Stats: 3,153,513 members, 7,819,857 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 03:38 AM

My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) - Agriculture (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Agriculture / My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) (37398 Views)

Poultry Business In Nigeria: How Reliable & Profitable Is It? / Dry Season Fluted Pumpkin (Ugu) Farming Step-By-Step Practical / Step-by-step Guide To Rearing Ostriches Profitably In Nigeria. (2) (3) (4)

Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by babamajor: 10:19pm On Jan 24, 2016
My brother am happy to read frm somone like u who is intrested in agriculture nd tryin to start somtin frm d scratch.
Its a good step but if i wil advise u raisin 20 layers is not d way to start cus at d end of d day because they are few they wil eat more feeds than the amount u wil sell d eggs.
U shuld av started by raisin broilers wen festive period is comin like 12weeks befo cus they grow faster nd u wil make more profit which can be turn round quickly.
Raisin layers frm chicks wil take like 16weeks befo they start to lay nd u continue to feed them even if they dont start at that 16weeks.
So choice d easiest nd easy to sell.
Buy like 10 or 20 broilers nd start once they are 8weeks inform people in ur area that u av chickens to sell during d comin festival so in that case they wil be ready for u nd if u are d trusted one some dont mind givin u some money befo den so as to make it easier for them too.
Anyway this was how i started like 15years ago.

Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by macklef(m): 10:19pm On Jan 24, 2016
babamajor:
There is no better time than now, its even better wen u dont have big capital cus the little money u wil invest now is not somtin that can ruin ur life, so if u start small u wil learn how to fall nd rise quickly.
If its just 10 or 20 broilerz u can start wit start now.
If space is d problm look for used tires nd start wit 20 to 50 snails cus one its chesper to raise nd expensive to buy so u wil make so much profit frm raising them nd guess wat u dont spend much to feed them cus they eat anytin vegetables whic u dont even av to buy pawpaw leaves nd left over foods but u must be careful wit dat cus too much salt in the food can kill them.
They eat in a night only so u av time to do other thingd so jus come in evenin to giv them food.
Hello bro, do you rear any of dem?
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by Benten401(m): 10:22pm On Jan 24, 2016
Nice 1 bro. I also hv dat in mind jst waiting 4 graduation...
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by Valentine73(m): 10:27pm On Jan 24, 2016
Good question;If you maintain good farm hygene,the likelihood of avian infuenza/bird flu infecting your farm is almost nil. However marketing of the farm produce might pose quite a challenge with the resultant fall in demand for your birds/eggs. A challenge like this is an opportunity for a dogged poultry farmer to explore ways of securing dependable demand/market,cheaper means of production & processing/storage of surplus produce.
hakeem4:
Nice step

But what of bird flu ?

Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by emzila(m): 10:29pm On Jan 24, 2016
gifted2020:

I really need partnership, but am in Abuja
that is a very long distance. I am in lagos , though I have something I am doing but need to invest in something else because my salary is meager. but the distance is a big challenge here.
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by Valentine73(m): 10:34pm On Jan 24, 2016
There are certain feed additives that reduce d stench of poultry waste. As I will still m$aintain;Good farm hygene does wonders.
Tolakay:
" also not using it to disturb my neighbours" ? How do farmers in the house treat poultry waste in oda not to affect neigbours
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by Valentine73(m): 10:42pm On Jan 24, 2016
Cockerel-Male chicken either white or Black & white
Layers- Female chicken selectively bred for egg production colours range from all brown to black
Pen- An enclosure for housing your farm animals
Hope the explanation was adequate
wink2015:

Can you educate us on the following:

what is a cockrels?

what is a layers?

What is a pen?

Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by aku626(m): 10:42pm On Jan 24, 2016
You'd expect the price of eggs to come down now but it will IJN
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by Nobody: 10:54pm On Jan 24, 2016
ladyF:
Nice one grin

It's [size=15pt]LadyF[/size] again oooo grin grin grin

You don return to Yabaleft again ?

Tot ur deliverance was complete..
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by Nobody: 10:57pm On Jan 24, 2016
sedorf247:
call me on 08063773748....for guidance..... am also into poultry business

Call you for what ?
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by Nobody: 10:59pm On Jan 24, 2016
chocolateme:
madam, happy new year, where have you been? How things?

