Stats: 3,143,483 members, 7,781,442 topics. Date: Friday, 29 March 2024 at 02:28 PM

Mutual Funds - Investment (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Investment / Mutual Funds (945893 Views)

Top 10 Mutual Fund Managers In Nigeria / Mutual Funds In Nigeria: Please Share Your Experience / Best Nigerian Mutual Funds To Invest In? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (318) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Mutual Funds by ifyalways(f): 8:35am On Oct 05, 2014
@Ernie, for NigFund, is principal 100% secured and guaranteed?
What is the interest rate, if any?
carpenter:

Unit trust is just a general name for all those funds we have been talking about. This might help http://www.first-trustees.com/page.php?item=Unit+Trust+Scheme&tag1=Products+and+Services
Thanks jare.
Re: Mutual Funds by sextail(m): 9:25am On Oct 05, 2014
ernie4life:

Yea just walk in and make your investment, but please make sure you get the right information about the mutual funds before investing

thanks, do you know any office of deirs in ibadan, or its just the bank i will walk into
Re: Mutual Funds by ernie4life(m): 8:30am On Oct 06, 2014
ifyalways:
@Ernie, for NigFund, is principal 100% secured and guaranteed?
What is the interest rate, if any?

Thanks jare.

Yea both capital and interest is gguaranteed.the interest rate is 10%
Re: Mutual Funds by ernie4life(m): 8:31am On Oct 06, 2014
sextail:

thanks, do you know any office of deirs in ibadan, or its just the bank i will walk into
depends on which investment house u want to buy there mutual funds.
Re: Mutual Funds by sextail(m): 9:51pm On Oct 07, 2014
ernie4life:

depends on which investment house u want to buy there mutual funds.

KGIF and Stanbic Offices
Re: Mutual Funds by Comsol: 1:25am On Oct 08, 2014
Great thread! I have been investing in mutual fund for over 5 years now. Mutual fund made me to start learning about investment in general. At the moment, while I still invest in mutual as part of my diversification strategy, I do more of stocks.

I invest with ARM mutual fund and they've been wonderful. They pay yearly dividends, and the ROI is quite encouraging based on the instruments. Currently I only have stake in their ARM AGF and Discovery fund instruments which I prefer the AGF because its more exposed to equities and that's cool for me and fits my strategy.

It will be interesting to note that mutual funds are very much good for longterm investment. If you're investing for the short term, this financial vehicle is not suitable for you I'm afraid.

Attached is a factsheet which I believe could help those that would be interested in starting up a mutual fund investment.

http://www.arminvestmentcenter.com/individual-investors/products-and-services/compare-our-mutual-funds/

Please do more research about any investment you intend to put your hard earned money.

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Mutual Funds by ernie4life(m): 7:51am On Oct 08, 2014
sextail:

KGIF and Stanbic Offices

kgif is managed by Investment One and the don't have an office in Ibadan but the have two offices in lagos, I think stanbic has an office in Ibadan. note that most of this transactions can be done online, distance is not a barrier
Re: Mutual Funds by ernie4life(m): 7:56am On Oct 08, 2014
Comsol:
Great thread! I have been investing in mutual fund for over 5 years now. Mutual fund made me to start learning about investment in general. At the moment, while I still invest in mutual as part of my diversification strategy, I do more of stocks.

I invest with ARM mutual fund and they've been wonderful. They pay yearly dividends, and the ROI is quite encouraging based on the instruments. Currently I only have stake in their ARM AGF and Discovery fund instruments which I prefer the AGF because its more exposed to equities and that's cool for me and fits my strategy.

It will be interesting to note that mutual funds are very much good for longterm investment. If you're investing for the short term, this financial vehicle is not suitable for you I'm afraid.

