Stats: 3,151,050 members, 7,810,899 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 05:58 PM

Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive - Family - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Family / Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive (5032 Views)

'Doctors Told My Wife She Can't Conceive A Baby But Look At Us Now'. Photos / My Husband Broke Up With Me Because I'm Yet To Conceive. Losing My Mind.. Help! / Man Trying To Sleep With A Married Woman In Bayelsa Caught Pants Down (Pics) (2) (3) (4)

Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by webprince(m): 11:39am On Jul 14, 2015
If you're considering having a baby, you probably have wondered how long it will take to get pregnant, when to have sex, and how often. Find the answers to your questions here.

The Odds of Getting Pregnant

It's a common question: What are the odds that I'll get pregnant this month? For most couples trying to conceive, the odds that a woman will become pregnant are 15% to 25% in any particular month .

But there are some factors that can affect your chance of getting pregnant:

- Age: After you reach age 30, your chances of conceiving in any given month diminish, and they decrease as you age, dropping steeply in your 40s.
- Irregular menstrual cycles: Having an irregular cycle makes it tricky to calculate when you're ovulating, thus making it difficult to know the ideal time to have sex.
- Frequency of sex: The less often you have sex, the less likely you are to get pregnant.
- Amount of time you've been trying to conceive: If you haven't gotten pregnant after one year of trying to conceive, your chances of becoming pregnant may be lower. Talk to your doctor about tests for female and male infertility.
- Illnesses or medical conditions can affect pregnancy.

Understanding Menstrual Cycles

Knowing more about menstrual cycles may help.

A woman's cycle begins on the first day that she notice bright red blood -- not just spotting -- and it ends on the day before the next cycle begins. A cycle can take 21 to 35 days -- or more.

If her cycle varies in length by a few days from one month to the next, that's considered irregular -- and common. Many women don't have regular cycles. It doesn't necessarily mean anything is wrong.

Having Sex, Getting Pregnant

Here's another common question from couples trying to conceive: How often should we have sex? In short, the answer is frequently.

A lot of couples trying to conceive spend a lot of energy timing sex, with mathematical precision, to calculate when a woman is prime for ovulation. Theoretically, the approach makes sense. Recent studies have shown the window of opportunity for a sperm to fertilize an egg is pretty small: Essentially, it's only the four to five days leading up to ovulation and the day of ovulation itself. Your best chances are on the day before and the day of ovulation. So, the key would seem to be to have sex frequently in that five- to six-day window.

But while timing your lovemaking exclusively to those few days makes logical sense, it also has some drawbacks -- primarily because your body doesn't always behave with clockwork regularity. Even if your cycle is regular, ovulation can occur at any time during the cycle. If you're having sex on the day you think you're ovulating, and you're off by a few days, you may be out of luck.

So the expert advice is to hedge your bets: Have sex at least two to three times every week. Studies have shown that as long as your partner has a normal sperm count, having sex every day of the month further increases your chances.

>>> more @ www.livinglifeng.com/2015/07/getting-pregnant-trying-to-conceive.html
Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by INTROVERT(f): 11:40am On Jul 14, 2015
smiley
Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by Cutehector(m): 11:42am On Jul 14, 2015
Sometyms I dnt get it, befor marriage, we are afraid of havn sex and she bein pregnant and all d drama associated it wit.. Buh wen we marry, we try so so hard to get her pregnant...

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by Merlissa(f): 11:51am On Jul 14, 2015
i agree with the poster above me

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by Chidoks(f): 11:57am On Jul 14, 2015
and while at it get on your knees.the one who made you will guide you to the right timing

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by webprince(m): 11:11pm On Jul 18, 2015
Cutehector:
Sometyms I dnt get it, befor marriage, we are afraid of havn sex and she bein pregnant and all d drama associated it wit.. Buh wen we marry, we try so so hard to get her pregnant...

...that's life and its twist
Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by jossy26: 11:50pm On Jul 18, 2015
Cutehector:

its because, making love should naturally lead to pregnancy so one become scared to do it when not married not knowing if there could be some complications or incompatibility of some sort. in as much as some people want to wait till after marriage, some will still want to get the fiancee pregnant before the wedding to avoid stories that touch..

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by julietchic(f): 8:22pm On Jul 19, 2015
Am TTC . Lord may ur will be done

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by webprince(m): 6:08pm On Jul 20, 2015
jossy26:

its because, making love should naturally lead to pregnancy so one become scared to do it when not married not knowing if there could be some complications or incompatibility of some sort. in as much as some people want to wait till after marriage, some will still want to get the fiancee pregnant before the wedding to avoid stories that touch..

...the major issues when it comes to Nigerians is pressure in my opinion. Until we eradicate the culture of shaming couples with delays or infertility problems, the problem will persists. Pressure contributes to most of the infertility problems.

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by ademiD(f): 1:49am On Jul 21, 2015
good info....

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by webprince(m): 10:08am On Jul 31, 2015
ademiD:
good info....