Your arse is big o
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by chocolateme(f): 11:04pm On Jan 24, 2016
Naughtysite:

Your arse is big o
hmm!! What kind of post is this? Ass? How can you be like this in this 2016? I wonder wetin carry u go there.
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by Nobody: 11:09pm On Jan 24, 2016
Tolakay:
" also not using it to disturb my neighbours" ? How do farmers in the house treat poultry waste in oda not to affect neigbours

It is sold as manure..

I do buy.

Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by Nobody: 11:10pm On Jan 24, 2016
chocolateme:
hmm!! What kind of post is this? Ass? How can you be like this in this 2016? I wonder wetin carry u go there.

I dont play with such things.
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by babamajor: 12:30am On Jan 25, 2016
I studied agric in university nd pratice for many years in niaja, but presently i live in america but frm next year i wil start to rebuild my farm again but it wil be in ibadan.
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by otunbadan(m): 1:04am On Jan 25, 2016
This is all quarter fraction of the true reality of the business
tosongolabeaty:
5 REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD START CHICKEN POULTRY FARMING THIS YEAR ! Why Choose Poultry Farming?
One of the reasons behind the dramatic rise of poultry farming in Nigeria is the non-dependence on educational background. Every citizen can practice the occupation, irrespective of his or her educational status.

The profession can also be pursued with limited capital and resources, but huge return on investment is assured, if you are meticulous and diligent in how you set up and run your operations.

Another reason for the rising success of this field is the growing rate of chickens. A chicken becomes fully-developed and matures quite faster. For instance, a goat takes a time span of 2-3 years to mature completely, but within 28 weeks from birth, a chicken can reach a fit state and size that it can be sold at market.

Let’s take a deep look into the benefits of poultry farming in Nigeria

1. Reproduction Rate of Chickens: Business in Poultry Farming in Nigeria never leaves you bare handed because you never run out of stock. An average chicken hatches eggs almost every day and four times in a week. Some breed of chickens can produce around 325 eggs a year. By this account, your chickens will produce one egg a day that you can sell every day of the year. leaving out some dry days. If these figures are anything to go by, a chicken can give birth to another chicken twice in three days. Talking bigger, if you breed 500 layers, they will reproduce an astounding 12,000 chickens within a time gap of just 40 days.

2. Chickens Mature Faster: As discussed earlier, a baby chick becomes a full-grown, egg-bearing chicken in a jaw-dropping 28 weeks. This means a pullet is ready to be sold in market as a full-feathered chicken in just seven months. Taking into account such a fast-development process, a farmer can reap returns on investment within 34 weeks of the farm being in operation.

3. Large Markets: The demand for chicken never dies. In fact, it is always there and increasing. In Nigeria, a chest of smaller eggs is purchased for N500-N550, while the bigger ones demand an asking price of around N600-N650. A crate contains 30 eggs. Therefore, you will be receiving approximately N300,000 if you have 500 healthy chickens.

4. High Value, Good Price: Without a doubt! Raising your own flock of chicken will make you realize how lucrative poultry farming is in Nigeria. A customer in Nigeria can easily shell out N2000 – N2500 for a fertile layers chicken. Multiply the amount with the cost if you have 12000 layers in your farm. Now do you see how lucrative poultry farming is in Nigeria?

An old layer chicken in Nigeria costs around N1000 to N1200. If you had 500 old layers, you can make up to N600,000 residual income. Then use this money to reinvest to buy a new younger and more fertile flock of layers chicken. Every 12 to 24 months you can continue this cycle for continued success.

A 7-week broiler sells for N100.00 to N1200.00. A broiler aged 12 weeks and above will sell for N3000 to N4000.

4. A Rich Source of Protein: Poultry products are a tremendous source of protein, and a key nutrient for a healthy mind and body. Protein is essential for body functioning, energy and muscular development. Also, poultry products are delicious, great in taste and can be used in a range of Nigeria, African and worldwide dishes. For these reasons alone, it is safe to say that the demand for poultry products will never diminish.

