Stats: 3,330,989 members, 8,448,117 topics. Date: Sunday, 19 July 2026 at 07:06 PM

Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsOkpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals (4510 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by Richtaiwo(op): 9:45pm On Jun 25
Edo State Governor Monday Okpebholo has issued a blunt warning to criminals operating in the state: those who persist in crime will face prosecution, and he will personally sign their execution warrant.

Okpebholo made the declaration on Thursday during a parade of suspects at the Edo State Police Command headquarters in Benin City, where he also rewarded officers who arrested a suspect linked to Sunday’s kidnapping at the Vegetable Market.

“We are going to set up a special court to prosecute kidnappers and cultists. Within two weeks, the court is done with proceedings. I will sign your execution. We will take you to the Ring Road roundabout so that Edo people can watch. I will have no regret about it. Don’t take my simplicity for granted,” the governor said.

Governor Okpebholo said he acted swiftly after the Sunday incident, immediately directing the Commissioner of Police to ensure the perpetrators were caught. One suspect was subsequently arrested, one was neutralised during the operation, and two others remain at large.

“They will never find peace in Edo. The message to all criminals is that they will not go free after committing a crime in this state. You will be arrested. We are ready for you and your sponsors. We are working day and night to make sure this land is safe,” he said.

The governor also pushed back against criticism of the federal government’s handling of security, arguing that the results being recorded on the ground are evidence that President Bola Tinubu’s administration is funding security operatives effectively.

I wonder why people keep complaining that the president is not working. The president is funding the security operatives to function well. That is why we are happy about the results we are getting today,” Okpebholo said.

He appealed to Edo residents to steer clear of criminal activity, saying it is cheaper to live within one’s means than to gamble one’s life on crime.

Also, Speaking on Wednesday at the 2026 Ministers’ Conference organised by the Edo State chapter of the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) in Benin City, Okpebholo said insecurity remained a genuine concern.

The governor cited a recent report of an incident along Sapele Road that prompted him to deploy security operatives, only to discover “nothing had happened”.

“Our people are now going outside Edo to recruit criminals to help them do the job. They will kidnap somebody and hand the victim over to them in the bush,” Okpebholo said.

“Tomorrow you will see them driving expensive cars and building houses. How are they getting these things? They will tell you they are Yahoo Boys,” he added.

Okpebholo urged religious leaders not to intercede for anyone arrested in connection with criminal activity.

“Pastors, if you hear that I have arrested somebody, don’t come to beg me,” he told the congregation.

While acknowledging that Edo was “not entirely free of security challenges”, the governor insisted the situation was being exaggerated by those with political motives.

“All of this is just to bring this government down, to give it a bad name. It is not that we are free, but not in the way they are hyping it,” he said.

He assured residents that security operatives were working round the clock to prevent criminals from establishing a foothold in the state.

The governor also requested a special prayer for President Bola Tinubu, saying the President’s removal of the fuel subsidy, though painful, was responsible for the development now visible across Edo State.

Some of the clergymen in their remarks commended the governor for his commitment to faith and public service and prayed that he would complete his tenure strong and leave Edo better than he met it. They also praised him for the ongoing rehabilitation of the Benin-Sapele Road.
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&opi=89978449&url=https://www.channelstv.com/2026/06/18/okpebholo-threatens-death-warrant-for-criminals-rewards-police-over-vegetable-market-kidnap-arrest/&ved=2ahUKEwjr29_mnKOVAxWuTkEAHfMCCJIQFnoECDcQAQ&usg=AOvVaw0L19i95hq6-3GTbZQJH0Wl

Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by aswani(m): 6:44am On Jun 26
Richtaiwo:
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&opi=89978449&url=https://www.channelstv.com/2026/06/18/okpebholo-threatens-death-warrant-for-criminals-rewards-police-over-vegetable-market-kidnap-arrest/&ved=2ahUKEwjr29_mnKOVAxWuTkEAHfMCCJIQFnoECDcQAQ&usg=AOvVaw0L19i95hq6-3GTbZQJH0Wl
Not Ring road abeg, that's too central and too near the palace. Oluku Junction or even Ekosodin is better.

And yes I agree, time for kidnappers, who are cultists too, to get the death penalty without a right of appeal.
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by Antoeni(m): 9:36am On Jun 26
Mumu Governor Has Taken One Bold Step,
Nice one, He Didn't Wait to Be Reminded By Tinubu That He is The CSO of His State
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by reccy(m): 9:36am On Jun 26
Make Edo great again...

MEGA grin grin
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by Tenses: 9:38am On Jun 26
Mr. D7, if you are not a criminal yourself why then are you threatening instead of signing the damn thing.
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by ARISHEM:
Reasons why we have a frightening epidemic increase in terrorism is because those in authority refuse to sign the death warrants of bandits and terrorists sentenced to death and refusal to prosecute suspected ones. Instead they are sponsoring them on Hajj with millions of naira of tax payers money and integrating arrested terrorists into the society as repentant terrorists.

Yet they continue to drum it into our ears that we are winning the war on terrorism.
How. huh
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by davit: 9:38am On Jun 26
This is the Way to go.

