Stats: 3,325,252 members, 8,420,986 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 04:04 PM

Mutual Funds - Investment (505) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralInvestmentMutual Funds (1512484 Views)

1 2 3 ... 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 ... 524 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Mutual Funds by Beeron: 11:18am On Mar 29
heavenisreal18:
Good morning
Pls how does equity work can I loss all my money,the money is for survival of retired woman to be getting something monthly on it.I want to invest the 5m for her but want to know if it worth trying. Note I have been doing MMF and Tbill just want her to earn more as thing s are expensive
The very fact that you seeking information on how Equity work has ruled out why you shouldn't invest a retiree money into Equity because of insufficient knowledge you have about the investment.

That said; Retirees should never come near investment like Equity or stocks no matter the mood or regime of the market. I still have a feeling that pension fund will regret the decision to be allowed to invest part of their fund into stocks.

No matter how you see it; and the experiment has been carried out time and time again; Stocks or crypto investment is a bubble, it will eventually burst at some point and the market will reset itself again and new investors enter the market.

A retiree doesn't have that luxury of time to wait out the market nor do they have that extra cash to do Naira/dollar cost averaging.

Simply put, when the bubble bust at some point and all stocks are down in the Equity fund, what do you want the retiree to do?

Will she not continue to be managing the little income from she gets from fixed income investment like MMF?

The best investment strategy for older folks is compounding in fixed income type investment like MMF and Bond fund, if Equity should be considered, probably 10% of capital they are willing to lose if the bubble burst.

Fine, MMF and Bond fund don't beat inflation sometimes but, retiree are trying preserving wealth not trying to actively accumulate wealth.

If you have 5 million, Invest 4 million into MMF, 1 million into Equity, whatever returns equity brings in a month (don't withdraw) but mentally or on paper, it will be added to the predictable returns from MMF. Now, something like a balanced portfolio. That returns from Equity will then be withdrawn only when she has an emergency to deal with but don't want to touch MMF investment money.
Re: Mutual Funds by enque(f): 12:10pm On Mar 29
What of UPDCREIT?
Beeron:
I see SFSREIT being advertised on here, BE VERY CAREFUL to invest in that.

It's isn't about going into the market, Question you should ask yourself is: can you freely exit when you need money?

SFSREIT is not liquid enough.

Be very careful.
Re: Mutual Funds by Beeron: 12:33pm On Mar 29
enque:
What of UPDCREIT?
UPDCREIT has strong liquity but the market is a currently a blood bath.

Stay away from it too.

Re: Mutual Funds by emmasoft(m):
EquityM:
Don't try equity; rather, buy some high-paying dividend stocks. Equity is not for old people ooooooooooooooooooooo.
Factors to Consider before Investing in any Investment Window

1. Investment Objective
What is your goal? i.e., purpose of investing. (wealth creation, income generation, capital preservation)
Short-term vs long-term goals, example: Saving for a house vs retirement etc.

2. Risk Tolerance. Your ability and willingness to handle losses. A low-risk tolerance investor doesn't have business with high risk investment like equities, crypto, etc. Though confidence can be built over time as an investor who started early enough.

3. Age: This is very important in relation to duration, risk, and timelines. Professionally, it's advised that the older an investor, the less risky investment windows to be invested in.

4. Knowledge. Knowledge and Understanding of the investment window is very important. Never invest in what you don’t understand.
Always do your due diligence or seek professional advice. Don't just follow the hype. Invest with understanding.
If it's only returns that form your basis of investment, you may soon lose what you think you have gained.

5. Liquidity and the amount available for investment. How easy it is to convert the investment into cash is a factor to consider. The type of investment product will also be determined by the capital you have to invest. Imagine an investor with tens of thousands, even if he/she wish to invest in real estate, that may not be possible, MMF will be a better alternative.

6. Economic trends, interest rates, government policies, inflation, etc.

The list is not exhaustive; there are other factors to be considered, which depend on the individual investors.

In summary, a wise investor carefully balances risk, return, time, and personal goals before choosing any investment window. The best investment is not the one with the highest return, but the one that aligns with your financial situation and long-term objectives.

