Jeezuzpick(m): 9:50am On Oct 26, 2025 |
cityboylagos:Better stop this! Which one be superstar? Leave "superstar" to Burnaboy, WizKid and Davido, abeg! They are music ministers. Go and call Nathaniel Bassey a superstar, let him hear you, if he will not tie you up, and gather brethren to cast that devil out of you. |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by OkeyMega: 10:09am On Oct 26, 2025 |
This write up cannot be complete without mentioning the likes of Frank Edwards,Sinach and Osinachi. |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by PlayerMeji: 10:10am On Oct 26, 2025 |
What's the meaning of Tope Alabi, the Yoruba praise singer? Is the term Yoruba necessary in the description? Though, it helps to popularize the Yoruba language more but I think it wasn't necessary to classify Nigerian artistes by their ethnicities. |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by Ekrenji: 10:22am On Oct 26, 2025 |
God has a way of taking care of His own people, he’s the rewarder of those who diligently seek him |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by Blazebond(m): 10:49am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Gospel singers shouldn't have to care about being superstars,their only concern should be on spreading the gospel through their songs and actions. |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by SmartPolician: 11:41am On Oct 26, 2025 |
Lagos has crazy advantage over all states in Nigeria, that's why everyone keeps relocating to Lagos. No sane country is built like that. Decentralise opportunities to stop creating chaos in Lagos. |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by EncephalonPikin(m): 12:15pm On Oct 26, 2025 |
These artistes all have numerous pictures on the internet. What is the craze with using AI generated images? |
| Re: From Choir Boy To Superstar: Lagos Gospel Singers Making Global Waves by Obidiugwu: 1:19pm On Oct 26, 2025 |
That's awesome, I'm really proud of them in their respective endeavors especially Chinwo.
Top 6 Richest Gospel Singers In Nigeria • VIDEO:How Church Banned Me From Choir After I Got Pregnant -WAJE(Nigerian singer • Burna Boy To Perform In South Africa, AKA Reacts • 2 • 3 • 4
Empress Njamah Experiment The Effectiveness Of Sunlight Product • 2face Mourns OJB Jezreel, His Former Producer • 12 Fake Accounts Impersonating RMD On Facebook, Warns Fans