Stats: 3,156,510 members, 7,830,522 topics. Date: Friday, 17 May 2024 at 01:23 AM

4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It - Career - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It (14442 Views)

I Recently Lost My High Paying Job And I'm At A Crossroads On What To Do Next / 10 Glaring Signs That You Are Being Underpaid (Photos) / Confused About Contract Job And A Permanent Job (2) (3) (4)

4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by JARUSHUB: 12:40pm On Jul 27, 2016
By Ansa John

You shake interviewer’s hand and head back home quite happily thinking that you have nailed the interview and you think you should be offered a job in the organization. One week later…. And still you haven’t received the call.

What did you do wrong during your job search? The interview was quite smooth, wasn’t it?

Statistics shows that about 50% of the hiring managers said that they knew enough about the candidate within the first 5 minutes of the interview to make the hiring decision. And within 15 minutes of the interview about 90% of the interviewers make their decision. So the smooth interview you had could mean that hiring manager from the very beginning had decided that you were not a good fit.

How can you be sure?

Following are 4 significant signs that your interviewer is not interested along with methods of turning around your performance.

1. Interviewer does not ask you about your availability to begin.
The company to which you are giving interview has an empty spot which they have to fill. They will try their best to fill it quickly. In order to do this, there will be many things which they have to prepare: employee orientation, paperwork of new hire, pay schedule and more.

These things require planning, so if the interviewer is interested he will like to know how soon you will be able to start. In case the interviewer does not ask you about the availability, it might be a sign of your CV not being up to the mark.

What you should do about it: You should turn tables on interviewer. You should not wait for the interviewer to ask you about the availability. Mention your interest in the job position and company and tell how excited you are to begin right away. Your interest and confidence can change the opinion of the interviewer about you.

2. You are only being asked the easy questions.

It might seem like an ideal scenario but when interviewer pitches only easy questions to you, odds are that you are not being considered seriously for the vacancy. The harder questions which challenge the candidates make them think hard and require them to solve problems are interviewers way of gauging how well prepared the candidates are and by this they determine if the candidate will be good fit in the organization.

In case you are continuously finding yourself answering the simple questions which do not give you the opportunity of connecting your experience with required skills for job, it can mean that interviewer does not think that you are strong candidate whom he should explore in more depth.

What you should do about it: You should be assertive. You can tell the interviewer that you want to ask a question and then say something such as: “In the last position I was working on, it was often required from me to do ABC. I have noticed that this position has similar requirements. How does ABC play into day to day responsibilities of this role?”

3. The interview is shorter than was scheduled.

The interview was scheduled for half hour, but between good questions of interviewer and yourself, you are out of the room within 15 minutes. Is that good then? Well not really. Shorter interviews sometimes are faults of the poor scheduling. However, mostly it is the results of the interviewer’s early decision regarding you not being a good fit in the company and it is the attempt of the interviewer to quickly move to the next applicant.

Often these interviews get characterized by one-to-one ratio of questions to answers. A question is asked by the interviewer and you give the answer. The interview will continue and there is not much back and forth.

What you should do about it: You should make your own back and forth. Ensure that you do have list of the questions before interview which you may refer to in case you think that you are not getting consideration which you deserve. After that find the ways for asking different questions as the follow ups in order to engage interviewer and to help yourself standout.

4. Interviewer does not discuss rest of hiring process.
Most of the organizations today have a prolonged process of hiring which can include many interviews, writing samples, portfolio submissions, assessments, and more. In case you are a great fit for the position, it is likely that interviewer is going to talk about the hiring process with you in order to give you an idea of what you could expect in coming days.

In case you hear “Thank you for the time and good luck with job search” you are probably not shortlisted.

What you should do about it: You should be proactive and confident. Take few minutes as interviewer wraps up in order to summarize why you would be a good fit for position. After that ask interviewer about next steps of hiring process and when could you expect hearing form them.

Source: http://www.jarushub.com/4-warning-signs-that-you-wont-get-the-job-and-how-you-can-fix-it/

15 Likes 3 Shares

Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by JARUSHUB: 12:42pm On Jul 27, 2016
cc: mukina2, Lalasticlala, mynd44
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by Arthurwinner(m): 12:53pm On Jul 27, 2016
sure lines

Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by Toyolad(m): 1:07pm On Jul 27, 2016
Very nice and Informative
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by An0nimus: 11:42pm On Jul 27, 2016
Does this mean If I notice these signs I can try to fix them immediately and stand a better chance of getting the job?

