England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 - Sports (15) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Entertainment › Sports › England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 (17095 Views)
1 2 3 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Reply (Go Down)
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by frog12: 7:36pm On Jul 01 |
Ivory Coast should be no. 2. Egypt not really good. Salah is not himself. e be like say na Africa teams dem wan thrash out Omoawoke: |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Angelfrost(m): 7:36pm On Jul 01 |
Kemetian:See ehn... Getting upset about the truth is not my fault. How many African teams have gone the distance in the history of the world cup?!! Even star-studded teams like Nigeria, Ghana, Senegal and Ivory Coast still play averagely at the big stage Abi, you want to argue that these teams I mentioned lack experienced, seasoned and exposed players?!! So, what is their excuse?!! Even Mexico doesn't have the quality of depth some of our African nations possess... Please don't argue, just do some damn research! Any small thing or criticism of our embedded mediocre way of doing things, una go begin dey para...! |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Walai(m): 7:36pm On Jul 01 |
Nothing special about them? Let's call a spade a spade, environment matters. We are no match for this people because our environment alone reduces iq and critical thinking. We are at the basic level of want for food and very poor in thinking out solutions to issues, the very reason fake churches and shrines are thriving here. No matter how you try to hide it, you can't come out from a shit hole environment with multidimensional poverty and expect to be at the same realm with someone from a sane climate. I'm pro black and pro African but let's tell ourselves the truth here. ibedun: |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by elevated2: 7:36pm On Jul 01 |
franchasng:I also noticed African teams tend to lose focus after 70 or so minutes especially when playing European teams. Something just happen in that moment. |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by LordLicifer(m): 7:37pm On Jul 01 |
Angelfrost:Exactly, they were afraid of the bloody England players. They were star struck, it is like meeting super stars for the DRC players |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Angelfrost(m): 7:38pm On Jul 01 |
frog12:Well, that's usually the way it goes with grouping. That's why some host nations hardly ever win the tournament. |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by easyelliot(m): 7:38pm On Jul 01 |
I miss when African teams attacked and went for goals I don’t know when this bend but don’t break football started |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Omotaday(m): 7:38pm On Jul 01 |
Hemanwel: LordLicifer:Una no sabi anything about football. I can bet una never touch ball b4 Respect kor, behaviour ni |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by TheCongo2: 7:39pm On Jul 01 |
ibedun:Thanks. Adding to that the majority of those players in African teams were born in Europe |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by easyelliot(m): 7:39pm On Jul 01 |
elevated2:Yep, our diet as professional footballers, heavy carbs, does not allow for stamina |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Dalohad: 7:40pm On Jul 01*. Modified: 8:39pm On Jul 01 |
The problem with most African teams is not quality of players, it is an attitude or courage problem. They fear top teams too much and give them much respect. Congo scored first and switched off their defensive button. Even when they had opportunities to attack and double their lead, they develop cold feet. Their new right winger was totally clueless about what to do with the ball. Had no offensive sense of ball and always ready to pass back like Mikel Obi. How can you win games if you don't have the courage to attack? The Ivorians did the same too, sitting tight and having too many heavy touches in the opponents half, when you should string passes and break the backs of opponent with creative passes, runs, and swift shots. Football's general principle is simple, the more shots you take, the more likely you are gonna score and win. Though there have been some exceptions of teams taking few shots and winning, but these are minority cases, if you check the general statistics.. African teams should learn from Morrocco, they believe they are at par with European teams or even better. They are courageous and very offensive at all times. You will never see them pass the ball back from the opponent's 18 yards box to the defense. They come at you very hard and fast. Back passing during offensive play shows cowardice and tells the opponent that you are clueless. It even gives your opponent the courage to leave their rear and come at you with all your their arsenal.. African teams, stop being afraid when you have the ball in your opponent's half. Face your fears and win.. |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by LordLicifer(m): 7:40pm On Jul 01 |
dominique:I tell you! they were afraid to tackle the bloody England players, as if they met super stars it was as if they were star struck |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Kemetian: 7:41pm On Jul 01 |
elevated2:Poor coaching is the problem. They also need team psychologists etc to raise self belief and aggression. The same African players play for France and last 90 minutes. |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Ojagun(m): 7:41pm On Jul 01 |
easyelliot: |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by GanagiBitrus: 7:41pm On Jul 01 |
saintbillion:Probably Top3 favourites. |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by frog12: 7:42pm On Jul 01 |
