Welcome, Guest: Register • Login • With Google • Trending • Recent • New

Stats: 3,328,158 members, 8,434,417 topics. Date: Friday, 26 June 2026 at 04:24 PM

Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone - Family (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Family › Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone (24929 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Chachalogo(m): 9:24pm On Nov 07, 2025
Iamzik:
O

And where did they hide the almajiris? North should have the highest percentage here
Sir, that they are Almajeris doesn't erase the fact they are from existing homes. They very much have their parents, except in some cases where a parent or both parents have passed on. They only went on a study and will return home when they're done. They do visit home and their parents do visit them at set times.
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by omooba969(m): 9:26pm On Nov 07, 2025
madridguy:
This is effect of single mothers everywhere due to unwanted pregnancy.

South West leaders seriously need to address the issue.

If you line 10 ladies between the age of 17-22 years old, you must see like 7 single mothers among them.
Is this all about single mums?
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Kobojunkie: 9:26pm On Nov 07, 2025
Chachalogo:
âžœSir, that they are Almajeris doesn't erase the fact they are from existing homes. They very much have their parents, except in some cases where a parent or both parents have passed on.
âžœThey only went on a study and will return home when they're done. They do visit home and their parents do visit them at set times.
So, these homeless children in northern states have parents at home who allow them to live homeless for extended periods? shocked shocked shocked shocked

2. Do parents visit children abandoned on the streets in many of the Northern states? We don't seem to be talking here of the same thing. undecided
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by atobs4real(m): 9:30pm On Nov 07, 2025
The evil governance wants to claim that there was no killing in the North. No. Misplaced persons and so on.
The figures are not real and fake.
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by GHoJes: 9:33pm On Nov 07, 2025
Chachalogo:
Sir yes. Almajeris live with their parents/family.
Almajeranchi is synonymous with the boarding school system where parents send their children to go learn far away from home, and then return during holidays. Almajeris do go home at set times to visit their families. I know this because I grew up in Kano and I had many of them as playmates.
Which useless boarding schools are you talking about? what are they send to learn in such boarding schools? the Koran they could easily learn from islamiyya in every nooks of their parents' environment? Or what are you yapping about? almajeris in Abuja come from different parts of the north and keeping begging till some are lucky to grow into shoe making and likes while the rest continue begging and making more families of beggars as they grow or migrate to other parts of the country still begging not to mention many lost their lives before adulthood.

How many years of their existence do they spend with their parents other than the less than 5yrs from birth before they are tossed into a world where they fend for themselves from childhood. Be fooling yourself there?
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by parags(m): 9:36pm On Nov 07, 2025
Personally I think toxic feminism and social media made things worse for SW women . Culturally the women are empowered . Western agenda made them seek more power thus becoming unbearable . A LOT of yoruba men are not marrying yoruba girls. I know because most of my friends are not married to yoruba women. They would rather marry igbo or northern girls because they have more cultural ideals that favour marriages . Even the igbo women and other trips love yoruba men because our culture respects women alot
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Chachalogo(m): 9:36pm On Nov 07, 2025
Kobojunkie:
So, the boarding schools pi_mp these children out every day while the parents of these kids get to be relieved of the responsibility of caring for them during that period? How is this any better than the children literally being orphaned? huh
Sir, the argument here is whether they're from existing homes or not. And by existing home I mean father and mother staying married together.
I'm not in support of parents who not fending for their children's needs whom they sent on Almajeranchi.
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Kobojunkie: 9:37pm On Nov 07, 2025
GHoJes:
➜....How many years of their existence do they spend with their parents other than the less than 5yrs from birth before they are tossed into a world where they fend for themselves from childhood. Be fooling yourself there.
This here is the part that makes this system seriously depraved. They have fathers and mothers and a home, yet they spend much of their childhood roaming the streets, being used by one begging-love-vendor or another to milk unsuspecting citizens. And yet the statistic there reports them as children who live with both fathers and mothers, and not as children abandoned on the streets? huh

The bullsheet of the statistical claim is out of this world. undecided
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Kobojunkie: 9:40pm On Nov 07, 2025
Chachalogo:
âžœSir, the argument here is whether they're from existing homes or not. And by existing home I mean father and mother staying married together. I'm not in support of parents who not fending for their children's needs whom they sent on Almajeranchi.
The report instead claims that this is about children living with their parents. undecided

Almajiris, according to you, are not children living with their parents but children whose parents offshored their responsibilities as parents to beggar-pimps as part of a system that literally has them abandoned to fend for themselves. That is not a system of children living with parents. Their having a father and mother somewhere DOES NOT negate the fact that these are, in fact, abandoned children we are talking of here, children who literally live like they have no mother or father in the picture. undecided
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by MrGerald(m): 9:45pm On Nov 07, 2025
It's not about single mother here but failed marriage, there's difference
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Osariemen12: 9:47pm On Nov 07, 2025
Expected.

