Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? - Phones - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Science/Technology › Phones › Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? (18471 Views)
| Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by techpsky(op): 8:56am On Mar 18 |
“Everyone Says Don’t Do It… But In Nigeria, Do We Really Have A Choice?” You’ve probably heard people say: “Never use your power bank while it’s charging.” But in this country, with the kind of power situation we face… is that even practical? Let’s be real. Sometimes, pass-through charging is not just convenient, it actually makes sense. Here are a few situations where it’s reasonable: 1. During Long Power Outages NEPA just brought light and you don’t know when it’ll go again. You plug your power bank and still need to use your phone. In that moment, you’re trying to maximize the opportunity. 2. When You’re Low On Options Maybe you have just one socket, or you’re outside with limited access to power. You don’t really have the luxury of charging things one after the other. 3. If You’re Using Low-Power Devices Charging something like earbuds or a small phone is less stressful on the power bank compared to heavy devices. 4. If Your Power Bank Actually Supports It Some modern power banks are built for pass-through charging. The problem is, many people don’t even know if theirs does. --- But here’s where it gets tricky… Just because it makes sense doesn’t mean it’s always safe. Some power banks will overheat, slow down, or even degrade faster if you keep doing it regularly. So it’s really about when and how often, not just if. --- Let’s hear from you: Do you use your power bank while it’s charging? Has it ever caused any issue for you, or everything has been working fine? Be honest. 😄 https://www.elvistech.ng/product/laptop-power-b/
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by Nobody: 9:01am On Mar 18 |
Even with 24/7 power guaranteed between my heavy-duty generator and solar setup, I still find myself 'pressing' phone while it’s plugged in. 😂 I guess old habits die hard! I just can't stop. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by techpsky(op): 9:07am On Mar 18*. Modified: 10:02pm On Mar 18 |
SpencerForbes:Hahaha. 😂 I feel you! Even with steady power, some habits are just too hard to break. Pass-through charging has become like a reflex at this point. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by Jakarta: 9:58am On Mar 18 |
E better make you carry me go prison until my phone battery charge full, than to not use my phone while charging it. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by techpsky(op): 10:09am On Mar 18 |
Jakarta:Ohh Chim! 😂 Na so e be! Better make dem carry me go prison than make my phone die for hand. Some habits, e hard to break, even with 24/7 power! |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by Kingsasian(m): 10:45am On Mar 18 |
I have an inverter installed in my apartment it took me some time to stop charging while using my phone or laptop. For the past 3 months my wife and I have stopped that habit and wet don'tgo about with our chargers. We only charge our devices once a day. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by Benlight: 12:03pm On Mar 18*. Modified: 3:08pm On May 18 |
If you are at home and you charged to 100%, unplug and using your phone and then your battery drops to 80% when NEPA carry light, e dey pain say you just wasted potential 20% of re entering 100% back. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by SixSeven: 12:33pm On Mar 18 |
Former VP used power bank. Minister of power used power bank. Seyi Tinubu used power bank in Aso Rock. Bola Tinubu responded by removing the villa from national grid. Mmmm
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by techpsky(op): 12:38pm On Mar 18 |
Kingsasian:Wow! I have to respect that! It really takes discipline to break that habit, even with an inverter or generator. Sticking to charging your devices once a day is smart, it helps prolong battery life and avoid unnecessary wear. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by techpsky(op): 12:40pm On Mar 18 |
Benlight:Lol... That 20% loss really dey pain, especially when NEPA decides to bless us with light for just a few minutes. That’s why managing charging smartly becomes almost an art in Nigeria. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by techpsky(op): 12:42pm On Mar 18 |
SixSeven:Hmmmm...if even the former VP, the Minister of Power, and Seyi Tinubu need power banks, then we certainly have no shame using ours anywhere. Clearly, NEPA’s issues spare no one, even Aso Rock. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by 5KLEAR: 7:37pm On Mar 18 |
No time to wait , we are always in hurry |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by kad199: 7:38pm On Mar 18 |
techpsky:Although i dont live in Nigeria, i still use my while charging. After all i dont intend on using the phone forever. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by callmetade: 7:47pm On Mar 18 |
Nigeria Nigeria Nigeria,.. this country matter don reach make we fight walai |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by Aile(m): 7:49pm On Mar 18 |