Attached is a factsheet which I believe could help those that would be interested in starting up a mutual fund investment.

http://www.arminvestmentcenter.com/individual-investors/products-and-services/compare-our-mutual-funds/

Please do more research about any investment you intend to put your hard earned money.

nice post, could u elaborate more like what's the minimum investment, what's the interest rate, is the interest guaranteed, what is the tax implications and what's the duration of the investment.
Re: Mutual Funds by princeuk21(m): 4:54pm On Oct 08, 2014
Good job ernie.
Re: Mutual Funds by princeuk21(m): 5:19pm On Oct 08, 2014
Ok let me drop more light on KGIF, kgif is a product of kakawa which is now investment one. I had to pay a visit to their office in Portharcourt and one fair lady explained everything to me. For those who can not part with their principal, your principal is safe and you will always receive an interest rate of 12% on your principal. Interest is paid two times in a year and the investment is for 1year and above. If you have any question you can ask am here to assist you guys
Re: Mutual Funds by carpenter(m): 6:44am On Oct 09, 2014
A thought just came to me and sure am not the first to think about this...maybe it exists already.

Is there any index fund for trading in forex? Where several people pull capital together and a fund manager manages the fund the way we have them managing mutual funds.
Re: Mutual Funds by ernie4life(m): 7:23am On Oct 09, 2014
carpenter:
A thought just came to me and sure am not the first to think about this...maybe it exists already.

Is there any index fund for trading in forex? Where several people pull capital together and a fund manager manages the fund the way we have them managing mutual funds.

never heard of such
Re: Mutual Funds by Kennyfancy(m): 1:02pm On Oct 09, 2014
sunboy:
I think i would give ARMa chance, i was at their office yesterday. Their staff that attended to me adviced that i just go for the Money Market Fund because my principal is guaranteed, and that they have a fixed interest of 11% currently they pay quarterly and a daily changes happen to my fund which have no effect on 11% pay out.
Minimum initial investment of 50,000
Additional is in 25k

What do you guys suggest? any body done the money market fund by ARM to confirm or debunk this claim ?
u mean 11% after six month, dat is nt up to 10 thousand naira, am i right ?

Re: Mutual Funds by Kennyfancy(m): 1:05pm On Oct 09, 2014
carpenter:

yes, plenty, contact me, i will give u enough infor, some of the company are own by nairaland member. One is already trading for me
Re: Mutual Funds by Kennyfancy(m): 1:07pm On Oct 09, 2014
princeuk21:
Ok let me drop more light on KGIF, kgif is a product of kakawa which is now investment one. I had to pay a visit to their office in Portharcourt and one fair lady explained everything to me. For those who can not part with their principal, your principal is safe and you will always receive an interest rate of 12% on your principal. Interest is paid two times in a year and the investment is for 1year and above. If you have any question you can ask am here to assist you guys
pls the 12% is it every month or ones in six month ?
Re: Mutual Funds by ogawisdom(m): 1:34pm On Oct 09, 2014
Kennyfancy:

12 percent per year ie 6percent in 6months or 1percent per month whichever way u want to express it

100k gives 12k per year n 6k in 6months

Re: Mutual Funds by carpenter(m): 1:45pm On Oct 09, 2014
Kennyfancy:
yes, plenty, contact me, i will give u enough infor, some of the company are own by nairaland member. One is already trading for me
Hmmm...that's interesting.

Unfortunately, I am looking for established companies like the ones we invest Mutual Funds with.

Thanks for the offer.
Re: Mutual Funds by Nobody: 5:09pm On Oct 09, 2014
Kennyfancy:
u mean 11% after six month, dat is nt up to 10 thousand naira, am i right ?

Nope! Quarter is 3months.
Re: Mutual Funds by princeuk21(m): 7:29pm On Oct 09, 2014
Kennyfancy:
6% every 6 month =12% in a year
Re: Mutual Funds by ifyalways(f): 9:28pm On Oct 09, 2014
carpenter:

Unfortunately, I am looking for established companies like the ones we invest Mutual Funds with.

Thanks for the offer.
Hehehe.

Hustlers everywhere.
Re: Mutual Funds by ifyalways(f): 9:45pm On Oct 09, 2014
I need some clarifications please :

Example :
One invests 50,000 on KGIF.
Instructs that dividends be re-invested.
So, after 6 months and 6% dividend payout, he will now have 53,000 as principal right? By the end of the financial year ie another six months he has 56,180 as principal. As opposed to getting just 56,000 at the end of 12 months.
I just hope someone gets my drift. Need to know if i've been short changed undecided

Re: Mutual Funds by carpenter(m): 6:21am On Oct 10, 2014
ifyalways:
Example :
So, after 6 months and 6% dividend payout, he will now have 53,000 as principal right? By the end of the financial year ie another six months he has 56,180 as principal. As opposed to getting just 56,000 at the end of 12 months.
I just hope someone gets my drift. Need to know if i've been short changed undecided

Yes your maths is about right. The difference may look small considering the amount involved but if you don't need the dividends immediately better to re-invest it. It also helps you to develop a plan you can continue to follow even when you have 50m in there.