...like you said in the opening paragraph, recruiters tend to make up their mind pretty early.

Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by DICKtator: 6:55am On Jul 28, 2016
I actually had an interview where none of the above was followed and still got called.

Infact, when the any other questions you want to ask came up, i asked, "when will i start?" and the CEO and the Manager burst out laughing!!!

Easy questions that not only baffled me but got me annoyed!!. Was expecting something challenging and mind boggling.
Was disappointed!!!
Needless to say, I rejected the offer when I was later called because I believed there was no opportunity to grow there among other red flags for me!!!

The receptionist though almost gave me a rethink.................................

Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by Nobody: 6:56am On Jul 28, 2016
My thoughts exactly,
If you like flip and roll the tables
If they've made up their minds, that's it
You may not still get the job
An0nimus:
Does this mean If I notice these signs I can try to fix them immediately and stand a better chance of getting the job?

...like you said in the opening paragraph, recruiters tend to make up their mind pretty early.

Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by theophorus(m): 6:58am On Jul 28, 2016
...Hmmm! I hear oooo.

But Wetin sure pass na make God favour person.

"You will understand if you have been through it"

Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by neweraomo: 6:59am On Jul 28, 2016
Nairalanders and job searching are

Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by eph12(m): 6:59am On Jul 28, 2016
Nice! Would have been very helpful for me years back but thank God am out of job search for life.
I know this will help a lot of people in here. Kudos Jarus

Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by Psalmuel92(m): 7:04am On Jul 28, 2016
May God help us all to Land good Jobs
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by OgidiOlu3(m): 7:13am On Jul 28, 2016
So, one shouldn't pray for easy questions again?

Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by stano2(m): 7:14am On Jul 28, 2016
As in eh
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by donofdons: 7:17am On Jul 28, 2016
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by ajasa4link: 7:19am On Jul 28, 2016
Number 1 not true. I wasn't asked about my availability throughout d interview and I still got the job.
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by Emeka71(m): 7:30am On Jul 28, 2016
You can also toast the interviewer.
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by Exponental(m): 7:31am On Jul 28, 2016
There are NO rules to an interview. All we need is Favour from God to suit the interviewer.

Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by clintino700(m): 7:31am On Jul 28, 2016
Ok noted
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by Benjom(m): 7:32am On Jul 28, 2016
I quite agree with you. All in all, it's good to be well prepared for the un-imaginables.

Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by steffans(m): 7:34am On Jul 28, 2016
Only in Nigeria.. Employers deal with Job seekers...

What a sad situation!
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by 0955eb027(m): 7:37am On Jul 28, 2016
great points.
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by seunakin231(m): 7:41am On Jul 28, 2016
I disagree with number two... the interviewer wants you to convince him/her on ur skills and experiences to carry out the job, throwing the question back is like him answering for u, u just tried to b smart dodging the question...

Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by OlowoB(m): 7:44am On Jul 28, 2016
seunakin231:
I disagree with number two... the interviewer wants you to convince him/her on ur skills and experiences to carry out the job, throwing the question back is like him answering for u, u just tried to b smart dodging the question...

You obviously did not read to understand the op. He never said you should not answer the questions asked but rather when easy questions are just been thrown at you all through the interview, you can take control by also asking questions in such a way that would give the interviewer an idea that you have done something a bit extra in your former place of work.

For example, in my former place of work, i was responsible for doing the programming of so and so, is such available in this company? you have stylishly told the interviewer you have an added skill while also asking him a question.

Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by GoldenJAT(m): 7:44am On Jul 28, 2016
what will be,will be oo....if u like turn d table around 360 degree.u may end up making things worst.
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by Nobody: 7:44am On Jul 28, 2016
just be intensely physically attractive!!!
nigerian employers consider attractiveness over competence.
and just pray the employer has bias for the place you hail from,
if not my bro/sis nothing for u o, you will forever be on a long thing.
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by EdwinB1(m): 7:50am On Jul 28, 2016
Thursday food for thought
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by jojosweet(f): 8:22am On Jul 28, 2016
eph12:
Nice! Would have been very helpful for me years back but thank God am out of job search for life.
I know this will help a lot of people in here. Kudos Jarus
I wish I was like you now
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by Jarus(m): 8:39am On Jul 28, 2016
ajasa4link:
Number 1 not true. I wasn't asked about my availability throughout d interview and I still got the job.

No rule is cast in stone. The article doesn't ask one to be mechanical, to be zombie.

