Stats: 3,149,852 members, 7,806,409 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 April 2024 at 04:00 PM

Thread For PHD Students - Education (9) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / Thread For PHD Students (325626 Views)

Which University In Nigeria or abroad Accepts 3.0 Msc Grade For Phd Admission? / 4 Good Reason Why You Should Go For Phd And 7 Bad Reasons Why You Should Not / Presidential Scholarship Scheme For Ist Class Nigerian Graduates For Phd Abroad (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) ... (105) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Thread For PHD Students by Nobody: 2:07am On Dec 19, 2014
sirRiddy:
If you have been following the thread, sir, you would know better than not to respond to him. Please, resist any urge to get into any sort of derailing with him. Let us stick to the thread. Thanks.
That is an excuse to run away from the truth of the matter. It is clear most Nigerian PhD holders are not qualified to defend what they have in the public.

Thank you.

Re: Thread For PHD Students by lindiwey: 2:13am On Dec 19, 2014
all4naija:
I am not impressed!

Mr Over sabi English wizard,Who cares? Mtshewwww! You havnt said anything to encourage anyone yours is just to watch out for grammatical errors and condemn.who send u? Na essay competition? Abeg go siddon we know your type.na by English?

Re: Thread For PHD Students by Nobody: 2:13am On Dec 19, 2014
lindiwey:

Mr Over sabi English wizard,Who cares? Mtshewwww! You havnt said anything to encourage anyone yours is just to watch out for grammatical errors and condemn.who send u? Na essay competition? Abeg go siddon we know your type.na by English?

[img]http://bossip.files./2012/11/screen-shot-2012-11-17-at-9-57-30-am-e1353164499729.png?w=636&h=443[/img]

Re: Thread For PHD Students by Ilekeh(f): 2:21am On Dec 19, 2014
PtitLapin:

Having the same research interests is definitely paramount! It will determine the kind of opportunities you will have during and after the program and the bonding you will have with your Supervisor. Another tip for applicants is to make sure you strategically choose your Supervisor; don't allow the school to select one for you! My first choice for a Supervisor left the school for a UN job and so my school chose a Supervisor to replace her. It was hell because we didn't have anything in common. I battled to change my situation, the battle is ongoing smiley

My sister, tell me about it. I have several PhD friends that are battling the same issue as yours.

As for you, I wish you the best. There's light at the end of every tunnel.

Re: Thread For PHD Students by Nobody: 2:26am On Dec 19, 2014
Nigeria is in deep sh*t! This is the nation I praise every day! angry lipsrsealed cry
Re: Thread For PHD Students by asititis: 2:46am On Dec 19, 2014
BSN Nursing
Masters Public Health
PHD Healthcare management

Re: Thread For PHD Students by PrettyPie(f): 2:54am On Dec 19, 2014
BSC Microbiology

MSc Biology

Currently doing a PhD in the US (in my second year).

Just joined nairaland. Feel kinda exposed cheesy

Re: Thread For PHD Students by lockupman(m): 3:11am On Dec 19, 2014
You have to state precisely what country you intend doing your postgraduate studies. I can lead you through the process if you intend studying in the US or Germany. Better still, you can check this thread for more info:https://www.nairaland.com/1869186/general-u.s.a-student-visa-enquiries-part/1

hilsocial:
My name is Hilary. I just graduated from FUTO ( Agric Economics) . I am interested in doing my M.Sc and Ph.D but i want to know how many years it will take for each and the average cost for each in Nigerian Universities and abroad. Thank you for your anticipated response.
Re: Thread For PHD Students by Nobody: 3:18am On Dec 19, 2014
Re: Thread For PHD Students by OCcool: 3:41am On Dec 19, 2014
Please, I hold a Bsc degree in Microbiology and I intend to get a Master in Public Health MPH (Epidemiology). With an MPH degree, can I pursue a PhD program? Thanks in advance for your responses.
cc asititis
Re: Thread For PHD Students by Lamexx(m): 4:10am On Dec 19, 2014
PrettyPie:
BSC Microbiology

MSc Biology

Welcome onboard Nairaland sista.
Re: Thread For PHD Students by Nobody: 4:47am On Dec 19, 2014
Good day friends.....

