Stats: 3,325,932 members, 8,424,217 topics. Date: Wednesday, 10 June 2026 at 09:05 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup - Sports (18808) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentSports"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup (17098920 Views)

1 2 3 ... 18805 18806 18807 18808 18809 18810 18811 ... 19293 Reply (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 5:44pm On Jan 15
forgiveness:
Is there any report Osayi played with injury? At least, we heard about injury of Aina and after that final, he went missing from Nottingham Forest starting 11.
Osayi had to pass a late fitness test to play the game yesterday. I heard it from some foreign analysts, in fact, in the game against Algeria dude was limping to complete that game.

My point is, Aina can't simply walk into our starting line-up easily again; he has to fight for that shirt now, and the team is looking more competitive as we now have more options. Who would have thought that a whole Chukwueze will chop bench tire at this afcon. Na this overhype of some certain players dey affect us at times, see the Onyedika we thought was class, now we know he can't displace Ndidi easily. Aina is welcome back anytime, but he must earn it now.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 5:47pm On Jan 15
forgiveness:
Please, don't drag CAF President and CAF. We still get appeal for FIFA ooooo. grin grin grin grin grin

CAF did very well in the organization of this tournament. The officiating was superb. grin grin grin grin
no be so we dey beg and praise Ghana yesterday because of the ref upon all we still collect, make CAF getat grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Ojagun(m): 5:50pm On Jan 15
Subzero0477:
Think there is a sense in which Raphael Onyedika is getting the short end of the stick for last night.

While he had a very poor match, able to neither impose himself nor get to grips with the intensity of the match, and was rightly pulled, it is important to acknowledge that, up until the semi-final, the Super Eagles had not faced a side as defensively and/or tactically astute as the Moroccans.

Would Ndidi have made a difference? Certainly. Being more tenacious in the tackle and boasting greater anticipation, he would no doubt have fared better and helped Nigeria compete more fiercely. But nothing he faced in the competition was remotely close to the standard the Moroccans brought. So it is not really comparing apples with apples. The same Ndidi was present while our midfield was overrun against DR Congo two months ago. Not his fault personally at all, but the point is that these things are not straightforward to analyse.

Different players have different skill sets. Onyedika is what he is; if, as a coach, you put him into the team in place of a different profile of player, you owe it to him and the team to tweak something else in order to allow him play. Last night, the Super Eagles needed to be even more patient than usual, knowing they were lacking something out of possession. Instead, the opposite was the case.

-Solace Chukwu
Blah... Blah....Blah....

Oga,he was shockingly awful yesterday

Rest
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by forgiveness: 5:51pm On Jan 15
Goke7:
Osayi had to pass a late fitness test to play the game yesterday. I heard it from some foreign analysts, in fact, in the game against Algeria dude was limping to complete that game.

My point is, Aina can't simply walk into our starting line-up easily again; he has to fight for that shirt now, and the team is looking more competitive as we now have more options. Who would have thought that a whole Chukwueze will chop bench tire at this afcon. Na this overhype of some certain players dey affect us at times, see the Onyedika we thought was class, now we know he can't displace Ndidi easily. Aina is welcome back anytime, but he must earn it now.
I see, but don't be deceived. Aina will walk straight into Chelle's starting 11.

I never rate Chuks to start because he has barely impressed in green white green. Na una dey overhype players.