For me, poultry farming is the best bet if your considering entering the lucrative world of agriculture. Do you agree with the points that I’ve made in this post? Please share your thoughts and any experience you have had with poultry farming(thanks for reading and your comment #prophet_TOSIN_olabode)
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by Segabson(m): 2:15am On Jan 25, 2016
The contributions has been great here .. Start with broilers and make sure u take ur foundation stock from a reliable farm /farmer /source as against ur first day vaccination (Marek) , I would advice u use that again after landing in your pen , some hours after giving them ur anti stress agents to re-establish ur facts. The vaccine can be a bit expensive though. Then be very cautious of your feed management . Another advice is that you can also add snail (A.marginata /A.archantina) they are highly prolific, take just little of ur time and are also high feed converters. You can feed them with unripe pawpaw,water melon , vegetables , egg shell e.t.c. NOTE: KEEP SNAIL IN MOIST OR WET ENVIRONMENT.
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by opedaydydx9(m): 3:16am On Jan 25, 2016
temibobo8:
it s well...poultry s profitable
wen the farmer is experienced.. Losses due to in experience cn b suicidal....
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by calcal: 4:09am On Jan 25, 2016
where to get the land free of enemy of progress remain a big issue in this country? it's a good business if well practice, lot of challenges ahead, like correct feeding, health, waste recycling, environmental issues, logistic even employee.
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by babaloke: 5:33am On Jan 25, 2016
The stench of the poultry waste should not be an issue because there are pple who buy it as fertilizer to grow vegetables.
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by afrika(f): 6:18am On Jan 25, 2016
Was that part of the BH hideout? Na wa o!! God pass devil
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by ladyF(f): 6:19am On Jan 25, 2016
chocolateme:
madam, happy new year, where have you been? How things?
Chocolate cream grin Happy new year to you. I'm fine dear.
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by viktor556(m): 6:50am On Jan 25, 2016
Hey Op, if you'd like to join a WhatsApp group with bubbling young farmers mainly Into poultry, drop your number so I can add you. You'll gain a lot I promise.
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by adecr7: 6:54am On Jan 25, 2016
babamajor:
[REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD START CHICKEN POULTRY FARMING THIS YEAR ! Why Choose Poultry Farming?
One of the reasons behind the dramatic rise of poultry farming in Nigeria is the non-dependence on educational background. Every citizen can practice the occupation, irrespective of his or her educational status.

The profession can also be pursued with limited capital and resources, but huge return on investment is assured, if you are meticulous and diligent in how you set up and run your operations.

Another reason for the rising success of this field is the growing rate of chickens. A chicken becomes fully-developed and matures quite faster. For instance, a goat takes a time span of 2-3 years to mature completely, but within 28 weeks from birth, a chicken can reach a fit state and size that it can be sold at market.

Let’s take a deep look into the benefits of poultry farming in Nigeria

1. Reproduction Rate of Chickens: Business in Poultry Farming in Nigeria never leaves you bare handed because you never run out of stock. An average chicken hatches eggs almost every day and four times in a week. Some breed of chickens can produce around 325 eggs a year. By this account, your chickens will produce one egg a day that you can sell every day of the year. leaving out some dry days. If these figures are anything to go by, a chicken can give birth to another chicken twice in three days. Talking bigger, if you breed 500 layers, they will reproduce an astounding 12,000 chickens within a time gap of just 40 days.

2. Chickens Mature Faster: As discussed earlier, a baby chick becomes a full-grown, egg-bearing chicken in a jaw-dropping 28 weeks. This means a pullet is ready to be sold in market as a full-feathered chicken in just seven months. Taking into account such a fast-development process, a farmer can reap returns on investment within 34 weeks of the farm being in operation.

3. Large Markets: The demand for chicken never dies. In fact, it is always there and increasing. In Nigeria, a chest of smaller eggs is purchased for N500-N550, while the bigger ones demand an asking price of around N600-N650. A crate contains 30 eggs. Therefore, you will be receiving approximately N300,000 if you have 500 healthy chickens.

4. High Value, Good Price: Without a doubt! Raising your own flock of chicken will make you realize how lucrative poultry farming is in Nigeria. A customer in Nigeria can easily shell out N2000 – N2500 for a fertile layers chicken. Multiply the amount with the cost if you have 12000 layers in your farm. Now do you see how lucrative poultry farming is in Nigeria?

An old layer chicken in Nigeria costs around N1000 to N1200. If you had 500 old layers, you can make up to N600,000 residual income. Then use this money to reinvest to buy a new younger and more fertile flock of layers chicken. Every 12 to 24 months you can continue this cycle for continued success.

