Stats: 3,163,096 members, 7,852,701 topics. Date: Friday, 07 June 2024 at 01:24 AM

Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC - NYSC - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / NYSC / Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC (33558 Views)

Why You Should Choose Kano Instead Of Abuja & Akwa Ibom During NYSC Registration / NCCF Family House Demolished In Zamfara / 10 Reasons Why You Should Consider Staying In Family House During NYSC (2) (3) (4)

Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by Nobody: 9:40pm On Jan 30, 2015
First I must admit that this thread was inspired by XtraSmooth404's thread. I seek to give all potential corp members a glimpse of the other side of the coin since the author of the other thread did not dwell on that.

Without further delay, here are some reasons why you shouldn't stay in a family house during NYSC:

1. Privacy
If you are someone who cherishes his/her privacy or if you haven't lived a hostle life before then don't consider staying in a family house. If you are also in a relationship then family house is a no no. If you certainly like others disturbing you during your sleep or reading time and if you like others misusing your stuff, then you have no problem. Go ahead and stay there.
Also, if you don't mind logding your friends or relatives in a hotel or motel when they come visiting and want to stay with you for some time, family house is just for you grin

2. Food
Your freedom to cook and eat what you want will be limited. Even if the food is bad you will also have to manage it. If you don't mind contributing money to offset family house cooking expenses and then staying away from the food then family house is just for you. grin

3. Poor Cultural Assimilation
One important essence of NYSC is to get you to undersand and assimilate the culture of the people where your are serving so as to promote unity amongst Nigerians. Staying in family house will deny you, to a large extent, of such opportunity. By residing in a family house, you restrict yourself to interacting, most times, with fellow corp members. Thus you hardly get to mix with and understand the people in your community

4. Security
This is specially for those staying in volatile and violence prone states. Staying in a family house can make you all an easy target for marauders and haters.

Other reasons abound but I have to stop here to do something else. Feel free to add or constructively criticize.

Martins

18 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by Nobody: 9:50pm On Jan 30, 2015
XtraSmooth404 what do you think?

Modified
Thanks to the mods who moved this piece to FP. Honestly I was beginning to think that the witches and wizards in my village have held a meeting to prevent me from smelling FP ever again. Alas! I was wrong. Seun Lalasticlala Obinoscopy una thank you.

Nairaland will never die
Halleluyah!!
Mass enlightment will never cease
Halleluyah!!

Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by Ameboperoo(m): 9:56pm On Jan 30, 2015
This must also be moved to fp o
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by siegfried99(m): 10:05pm On Jan 30, 2015
@OP, let them papa and mamas catch u cheesy cheesy grin

Too many hypocrites in Nccf though. tongue

22 Likes 1 Share

Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by Nobody: 10:25pm On Jan 30, 2015
siegfried99:

From spreading the gospel, they are gradually turning NCCF to a fund raising business venture. Watching in 3D sha grin

Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by ajoskele(m): 10:40pm On Jan 30, 2015
Omoh, people badt gan ni oo...
OP, u badt gan ni..counter-thread things...Buh sincerely you have good points there. Though a Yoruba serving in SW, I have learnt more about Yoruba culture and all ethics.

#march2ndOnMyBusyMind #noMoreFebruary12pop
#giveMeMyDischargeCertificate
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by XtraSmooth404: 11:08pm On Jan 30, 2015
Martins301:
XtraSmooth404 what do you think?
I surely have points here too. I'll be back soon. I gat important business tomorrow grin
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by Odunharry(m): 11:36pm On Jan 30, 2015
Family house is nice bt there is nothing like privacy

i love my privacy

lalasticlala,ishilove
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by yokiti: 3:25pm On Jan 31, 2015
One man's food is another man's poison.
If your priorities align with NCCF or any other fellowship guidelines, you can pitch your tent there but if not, you wont be forced to stay put.
Remember, life is all about sacrifice, be rest assured that you wont regret making that sacrifice if you pitch your tent with these fellowship during your service( other things being equal because the human factors cant be neglected)
NCCF will never die, rural rugged will never die.

NCCF, we are one big happy family
with every tribes and tongue
oh oh oh oh an denomination
let's be a blessing to fatherland and humanity
oh oh oh oh, and seve the Lord as one
in the days of our youth.
Do you this family?

25 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by Nobody: 9:03pm On Jan 31, 2015
yokiti:
One man's food is another man's poison.
If your priorities align with NCCF or any other fellowship guidelines, you can pitch your tent there but if not, you wont be forced to stay put.
Remember, life is all about sacrifice, be rest assured that you wont regret making that sacrifice if you pitch your tent with these fellowship during your service( other things being equal because the human factors cant be neglected)
NCCF will never die, rural rugged will never die.