Did you see me make any comment about Onyedika? I don't discuss with I am not sure of.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by forgiveness: 5:53pm On Jan 15
Goke7:
no be so we dey beg and praise Ghana yesterday because of the ref upon all we still collect, make CAF getat grin
Hahahahahahahahaha! d thing backfire but abeg make we try pamper CAF small until the verdict. grin grin grin grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Blueelf: 5:58pm On Jan 15
forgiveness:
Did you read "Aina is world class" in my comment? He is definitely above average and better than Osayi. That's fact. No doubt Osayi showed in this tournament he also good is a contender for the position but with Aina, Aina would had done better.
It's because you mentioned hakim is world class
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Blueelf: 5:59pm On Jan 15
Goke7:

Because he scored a brace against Uganda

Lollll
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by yinkeys(m): 6:04pm On Jan 15
9JAMac10:
Victor Osimhen vs Morocco:

0 Goals/Assists
0 Key Passes
0 Shots
0 Dribbles
3 Fouls
Ducked the penalty kicks as a captain

EGO OF VINICIUS, ABILITY OF Nicholas jackson …ECOWAS HAALAND
Injury
Chill
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 6:13pm On Jan 15
forgiveness:
I see, but don't be deceived. Aina will walk straight into Chelle's starting 11.

I never rate Chuks to start because he has barely impressed in green white green. Na una dey overhype players.

Did you see me make any comment about Onyedika? I don't discuss with I am not sure of.
The problem now is osayi don raise the Standard whether we accept it or not and anyone else including Aina who plays that role now and drop the standard will raise concerns
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 6:20pm On Jan 15
Some pointers Post-Afcon

- Eric Chelle still has not lost a competitive game in 90mins or 120mins.

- At last Afcon, Nigeria were the penalty monsters. Every penalty we got in regulation time, we buried and when we faced South Africa, we owned them in the spot kicks. We also had very good confident penalty kick beasts. Kelechi Iheanacho, Terem Moffi. At the WCQs playoffs we lost that. At Afcon 2025, we lost that. WE NEED TO GET IT BACK.

- Whenever Bassey paired with Benjamin Frederick, most of the praise went to Benjy. But whenever Bassey paired Semi at this Afcon, Bassey got most of the plaudits.
That tells u the double B is our best pair.

- Benjamin Frederick x Calvin Bassey CB pair has been used 3 times conceeding only once. Semi Ajayi had a solid Afcon but the return of Benjy elevates the defence's quality even more.

- Osayi Samuel is 2nd choice RB yet dropped quite a monstrous Afcon showing. Imagine what Aina has to do when he returns.

- Felix Agu? Bruno Onyemaechi has just cemented himself as the 1st choice LB. Agu will need a hell of a showing to displace Bruno. Zaidu sits tight for now as 2nd choice.

- Stanley Nwabali proves why he is Super Eagles' Number 1. He has earned it. Back to back Afcons... back to back solid showings.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by lbrichman2: 6:30pm On Jan 15
Goke7:
The problem now is osayi don raise the Standard whether we accept it or not and anyone else including Aina who plays that role now and drop the standard will raise concerns
Truth
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 6:41pm On Jan 15
Stanley Nwabali now has 7 Afcon Cleansheets from just 2 tournaments (5 of them in the knockouts) . Vincent Enyeama had 10 cleansheets from 4 tournaments (not counting 2008 as he was benched by Ejide).

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Truidstarr: 6:46pm On Jan 15
Gift Orban scores
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by kingphilip(m): 6:48pm On Jan 15
TheSuperNerd:
Stanley Nwabali now has 7 Afcon Cleansheets from just 2 tournaments (5 of them in the knockouts) . Vincent Enyeama had 10 cleansheets from 4 tournaments (not counting 2008 as he was benched by Ejide).
See record o.

He might overtake Enyeama in 1st if he continues his good showing against Egypt and retains his number 1 shirt in next years AFCON.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 6:49pm On Jan 15
Fouls count disparity: Naija vs Maroc

🇳🇬Raphael Onyedika: 4 fouls committed (1 yellow) - Deserved (it was one he took for the team)
🇳🇬Calvin Bassey: 2 fouls committed (1 yellow)

🇲🇦Neil El Aynaoui: 4 fouls committed (No yellow)
🇲🇦Ayoub El Kaabi: 4 fouls committed (No yellow)
🇲🇦Achraf Hakimi: 3 fouls committed (No yellow)
🇲🇦Brahim Diaz: 2 fouls committed (No yellow)
🇲🇦Abde Ezzalzzouli: 2 fouls committed (No yellow)

This is pure evil. Lol
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Papi85: 6:50pm On Jan 15
TheSuperNerd:
Some pointers Post-Afcon

- Eric Chelle still has not lost a competitive game in 90mins or 120mins.