Prostitution is celebrated amongst the Yorubas. Divorce? It is a thing of pride amongst them too.
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Kobojunkie: 9:47pm On Nov 07, 2025
MrGerald:
âžœIt's not about single mother here but failed marriage, there's difference
Failed marriage? What is that? The official divorce rate in the North is above 50%. So, what has failed marriage to do with any of this? huh

NB. I am not attempting to make a case for those ranting against single mothers, since the major reason why those children do not equally have their fathers in the picture has a lot to do with the single fathers in those cases not feeling it is their duty to stay with their children at least. Yes, even after a divorce or parting, a father can legally obtain shared custody of his children if he so chooses. undecided
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Putinofrussia: 9:49pm On Nov 07, 2025
Yoruba s are the most liberal people in Nigeria.
They hold freedom in high esteem and would never enslave their dames or tell them to drink corpse water...yuk! cheesy
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by GHoJes: 9:51pm On Nov 07, 2025
Chachalogo:
Sir, the argument here is whether they're from existing homes or not. And by existing home I mean father and mother staying married together.
I'm not in support of parents who not fending for their children's needs whom they sent on Almajeranchi.
How is a home existing if the most vulnerables of the home being the children are out in cold and danger?

These almajeris have polygamous fathers that barely visit their mothers twice in a year as he has to go round the various other wives depending on his favourites.

Is it not more logical for you to call people who grew up with full support of one parent very present in their lives as coming from a existing home than one with both parents married on paper without responsibilities of being married or a parent. How is a home the children never get to be in even existing to such children?
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by adicius: 9:53pm On Nov 07, 2025
Stupid made up nonsense, yeye fake statistics.

Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by dalass(f): 9:56pm On Nov 07, 2025
ebukal67x:
The South West data is curious.
You dey mind them? Their statistics are obviously lies. The same north that is bedevilled with almajiris everywhere sent out as soon as dey can do bambialahuh grin grin cheesy

Southwest is lowest ? They probably stood the chart upside down .. clowns grin
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Putinofrussia: 9:57pm On Nov 07, 2025
dammyz101:
So where do almagiris come from?
They dropped from the sky with plates in their hands grin
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Chachalogo(m): 10:00pm On Nov 07, 2025
Kobojunkie:
So, these homeless children in northern states have parents at home who allow them to live homeless for extended periods? shocked shocked shocked shocked

2. Do parents visit children abandoned on the streets in many of the Northern states? We don't seem to be talking here of the same thing. undecided
I will answer your questions sir.

1. Yes they have parents at home.
If you noticed, the Yoruba tribe also do send their children on this same religious study. They send their children to go learn under a teacher known as Alfa. Not all children who are learning under an Alfa are from the host community. Some of them are from other towns, cities or states just like the Almajeris. The only difference is that the Alfas unlike the Mallams do not subscribe to street begging. Street begging has nothing to do with the religion in question. Street begging is a thing of choice.

2. Those children are not abandoned on the street. They're all camped in the homes of their respective Mallams. When I was in Kano, the Mallams do take roll call and this explains why an almajeri will avoid anything that will make him miss either the morning or evening recitation. Missing any or both will attract severe punishment. They go out to beg for food after the morning recitation and must return before the afternoon recitation. It is after the afternoon recitation that they're permitted to go out again to beg for food. They must return home before bed time. And lastly, yes their parents or family do visit them at the homes of their Mallams.
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Chachalogo(m): 10:07pm On Nov 07, 2025
GHoJes:
How is a home existing if the most vulnerables of the home being the children are out in cold and danger?

These almajeris have polygamous fathers that barely visit their mothers twice in a year as he has to go round the various other wives depending on his favourites.

