Stats: 3,153,521 members, 7,819,879 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 04:43 AM

Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum - Career (21) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum (265960 Views)

Job opportunities 4 Medical Laboratory Scientists in nigeria / Medical Laboratory Scientists(internship) / Where Do Science Laboratory Technology Graduates Work? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (18) (19) (20) (21) (22) (23) (24) ... (51) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by mercy000(f): 12:28am On Apr 25, 2016
ateretaiwo:
My name is Atere TAIWO john im a med lab scientist currently in 100L but i find it had to have interest in the course but I like the course pls what can I do? Advice pls[color=#000099][/color][b][/b]
:d what uni are you
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by Ileriahur(m): 9:27am On Apr 25, 2016
Good day folks, pls am not a professional in this field but my younger sister is, she needs help in getting placement for her Industrial Attachment Program, i don't know if this forum can be of any help to her, she is based in lagos. All correspondence can pass through me, thanks.
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by nelszx: 9:45am On Apr 25, 2016
Ileriahur:
Good day folks, pls am not a professional in this field but my younger sister is, she needs help in getting placement for her Industrial Attachment Program, i don't know if this forum can be of any help to her, she is based in lagos. All correspondence can pass through me, thanks.

Good morning bro, what's her course of study? Do you mean I.T or Internship which? MLS does Laboratory posting in school and upon graduation goes for Internship, MLT is Laboratory posting as part of learning.
Ask her if it's MLS or SLT cos the latter does IT
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by ayobase(m): 10:25pm On Apr 28, 2016
nelszx:

The only way to get a license is practically through B.MLS not MSc or PhD degree. Msc in MLS is a specialty course and not MLS as a whole.
The only thing u can do with the Msc is lecturing cos the council won't gv u any license. Prerequisite for license to practise is B.MLS not Msc or PhD. Do a direct entry to study Med lab den b guaranteed of a license on ur induction day

Thank you very much.
I appreciate.
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by EmperorMGI: 9:45pm On Apr 29, 2016
benard08:
The Medical Laboratory Council Of Nigeria has publicly announced this year's World Biomedical Science Day. It is scheduled to hold between Monday 27th-Wednesday 29th April, 2009.
Venue: Nigerian Institute Of Medical Research, Yaba

Guest Speaker: Prof. E.E.U. Akang, U.C.H., Ibadan.

Registration is free.

You can pass this information to others.

Cheers
Pls Bernard08, hw can i get an Internship placement for my sister?...She read MLS....been at home for 15months now.
Please your assistance will be appreciated by me.
Thanks in anticipation of your reply.
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by EmperorMGI: 9:55pm On Apr 29, 2016
nelszx:

Good morning bro, what's her course of study? Do you mean I.T or Internship which? MLS does Laboratory posting in school and upon graduation goes for Internship, MLT is Laboratory posting as part of learning.
Ask her if it's MLS or SLT cos the latter does IT

Please nelszx, hw can i get an Internship
placement for my sister?...She read
MLS....been at home for 15months now.She lives in benin-city...Anywhere in South-south will be preferred. Other places will be considered.
Please your assistance will be appreciated by
me.
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by nelszx: 10:47pm On Apr 29, 2016
EmperorMGI:

Please nelszx, hw can i get an Internship
placement for my sister?...She read
MLS....been at home for 15months now.She lives in benin-city...Anywhere in South-south will be preferred. Other places will be considered.
Please your assistance will be appreciated by
me.

Truth with internship is dis she must be able to leave her comfort zone and try luck in other states. Though it's a bit political in the south and West but hey dey still collect on merit and I mean it on merit (Military reference hospital takes on merit, FMC Owerri too and many others most especially North central and North as a whole)
Sorry to say u can't find for her she has to find by herself except u r a politician. If she isn't willing to leave her comfort zone it might be difficult. Give her all the support in terms of financial assistance for travelling and let her do her best. I'm a testimony of being selected on merit in 3 different hospitals all far from where I'm based.

I think currently FMC Owerri, UNTH and Bowen University Teaching Hospital are recruiting interns. But for the time being let her visit www.medicalworldnigeria.com dey publish internship placement dere
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by EmperorMGI: 9:03am On Apr 30, 2016
nelszx:

Truth with internship is dis she must be able to leave her comfort zone and try luck in other states. Though it's a bit political in the south and West but hey dey still collect on merit and I mean it on merit (Military reference hospital takes on merit, FMC Owerri too and many others most especially North central and North as a whole)
Sorry to say u can't find for her she has to find by herself except u r a politician. If she isn't willing to leave her comfort zone it might be difficult. Give her all the support in terms of financial assistance for travelling and let her do her best. I'm a testimony of being selected on merit in 3 different hospitals all far from where I'm based.