- At last Afcon, Nigeria were the penalty monsters. Every penalty we got in regulation time, we buried and when we faced South Africa, we owned them in the spot kicks. We also had very good confident penalty kick beasts. Kelechi Iheanacho, Terem Moffi. At the WCQs playoffs we lost that. At Afcon 2025, we lost that. WE NEED TO GET IT BACK.

- Whenever Bassey paired with Benjamin Frederick, most of the praise went to Benjy. But whenever Bassey paired Semi at this Afcon, Bassey got most of the plaudits.
That tells u the double B is our best pair.

- Benjamin Frederick x Calvin Bassey CB pair has been used 3 times conceeding only once. Semi Ajayi had a solid Afcon but the return of Benjy elevates the defence's quality even more.

- Osayi Samuel is 2nd choice RB yet dropped quite a monstrous Afcon showing. Imagine what Aina has to do when he returns.

- Felix Agu? Bruno Onyemaechi has just cemented himself as the 1st choice LB. Agu will need a hell of a showing to displace Bruno. Zaidu sits tight for now as 2nd choice.

- Stanley Nwabali proves why he is Super Eagles' Number 1. He has earned it. Back to back Afcons... back to back solid showings.
and how many matches Bassey and Fredrick’s don play together?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 6:51pm On Jan 15
From outside the box. Please can the NFF sort out this guy's nationality confusion and get him into my next Afcon Squad abeg!!! Chelle needs bombers like this.

Truidstarr:
Gift Orban scores
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by forgiveness: 6:52pm On Jan 15
kingphilip:
See record o.

He might overtake Enyeama in 1st if he continues his good showing against Egypt and retains his number 1 shirt in next years AFCON.
But he can't beat Enyeama status as Legend.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by kingphilip(m): 6:55pm On Jan 15
forgiveness:
But he can't beat Enyeama status as Legend
You're right about that sha especially at club level with that monstrous record he held at Lille or which club was that again?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 6:56pm On Jan 15
I mentioned it na but only focused on CB.

They have played 3 times together only as a CB pair.

But overall, Benjy also played RB while Bassey paired either Ekong or Semi in 3 games (2x semi, 1x Ekong).

So overall, Benjy and Bassey has played 6 times together but only 3 times as a CB pair.

Papi85:
and how many matches Bassey and Fredrick’s don play together?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by forgiveness: 7:00pm On Jan 15
kingphilip:
You're right about that sha especially at club level with that monstrous record he held at Lille or which club was that again?
You got it. Lille.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Amedino99(m): 7:02pm On Jan 15
Afcon 2027 qualifiers group stage should start 21 September and will end in November 17. World cup 2030 should start in September 2027
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by semid4lyfe(mod):
Blueelf:
Yesterday was good for me

Because it reminded everyone that we have a real gem in Nwabali

If he can keep his head down, he can be as historical for us as Enyeama was

If the Wrexham guy -Arthur Okonkwo should join, he should act as understudy because he is not as good as Nwabali

Okoye should also be given a look in

Good one Nwabobo. 👍
Elf, if you ever post Okoye's name on this thread and advocate for his callup, I will haunt you on this thread, in real life and in your dreams.

Maduka Okoye is a lilly-livered chicken, a traitor and a saboteur. As far as I am concerned, he should be axed from the Super Eagles forever.

That guy opted out of the AFCON squad because his demand to be first choice goalie was refused ,saying he preferred to play regularly for his club than sit on the bench at the AFCON.

That stunt he pulled is tantamount to blackmail and sabotage of the team's AFCON campaign because at the time he opted out, Nwabali was nursing an injury and it was uncertain if he'd be fit for the AFCON.