good. nigeria plays like moroccans ![]() victor moses and lookman. its fast pace football SpiritedCheer: |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by frog12: 7:43pm On Jul 01 |
no. na pot belly the players get Kemetian: |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Angelfrost(m): 7:43pm On Jul 01 |
Omoawoke:Actually, I kick the ball... And I have played the game well enough to know, not that it matters. You don't need to play to speak the facts if you read the game. If Cape verde and Ecuador had such mindsets, they would never have qualified from their groups. Morocco didn't become 6th in world ranking by condoning mediocrity. My issue with Congo was dropping the ball (literally) after going ahead... They had the game in their hands, England was shell shocked and reeling. They had a rare chance to finish them but chose to revert to deep defending... This makes no sense at all. |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by LordLicifer(m): 7:43pm On Jul 01 |
Omotaday:Oya! Tell us about football, tell us wetin happen! you wey sabi, you wey don play world cup match telll us! |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Willie2015: 7:43pm On Jul 01 |
Angelfrost:Morocco is good becos of the following reasons - 1.Unmatched Infrastructure and Funding 2.The European Diaspora Scouting Network 3.Professional Domestic League Structure Morocco has model its system to match what we have in Europe, its a structured national project. U cant match this level of structured system with other African nations like Congo, Nigeria etc that rely primarily on natural talent or individual player breakthroughs in Europe Depth means overall quality and quantity of players in a team. |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Rayjay45: 7:44pm On Jul 01 |
LordLicifer:There is a reason James' morning show is the most listened to in the whole of the UK while Nick Ferrari's doesn't even come close. Will leave it at that, mate. |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by frog12: 7:45pm On Jul 01 |
na laziness abeg. we play the fast pace football. yo no dey watch lookman and iwobi? Dalohad: |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by SpiritedCheer(f): 7:46pm On Jul 01 |
otokx:It has nothing to do with inferiority complex. African team have not figured out the concept of SPACE and PRESSURE. The moment I saw all the the way DR Congo were neither clogging spaces nor pressuring the ball carrier, I knew they will lose. The only African country that seem to have figured out the concept of clogging SPACES and PRESSURING a ball carrier is Morocco. For some strange reason, other African countries can't figure it out. That's why Nigeria never do well. African teams depend on skill and athleticism. Those are not enough. Morocco will go furthest than all African countries because they are playing the game exactly the way world class teams do. |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by LordLicifer(m): 7:46pm On Jul 01 |
goslowgoslow:Don't mind that one, i get your point you are right " we nor dey gradaute" every year, every 4 years no african country dey ever reach finals at least. |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Ojagun(m): 7:47pm On Jul 01 |
Omotaday:Leave them ![]() I can also bet those who you quoted dey carry potbellies ![]() No be Naija men again? ![]() |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Kalulu44: 7:47pm On Jul 01 |
See eh make we no lie, at the moment no striker reach Harry Kane for world football. He's just on a class of his own. |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by frog12: 7:47pm On Jul 01 |
and yet they stilll lost to senegal in AFC ![]() and were using underhand corrupt tactics to win Willie2015: |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Kemetian: 7:48pm On Jul 01 |
frog12:Those are Naija Boyz nau...... He is talking about other African countries. |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Angelfrost(m): 7:48pm On Jul 01 |
Willie2015:Lol... okay. Let's keep making excuses na. I heard these excuses when Morocco was nowhere near top 20 in the world... Today, they have taken themselves up while the rest of us are still making excuses. That said... In today's game, that meant nothing... If Congo had maintained that pressure and taken their chances, England would have been disgraced out. Senegal did it to France in 2002... Morocco dusted out Portugal last world cup. Self belief can do wonders... Go and watch how Mexico plays. |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by SpiritedCheer(f): 7:48pm On Jul 01 |
Willie2015:Absolute Nonsense. African team have not figured out the concept of SPACE and PRESSURE. The moment I saw all the the way DR Congo were neither clogging spaces nor pressuring the ball carrier, I knew they will lose. The only African country that seem to have figured out the concept of clogging SPACES and PRESSURING a ball carrier is Morocco. For some strange reason, other African countries can't figure it out. That's why Nigeria never do well. African teams depend on skill and athleticism. Those are not enough. Morocco will go furthest than all African countries because they are playing the game exactly the way world class teams do. |
| Re: England Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 1st July 2026 by Bahamas95(m): 7:48pm On Jul 01 |
Canada don't have the weight to stop Morocco.......I see Morocco going further. Other African teams should take a clue from Morocco, there's something they're doing right. |
Brazil Vs Japan: World Cup 2026 Round Of 32 (2 - 1) On 29th June 2026 • Portugal Vs DR Congo: World Cup 2026 (1 - 1) On 17th June 2026 • Nigeria Vs DR Congo: 2026 World Cup Play-Off Finals 1(3 - 4)1 On Nov 16 2025 • 2 • 3 • 4
Serie A: Osimhen Irreplaceable At Napoli – Capello • Ghana Fans Write-Off Super Eagles • Video Of Asisat Oshoala's 4th Goal In 4 Games For Barcelona
Viewing this topic: 2 guest(s)