Why Are Most Nigerians Poor ? - Politics - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Politics › Why Are Most Nigerians Poor ? (783 Views)
| Why Are Most Nigerians Poor ? by kentuta(op): 10:37pm On Jun 29, 2016 |
Fifteen years ago as a successful Nigerian engineer , I needed to purchase some equipment in America that was going to cost about N30million As a Nigerian, I did not imagine that there was any other option than to gather the money and pay the cash to the American company. After selling everything I had , borrowed from friends and family , off to America I went. But to my surprise, the American company was also surprised I was planning to pay cash for the equipment. They apologized and advised that If i register my business in America, I would not need to pay them that much cash. ( They would also prefer that because they might be investigated for receiving so much from a foreign company ) I took the advice and went to open an account with an American Bank. To my greater surprise, the American Bank offered to give me credit equivalent to about 10million Naira even without my putting a penny in my account yet. So I asked if they were not afraid of me running away with their money and they said no, they have a comprehensive database of everybody, if I tried to run away , I would never be able to do business with any American company again. It was an eye opener to the world of credit systems which does not exist in Nigeria. Most Nigerians have an inherited property or farmland at least in their village , but it is absolutely useless to them because they cannot use it to borrow money from anywhere because Nigeria has no credit system. The same applies to a credit score which is alien to most Nigerians. To eliminate poverty in Nigeria. 1. We need a comprehensive and usable database of citizen Identity , addresses , businesses and employment , property and residential status of all Nigerians. This will form the foundation for creating a sustainable credit rating and scoring system for Nigerians. 2. A nationwide Network of professionally trained financial service agents ( saving and loans, business finance ,mortgage, insurance , capital makes , pension and tax ). To advice, guide and support citizens ( even those living in Villages ) access to a full range of financial services rather than the expensive Microfinance and other limited options available to them today. 3. Agree on minimum living and working standards . For example, if we agree that most Nigerians engage in subsistence farming which keeps them in poverty , then we should ban such farming practice and insist that any one going into farming can no longer use hoes and cutlasses. The same applies to quality pesticides and manure that can yield crops that can be exported to earn foreign currency . With easier access to finance , meeting such standards would become easier for most Nigerians who presently have large expanses of farmland in their villages today but are forced to engage in menial labor and live in poverty in the city . From Naija Nawa !
| Re: Why Are Most Nigerians Poor ? by Nobody: 5:25am On Jun 30, 2016 |
oo |
| Re: Why Are Most Nigerians Poor ? by doyinisaac(m): 6:36am On Jun 30, 2016 |
Summary: we need good governance... |
| Re: Why Are Most Nigerians Poor ? by 989900: 6:58am On Jun 30, 2016 |
The below is from my post some 2 days ago. If you build houses for people and have their BVN, you already know them from forever, and can sell any further loan or product to them with peace of mind. #surebankercustomer |
| Re: Why Are Most Nigerians Poor ? by Nobody: 7:01am On Jun 30, 2016 |
At least not here in the east,we don't rely on yeye government to feed! #wehustlehard |
| Re: Why Are Most Nigerians Poor ? by kentuta(op): 2:59pm On Jun 30, 2016 |
989900:My dear your analysis are good, but the system and the foundation of this country is very very faulty... The wickedness of our legislators reaches to high Heaven... All they do is to canvass for themselves and not what will better the life of an ordinary citizen of this country... let me reserve my comment for the civil right groups... |
| Re: Why Are Most Nigerians Poor ? by kentuta(op): 3:08pm On Jun 30, 2016 |
frankline5:My dear even we the Easterners are feeling the heat... for the fact that we are still practicing this fraudulent system of government, no region will develop at a faster rate... The only thing that we all should be canvassing for is true federalism. Let the lazy and incompetent governors wail or leave the office for competent people to take over.... |
| Re: Why Are Most Nigerians Poor ? by kentuta(op): 3:11pm On Jun 30, 2016 |
doyinisaac:Yes we need good governance.... but how do we elect them when an average Nigerian is blinded with tribal and religious Sentiment... the best bet for me on this issue is true federalism.. |
| Re: Why Are Most Nigerians Poor ? by kentuta(op): 3:16pm On Jun 30, 2016 |
Millerz:oo...what's that? is that a new way of booking space or you are just wailing like oo ![]() |
Nigeria Is Not A Poor Country, We Are Not Offering More Financial Support - EU • Why Do Most Nigerians Equate Igbo Trade Domination To Political Dominance? • See A Poll Showing That Most Nigerians Want GEJ And Wife Arrested For Corruption • 2 • 3 • 4
Another Photo Of Aisha Buhari And Her Adorable Granddaughter • Father Missed Son's One Day Governor Meeting With Ambode • PHOTOS: IGP Idris, Three Other Paramilitary Heads Visits Borno