Re: Mutual Funds by ernie4life(m): 7:00am On Oct 10, 2014
ifyalways:

Example :

yes that's what it is

Re: Mutual Funds by ifyalways(f): 9:18am On Oct 10, 2014
ernie4life:

yes that's what it is
Oh thanks.

carpenter:

Yes your maths is about right. The difference may look small considering the amount involved but if you don't need the dividends immediately better to re-invest it. It also helps you to develop a plan you can continue to follow even when you have 50m in there.
Thanks. Every penny counts so man must calculate well.
Re: Mutual Funds by eripecs(f): 3:24pm On Oct 10, 2014
ifyalways:

Oh thanks.

Thanks. Every penny counts so man must calculate well.
@ ifyalways, na u carry me come here again. i hope to take dis bold step n join you soon. am yet to recover from some losses of so called investment not this type though. all d best.
Re: Mutual Funds by Nobody: 6:59pm On Oct 10, 2014
carpenter:

There are many of them out there. Many FX brokers offer what's called PAMM(Percentage Allocation Money Management) account(s). But requires a bit huge capital ($1,000-5,000 upward) and It's very risky when compared to stock trading. Brother, everything can vanish in just a few seconds, I've to be honest with you. The reward is very high, depending on the experience of the trader/fund manager handling the fund.

Never trade with an unregulated forex broker. Deal only with brokers where they are regulated by 3 following countries: US, Swiss and UK(Personally, I prefer UK 'cos of FCA tough regulations).

You might want to check out an example of how PAMMs work as offered by some reputable and regulated forex brokers - Dukascopy, Corner Trader (not a recommendation, though).

Re: Mutual Funds by Ikazuagbe(m): 8:41pm On Oct 10, 2014
Has anybody received dividend from Stanbic Ibtc Money Market fund Q3 2014?
Re: Mutual Funds by carpenter(m): 7:27am On Oct 11, 2014
sys007:

There are many of them out there. Many FX brokers offer what's called PAMM(Percentage Allocation Money Management) account(s). But requires a bit huge capital ($1,000-5,000 upward) and It's very risky when compared to stock trading. Brother, everything can vanish in just a few seconds, I've to be honest with you. The reward is very high, depending on the experience of the trader/fund manager handling the fund.
Never trade with an unregulated forex broker. Deal only with brokers where they are regulated by 3 following countries: US, Swiss and UK(Personally, I prefer UK 'cos of FCA tough regulations).
You might want to check out an example of how PAMMs work as offered by some reputable and regulated forex brokers - Dukascopy, Corner Trader (not a recommendation, though).

Thank you. I will do some research.

Re: Mutual Funds by Kennyfancy(m): 7:51am On Oct 11, 2014
carpenter:

Thanks for the offer.
pm me, we hav many that ar even more popular than mutual, most ar even foreign company with strong root in nigeria
Re: Mutual Funds by carpenter(m): 8:13am On Oct 11, 2014
Kennyfancy:
pm me, we hav many that ar even more popular than mutual, most ar even foreign company with strong root in nigeria

Old boy, na b forcegrin

Post whatever information you have here jor...

Re: Mutual Funds by princeuk21(m): 3:18pm On Oct 12, 2014
carpenter:

Old boy, na b forcegrin

Post whatever information you have here jor...
Re: Mutual Funds by ifyalways(f): 5:39pm On Oct 13, 2014
eripecs:
@ ifyalways, na u carry me come here again. i hope to take dis bold step n join you soon. am yet to recover from some losses of so called investment not this type though. all d best.

You are welcome. No pain, no gain.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (318) (Reply)

MBA Investors Forum / Crypto Currency Investors Thread / Treasury Bills In Nigeria

Viewing this topic: 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 74