NCCF, we are one big happy family
with every tribes and tongue
oh oh oh oh an denomination
let's be a blessing to fatherland and humanity
oh oh oh oh, and seve the Lord as one
in the days of our youth.
Do you this family?

Which post u dey hold for NCCF?

Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by Harmodle1: 4:32pm On Feb 02, 2015
May God almighty wil help Us,Family Aox is nt a Bad Idea,Its tru 1 wil b denied of sm tins bt if 1 want 2 b truely rooted in Lord,2 Me sm Pipo want privacy al in d nam of doin wat's nt right.Brethen lets b renewed in Our Mind

Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by Nobody: 11:01pm On Feb 02, 2015
Harmodle1:
May God almighty wil help Us,Family Aox is nt a Bad Idea,Its tru 1 wil b denied of sm tins bt if 1 want 2 b truely rooted in Lord,2 Me sm Pipo want privacy al in d nam of doin wat's nt right.Brethen lets b renewed in Our Mind

The aim of the post is to give you a balanced perception. .noone is forcing u to stay or not stay in family house. . . . .

Seun Lalasticlala ishilove front page please
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by mencade4: 10:33am On Feb 04, 2015
siegfried99:

very true
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by eunylondon(f): 4:03pm On Feb 04, 2015
Am prospective batch A 2015 corper. Of a truth, I like privacy very much n I can't imagine staying in d family house. But my question is....can one stay in d family house after camp for few days so as to enable u to search for a house Cos u hv to find where to sleep for days wen searching for a house..n am not cut out for d hotel thing. Pls I need reply....
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by Nobody: 8:30pm On Feb 04, 2015
eunylondon:
Am prospective batch A 2015 corper. Of a truth, I like privacy very much n I can't imagine staying in d family house. But my question is....can one stay in d family house after camp for few days so as to enable u to search for a house Cos u hv to find where to sleep for days wen searching for a house..n am not cut out for d hotel thing. Pls I need reply....

What happened to me was that the corpers in my community back then came to welcome us at the local government. Thereafter we headed back to the community with them. We got there and we all went to the central meeting place for corpers in the community. Some call it corpers lodge, we call it white house. There, all corpers on ground welcomed us. There was little refreshment. Afterwards, each of the old corp member took charge of one or two of the new corp member. We stayed with him for two days, using the opportunity to do the school clearance and also look for accomodation. We then travelled home for 2 weeks to prepare adequately for the service year and bring our personal effects. Hope you get the picture?
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by eunylondon(f): 9:57pm On Feb 04, 2015
Martins301:

What happened to me was that the corpers in my community back then came to welcome us at the local government. Thereafter we headed back to the community with them. We got there and we all went to the central meeting place for corpers in the community. Some call it corpers lodge, we call it white house. There, all corpers on ground welcomed us. There was little refreshment. Afterwards, each of the old corp member took charge of one or two of the new corp member. We stayed with him for two days, using the opportunity to do the school clearance and also look for accomodation. We then travelled home for 2 weeks to prepare adequately for the service year and bring our personal effects. Hope you get the picture?
Yes dear, Tanx a lot!

Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by Odunharry(m): 12:36am On Feb 05, 2015
eunylondon:
we need to talk
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by johnshagb(m): 8:03pm On Feb 06, 2015
5. Your chances of knacking akpako is greatly reduced

Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by Faibuhari: 8:04pm On Feb 06, 2015
Which kain NYsC thread be all dis
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by DeCritique(m): 8:05pm On Feb 06, 2015
gbam
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by Faibuhari: 8:05pm On Feb 06, 2015
Family house is the best if you want to save money
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by adedayourt(m): 8:05pm On Feb 06, 2015
If a go bck nd serve na family ouz sure pass
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by DeCritique(m): 8:06pm On Feb 06, 2015
Gbam!! I smelt this thread from afar...

Nairaland and counter threads, na wa ooooh!!
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by DeCritique(m): 8:06pm On Feb 06, 2015
Your points are actually valid and I agree with you totally smiley
Re: Reasons Why You Shouldn't Stay In Family House During NYSC by Jamean(f): 8:06pm On Feb 06, 2015
Not every family house operates same way. I stayed in a family house, yet my privacy wasn't infringed, because it wasn't like "dugbe". grin

I can relate with the food, not eating what you really want and the quantity as well.

But, I won't stay in a family house where only your khakhi is the trouser you can wear as a lady.

Whatever their reasons, it's hypocrisy to me undecided

But please, if you're not capable of renting a place and your ppa doesn't give you, jejely stay in family house. undecided

NYSC Slashing Number Of PCM From Each Tertiary Institutions / How To Successfully Process Your NYSC Redeployment / Batch A 2013 Corpers Where Is Your PPA

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 38