It's just advisory. Not something that must be 100% true. Interview is not exact science.

Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by eph12(m): 8:48am On Jul 28, 2016
jojosweet:
I wish I was like you now
And what's stopping you? What obstacle/s are you facing?
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by CharlieMaria(m): 8:50am On Jul 28, 2016
Team self employed
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by GreatManBee: 8:58am On Jul 28, 2016
JARUSHUB:
By Ansa John

You shake interviewer’s hand and head back home quite happily thinking that you have nailed the interview and you think you should be offered a job in the organization. One week later…. And still you haven’t received the call.

What did you do wrong during your job search? The interview was quite smooth, wasn’t it?

Statistics shows that about 50% of the hiring managers said that they knew enough about the candidate within the first 5 minutes of the interview to make the hiring decision. And within 15 minutes of the interview about 90% of the interviewers make their decision. So the smooth interview you had could mean that hiring manager from the very beginning had decided that you were not a good fit.

How can you be sure?

Following are 4 significant signs that your interviewer is not interested along with methods of turning around your performance.

1. Interviewer does not ask you about your availability to begin.
The company to which you are giving interview has an empty spot which they have to fill. They will try their best to fill it quickly. In order to do this, there will be many things which they have to prepare: employee orientation, paperwork of new hire, pay schedule and more.

These things require planning, so if the interviewer is interested he will like to know how soon you will be able to start. In case the interviewer does not ask you about the availability, it might be a sign of your CV not being up to the mark.

What you should do about it: You should turn tables on interviewer. You should not wait for the interviewer to ask you about the availability. Mention your interest in the job position and company and tell how excited you are to begin right away. Your interest and confidence can change the opinion of the interviewer about you.

2. You are only being asked the easy questions.

It might seem like an ideal scenario but when interviewer pitches only easy questions to you, odds are that you are not being considered seriously for the vacancy. The harder questions which challenge the candidates make them think hard and require them to solve problems are interviewers way of gauging how well prepared the candidates are and by this they determine if the candidate will be good fit in the organization.

In case you are continuously finding yourself answering the simple questions which do not give you the opportunity of connecting your experience with required skills for job, it can mean that interviewer does not think that you are strong candidate whom he should explore in more depth.

What you should do about it: You should be assertive. You can tell the interviewer that you want to ask a question and then say something such as: “In the last position I was working on, it was often required from me to do ABC. I have noticed that this position has similar requirements. How does ABC play into day to day responsibilities of this role?”

3. The interview is shorter than was scheduled.

The interview was scheduled for half hour, but between good questions of interviewer and yourself, you are out of the room within 15 minutes. Is that good then? Well not really. Shorter interviews sometimes are faults of the poor scheduling. However, mostly it is the results of the interviewer’s early decision regarding you not being a good fit in the company and it is the attempt of the interviewer to quickly move to the next applicant.

Often these interviews get characterized by one-to-one ratio of questions to answers. A question is asked by the interviewer and you give the answer. The interview will continue and there is not much back and forth.

What you should do about it: You should make your own back and forth. Ensure that you do have list of the questions before interview which you may refer to in case you think that you are not getting consideration which you deserve. After that find the ways for asking different questions as the follow ups in order to engage interviewer and to help yourself standout.

4. Interviewer does not discuss rest of hiring process.
Most of the organizations today have a prolonged process of hiring which can include many interviews, writing samples, portfolio submissions, assessments, and more. In case you are a great fit for the position, it is likely that interviewer is going to talk about the hiring process with you in order to give you an idea of what you could expect in coming days.

In case you hear “Thank you for the time and good luck with job search” you are probably not shortlisted.

What you should do about it: You should be proactive and confident. Take few minutes as interviewer wraps up in order to summarize why you would be a good fit for position. After that ask interviewer about next steps of hiring process and when could you expect hearing form them.

Source: http://www.jarushub.com/4-warning-signs-that-you-wont-get-the-job-and-how-you-can-fix-it/
Re: 4 Warning Signs That You Won’t Get The Job – And How You Can Fix It by Ptoocool(m): 9:06am On Jul 28, 2016
Exponental:
There are NO rules to an interview. All we need is Favour from God to suit the interviewer.

Should Workers Who Use "My Oga At The Top" Joke During Office Hours Be Punished? / Can I Still Work In PWC Or Any Of The BIG 4 / 1.7 Million Nigerians Became Jobless In Nine Months —NBS

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 49