Stats: 3,151,817 members, 7,813,697 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 04:34 PM

Jumia Black Friday Scam - Phones - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / Jumia Black Friday Scam (4297 Views)

Jumia.com Black Friday Scam / Best 4G Android Phones You Can Buy On Black Friday / Jumia Black Friday Scam To Nigerians. [it is Indeed A Black Day To Nigerians] (2) (3) (4)

Jumia Black Friday Scam by olu4life(m): 3:26pm On Dec 09, 2015
Don't know if this is the right section but gotta say this anyways.

Ordered some stuff on black Friday on jumia. The order included a TV set, the wall hanger and 2 SD card (32gb and 8gb).

The Tv set was delivered 5 days after ordering, which was on Wednesday but the rest of the items weren't. After tweeting, (cos they shut off all their customer care lines throughout last week and left us with the only option of online platforms) the remaining items were delivered on Monday which was after 10days of ordering for it. Had even zeroed my mind on it thinking it wont be delivered again but was surprised when I was called on Monday for the delivery.

Tested the 32gb SD Card on Tuesday, but noticed it didn't function well. A 300mb(not gb o) file took 20minutes to transfer from my phone internal memory. And at the end of the day, couldn't find the moved file. Restarted my phone and yet, same thing occurred. Had to remove the stupid card, plus my phone was hanging.

Decided to transfer files to the card today from my laptop. After doing that like an hour ago, Inserted the SD card into my phone only to notice that the files saved on the card had disappeared.

Immediately placed a call to Jumia stating the error with the SD card, only to be told that orders done on black Friday cant be returned neither replaced. I was surprised and furious. Tweeted at them and got the same response.

Please, is this not a scam? Why is jumia being dubious? Are they telling me their product aren't authentic? Isnt this part of the corrupt system?
This is a total rip off and i'm totally not trusting them for life with this bad treatment. angry angry angry
Don't need the card again but want to call them to order and stop this rip off. THIS MUST BE STOPPED!!!

cc lalasticlala seun domique

Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by iliyande(m): 3:31pm On Dec 09, 2015
shocked always shine your eyes when buying online things in Nigeria online market shocked
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by daphid25(m): 3:33pm On Dec 09, 2015
The only stuff jumia sold successfully was camon c8, others are just scam
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by Nobody: 3:34pm On Dec 09, 2015
This is why, u shudnt get any items during this black Friday or cyber Monday bargain...it's a total fiasco! All cheap products we're been selling and it's a no return no exchange no refund...
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by Eleniyan15: 3:39pm On Dec 09, 2015
fvking system
everything wayowayo
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by olu4life(m): 3:44pm On Dec 09, 2015
KashyBaby:
This is why, u shudnt get any items during this black Friday or cyber Monday bargain...it's a total fiasco! All cheap products we're been selling and it's a no return no exchange no refund...
Sincerely, but the point is why do something when you know you cant handle it? Total rip off. Sad to hear this has been happening for quite some time and nothing is being done about it. I just hope the rest of the items I purchased wont be packing up in a week time angry

cc lalasticlala, seun, dragnet, honsule, puskin etc
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by adedayourt(m): 3:46pm On Dec 09, 2015
Brov take hrt, u av just been scammed

hope d tv is ok dou
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by MARKone(m): 3:47pm On Dec 09, 2015

So if the T.V had not worked, you can't return or get a refund, they are playing with their business then.
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by SirLegal(m): 3:50pm On Dec 09, 2015
So sorry Mr. OP, but I have a different tale.

Ordered an 8400mah Power bank, but instead got a 10400mah Power bank from them.(No extra charges).

But the items can be returned. When you got the goods from them, it comes with a form which states that you can return the items within 7days of receiving it Via placing a call to them/mail.
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by abiambo(m): 5:37pm On Dec 09, 2015
Did the tv come with the wall bracket? If yes is the tv in good condition? If yes I wonder what ur shouting scam about...
* the the sd card delivery come with a receipt and return form? If yes follow the instruction and do the needful and stop spoiling ppls biz cos of a minor issue Pls.
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by Dan42(m): 6:48pm On Dec 09, 2015
abiambo:
Did the tv come with the wall bracket? If yes is the tv in good condition? If yes I wonder what ur shouting scam about...
* the the sd card delivery come with a receipt and return form? If yes follow the instruction and do the needful and stop spoiling ppls biz cos of a minor issue Pls.
If you understand how hard it is to make money, you won't say all that. Would you be saying this if the tele wasn't in bad shape?

Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by Tcheck(m): 7:23pm On Dec 09, 2015
I bought an innjoo phone from Jumia. the phone has a 8gig internal memory but each time I try to transfer or download files it keeps telling me there's no space that I should delete some apps but it's still showing the available space to be 8gig. I called their customer care nd the idiot said I should take it to a phone mechanic. sometimes it's their customer service rep that is causing problems.
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by olu4life(m): 8:45pm On Dec 09, 2015
abiambo:
Seems u can't read. Please can u tell me what is stated in the so called receipt pls? I should call ur own number to make a complain right? Or u skipped the part where I stated calling their numbers angry

And who told me about the info on the no return policy on black Friday, u? Next time, read before jumping to comment

Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by augster(m): 8:53pm On Dec 09, 2015
Tcheck:
I bought an innjoo phone from Jumia. the phone has a 8gig internal memory but each time I try to transfer or download files it keeps telling me there's no space that I should delete some apps but it's still showing the available space to be 8gig. I called their customer care nd the idiot said I should take it to a phone mechanic. sometimes it's their customer service rep that is causing problems.
blame innjoo not jumia
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by kolexepana: 8:58pm On Dec 09, 2015
Tcheck:
The only phone they sold and people didn't complain was camon c8
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by augster(m): 8:58pm On Dec 09, 2015
olu4life:

Seems u can't read. Please can u tell me what is stated in the so called receipt pls? I should call ur own number to make a complain right? Or u skipped the part where I stated calling their numbers angry

And who told me about the info on the no return policy on black Friday, u? Next time, read before jumping to comment
calm down. How much did you buy the sd card? What‘s the seller‘s name? These things do happen. Even when you go to store to buy sd cards. Check your mail for the “thanks your order has been placed“. It‘s there that black friday goods cannot be returned
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by Tcheck(m): 10:25pm On Dec 09, 2015
The phone has a one year warranty. the marketer was supposed to take it nd fix it or change it if they can't fix it.
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by Yeahreen(m): 7:28am On Dec 10, 2015
U guys are even lucky. Am still yet to receive any of the products I bought. Since den up till now. Smh for Jumia
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by tosin2013: 8:19am On Dec 10, 2015
Yet to receive any items too. Na wa for jumia o!
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by Nobody: 10:03am On Dec 10, 2015
JUMIA. I HAVE CONCLUDED THAT YOU ARE PURE THIEVES AND SCAMMERS. IF AM WRONG PUT ME IN JAIL.
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by sherifat20: 11:25am On Dec 10, 2015
olu4life:

Ordered some stuff on black Friday on jumia. The order included a TV set, the wall hanger and 2 SD card (32gb and 8gb).

The Tv set was delivered 5 days after ordering, which was on Wednesday but the rest of the items weren't. After tweeting, (cos they shut off all their customer care lines throughout last week and left us with the only option of online platforms) the remaining items were delivered on Monday which was after 10days of ordering for it. Had even zeroed my mind on it thinking it wont be delivered again but was surprised when I was called on Monday for the delivery.

Tested the 32gb SD Card on Tuesday, but noticed it didn't function well. A 300mb(not gb o) file took 20minutes to transfer from my phone internal memory. And at the end of the day, couldn't find the moved file. Restarted my phone and yet, same thing occurred. Had to remove the stupid card, plus my phone was hanging.

Decided to transfer files to the card today from my laptop. After doing that like an hour ago, Inserted the SD card into my phone only to notice that the files saved on the card had disappeared.

Immediately placed a call to Jumia stating the error with the SD card, only to be told that orders done on black Friday cant be returned neither replaced. I was surprised and furious. Tweeted at them and got the same response.

Please, is this not a scam? Why is jumia being dubious? Are they telling me their product aren't authentic? Isnt this part of the corrupt system?
This is a total rip off and i'm totally not trusting them for life with this bad treatment. angry angry angry
Don't need the card again but want to call them to order and stop this rip off. THIS MUST BE STOPPED!!!

This is just sad. Why would you want to spoil someone's business because of a SD card? Do they manufacture them? They get this items from the manufacturers so if the item has a default, the blame should go to the source of the problem. I pray you have your own business and you will see how sweet it is to get this kind of comments. I am an entrepreneur so I know how it feels. I bought a Tecno C8, Infinix Hot and 6 home appliances. Everything is working fine. Besides, if you have taken your time to read very well, they stated clearly that there are no returns for Black Friday purchases. Did they force you to buy? Please take a chill pill and stop being unreasonable. I am sure that their workers are currently slaving away trying to satisfy customers and someone would just come and rubbish someones hardwork. i won't be surprised if someone is getting laid off because of this your lousy post. It is just an SD card!!!!!!!!!!!! They are better than any other ecommerce company in Nigeria.

Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by dunnijayz1: 11:35am On Dec 10, 2015
Well........ I wonder why those people that bought nice items at solid discounts are just ignoring. If you missed out on good deals suck it up and move on with your life. Why are you so angry at awoof? I got the Infinix Hot 2 at half the price and a couple of perfumes really cheap. Maybe the manufacturers of this products gave them defected items since they were not making any gains. Lets remember that Jumia and other ecommerce companies are not manufacturers. Besides, Konga was the one that seemed like a scam because their items had next to no discount. Dealday even tried a bit.
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by iliyande(m): 11:37am On Dec 10, 2015
dunnijayz1:
Well........ I wonder why those people that bought nice items at solid discounts are just ignoring. If you missed out on good deals suck it up and move on with your life. Why are you so angry at awoof? I got the Infinix Hot 2 at half the price and a couple of perfumes really cheap. Maybe the manufacturers of this products gave them defected items since they were not making any gains. Lets remember that Jumia and other ecommerce companies are not manufacturers. Besides, Konga was the one that seemed like a scam because their items had next to no discount. Dealday even tried a bit.
sherifat20:

This is just sad. Why would you want to spoil someone's business because of a SD card? Do they manufacture them? They get this items from the manufacturers so if the item has a default, the blame should go to the source of the problem. I pray you have your own business and you will see how sweet it is to get this kind of comments. I am an entrepreneur so I know how it feels. I bought a Tecno C8, Infinix Hot and 6 home appliances. Everything is working fine. Besides, if you have taken your time to read very well, they stated clearly that there are no returns for Black Friday purchases. Did they force you to buy? Please take a chill pill and stop being unreasonable. I am sure that their workers are currently slaving away trying to satisfy customers and someone would just come and rubbish someones hardwork. i won't be surprised if someone is getting laid off because of this your lousy post. It is just an SD card!!!!!!!!!!!! They are better than any other ecommerce company in Nigeria.

Imagine this one

jumia agent?
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by kuti10: 11:40am On Dec 10, 2015
olu4life:

Bro, take heart. I think you were just unlucky cos I got some gadgets and everything is working fine. Not like I am trying to support Jumia but in fairness to them, they said it that will not be refunding for Black Friday sales and I think the manufacturers/distributors are to blame. Jumia is still the most reliable of this online sellers.
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by sherifat20: 11:44am On Dec 10, 2015
iliyande:

Imagine this one

jumia agent?

Just because you don't have something bad to say does not make you an agent. Every statement does not have to be negative.

Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by iliyande(m): 11:45am On Dec 10, 2015
kuti10:

Bro, take heart. I think you were just unlucky cos I got some gadgets and everything is working fine. Not like I am trying to support Jumia but in fairness to them, they said it that will not be refunding for Black Friday sales and I think the manufacturers/distributors are to blame. Jumia is still the most reliable of this online sellers.

is that why they included fake items for the unlucky ones like op

I pray it happen to those of you defending the impunity here.
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by iliyande(m): 11:50am On Dec 10, 2015
sherifat20:

Just because you don't have something bad to say does not make you an agent. Every statement does not have to be negative.

guy stop it. nothing justify it to good.
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by iliyande(m): 11:50am On Dec 10, 2015
sherifat20:

guy stop it. nothing justify it to be good.
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by krisjin(f): 12:03pm On Dec 10, 2015
Na wa oh! so you took your precious time (not sure if its precious to you tho) to compose this long text about an SD card. This is serious. Anyway, awoof dey run belle. But you have time oh! Still baffling me! @ the bros talking about 'impunity', did they force you?
Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by olu4life(m): 1:12pm On Dec 10, 2015
sherifat20:

Madam defender of the universe, can u atleast put on ur thinking cap? or atleast try pretend u do. Is jumia same with OLX? Or u think products sold on jumia doesn't go through quality assurance stage? If im buying from OLX, why should I complain? So u telling me I can likewise market fake products on jumia to sell right? Please stop feigning ignorance and stop the stupid talk of slaving away of staffs. What has staff issue got to do with poor PR and standard on what they sell?

Kindly tell ur people to ensure they screen every product they sell properly. Even if I bought the sd card at the rate of N100, I have every right to lodge a complain. I expect much more better than this.

Truly, most Nigerians have a very stupid mentality at issues like this. Don bother replying my mention cos u no longer worth my time.

Adios

Re: Jumia Black Friday Scam by olu4life(m): 1:16pm On Dec 10, 2015
Lol, just went through this sherifat post, no wonder u dey defend as if ur life depends on it. Ndo... cheesy

Madam defender of the universe, sorry about d way dey slave u guys away. hehehe... im out

HELP: Is Redmi Note7 Worth The Hype? / Brag About Your Phone Without Mentioning The Name [Picture] / Nairalanders how possible Is this? [Updated]

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 62