I am happy to see this kind of thread on FP. I have been a guest for 6 years....finally got a reason to join...to connect with intellectuals.

BTech Pure and Applied Chemistry (Nigeria)
MSc Inorganic Chemistry (Nigeria)
PhD Inorganic and Physical Chemistry (India) - 3rd year
Area of research: Design and Synthesis of Supramolecular Architectures for Sensing, Catalysis and Biological Applications

chemashie:
BSc Industrial Chemistry
MSc Physical Chemistry (Electrochemistry)
PhD Physical /Organic Chemistry (South Africa)
My area of research involves synthesis and characterizations of supramolecular compounds for nonlinear optics applications.

Nice to see you here brother......mind connecting for collaborations?

Re: Thread For PHD Students by beentarh(f): 4:59am On Dec 19, 2014
B.Ed Educational Management, M.Ed Educational Management, PhD Educational Administration and Policy in view
Re: Thread For PHD Students by Nobody: 5:36am On Dec 19, 2014
I had first class from university of Okirika and now doing my PHD in the University of Otuoke.

Its very difficult to see PHD holders in Europe and America but in our dear country, PHD holders are everywhere yet we cant speak good English or produce tooth pick.
Our engineers r the worst, they cant even fix their car instead they patronize road side mechanics.

Here on NL, we saw pics of NYSC members flying toy plane made in China and they call it drone made in Nigeria.
Re: Thread For PHD Students by aspirebig: 5:59am On Dec 19, 2014
Kokopos:

My dear I have HND, PGD AND MBA. Years back I tried 3 Universities for Phd but was turned down because I have HND. I went back to open university for a Bsc. Am now in my 2nd semester of 400L. Once am done with Bsc even before final result comes out I will quickly register for Msc management with my PGD management because MBA might not also get me a Phd admission.

HND and MBA cannot give you a Phd admission. .
B.Sc and M.Sc will
Re: Thread For PHD Students by engrfcuksmtin(m): 6:07am On Dec 19, 2014
obinoral1179:
lovely sir. My regards to Dr aruleba and co in the dept of crop and soil science dept.
Oh! Are you a graduate of CSE? Am in d first set, class of 2005. The first treasurer of NAAS and the 2nd president. Dr Aruleba is one of the co supervisors for my research work.
Re: Thread For PHD Students by ujoatu(m): 6:11am On Dec 19, 2014
B.Sc Sociology
M.Sc Ind Soc & Pers Mgt
PhD Ind Soc &Pers Mgt IMSU
Re: Thread For PHD Students by fapcrook(m): 6:12am On Dec 19, 2014
adioolayi:
BSc. Microbiology FUNAAB..work on Bio ethanol

MSc Food and Industrial microbiology FUNAAB..work on Biodiesel

PhD in view ..Industrial Microbiology...Further work on Biodiesel (or bio detergent... Not decided yet)
can u link up wt my mama at prof Bankoles office at Unaab if possible next week,
Re: Thread For PHD Students by binie: 6:14am On Dec 19, 2014
BSc sociology
MA criminology n criminal justice
Phd criminology n criminal justice
Re: Thread For PHD Students by aspirebig: 6:21am On Dec 19, 2014
Kokopos:

You need minimum of 3.5 over 5.0 in MSc before you can apply for Phd.

With MBA getting Phd admission might be difficult. I also have MBA but looking forward to Msc management. My advice is that people should not bother about MBA instead go for MSc, since MSc management can also go for MBA but MBA cannot be seen as MSc in academic terms.

MBA is desired for some career path, it can be use to go for DBA which is also a doctorate degree, however M.sc has a wider scope, not only in the academic but even in career path too.That is why most people go for M.sc...So they can start their Phd any time. I did MBA, after B.sc before M.sc ....

So MBA can land you a job that even Phd will be dreaming of, so it is not a waste.
Re: Thread For PHD Students by endy231: 6:26am On Dec 19, 2014
BSc. Health Education
Med. Health and safety education (in view)
Research interest: substance abuse in southern Nigeria, Electronic media and health effects.