Remember, don't just make money, make it without tears!
Re: Mutual Funds by emmasoft(m): 7:01pm On Mar 29
Beeron:

It's isn't about going into the market, Question you should ask yourself is: can you freely exit when you need money?

Be very careful.
@Beeron, I wrote about SFSREIT to buttress my earlier post on alternatives to mainstream investment windows. It's just to show that an alternative does exist to owning a physical property, not investment advice nor advertisement; investors are to always do their due diligence, which agrees with the industry standard.
Re: Mutual Funds by Beeron:
emmasoft:
@Beeron, I wrote about SFSREIT to buttress my earlier post on alternatives to mainstream investment windows. It's just to show that an alternative does exist to owning a physical property, not investment advice nor advertisement; investors are to always do their due diligence, which agrees with the industry standard.
No issues Chief but always include full disclosure such as the pros and cons because people follow you and rely on you for some key finance information.

I was highly disappointed seeing that post without no full disclosure.
Re: Mutual Funds by Creditalerts: 7:37pm On Mar 29
No shortcut or quick Rich investment stay away or else you will learn the hard way don't play

In fact play😁✌🏾
Re: Mutual Funds by tempest12: 8:53pm On Mar 29
Please how did you know SFSREIT is not liquid enough for withdrawal
Beeron:

Be very careful.
Re: Mutual Funds by Nobody:
Alright, Chief, I totally agree with the investment objectives; however, I might be against equity mutual funds for the elderly. Nevertheless, diving into stocks for growth is still acceptable. Furthermore, the older generations in Nigeria mostly had a huge allocation of stocks back in the days compared to the Millennials and Gen Z. My dead grannies bought UAC and Unilever stocks, and part of the liquidation of the stocks was given to me in 2014 to finance my study trip abroad. Unfortunately, they are dead, and it still pains me everyday that I can't repay them back after God has blessed me.

emmasoft:
Factors to Consider before Investing in Any Investment Window

1. Investment Objective
What is your goal? i.e., the purpose of investing. (wealth creation, income generation, capital preservation)
Short-term vs long-term goals, example: Saving for a house vs retirement etc.

2. Risk Tolerance. Your ability and willingness to handle losses. A low-risk tolerance investor doesn't have business with high risk investment like equities, crypto, etc. Though confidence can be built over time as an investor who started early enough.

3. Age: This is very important in relation to duration, risk, and timelines. Professionally, it's advised that the older an investor, the less risky investment windows to be invested in.

4. Knowledge. Knowledge and Understanding of the investment window is very important. Never invest in what you don’t understand.
Always do your due diligence or seek professional advice. Don't just follow the hype. Invest with understanding.
If it's only returns that form your basis of investment, you may soon lose what you think you have gained.

5. Liquidity and the amount available for investment. How easy it is to convert the investment into cash is a factor to consider. The type of investment product will also be determined by the capital you have to invest. Imagine an investor with tens of thousands, even if he/she wish to invest in real estate, that may not be possible, MMF will be a better alternative.

6. Economic trends, interest rates, government policies, inflation, etc.

The list is not exhaustive; there are other factors to be considered, which depend on the individual investors.

In summary, a wise investor carefully balances risk, return, time, and personal goals before choosing any investment window. The best investment is not the one with the highest return, but the one that aligns with your financial situation and long-term objectives.

Remember, don't just make money, make it without tears!
Re: Mutual Funds by Nobody:
My equity investment is still winning, and we will always win. 10.5M in Zrosk had already turned to 13M in 2+ months. God bless us all. In May, NGX is transitioning to T-1; you will see green tomatoes everywhere.