Thanks wink
Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by PastorAji(m): 3:32pm On Jul 31, 2015
julietchic:
Am TTC .
Lord may ur will be done
to be candid if not for d fact that I've zeroed my mind that when God is ready for us.... fine
Oti n su mi
And if not for d mere fact that I don't wanna cheat on her...... lipsrsealed
Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by 5minsmadness: 3:41pm On Jul 31, 2015
PastorAji:
to be candid if not for d fact that I've zeroed my mind that when God is ready for us.... fine
Oti n su mi
And if not for d mere fact that I don't wanna cheat on her...... lipsrsealed
Have u seen a medical doctor? Do you know what the actual hindrance is?
Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by manmustwac(m): 4:25pm On Jul 31, 2015
My wife who is from the village visited one female herbalist in another village. She had to wait her turn while this woman had to attend to another eight female patients who were ahead of her. She massaged her body and gave her a bottle with brown powder to mix with water and drink. Whatever it is it works because our second child is now on its way. wink

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by webprince(m): 9:02pm On Aug 03, 2015
manmustwac:
My wife who is from the village visited one female herbalist in another village. She had to wait her turn while this woman had to attend to another eight female patients who were ahead of her. She massaged her body and gave her a bottle with brown powder to mix with water and drink. Whatever it is it works because our second child is now on its way. wink

huh!!!
Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by julietchic(f): 11:30am On Aug 07, 2015
manmustwac:

I need a child dat comes from God and I will wait for his time.

13 Likes

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by manmustwac(m): 11:24am On Aug 09, 2015
julietchic:

This is how people waste their years with statements like that which you just wrote and Gods time is the best, its in Gods hands, leave everything to God etc. Some women will even end up waiting in their late 30s waiting for waiting for the so called Gods time
Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by pet4ril(f): 3:08pm On Sep 20, 2015
It's not he that runneth, but it's God that showeth mercy. .. there are some old women in their 50s getting pregnant while some early 20s are fighting to get.... pregnancy and children are from God at any time

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by Horlubunmmy: 6:38pm On Sep 20, 2015
stellanoah:
If you want to get pregnant and you need a child please contact this great man called Dr.Oniha, this man is so powerful that he has the power to make one pregnant immediately after contacting him. i contacted him few days ago for help and now i am pregnant what a great miracle i could not conceived before but after contacting him my story changed for good so if you need his help contact him now on (greatoniha@yahoo.com) or call him at (+2347052534659). contact him today and get pregnant in the nest 48hrs.?
you contact him few days ago and now you're pregnant.
That means is not up to a week.can pregnancy be detected early,i mean within some few days

Doctor in the house biko make ina help me out.
Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by kaffy4bill(f): 6:53pm On Sep 20, 2015
Horlubunmmy:
That means is not up to a week.can pregnancy be detected early,i mean within some few days

It's surely SCAM
Peeps shld pls not fall for it ooo
IMPOSSIBILITY

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by Pidggin(f): 9:48pm On Sep 20, 2015
manmustwac:
This is how people waste their years with statements like that which you just wrote and Gods time is the best, its in Gods hands, leave everything to God etc. Some women will even end up waiting in their late 30s waiting for waiting for the so called Gods time

shocked you don't fear God?
Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by jannies: 12:57am On Sep 21, 2015
julietchic:

My dear you are on the right path! Please wait for God, all perfect gifts come from Him in His own time! May God bless and answer you speedily for this great faith you have in him!

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by jannies: 12:59am On Sep 21, 2015
manmustwac:

You have challenged God at this, watch and see good tidings happen in her life soonest

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by nwarosa: 1:09am On Sep 21, 2015
It has happened already. CC julietchic
jannies:

You have challenged God at this, watch and see good tidings happen in her life soonest

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by ogogoro: 2:07am On Sep 21, 2015
stellanoah:
If you want to get pregnant and you need a child please contact this great man called Dr.Oniha, this man is so powerful that he has the power to make one pregnant immediately after contacting him. i contacted him few days ago for help and now i am pregnant what a great miracle i could not conceived before but after contacting him my story changed for good so if you need his help contact him now on (greatoniha@yahoo.com) or call him at (+2347052534659). contact him today and get pregnant in the nest 48hrs.?

Is it his sperm that is powerful or what?
Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by 5minsmadness: 6:47am On Sep 21, 2015
Horlubunmmy:

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by webprince(m): 2:45pm On Sep 23, 2015
stellanoah:

SCAM!!! you got pregnant in few days?! Haba!

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by Stillfire: 7:48pm On Sep 23, 2015
manmustwac:

This is the problem I have with you traditionalists.
You say you have a concoction that works, but you won't package it into a goldmine but instead would prefer to remain in the bush doing only God knows what. undecided
If indeed she was able to get your wife pregnant, tell/help her to collaborate with the National Health Research Ethics Committee, Nigeria
http://nhrec.net/nhrec/ or doctors involved with clinical research in pregnant women to test her product.
The sample of her concoction needs to pass through preclinical research though before testing in humans.

Re: Getting Pregnant - Trying To Conceive by Hoyinn: 5:43pm On Feb 05, 2016
manmustwac:
good

Baby Car Seat For Sale / My Room Transformation Progress With Cost Breakdown(photos) Cont. / Please What Can I Use To Reduce My Cheeks. They Are Too Big Pics.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 47