I dey even dey use am like this so |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by Blizzy300(m): 7:50pm On Mar 18 |
Hey It's actually good to use your laptop while it's charging It's health for lithium battery Do your research |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by Treasure17(m): 7:53pm On Mar 18 |
I don't do that. Will rather plug the phone directly with the source. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by mariovito(m): 7:57pm On Mar 18 |
I'm not sure some people above understand what the OP is talking about. Pass through charging, charging your phone with a power bank while the power bank is charging is different from using your phone while it's charging from the mains or a socket |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by reddingtonblack: 7:58pm On Mar 18 |
techpsky:BRO i dont get or should i say Your sample choice is WRONG To charge a power bank it means you have power supply ...why will you be charging your power bank n still be using it to charge your phone ... Dats illogical Why not just use your phone charger ... that way both is charging and more battery life if Light goes off |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by CaptainFM1: 7:58pm On Mar 18 |
Should I also not use my TV while my solar battery installation is charging? |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by Archbishop88: 8:02pm On Mar 18 |
Kingsasian:Definitely, none of you is using iPhone. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by Kalulu44: 8:12pm On Mar 18 |
Majority of things they said don't do when it comes to electronics and even fuel, I have done most of them repeatedly over the years without any consequences. . 1. Put off your car/bus engine when buying fuel. As a former commercial bus driver and Uber driver of over 20yrs. They're many times my ignition or battery can't start except you push the vehicle, so when buying fuel at a filling station, I 70% of the time leave my engine running while buying fuel. Some filling stations demand under most you put off your engine. But majority of the time I leave it on and nothing has ever happened and I haven't heard any fuel stations got blown up bcus of it in my 20yrs of driving. . 2. Don't make calls while at the filling station. This I have done too many times without any consequences. . 3. Don't press phone while charging. Mtcheew.... My phone will be 100% charged and I won't removed it from the charger and will still be pressing it till when either they take light or I leave the house. When I was still driving, all the phones I used suffered in my hands when it comes to charging. While on the road, I am charging them in my bus. At home same thing. Infact when I have closed from work, after freshening up and eating, if there's no light, off to my bus to continue charging and pressing. I hate seeing my phone on 70% below. And still those phones last very well for me. The one I am using currently, 2 months from now it will be a year I bought it. I have suffocate it with charging and it's still serving me well. So most of this don't do doesn't work at times to me. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by SmallDick99(m): 8:23pm On Mar 18 |
I have never heard or seen anyone using a power bank while it's charging. Thing know it was a thing ![]() |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by MostLoyalMan(m): 8:24pm On Mar 18 |
Thank you for this insight. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by Malagans(m): 8:25pm On Mar 18 |
But there's always light at the end of the tunnel |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by Lanretoye(m): 8:29pm On Mar 18 |
Don’t just come back and tell me that the power bank I bought for you did not last. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by lexzyy(m): 8:31pm On Mar 18 |
mariovito:Most don't read to understand |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by Xpol: 8:34pm On Mar 18 |
All the power Banks I've used , you can't charge your phone when the power Banks are on charge, Light is not a problem here though but I still use power bank. |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by qleap2all(m): 8:44pm On Mar 18 |
How do you know that most people did that? Most phone related faults is as a result of constant charging. As for me o, I don't use powerbank while being charged. Those doing that are illiterates or uneducated fellows! #Ignorance is a disease |
| Re: Never use your power bank while it’s charging: In Nigeria, Do We Have A Choice? by success1smyn(m): 8:56pm On Mar 18 |
Why will I be using my power bank while charging? I will charge the phone first na Modified Like most here don't understand the op. Using power bank to charge your phone while charging the power bank don't even make sense. |
Tecno Sonic 1 Earbuds Not Charging In Case • Why You Should Never Use Price To Judge Smartphones, Ever. • No Matter What You Do, Never Use Transsion Phones: My Experience • 2 • 3 • 4
10 Reasons Why Your Smartphone Battery Drains Quickly • Infinix Note 3: The Most Searched Android Smartphone Of 2016 In Nigeria • Teleology Is The Preferred Bidder Of 9mobile - Barclays Confirms