Stats: 3,152,863 members, 7,817,549 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 02:13 PM

It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu - Politics (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu (35756 Views)

Ibe Kachikwu Shakes Baru At The Nigerian Economic Summit, Earlier Today / I Will Resign If Nigeria Continues To Import Petrol By 2019 – Kachikwu / Fashola, Amaechi, Ngige, Onu, Lai, Kachikwu Make Ministerial List - TheCable (2) (3) (4)

Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by Nobody: 12:48am On Mar 15, 2016
Where are the stupid wailing wailers? I thought your lord and saviour fixed these refineries, why are they not working? angry
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by Nobody: 12:49am On Mar 15, 2016
Jimi23:
I am beginning to get irritated by the memebers of the FEC in this administration. This statement by Kachikwu makes me view PMB's administration as clueless. Why will KAchikwu make this contradictory statement when fixing old and building new refineries was one of the most harped on campaign promise of APC and Buhari. They should just come out with the truth by telling us that they have yet again reneged on another campaign promise. May God rescue Nigeria.

Can't you read?
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by tit(f): 1:01am On Mar 15, 2016
VANHELLSING:

They have been infected by dullardism :p

"Dullardism"

aaah!
another ism by Zik?

Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by pennyland(m): 1:04am On Mar 15, 2016
APC campaign if elected promise to stop importing fuel,dollar to #1,24power supply,#5ok for Coper's, #5k for unemployed monthly,free healthcare for young and an old people,fuel #40 per lter,our youth's will get job,free education, free food,road construction,stop book haram in 3month,this are few among the the promised made by APC,and I voted for u APC,but what I can always see today is different,is like naija people don inter one chance,May God deliver Nigeria frm GOOD TO BAD

Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by Unemadu: 1:09am On Mar 15, 2016
haibe:
So why do most countries prefer to refine themselves rather than import?

we want petrol but cant build refineries.

those countries build refineries by themselves. They dont wait for black man to do it for them
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by repogirl(f): 1:13am On Mar 15, 2016
These APC people no go kill me wit laff sha......and the funniest part is that the zombies are still believing they have something awesome to offer anyone when the writing is clear on the wall that YOU HAVE BEEN SCAMMED!

#saichains

Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by ChoCandyDiamond(f): 1:17am On Mar 15, 2016
It is unfortunate that Apc government like to play politics with everything, I pity those dancing for this fraud, Nigeria and Africa as a whole is import dependent, you cant build a country by chasing shadows as APC government is doing, Industrialization of country cant happen when a country is divided along ethnic lines and hatred for one another, 90% of product used in Nigeria will remain imported for the next 50 years in Nigeria, The world have few export dependent countries like Germany, US, China and Japan. For a country to grow, you must allow market forces to determine your currency value at the market, the current fixing of naira against dollar will back fire, NIGERIANS is already filling the pinch, high inflation, poverty, lack of proper health facilities, Africa must import Agricultural Tools, Industrial machineries, Drugs, Hospital equipment,machine and motor parts, industrial chemicals, Office materials, Kitchen intensils, Electronics, Building machineries,electrical appliances etc. Even Uk depend on Germany for supply of all this, you cant become self productive overnight, Africa, South America, most part of Asia, Some parts North America dont have the technology and you cant get the technology based on APC propaganda

Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by seangy4konji: 1:19am On Mar 15, 2016
You are a mad man sir.

Am sorry to say sir.

Your family should be ashamed of you.

Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by Jimi23(m): 1:22am On Mar 15, 2016
daretodiffer:

Can't you read?

Ask me again.
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by Jimi23(m): 1:30am On Mar 15, 2016
daretodiffer:

Can't you read?

Or better still go ask Kachiku who claims Nigeria will no longer have to import fuel in 18 months that dumb question.
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by Genius100: 1:35am On Mar 15, 2016
oduastates:
Obasanjo sold those refineries for scrap .
Rightfully so.
Yaradua took them back .
Since then , they have not worked but the amount of money spent on them during the locust years of transformation agenda ,is enough to build 3 or 4 brand new refineries .