Creditalerts:
No shortcut or quick Rich investment stay away or else you will learn the hard way don't play

In fact play😁✌🏾
Re: Mutual Funds by Creditalerts: 10:35pm On Mar 29
EquityM:
My equity investment is still winning, and we will always win. 10.5M in Zrosk had already turned to 13M in 2+ months. God bless us all. In May, NGX is transitioning to T-1; you will see green tomatoes everywhere.
why you no let the retired civil servant (pensioner) join you? 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Equity oooo
Re: Mutual Funds by Nobody: 10:47pm On Mar 29
It's up to them if they can handle their money dancing azonto up and down. High risk, high reward—more money

Creditalerts:

Equity oooo
Re: Mutual Funds by Creditalerts: 10:58pm On Mar 29
EquityM:
It's up to them if they can handle their money dancing azonto up and down. High risk, high reward—more money
But your advice said otherwise now u are saying a different thing entirely hmmm ok o
Re: Mutual Funds by emmasoft(m): 11:02pm On Mar 29
EquityM:
Alright, Chief, I totally agree with the investment objectives; however, I might be against equity mutual funds for the elderly. Nevertheless, diving into stocks for growth is still acceptable. Furthermore, the older generations in Nigeria mostly had a huge allocation of stocks back in the days compared to the Millennials and Gen Z. My dead grannies bought UAC and Unilever stocks, and part of the liquidation of the stocks was given to me in 2014 to finance my study trip abroad. Unfortunately, they are dead, and it still pains me everyday that I can't repay them back after God has blessed me.
Of course, you can see that one of the factors to consider is age. Like it's the industry norm, the older you are, the less risky investment you are to be involved in. Stocks are a better deal when considering the long term. The generation you mention was mostly investing for the long term and for dividends; it was a good strategy, and it's still a good one.

Thank God you are a beneficiary of their wise investment. Since you are already involved in investing, the best thing you can do for them now as a way to pay back is for you to keep the legacy alive, teach your children early about investing, so that the trend will continue from generation to generation.
Re: Mutual Funds by Nobody: 11:10pm On Mar 29
Thanks, Chief; I'll definitely do that.

emmasoft:
Of course, you can see that one of the factors to consider is age. Like it's the industry norm, the older you are, the less risky investment you are to be involved in. Stocks are a better deal when considering the long term. The generation you mention was mostly investing for the long term and for dividends; it was a good strategy, and it's still a good one.

Thank God you are a beneficiary of their wise investment. Since you are already involved in investing, the best thing you can do for them now as a way to pay back is for you to keep the legacy alive, teach your children early about investing, so that the trend will continue from generation to generation.
Re: Mutual Funds by Bluearrow:
Creditalerts:
Equity oooo
I don't understand this man
Equity is for for growth not preservation. Mmf is for capital preservation, no one will become rich by investing in mmf. You can only make money from mmf if u are already rich. A retired person is more interested in preserving their capital they have worked for & enjoy their retirement. Age is the key factor here, not the investment. As u grow older, u begin to diversify from high risk investment to low risk because of time. These are basic investment principles.
Re: Mutual Funds by amiibaby(f): 5:49am On Mar 30
Pls anyone heard about PEL Polaris should explain to me pls
Re: Mutual Funds by Creditalerts: 10:25am On Mar 30
Bluearrow:
I don't understand this man
Equity is for for growth not preservation. Mmf is for capital preservation, no one will become rich by investing in mmf. You can only make money from mmf if u are already rich. A retired person is more interested in preserving their capital they have worked for & enjoy their retirement. Age is the key factor here, not the investment. As u grow older, u begin to diversify from high risk investment to low risk because of time. These are basic investment principles.
the key word here should be HIGH RISK which should be classified as the primary investment outlook. Age and capital preservation should be classified under the secondary investment outlook ,period ! stop contradicting yourself 🤣✌🏾

To me equity is high tension wire risk 😅
Re: Mutual Funds by Emzedz: 10:45am On Mar 30
Creditalerts:
the key word here should be HIGH RISK which should be classified as the primary investment outlook. Age and capital preservation should be classified under the secondary investment outlook ,period ! stop contradicting yourself 🤣✌🏾

U don't do equities buh ur always having snide remarks about it.. kolewrk..
Re: Mutual Funds by Bluearrow: 10:52am On Mar 30
Creditalerts:

What are u even saying?? Is it not because equity is high risk & will require more time for investors to adjust to fluctuations the man u quoted didn't recommend it to a retiree? You are the one actually contradicting yourself
Re: Mutual Funds by LoriHamo: 11:00am On Mar 30
I tire for his matter.....I have 4M in Stanbic MMF....if I see 50k interest this month I go celebrate am.....