God bless this thread

Re: Thread For PHD Students by fapcrook(m): 6:28am On Dec 19, 2014
Dereformer:
This thread would have been more meaningful if posters include their age , marrital status and occupation.

It will go a long way in encouraging some of us who think age is no longer on our side and with families to take care of.

Anything is possible if you believe.
age on your side for PhD? Will encourage u to go ahead, my mum with 3 undegraduates in d university started her PhD in 2012 and is doing well. All things bn equal will finish next year and graduate with one of us ,an engineer next year. She reads as if someone is taking all books away , so pls dont let age be your barrier at all

Re: Thread For PHD Students by merbenko: 6:29am On Dec 19, 2014
B.Sc =Economics/Education
M.ed = Measurement and Evaluation
Waiting for Phd Admission next year to roll on.
Re: Thread For PHD Students by Sheggy13(m): 6:36am On Dec 19, 2014
sirRiddy:
Nice profile, sir. I just got a first degree in Computer science this year. I intend to go for a masters degree in Computer Science too. My research interests are software engineering, project management and operation research. I do not have any research experience but I need to do some critique on some scholarly works of prospective graduate school advisors. I do not know how to go about this. How can I build my research acumen with the little opportunities available in the country? I would be grateful to have a comprehensive recommendation from you, sir.
Software Engineering is one nice area to delve into. I'm guessing you're thinking in the line of graduate school advisors abroad and not Nigeria, right? If it's for those abroad, researchgate.net is a good place to start. Try to register an account with them. There are loads of scholars there from all parts of the world, an you can narrow your interests to specific areas of specialisation. Give it a try first and let's see what u come up with. Google scholars is another way to go. There are loads of options.

Re: Thread For PHD Students by Nobody: 6:49am On Dec 19, 2014
B.Sc. Plant Science
M.Sc. Genetics and molecular biology
Ph.D. (In view) Genetics and plant breeding.

Re: Thread For PHD Students by Nobody: 6:55am On Dec 19, 2014
BSc_Accounting/Education (AAU). . .DONE!
M.Ed_Accounting/Edu.(UNIBEN). . .DONE!
Current Programme: ACCA
PhD_Accounting/Education. . .NEXT!
Current Age:27
Current Occupation: Accountant
Current Sector:Banking
Dream Occupation: Lecturing
Marital Status: Single
Current City: Fct

Re: Thread For PHD Students by luvkia(m): 6:56am On Dec 19, 2014
B.Sc. Accounting
M.Sc. Accounting and Finance
Ph.D. Accounting and Finance (first year)
I'll like to share with similar interest

Re: Thread For PHD Students by pricelessmr: 6:57am On Dec 19, 2014
Nice thread. Following.

PhD Biomedical Engineering on my mind.

Re: Thread For PHD Students by ttmacoy: 7:01am On Dec 19, 2014
Nice thread guys.

BSc Biochemistry
MSc Applied Molecular Technology
PhD Biology (admitted to start next year)

Re: Thread For PHD Students by fapcrook(m): 7:07am On Dec 19, 2014
PrettyPie:
BSC Microbiology

MSc Biology

what is your area of specialization now?
Re: Thread For PHD Students by Nobody: 7:14am On Dec 19, 2014
Bachelors: Economics & Politics-- Australia
M.Sc: International Economics-- Australia
M.Sc: Development Economics-- Australia
PhD: Economics-- NZ (2nd year)

Re: Thread For PHD Students by Plshavmercyamen: 7:16am On Dec 19, 2014
9jacrip:
B.A (Hons) History and International Studies.

M.A Peace and Conflict Studies.

PhD Peace and Conflict Studies (in view).

Wow! Nice one. Please, which versity?

(1) (2) (3) ... (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) ... (105) (Reply)

2018/2019 Admission Process Thread Guide / 2016/2017 UTME And Admission Process Thread / Apply for 2018/2019 PTDF Scholarship in Germany/France/China

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 44