Stats: 3,148,662 members, 7,801,914 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 05:42 AM

How I Made My Moimoi - Food - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / How I Made My Moimoi (20229 Views)

How To Prepare Ekuru/ofuloju (white Moimoi And Stew) / Moimoi Rollup (baked Beans Pudding Roulade) / How I Made My Delicious Weekend Fish Barbecue (2) (3) (4)

How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 5:07pm On Aug 17, 2016
Since I learnt how to peel beans (Thanks to Zaynie kiss) with the easiest ease....Moimoi has been my new BAE.

I will just take you through my moimoi techniques & style grin with pictures to give you clear understanding wink

Ingredients
1. Beans
2. Fresh pepper
3. Tomatoes paste
4. Crayfish
5. Groundnut oil
6. Egg
7. Maggi
8.Salt
9.Onions

Tools
1. My good faithful & loyal blender (The blender is BAE anytime....can even blend coconut... Yes! I like to brag)
2. Cups shaped like cupcake (My own def of cupcake o!)
3. Hot plate (I can't waste my gas on top moi moi in the Buhari season undecided)

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by Badgers14: 5:31pm On Aug 17, 2016
Spreads mat

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 7:11pm On Aug 17, 2016
Step by Step

1. Firstly I soaked the beans in water for 3mins before pouring it in the blender ( This is to peel the skin off the beans faster - using the blender instead of the conventional way I use to do it)

2. I plug the blender to electricity and spin for less than one minute (I didn't want to break the beans in bits & pieces)....I poured the beans in a bowl and sieved out the chaff (Its that easy).

3 After thoroughly sieving out all the chaff, I soaked the beans for about an hour (This is to achieve a soothe paste as am blending with a blender and not the 'market engine')

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 7:29pm On Aug 17, 2016
4. After I confirm the beans soft enough, I poured it into the blender with fresh pepper, tomatoe paste, crayfish & onions and blender till I achieve a smooth paste (Because am using a hand blender, I blend in batches).

5. I poured the smooth paste into a bowl, mixed it with water to my satisfaction, added my groundnut oil and salt + maggi to taste and stirred properly. I already boiled the eggs and diced as I want (I no fit begin use one full boiled egg for each plate o embarassed ....). I rinse the cupcake-look alike plates very well (I choose the plates over nylons and moimoi leaves because I can keep using them over and over again + I don't really know how to use the moimoi leaves sef embarassed

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 8:49pm On Aug 17, 2016
Network sucks tonight....Still trying to upload the concluding part of my moimoi adventure.
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by marhoinspire: 1:43pm On Aug 18, 2016
following
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by Nobody: 3:22pm On Aug 18, 2016
From what I see that blender is really good. Did it blend everything smoothly, with no small chunks or beans inside? It looks like a very simple blender but did an awesome job of blending the beans.

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by Aminat508(f): 6:37pm On Aug 18, 2016
@ Op why tomatoes?

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by ahnie: 7:45pm On Aug 19, 2016
Following@iya mofe.
Cc me for the final episode!
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by duperola(f): 8:38am On Aug 20, 2016
y do ppl put tomatoes in moi moi or egusi?

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 3:24pm On Aug 21, 2016
That's how this my disrespectful phone made me disappoint those following my moimoi story embarassed embarassed embarassed

Abeg make una no vex abeg

cc : ahnie , marhoinspire , yieldings , aminat508 , duperola
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 3:25pm On Aug 21, 2016
Yieldings:
From what I see that blender is really good. Did it blend everything smoothly, with no small chunks or beans inside? It looks like a very simple blender but did an awesome job of blending the beans.

The blender is strong, faithful and reliable grin It blends smoothly with no chunk or trace of beans inside at all.

Aminat508:
@ Op why tomatoes?

duperola:
y do ppl put tomatoes in moi moi or egusi?

Because I like the taste of tomatoes in my moimoi and I like the beauty it gives it...You should try it wink

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 9:48am On Aug 22, 2016
6. I scooped the quantity of moimoi into each of the plates, added my already boiled egg to each plate (The economy no let me add one full egg to each plate grin

7. I placed the plates inside a deep pot, I poured water inside the pot with the plates in it and placed the pot on my hot plate (Once again economy no let me use gas take cook moimoi....lailai wink

8. After about an hour (choose to boil for that long)....I swapped the plates i.e brought the ones from bottom to top, this is to ensure all plates cooks properly) and the result was sweeeeeeeet!

9. I ate my moimoi with rice + oil peppered stew + meat...You should have tasted it....#Fingerlicking

Appreciation goes to Zaynie for teaching me how to skin my beans with blender to make the work easier kiss kiss

Sugah, Ahnie, Liftedhands , Fortius , Mitchyy e.t.c food is ready.... I can give you one plate of moimoi each but no rice o! embarassed Don't look at me with bad eyes....Bag of rice is #22,000 now undecided embarassed undecided

16 Likes 3 Shares

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 9:56am On Aug 22, 2016
Pardon my poor narrative plzzzzz....I know I was suppose to include timing and all that but no time to do all that.....Also sorry for poor picture quality, I still dey save money to take buy iPhone 7.

The picture didn't do justice to my sekzy moimoi.