I think currently FMC Owerri, UNTH and Bowen University Teaching Hospital are recruiting interns. But for the time being let her visit www.medicalworldnigeria.com dey publish internship placement dere
Thanks nelszx, for sharing this. Will contact her as soon as possible and do as you've said. Thank you very much!.
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by dhevid(m): 12:14am On May 05, 2016
Good day everyone

am a student of medical laboratory science, currently in 200L and I want to as this, in MlS we have sub specialties

like haematology, medical micro biology, chemical pathology and so on

but I have checked my handbook and I find out that doctors are usually the head of departments of the specialties in my sch teaching hospital

is dis not disparity?

and please can medical laboratory scientists be consultants in a hospital?
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by Drdonzeez(m): 10:43am On May 05, 2016
dhevid:
Good day everyone

am a student of medical laboratory science, currently in 200L and I want to as this, in MlS we have sub specialties

but I have checked my handbook and I find out that doctors are usually the head of departments of the specialties in my sch teaching hospital

is dis not disparity?

For now,the only consultants we have are for the medical/dental professions.pathologists head some of these departments because of their political hegemony.
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by nelszx: 1:14pm On May 05, 2016
dhevid:
Good day everyone

is dis not disparity?

For now we can't be consultants as the Doctors says that title is solely reserved for them only (a lie which a court has cleared) but in due time we'll have consultants as it is in other climes. They said (drs) for us to be consultants we should go through the right channel and a bill to that effect might become law soon.

Yes MLS and Drs in the field of pathology are intertwined dats y u see Dr's as HODs only in teaching hospitals (few). But dat nonetheless we're still young and we're making progress at fast speed. All these anomalies will be put to an end VERY SOON it's only a matter of TIME

Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by dhevid(m): 2:34pm On May 05, 2016
nelszx:

For now we can't be consultants as the Doctors says that title is solely reserved for them only (a lie which a court has cleared) but in due time we'll have consultants as it is in other climes. They said (drs) for us to be consultants we should go through the right channel and a bill to that effect might become law soon.

Yes MLS and Drs in the field of pathology are intertwined dats y u see Dr's as HODs only in teaching hospitals (few). But dat nonetheless we're still young and we're making progress at fast speed. All these anomalies will be put to an end VERY SOON it's only a matter of TIME

Thanks very much sir......sir if I can understand you correctly there's more to mls than just a laboratory science?
and please how easy is it for a young graduate of mls to fit into the health sector
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by nelszx: 3:01pm On May 05, 2016
dhevid:

Thanks very much sir......sir if I can understand you correctly there's more to mls than just a laboratory science?
and please how easy is it for a young graduate of mls to fit into the health sector

U don't have to fit in u r a major stakeholder in the sector (my brother u r a professional) very indispensable. Graduate first, the major challenge might be internship (as applicable to other professionals) but the future is bright.
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by dhevid(m): 3:52pm On May 05, 2016
nelszx:

U don't have to fit in u r a major stakeholder in the sector (my brother u r a professional) very indispensable. Graduate first, the major challenge might be internship (as applicable to other professionals) but the future is bright.

thanks very much sir, I really appreciate you responding to my questions
i still have a lot to ask though, hope you don't mind
As regards the professional exam, Sir I will need your advice, what does it entail and how to pass this exam.
what are the consequences of failing the professional exams
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by nelszx: 5:39pm On May 05, 2016
dhevid:

thanks very much sir, I really appreciate you responding to my questions
i still have a lot to ask though, hope you don't mind
As regards the professional exam, Sir I will need your advice, what does it entail and how to pass this exam.
what are the consequences of failing the professional exams

If you participate carefully in ur Laboratory postings u have no problem but most times ppl become so tensed. There's no big deal in it score 50 and u have made ur way through

Yes if peradventure one fails deres always a resit. It's when one fails the resit u repeat the year again (400l and all) regardless if you pass semester exams once one fails u repeat the year.
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by dhevid(m): 5:53pm On May 05, 2016
ok
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by nelszx: 6:15pm On May 05, 2016
dhevid:

thanks sir this is very helpful, I have so many questions I want to ask, I just hope am not bugging you too much

Save for a later date......With time u will get and understand whatever answer u want to ask
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by mercy000(f): 12:09pm On May 06, 2016
Drdonzeez:
For now,the only consultants we have are for the medical/dental professions.pathologists head some of these departments because of their political hegemony.
hello good yo hear from you again ocheesy its Freda from uniben admission thread
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by Drdonzeez(m): 2:28pm On May 06, 2016
mercy000:

hello good yo hear from you again ocheesy its Freda from uniben admission thread
wow..how are you doing?
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by mercy000(f): 2:30pm On May 06, 2016
Drdonzeez:
wow..how are you doing?
I'm fine o....you?
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by Drdonzeez(m): 2:39pm On May 06, 2016
nelszx:

But,don't you think this consultancy ish' would erode the well entrenched clinical structures in our hospitals?
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by Drdonzeez(m): 2:42pm On May 06, 2016
mercy000:
I'm fine o....you?
I'm fine.Are you in school?
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by nelszx: 2:52pm On May 06, 2016
Drdonzeez:
But,don't you think this consultancy ish' would erode the well entrenched clinical structures in our hospitals?