Let's go back to the old ways of deterrence!
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by davit: 9:39am On Jun 26
This is the Way to go.

Let's go back to the old ways of deterrence!

Enough is enough
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by Curious345: 9:39am On Jun 26
Signing death warrants of criminals should be a thing of pride and joy for every governor .

Don't make a show of it . Do it quietly
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by LibertyRep: 9:39am On Jun 26
Still dey threaten?

Hope governors grow some balls.
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by mecuries(m): 9:40am On Jun 26
As it should be with the whole country... You don't reward criminals.
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by 3kay945(m): 9:43am On Jun 26
Is it not their constitutional right?

Why making it sound as if you're begging people or such. ?
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by Jayhome24: 9:46am On Jun 26
Pls sign it no need to evn think twice about it especially for kidnapper, bandit and cultist.
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by Wealthoptulent(m): 9:47am On Jun 26
MAYBE jus one BBATCH for a YEARis OKAY.. only PROVEN HARD CRIMINA@L$ PLS
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by Gotocourt: 9:47am On Jun 26
Act, zero noise. Treasury bandit angry
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by datola: 9:47am On Jun 26
“We are going to set up a special court to prosecute kidnappers and cultists. Within two weeks, the court is done with proceedings. I will sign your execution. We will take you to the Ring Road roundabout so that Edo people can watch. I will have no regret about it. Don’t take my simplicity for granted,” the governor said.

That will be very nice. Adams Osiomole did the same during his tenure.
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by ogelekpomgam(m): 9:50am On Jun 26
Abeg sign am ooo..
You go see how all the fulani bandits and terrorists go transform to smiling "aboki shine my shoe"..
The world will be a better place. cheesy grin cheesy wink
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by ElevationD: 9:52am On Jun 26
The first time this Governor has made a decisive statement without playing to the Tinubu gallery.

Hopefully Governors in the entire federation can copy. Hopefully also the President can copy this. There should be no room for amnesty. These evil people use amnesty as their escape route to receive allocations and return to the forests. Hopefully Governor Sheriff can copy this and flush out these evil people who have taken over the forests around the state, particularly in and around Ughelli, Warri, Ezi, Ubulu Uku, and especially Ogwashi uku and Abraka that have been battling robbery and cultism endlessly. Abraka has suffered endlessly from cultism issues since it was established.

To be punished must be facilitators and sponsors.

If Okpebolo achieves this, it will be a great pass mark when the security score card of Edo state is read. This is six days since he made the statement. Hopefully the tribunal should be ready in the next nine days or so.
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by Enddy50ty(m): 9:52am On Jun 26
Let him sign it against Fulani herdsmen and kidnappers
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by AcadaWriter0: 9:54am On Jun 26
Oh, absolutely. A perfectly reasonable and delightfully dramatic assessment.
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by Originalsly: 9:56am On Jun 26
Makes sense ... and will be verrry effective. Special Court ... two weeks accused is before the court ... skon after executed... publicly... consequences clear to everyone... it will serve as a deterrent. Presently.... we see kidnappers ... bandits ... murderers s arrested ... and that's the end ...we don't know if they ever go to court... if they buy their freedom ... or were released because of connections on.
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by DeltaBachelor(m): 10:01am On Jun 26
A very good one from Mr Monday
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by Branco6(m): 10:05am On Jun 26
Vote in a stark illiterate like this 🤡 that Apcheat serfs always remind us that his "appointment" is "politics" and this is the result
A serious lack of self awareness
EDUCATION NO BE SCAM
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by Sunshine34(m): 10:13am On Jun 26
Pls sign it now, stop massaging my brain, do it. we love it. Let them die
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by zoedew: 10:14am On Jun 26
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by commoditiesnig(m):
Very Good! That’s My Action Governor speaking!

Until Swift Death Penalty/Execution is meted to these Criminals, they won’t stop their nefarious activities
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by atobs4real(m): 10:32am On Jun 26
Please, sign off there execution. What is our own business with there useless life
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by NwokoloOwa: 10:51am On Jun 26
What is the threatening about? This Okpebholo man sef.
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by greypencils: 11:01am On Jun 26
Oga sign it! The judge has already passed the sentence already. Sign the fucking document
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by Femmyfamous4u(m): 11:01am On Jun 26
Governors failure to sign the death warrant is th me reasons for the nonsense we have been seeing. The execution should be made public as well.
Re: Okpebholo Threatens To Sign Death Warrants For Criminals by Bluntemperor: 11:08am On Jun 26
This is a Working Governor,After ANBROSE Ali of the Unity Government in the Awolowo Days ( remember the LOBO States -Lagos,Ondo,Bendel,Ogun ).
This Governor has Started Well, Kudos,to him 👏👍.
1 2 Reply

Falana: Prison Officials Arrange Young People To Serve Jail Terms For CriminalsHanifa Abubakar: I Won't Hesitate To Sign Death Sentence Of Killers - GandujeGanduje: Why Governors Are Afraid Of Signing Death Warrants234

Our Mission To Saudi Is To Thank The King – Ojo MaduekweFashola, Tinubu In Battle RoyaleFood Production: Nigerians Are Not Industrious!