17 Likes 2 Shares

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by prinsam30: 5:04pm On Aug 22, 2016
tyconcepts:

The blender is strong, faithful and reliable grin It blends smoothly with no chunk or trace of beans inside at all.

pls, what product is your blender and where can I get one, thank you
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by Iyabetajos(f): 8:57pm On Aug 22, 2016
Chei chei u too much

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 7:01am On Aug 23, 2016
prinsam30:

pls, what product is your blender and where can I get one, thank you

The name is simply LS....I bought it from a "UK /US used electronic shop' o!
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 7:02am On Aug 23, 2016
Iyabetajos:
Chei chei u too much

kiss kiss
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by prinsam30: 5:44pm On Aug 23, 2016
tyconcepts:

The name is simply LS....I bought it from a "UK /US used electronic shop' o!

wonderful, pls can I get this blender in any of the Nigerian shops
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by Nobody: 10:58pm On Aug 23, 2016
soooo my post no land since 2days now....o ga fun nairaland network ooo.....CHAI!CHAI!!CHAI!!! DIA IS GOD OOO..Hw i go cum join u wen u dey 1milion km away frm me ..mitchyy go helep me chop am for brezz so hansel go suck am wellagrin...weldone ma mofe..i go try am dis wknd grin.
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by mitchyy(f): 5:59am On Aug 24, 2016
So this has been going on in my backyard and you didn't invite me when the moi moi was available. Na wa o mama. You owe me 3 plates of moi moi this week grin

And one extra for Hansel cheesy

Well done! I've never ever gotten my moi moi right. Most times it doesnt become thick and its totally tasteless. What am i doing wrong?
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 10:59am On Aug 24, 2016
prinsam30:

wonderful, pls can I get this blender in any of the Nigerian shops

I can't really say o! But I know you can't go wrong with Kenwood.

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 11:04am On Aug 24, 2016
Fortius:
soooo my post no land since 2days now....o ga fun nairaland network ooo.....CHAI!CHAI!!CHAI!!! DIA IS GOD OOO..Hw i go cum join u wen u dey 1milion km away frm me ..mitchyy go helep me chop am for brezz so hansel go suck am wellagrin...weldone ma mofe..i go try am dis wknd grin.

Network has been pooooooooo. undecided The miles don't matter, I can deliver via DHL tongue Anyway since you don say make Mitchyy take your own....Ko buru.

Please try and let's see.....Moimoi is BAE

mitchyy:
So this has been going on in my backyard and you didn't invite me when the moi moi was available. Na wa o mama. You owe me 3 plates of moi moi this week grin

And one extra for Hansel cheesy

Well done! I've never ever gotten my moi moi right. Most times it doesnt become thick and its totally tasteless. What am i doing wrong?

I go bring Hansel share of the moimoi when I come around.... 5plates.

Check the quantity of water you put in and plz note that when you pour in your oil it gets lighter so you have to really be checkful with water input. As for it been tasteless, you ingredient application is same with how you make your other soups & food. As you add you ingredients, you keep tasting till you are okay with the taste. E no hard babe.
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by prinsam30: 8:55pm On Aug 24, 2016
tyconcepts:

I can't really say o! But I know you can't go wrong with Kenwood.

thank you very plentiful, I will ask around
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by joey150(m): 6:41am On Aug 25, 2016
I liked this. Am using your style when next i cook this.

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 4:07pm On Aug 30, 2016
joey150:
I liked this. Am using your style when next i cook this.

Awwwwwww.....Please use and update us.
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by ferhyntorlah(f): 1:56pm On Sep 02, 2016
tyconcepts:

I choose the plates over nylons and moimoi leaves because I can't keep using them over and over again + I don't really know how to use the moimoi leaves sef embarassed

My dear, the healthy moulders (if I can use that word) for moin moin are good old leaves or tin containers and not plastic cups or nylon as the two are synthetic. They contain chemicals that will dissolve into the food being cooked.

Please try to learn how to wrap moin moin leaves or use tin containers for health sake.

Cheers!
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 2:04pm On Sep 02, 2016
ferhyntorlah:

My dear, the healthy moulders (if I can use that word) for moin moin are good old leaves or tin containers and not plastic cups or nylon as the two are synthetic. They contain chemicals that will dissolve into the food being cooked.

Please try to learn how to wrap moin moin leaves or use tin containers for health sake.

Cheers!

Noted ma'am. Thanks.
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by bolseas(f): 9:10pm On Sep 04, 2016
OP, you really tried.

when next you want to cook moinmoin, please use rodo with tatashe or shombo in place of tomato. post the pictures on this thread and let us compare colours.

I know it is a matter of choice, but give it a trial..

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by tyconcepts(f): 3:32am On Sep 05, 2016
bolseas:
OP, you really tried.

when next you want to cook moinmoin, please use rodo with tatashe or shombo in place of tomato. post the pictures on this thread and let us compare colours.

I know it is a matter of choice, but give it a trial..

I know tatashe....which one is shombo I'm willing to try new things grin

Re: How I Made My Moimoi by bolseas(f): 8:12am On Sep 05, 2016
tyconcepts:

I know tatashe....which one is shombo I'm willing to try new things grin

lol...ok.... I don't know the English name but it is also called Bawa. if I get a picture of it I will post it or if someone else could help with the English name....
Re: How I Made My Moimoi by Sese2(f): 2:35pm On Sep 05, 2016
Sorry to ask this, i didn't see anywhre u mentioned Onions, u dn't like using it in ur moimoi or u forgot?

When Was The Last Time You Ate Isi Ewu? / Share Your Experience Of Using 'fork And Knife' To Eat for the First Time. / Reps Move To Ban Styrofoam, Others In Nigeria

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 34