Nah not at all....In the UK where it's practiced it doesn't change u from being a Medical Laboratory Scientist. It only gives you an input in patient management. Ideally dey go for ward rounds with Dr's and based on their knowledge dey refer tests for patients but the Dr still has the final say.
Dat u r a consultant doesn't mean u will start seeing patients and all what not. D Dr still sees the patient and if he feels ur services are necessary he invites you for your own input. But what Nigerian Dr's think is we will start seeing patients and prescribing drugs to dem which is never permitted by law.
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by Drdonzeez(m): 3:12pm On May 06, 2016
nelszx:

Nah not at all....In the UK where it's practiced it doesn't change u from being a Medical Laboratory Scientist. It only gives you an input in patient management. Ideally dey go for ward rounds with Dr's and based on their knowledge dey refer tests for patients but the Dr still has the final say.
Dat u r a consultant doesn't mean u will start seeing patients and all what not. D Dr still sees the patient and if he feels ur services are necessary he invites you for your own input. But what Nigerian Dr's think is we will start seeing patients and prescribing drugs to dem which is never permitted by law.
well said.but we all know Nigerians.when given the slightest opportunity,they go extra mile.If they must become consultants,they must go through the six years prerequisite training because doctors do not wake one day and declare themselves consultants.
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by nelszx: 4:00pm On May 06, 2016
Drdonzeez:
well said.but we all know Nigerians.when given the slightest opportunity,they go extra mile.If they must become consultants,they must go through the six years prerequisite training because doctors do not wake one day and declare themselves consultants.

Of course that's the reason for the bill on the establishment of the National Postgraduate College of Medical Lab science almost actualising and the new bill for the National PG College of Physiotherapy. In the UK before u are appointed consultant you must have had/been a Fellow of the Royal college of pathology as a Medical Laboratory Scientist den dere are guidelines for such appointments. So being a Fellow of the National PG makes u qualified to fit in such appointments. It's not based on years of working except through honorary fellowship
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by olasmith10(m): 5:12pm On May 06, 2016
BASIC AND ADVANCED ULTRASOUND TRAINING
OBSTETRICS ULTRASOUND;Training-for-ultrasound-technician

TRANSABDOMINAL OBSTETRICS ULTRASOUND
TRANSVAGINAL OBSTETRICS ULTRASOUND
3D/4D OBSTETRICS ULTRASOUND

GYNAECOLOGY ULTRASOUND;

TRANSABDOMINAL ULTRASOUND
TRANSVAGINAL ULTRASOUND
SONOHYSTEROGRAPHY ULTRASOUND

ABDOMINAL ULTRASOUND;

UROLOGICAL(KIDNEY AND PROSTATE) ULTRASOUND
GASTROINTESTINAL ULTRASOUND
TRANSRECTAL ULTRASOUND
HEPATOBILIARY(LIVER AND BILIARY TRACT) ULTRASOUND

SMALL PARTS ULTRASOUND;

BREAST ULTRASOUND
TESTICULAR ULTRASOUND
THYROID ULTRASOUND
SALIVARY GLANDS ULTRASOUND
MSK & SOFT TISSUE ULTRASOUND
OCULAR(EYE) ULTRASOUND

Contact us today
Mobile No: 08074661723, 08168529179, 09032387828
http://devinediagnostics.com
email: info@devinediagostics.com

Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by mercy000(f): 6:55pm On May 06, 2016
Drdonzeez:
I'm fine.Are you in school?
yup
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by chinny56(f): 11:35pm On May 08, 2016
Pls I need project topics for chemical Pathology option
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by Nani4all(m): 2:18pm On May 09, 2016
ANYONE HERE?
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by adekS1(m): 6:05pm On May 21, 2016
HELP!!! Good evening great scientist, I URGENTLY NEED A JOB.am also a medical lab scientist wt specialization in Haematology though l cn work in any all other field of medical laboratories, l finished frm a University in south western part of nigeria.am currently in osogbo, av had 2yrs of working experience. I use to hear pple testimony abt how dey got job via nairaland n wsh mayb God cn use you for me too.wl appreciate ur help sir/ma. Thanks
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by adekS1(m): 5:40pm On May 22, 2016
On job assistance i requested for as a medical lab scientist ds z my number.. 07032578994.e-mail:bakud4sure05@gmail.com.thanks
Re: Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum by Nani4all(m): 10:32pm On May 22, 2016
[quote author=adekS1 post=45869045]On job assistance i requested for as a medical lab scientist ds z my number.. 07032578994.e-mail:bakud4sure05@gmail.com.thanks[/quote

medicalworldnigeria.com/

They advertise job vacancies a lot....#pray and have faith

(1) (2) (3) ... (18) (19) (20) (21) (22) (23) (24) ... (51) (Reply)

Nigerian Prospective Medical Interns 2017 / Best Paid Degrees In Nigeria (THE BITTER TRUTH) / Human Resource Professionals:

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 74