He made a decision and I respect that but he should also live with the consequences of his decision.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Goke7: 7:06pm On Jan 15
TheSuperNerd:
Fouls count disparity: Naija vs Maroc

🇳🇬Raphael Onyedika: 4 fouls committed (1 yellow) - Deserved (it was one he took for the team)
🇳🇬Calvin Bassey: 2 fouls committed (1 yellow)

🇲🇦Neil El Aynaoui: 4 fouls committed (No yellow)
🇲🇦Ayoub El Kaabi: 4 fouls committed (No yellow)
🇲🇦Achraf Hakimi: 3 fouls committed (No yellow)
🇲🇦Brahim Diaz: 2 fouls committed (No yellow)
🇲🇦Abde Ezzalzzouli: 2 fouls committed (No yellow)

This is pure evil. Lol
See the ref Dey shine teeth here 😂 I no know why these other guy no slap 👋 e head
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Dannyxy(m): 7:07pm On Jan 15
The government literally does nothing to make us happy in this country.

So unlike other serious countries, developing and revamping stadiums, hosting big tournaments will bring smiles and security to those environments.

Can they at least take part of the money that’s being looted and pour into proper football infrastructures? Please?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Ojagun(m): 7:25pm On Jan 15
9JAMac10:
Look at the nonsense on Chukwueze’s page Some silly Nigerians only bark at soft targets. Soon they’ll blame him for the economy too. Cowardly attitude
He deserves every single comment/post

Play stoopid games,win stoopid rewards
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Ojagun(m): 7:27pm On Jan 15
[quote author=Goke7 post=138149824]See the ref Dey shine teeth here 😂 I no know why these other guy no slap 👋 e head
referee was not the best but it wasn't the referee who said Nigerian players should become phoolish during the penalties
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by zuchyblink(m): 7:33pm On Jan 15
A little shake up would have distablized their game plan. They locked Iwobi in our half,if he had moved Iwobi forward; maybe replace him with Akor,then replace Akor with a midfielder,it would have changed the trajectory of the game.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by lbrichman2: 7:43pm On Jan 15
TheSuperNerd:
This guy needs a big move soon
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by lbrichman2: 7:44pm On Jan 15
TheSuperNerd:
From outside the box. Please can the NFF sort out this guy's nationality confusion and get him into my next Afcon Squad abeg!!! Chelle needs bombers like this.
Couldn't agree more
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Blueelf: 7:50pm On Jan 15
semid4lyfe:
to

Elf, if you ever post Okoye's name on this thread and advocate for his callup, I will haunt you on this thread, in real life and in your dreams.

Maduka Okoye is a lilly-livered chicken, a traitor and a saboteur. As far as I am concerned, he should be axed from the Super Eagles forever.

That guy opted out of the AFCON squad because his demand to be first choice goalie was refused ,saying he preferred to play regularly for his club than sit on the bench at the AFCON.

That stunt he pulled is tantamount to blackmail and sabotage of the team's AFCON campaign because at the time he opted out, Nwabali was nursing an injury and it was uncertain if he'd be fit for the AFCON.

He made a decision and I respect that but he should also live with the consequences of his decision.
I didn't know this semid

No be fight na bro. Chill 😁

On a more serious note, I heard about this but wasn't so sure about the news because I doubted it's veracity

But if true, he should stay where he is
1 2 3 ... 18805 18806 18807 18808 18809 18810 18811 ... 19293 Reply

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 StolenSuper Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures)AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws)234

Viewing this topic: Eawwal(m), SwiftEduConsult, charlesemeka85(m), sojious, TheSuperNerd(m), dankorode(m), Abusule007, ekehopp2, minfelix(m), ddone, Goke7, yemyke001(m), solonnachi, GMBOFASIA, Amedino99(m), JohnBullMySon, kingphilip(m) and 28 guest(s)