Is it not more logical for you to call people who grew up with full support of one parent very present in their lives as coming from a existing home than one with both parents married on paper without responsibilities of being married or a parent. How is a home the children never get to be in even existing to such children?
Well, I do not know how you came about the conclusion in your paragraph 2 but I will respect your opinion. However, in all my years in the north, I have neither seen or heard of where an Hausa man visits his wife and children only twice a year.
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Kobojunkie: 10:11pm On Nov 07, 2025
Chachalogo:
I will answer your questions sir.
1. Yes they have parents at home.
If you noticed, the Yoruba tribe also do send their children on this same religious study. They send their children to go learn under a teacher known as Alfa. Not all children who are learning under an Alfa are from the host community. Some of them are from other towns, cities or states just like the Almajeris. The only difference is that the Alfas unlike the Mallams do not subscribe to street begging. Street begging has nothing to do with the religion in question. Street begging is a thing of choice.
2. Those children are not abandoned on the street. They're all camped in the homes of their respective Mallams. When I was in Kano, the Mallams do take roll call and this explains why an almajeri will avoid anything that will make him miss either the morning or evening recitation. Missing any or both will attract severe punishment. They go out to beg for food after the morning recitation and must return before the afternoon recitation. It is after the afternoon recitation that they're permitted to go out again to beg for food. They must return home before bed time. And lastly, yes their parents or family do visit them at the homes of their Mallams.
1. We could assume that the stats provided in the OP somewhat reflect this alfa system— a non-prevalent system in South Western Nigeria, by the way —, but surely the report on the Northern states DOES NOT reflect the prevalent— 10s of millions are currently on the streets both in Northern and Southern Nigeria — Almajiri subscription in the North. undecided

2. Children literally responsible for their own education, developmental needs, and feeding are abandoned children. undecided

Fear of losing the one shelter available to them is palpable from your submission. Imagine having to live as a young person with such evident fears. If you have ever been homeless as an adult, you would understand why the anxiety of losing the comfort of shelter is reason enough why many homeless people plan their lives around their shelter. undecided
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Phoenix999: 10:11pm On Nov 07, 2025
Alfred200825:
Delta State should have the highest percentage of single mothers

Even 16 years old girls go tell you say she be single Mom
Is Bayelsa State a joke to you??
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by psalmsjob: 10:12pm On Nov 07, 2025
olaric:
Laughable data; no bases whatsoever to be throwing about stats without evidence of how it was sourced.
You mind them it's people take such stats seriously we should pray for... People who believe that Buhari is cloned and at the same time is Jubril el-sudan would believe anything... They have been shouting "no unknown law", repealed law since afternoon wey their only messiah drop the hook and they have swallowed it hook, line and sinker grin grin
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Chachalogo(m): 10:17pm On Nov 07, 2025
Kobojunkie:
The report instead claims that this is about children living with their parents. undecided

Almajiris, according to you, are not children living with their parents but children whose parents offshored their responsibilities as parents to beggar-pimps as part of a system that literally has them abandoned to fend for themselves. That is not a system of children living with parents. Their having a father and mother somewhere DOES NOT negate the fact that these are, in fact, abandoned children we are talking of here, children who literally live like they have no mother or father in the picture. undecided
You didn't understand me sir. I never said their parents pushed them away in order to avoid parental responsibilities. Rather, they were sent to go learn of their religious beliefs and doctrines.

Please kindly answer this question: Is it right to conclude that a child has no parents or is a product of a broken home simply because he/she is sent far away from home to go learn?
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Blackdisciple(m): 10:25pm On Nov 07, 2025
SOUTH
In another angle south has higher rate of infidelity in marriage.
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Chachalogo(m): 10:27pm On Nov 07, 2025
Kobojunkie:
1. We could assume that the stats provided in the OP somewhat reflect this alfa system— a non-prevalent system in South Western Nigeria, by the way —, but surely the report on the Northern states DOES NOT reflect the prevalent— 10s of millions are currently on the streets both in Northern and Southern Nigeria — Almajiri subscription in the North. undecided

2. Children literally responsible for their own education, developmental needs, and feeding are abandoned children. undecided

Fear of losing the one shelter available to them is palpable from your submission. Imagine having to live as a young person with such evident fears. If you have ever been homeless as an adult, you would understand why the anxiety of losing the comfort of shelter is reason enough why many homeless people plan their lives around their shelter. undecided
The almajeris are not responsible for their education par say. Their parents enrolled them. Got them an iron boxes with clothes. They have roofs over their heads. I forgot to add, the Mallams do serve them food just that they are not always satisfied with the portions coming from the Mallams, so they had to beg.
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Kobojunkie: 10:28pm On Nov 07, 2025
Chachalogo:
âžœYou didn't understand me sir. I never said their parents pushed them away in order to avoid parental responsibilities. Rather, they were sent to go learn of their religious beliefs and doctrines.
➜ Please kindly answer this question: Is it right to conclude that a child has no parents or is a product of a broken home simply because he/she is sent far away from home to go learn?
1. Wrong! That is literally what parents do when they offshore responsibility for training, raising, and feeding their own children onto others whom they believe are more capable than themselves in one way or the other. As long as the parents are not actively involved in the raising and feeding of their children, they literally push the children off— a form of abandonment — on others to do the job for them. undecided