I do not know what his wahala is.....let people take risks with their money...it has NO effects whatsoever on him....but NO....he keeps making lame comments.....

This month wasn't really okay for equities....but then February was good....

I tire for his matter...

One can only make real money with MMF when you have huge capital.....the monthly interests will be huge and with compounding... massive capital appreciation will happen....

I personally intends to grow my little funds through equity and will slowly re-invest the interest in MMF as I age....

I tire

Emzedz:
Re: Mutual Funds by Creditalerts: 11:01am On Mar 30
Emzedz:
I'm not against it but the fact still remain is HIGH RISK same classes with sportybet,baba ijebu etc 🤣🤣🤣🤣
Re: Mutual Funds by Creditalerts: 11:08am On Mar 30
I have over 150m put together in various MMF and I'm highy satisfied with my daily returns so I no send anybody papa ✌🏾🤣
Re: Mutual Funds by Babygal2020(f): 11:20am On Mar 30
Creditalerts:
I have over 150m put together in various MMF and I'm highy satisfied with my daily returns so I no send anybody papa ✌🏾🤣
Okay boss. Just allow them. It's their money. They can handle the outcome whether favourable or unfavorable.
Re: Mutual Funds by Creditalerts: 11:23am On Mar 30
Babygal2020:
Okay boss. Just allow them. It's their money. They can handle the outcome whether favourable or unfavorable.
I'm not against anyone investing in equity please my pointer is to @equitym I am not against equity investors is their choice
Re: Mutual Funds by Nobody: 11:33am On Mar 30
I will help you get more referrals. May God bless your mini money machine.

Creditalerts:
I'm not against anyone investing in equity please my pointer is to @equitym I am not against equity investors is their choice
Re: Mutual Funds by Nobody: 11:34am On Mar 30
Show us the 150M.

Babygal2020:
Re: Mutual Funds by Creditalerts: 11:39am On Mar 30
EquityM:
I will help you get more referrals. May God bless your mini money machine.
Lol I laugh you,someone like me give me US visa I go nowhere I'm a full blooded Niger delta from d creek 😅 ,have u ever cash out 8m from MMF quarterly? Follow with better peace of mind 🤑🤣Dey play 🤣🤣🤣✌🏾🤑🤑🤑
Re: Mutual Funds by Nobody: 11:41am On Mar 30
I started late January with Zrosk. Here is my last month return excluding my new top-up; at the end of the month, 13M will enter. Conversation ended. Goodbyeeee.

Creditalerts:

Re: Mutual Funds by Nobody: 11:44am On Mar 30
I have 10M with First Ally HYIS premium, haha, hmmmm, juju and blood money and you are still dancing around with MMF. May God bless you though.

Creditalerts:
Lol I laugh you,someone like me give me US visa I go nowhere I'm a full blooded Niger delta from d creek 😅 ,have u ever cash out 8m from MMF quarterly? Follow with better peace of mind 🤑🤣Dey play 🤣🤣🤣✌🏾🤑🤑🤑
Re: Mutual Funds by Creditalerts: 11:45am On Mar 30
EquityM:
I started late January with Zrosk. Here is my last month return excluding my new top-up; at the end of the month, 13M will enter. Conversation ended. Goodbyeeee.
this one na peanut with plenty sleepless night while not put 100m there 🤣🤣
Re: Mutual Funds by Creditalerts: 11:47am On Mar 30
EquityM:
I have 10M with First Ally HYIS premium, haha, hmmmm, juju and blood money and you are still dancing around with MMF. May God bless you though.
juju when my community is blessed with natural resources? Natural resources they use is feeding the whole nation? Dey play 🤣🤣🤣
1 2 3 ... 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 ... 524 Reply

Top 10 Mutual Fund Managers In NigeriaMutual Funds In Nigeria: Please Share Your ExperienceBest Nigerian Mutual Funds To Invest In?234

Treasury Bills In NigeriaCrypto Currency Investors ThreadNigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts

Viewing this topic: Retro9090, BuchyD, CopyJoe and 2 guest(s)