A 7-week broiler sells for N100.00 to N1200.00. A broiler aged 12 weeks and above will sell for N3000 to N4000.

4. A Rich Source of Protein: Poultry products are a tremendous source of protein, and a key nutrient for a healthy mind and body. Protein is essential for body functioning, energy and muscular development. Also, poultry products are delicious, great in taste and can be used in a range of Nigeria, African and worldwide dishes. For these reasons alone, it is safe to say that the demand for poultry products will never diminish.

For me, poultry farming is the best bet if your considering entering the lucrative world of agriculture. Do you agree with the points that I’ve made in this post? Please share your thoughts and any experience you have had with poultry farming(thanks for reading and your comment #prophet_TOSIN_olabode)

U hav spoken more like a consultant than a farmer. I like ur courage nd interest in d business but bear in mind that agriculture is neva a one plu one business, so u must always prepare for a shock nd pls dont invest all u have into d business becuase of d uncertainty. Natural disaster can occure at anytime nd u must av somtin to fall back on to quickly rectify the problem. This is not to discourage u but to prepare ur mind for d future bcus i av over 15years expirence in d business of poultry nd dont let profit be d main reason while u are goin into d business but rada intrest, bcus profit mit not come as expected as u tink but wit zeal nd determinations u wil be successful in d business.

Please stop misleading people. I expected you will go back and do better research after someone pointed out the visible errors in your data, instead you are are Hell bent on misleading well meaning people. This is how you give people false hope for your own selfish interest. Your data shows that you never own a farm. Poultry business is truthfully lucrative but your exaggeration will only ensure failure if taken seriously. Fertile layers are called point of lay chicken and whoever told you that you can sell it for 2500 and above is either your enemy or riding on your naivety. To raise a chicken to point of lay should cost around 1k and if you want we dispose them it goes for like 1500. I don't have time to start going through all the trash posted but I should also pointed out that it's a grave mistake to also believe that a broiler goes for 3k to 4k when the average market value is 1300 and it usually cost about 900 to raise. You mentioned old layers for 1200, please do yourself a favor and visit a chicken market, you will see old layers of 600 max 800. Please don't impoverish people with this, let them get their expectations right else anyone going into poultry with your analysis above is guaranteed for failure. God bless.

Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by BNLR(m): 8:09am On Jan 25, 2016
It is a great priviledge to have this topic on front page, and also to have different opinion from my well experience Nairalander.

I will keep updating on the progress of the construction first, which may not been often, but at a meaningful progressive point by God's grace.

I may not be able to drop my number yet, but i am very optimistic that i will do partnership with any trusted farmer in Ibadan. Thanks
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by temibobo8(f): 8:21am On Jan 25, 2016
opedaydydx9:
wen the farmer is experienced.. Losses due to in experience cn b suicidal....
yea..very true....my dad is in poultry business after he retired so i kn dat moment wen tins go wrong..
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by OriginalKings: 8:26am On Jan 25, 2016
Just want to motivate someone now.

That was how I started with 20 birds mid-last year. Now it has grown to 150 birds, expecting to increase it to 250 by next month. My target is to be counting in thousands before the end of this year. So help me God.
Do not despite your days of little beginning.

Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by BNLR(m): 9:18am On Jan 25, 2016
Wow! The poster above me is great motivation. Guess you deal with only Broiler?

My Ten Layers also give me more courage to do more. But not yet concluded on the type of bird for now.

Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by GoldenJulius(m): 9:35am On Jan 25, 2016
viktor556:
Hey Op, if you'd like to join a WhatsApp group with bubbling young farmers mainly Into poultry, drop your number so I can add you. You'll gain a lot I promise.
kindly add me to the group. 08068901964
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by HIbreed(m): 10:37am On Jan 25, 2016
viktor556:
alright bro. Am also an avid farmer,This is my no. 07050586919. Add me and notify me here on this forum.
Re: My Step By Step Journey Into Poultry Business ( Pics) by youngguru23(m): 11:17am On Jan 25, 2016
Please hw much does Layers cost at POL, and hw much is battery cage unit

Cat Fish Enthusiastic Farmers/lovers Come In Here And Lets Discuss. / Harvest From A Nairalander's Peasant Farm (pictures) / Imo Government To Revive ADAPALM Plantation (photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 60