2. It is right to conclude that a child is a product of a broken home/abandonment if you cannot prove that the parents of said child are actively and regularly responsible for the growth, development, and feeding of that child at any point in that child's development. For example, if a parent sends a child to a boarding school, which they regularly pay for, remains in communication with the child, and maintains full responsibility for fending for that child throughout the period, then we say that the child is not abandoned by the parent. However, if a parent literally offloads all of their duties and responsibilities onto the child — the child is regularly responsible for his feeding, his development, and care — then that child is an abandoned child, even if he knows where his parents and relatives live. undecided

Many children abandoned on the streets of Nigeria know where their relatives and maybe even parents live. But that does not change the fact that they are abandoned. undecided
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Kobojunkie: 10:32pm On Nov 07, 2025
Chachalogo:
âžœThe almajeris are not responsible for their education par say. Their parents enrolled them. Got them an iron boxes with clothes. They have roofs over their heads.
➜ I forgot to add, the Mallams do serve them food just that they are not always satisfied with the portions coming from the Mallams, so they had to beg.
By education, I was in no way referring to the formal/religious education they get from the mallam at the Almajiri school. undecided

2. Your post, and the reality of things out there, is all too obvious that these children are left to fend for themselves the vast majority of their days. Serving them occasionally means that cannot satisfy them means absolutely nothing in this. undecided
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Chachalogo(m): 10:42pm On Nov 07, 2025
GHoJes:
Which useless boarding schools are you talking about? what are they send to learn in such boarding schools? the Koran they could easily learn from islamiyya in every nooks of their parents' environment? Or what are you yapping about? almajeris in Abuja come from different parts of the north and keeping begging till some are lucky to grow into shoe making and likes while the rest continue begging and making more families of beggars as they grow or migrate to other parts of the country still begging not to mention many lost their lives before adulthood.

How many years of their existence do they spend with their parents other than the less than 5yrs from birth before they are tossed into a world where they fend for themselves from childhood. Be fooling yourself there?
Sir, you can actually make your point without insults or throwing jibes and tantrums I believe.
Now let's go by your logic: Can you tell us why parents send their children to boarding schools far away from home when they can easily enroll them in schools very close to the house? Are you suggesting that parents who subscribe to the boarding school system are foolish?
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Kobojunkie: 10:47pm On Nov 07, 2025
Chachalogo:
âžœSir, you can actually make your point without insults or throwing jibes and tantrums I believe.
Now let's go by your logic: Can you tell us why parents send their children to boarding schools far away from home when they can easily enroll them in schools very close to the house?
➜ Are you suggesting that parents who subscribe to the boarding school system are foolish?
There are different reasons why parents choose to do this. I was sent to a boarding school at age 11 myself, because I wanted to have the experience. My parents sent me there while maintaining full responsibility for me and my developmental education, feeding, housing, etc. And my being at the boarding school during the school term was a temporary arrangement — approximately 8 months out of each year(in the absence of sickness-related breaks. undecided

2. Sending children to boarding schools is not the issue here. Stop trying so hard to ignore the real issue, which is the presence of parents in the lives of children, no matter where they are. undecided
Re: Percentage Of Nigerian Children Living With Both Parents By Zone by Chachalogo(m): 10:49pm On Nov 07, 2025
Kobojunkie:
By education, I was in no way referring to the formal/religious education they get from the mallam at the Almajiri school. undecided

2. Your post, and the reality of things out there, is all too obvious that these children are left to fend for themselves the vast majority of their days. Serving them occasionally means that cannot satisfy them means absolutely nothing in this. undecided
I cannot deny the salient point you raised in your 2nd paragraph. It is very obvious that the almajeris are not well fed, and it has become a major reason why they are easily recruited to flag off crisis.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Reply

The Number Of Children Living As Servants By State - StatiSense 2021 • 38 Years Old, 40k Salary, 5 Children Living In One Room • Man Starves Himself To Death In Benue After Losing Both Parents (Photo) • 2 • 3 • 4

Father Impreginates Daughter Insists On Marrying Her • Family Of Four Die In Their Sleep After Inhaling Generator Fumes In Kogi (Photo) • Have You Ever Been Mocked? Share Your Experiences