Actually Obasanjo did not sell the refinery for scrap. He sold 51% of it for around $250 million dollars with the government still retaining a 49% stake. Silly daft Nigerians screamed blue murder and called on Yar'adua to reverse it. Now, I doubt if we can find anyone to buy the entire thing for $10 million

Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by Nobody: 1:46am On Mar 15, 2016
"Addressing newsmen in Abuja, Kachikwu disclosed that until the upgrade and total refurbishment of the refineries are concluded, as well as ensuring that the pipelines are fixed, it would be uneconomic and very expensive to refine PMS locally."

Why are people attacking him? He is consistent in his utterances.....Once the refineries are fixed/refurbished then it will make sense to refine crude locally in terms of cost! So what exactly is wrong with this statement? You wailers have no common sense!

Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by linearity: 1:47am On Mar 15, 2016
The irony is, this is the same government that is banning the importation of certain materials and denying Forex to others, in the name of forcing those manufacturers to source these item locally.

The resultant effect is, since these materials are not readily available cost have gone up.

If the government cannot abide by it's own policies but instead decide to import PMS, what moral justification do they have to burden the masses with high prices?

Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by Nobody: 1:50am On Mar 15, 2016
SycophanticGoat:

Omo, 2015 was my first time oh my guy but I will go back to staying at home on the election day. In 2011, I escaped death in the north by staying inside the school without voting. I don even tire self. Maybe we go organize party for your house make boys come rock sure babes instead of standing under the sun to vote for these failures called politicians... grin cheesy

Bros your head dey there. correct guy.
arrange small chops with plenty shacks andsome chickitos....I like the way U think

Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by quickly: 2:06am On Mar 15, 2016
If those countries dey want to import from didn't build refineries. How will dey sell to us.

Once we have functioning refinery even usa, Saudi will buy from us.

All we need are patriotic Nigerians that don't care about money in govt

Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by adconline(m): 2:13am On Mar 15, 2016
He's already telling us that he can't fix the refinery, therefore importation continues..
Also, can u stop give them Forex $£€ at CBN rate? Let them to the black market

Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by cardoso1111: 3:51am On Mar 15, 2016
So shameful to hear this from a change minister!
Why not shut down our refineries then and go full importing for ever
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by bigfather(m): 4:08am On Mar 15, 2016
ChoCandyDiamond:
It is unfortunate that Apc government like to play politics with everything, I pity those dancing for this fraud, Nigeria and Africa as a whole is import dependent, you cant build a country by chasing shadows as APC government is doing, Industrialization of country cant happen when a country is divided along ethnic lines and hatred for one another, 90% of product used in Nigeria will remain imported for the next 50 years in Nigeria, The world have few export dependent countries like Germany, US, China and Japan. For a country to grow, you must allow market forces to determine your currency value at the market, the current fixing of naira against dollar will back fire, NIGERIANS is already filling the pinch, high inflation, poverty, lack of proper health facilities, Africa must import Agricultural Tools, Industrial machineries, Drugs, Hospital equipment,machine and motor parts, industrial chemicals, Office materials, Kitchen intensils, Electronics, Building machineries,electrical appliances etc. Even Uk depend on Germany for supply of all this, you cant become self productive overnight, Africa, South America, most part of Asia, Some parts North America dont have the technology and you cant get the technology based on APC propaganda

Even the oil rich Saudi Arabia imports most of their edibles and yet my own NAIJA wants to start producing locally of a sudden. I told them its a gradual process,but dem nor go gree ! Now look at where we are now ? Back to square one ! God help us !

Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by bigfather(m): 4:11am On Mar 15, 2016
quickly:
If those countries dey want to import from didn't build refineries. How will dey sell to us.

Once we have functioning refinery even usa, Saudi will buy from us.

All we need are patriotic Nigerians that don't care about money in govt
[b][/b]

And where will those one comne from ? Who will spare his hard earned to come and invest in dis unstable economy where d Dollar is raping my Naira everyday ?
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by bigfather(m): 4:12am On Mar 15, 2016
linearity:
The irony is, this is the same government that is banning the importation of certain materials and denying Forex to others, in the name of forcing those manufacturers to source these item locally.

The resultant effect is, since these materials are not readily available cost have gone up.

If the government cannot abide by it's own policies but instead decide to import PMS, what moral justification do they have to burden the masses with high prices?

Ask me o my broda !
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by badonkadonk: 4:38am On Mar 15, 2016
With the rate at which APC is failing and falling... They would soon discover the devils lair...
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by henryhemon(m): 5:21am On Mar 15, 2016
obasiken:
Is this the kind of utterances that should be made by a minister of Nigeria? Instead of him to be thinking of a way to make production of PMS cheaper in Nigeria he has already admitted failure. This is why APC is failing cos they are PESSIMISTS.

Will you shut up? Are you in the industry? Shut your butt up. Someone that's being realistic and you here looking for chaP popularity. Do you know how a product is refined. You need to be flogged.

Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by billyG(m): 5:23am On Mar 15, 2016
All kun3s including USA shld import pms since it is cheaper,it is cheaper 2 sell crude & import pms only~Mr Ibe kachukwu
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by eromspete(m): 5:26am On Mar 15, 2016
This is where DANGOTE comes in...

That man knows that Nigerian state owned Refineries will never produce efficiently.

More money to be made people!
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by Memejem: 5:39am On Mar 15, 2016
That's called transparency. Instead of lying to the masses you explain the situation at hand and why things are happening the way they are. So the public can understand.

From here the brainstorming of ideas for improvement occurs. That's how all devolved countries operate. He's not a pessimist for speaking the truth. So the layman can understand why this country isn't going anywhere anytime soon.

obasiken:
Is this the kind of utterances that should be made by a minister of Nigeria? Instead of him to be thinking of a way to make production of PMS cheaper in Nigeria he has already admitted failure. This is why APC is failing cos they are PESSIMISTS.
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by opribo(m): 5:42am On Mar 15, 2016
This man is a joker he does not have the answer to our petroleum industry. At best he is learning on the job. We need right now a man who is conversant with the oil terrain industry. some one who understand the inside workings of the sector in short someone who will make a statement and the industry will instantly fell the impact positively. Not a rabble rousee of a man.
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by tunde1200(m): 5:56am On Mar 15, 2016
luvinhubby:
These people keeps complicating things for Nigerians at the same time showing the level of confusion that pervades the entire Buhari & APC administration.

lipsrsealed
Last administration is worst compared to the present one.
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by tunde1200(m): 5:58am On Mar 15, 2016
Memejem:
That's called transparency. Instead of lying to the masses you explain the situation at hand and why things are happening the way they are. So the public can understand.

From here the brainstorming of ideas for improvement occurs. That's how all devolved countries operate. He's not a pessimist for speaking the truth. So the layman can understand why this country isn't going anywhere anytime soon.

Weldon bro
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by obasiken: 6:03am On Mar 15, 2016
Memejem:

He shud swallow his pride and go and ask dezanni how she was able to stop fuel scarcity for 4 years. Even the FBI sometimes consult thieves to strenghten their security same with CIA and hackers.
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by babestella: 6:04am On Mar 15, 2016
They came dancing, promising to revive the 4 refineries, asking why we GEJ sold the refineries, now what you have is dumb statements coming from a confused set of bats in power.
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by Krismart(m): 6:08am On Mar 15, 2016
Saying what Buhari asked him to say
Re: It’s Cheaper To Import Petrol Than Refine Locally — Kachikwu by babestella: 6:09am On Mar 15, 2016
Memejem:

That wasn't what they said during election campaigns, they made Nigerians believe that our 4 refineries with total production cap of under 8 million liter could feed Nigeria fuel demand, pls don't come here to fool Nigerians with transparency crap, what Nigerians need is delivery and performance.

Nigerian Troops Find Dead Bodies In A Well In Bama / Scores Of Insurgents Killed In Mubi By Soldiers / Amira Junaid, President Buhari's Granddaughter (Photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 49