Stats: 3,150,620 members, 7,809,287 topics. Date: Friday, 26 April 2024 at 07:18 AM

Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer (21730 Views)

Court Unfreezes 16 Accounts Belonging To Patience Jonathan / EFCC Discovers N6bn Hotel In Abuja Linked To Patience Jonathan / "Why Jonathan Could Not Accuse Me Of Corruption" - Amaechi (2) (3) (4)

Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by midolian(m): 4:19am On Sep 24, 2016

Former President Goodluck Jonathan

A self-professed solicitor to Dame Patience Jonathan, Mr. Charles Ogboli, says the $20m found in the five accounts traced to Patience could have been given to her by her husband, former President Goodluck Jonathan.

He said this on Friday during a breakfast television show titled, ‘Sunrise Daily’ on Channels Television.

Ogboli, who contested for the Delta State governorship election on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party in 2014, said Patience had told him about all that transpired, adding that her case was nothing but a witch-hunt.

When asked where Patience could have got the money from, the lawyer said $20m (N8bn) was not too much for a woman whose husband served as a deputy governor, governor, Vice-President and President within a period of 16 years.

Ogboli confirmed an exclusive story by The PUNCH that Patience’s personal account, with a balance of about $5m, which is domiciled in Skye Bank, had been frozen.

He said, “They have gone ahead to put a no debit order on her personal account which is unfair. My question is this: Being a former first lady and being a woman whose husband was the deputy governor of Bayelsa State, thereafter governor, thereafter Vice-President then President, are you now telling me, if we want to go through the figures her husband received in salaries, estacodes and allowances received in all these years, her husband would not be able to give his wife money, even if it is $20m? If we want to fight, let us fight justly.”

Ogboli, who initially claimed to be a human rights activist before later confessing to be an aide to Patience, told the Channels TV presenters that Patience had sometimes in 2013, instructed the then Special Adviser to the President on Domestic Affairs, Waripamowei Dudafa, to open domiciliary accounts for herself and her late mother.

He said Patience was, however, surprised to find out that one account was opened in her name at Skye Bank while four company accounts were opened.

He added that platinum cards were given to Patience with which to make withdrawals.

Ogboli said Patience had instructed Dudafa and the bank to correct the error but they refused to do so for over two years until the accounts were finally frozen by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission.

The lawyer said, “Her personal name was on first card while the other two cards had her mother’s name. Her mother used two of the accounts for business. The fact is that the names on the cards were supposed to be the names of her mother and herself.”

Ogboli, however, distanced Patience from the threats by a militant group to bomb the NNPC Towers if the restriction on Patience’s account was not lifted.

Meanwhile, the Civil Liberties Organisation has distanced itself from a protest held in Port Harcourt in support of Patience Jonathan, saying the protesters who stormed the Port Harcourt office of the EFCC were not members of CLO.

The CLO said in a statement by its President, Uche Durueke, that it would take steps to unravel those behind the embarrassment and impersonation.

“I hereby assure the bona fide members of the organisation and the public that CLO will not condescend so low to embark on such an infantile protest,” the statement read in part.

http://punchng.com/jonathan-given-20m-patience-says-lawyer/

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by SamuelAnyawu(m): 4:26am On Sep 24, 2016
grin grin grin grin grin grin grin

20 Likes 1 Share

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by Tolexander: 4:27am On Sep 24, 2016
He said, “They have gone ahead to put a no debit order on her personal account which is unfair. My question is this: Being a former first lady and being a woman whose husband was the deputy governor of Bayelsa State, thereafter governor, thereafter Vice-President then President, are you now telling me, if we want to go through the figures her husband received in salaries, estacodes and allowances received in all these years, her husband would not be able to give his wife money, even if it is $20m? If we want to fight, let us fight justly.”
Could this man be a real lawyer?

From what school did he study his law? even me wey be say na laws like Boyle's, Charles, Avogadro, gravity and diffusion dem teach me for school, I still know Patience Jonathan claiming the money in 4 companies in the name of his houseboy is against the law. How can she explain herself receiving the money from her husband?
How can her husband explain how he got that so much money to give her wife?

20million dollars = N3billion (using $1=N150). Dem no dey spend money at all for her husband to have got that so much amount saved from his salary in 16years to give his wife?

Oga lawyer, e de beru olorun!

176 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by Firefire(m): 4:27am On Sep 24, 2016
ok let the one-sided fight against kworuption continue.

Dambazul

Burantai

And others, please continue to enjoy your loots.

Modify**
PS: Before you quote me out of context, read the transcript of the communications below.

Thank you.

9 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by midolian(m): 4:28am On Sep 24, 2016
Like lawyer, like the defendant grin grin grin

62 Likes 1 Share

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by midolian(m): 4:33am On Sep 24, 2016
Firefire:

Dambazul

Burantai

Firefire, na wa u o! It seems you don't wnt the best for this country. Let Buhari continue sanitizing the country with his one sided fight against kworuption..his tenure is not for eternity...what I feel you should be praying for is that power should change hands after his tenure elapses(probably after 8yrs)...let the next president do his own one-sided fight....and I tell you, Nigeria will become cleaner.

158 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by Firefire(m): 4:40am On Sep 24, 2016
midolian:
Firefire, na wa u o! It seems you don't wnt the best for this country. Let Buhari continue sanitizing the country with his one sided fight against kworuption..his tenure is not for eternity...what I feel you should be praying for is that power should change hands after his tenure elapses(probably after 8yrs)...let the next president do his own one-sided fight....and I tell you, Nigeria will become very clean[/s].

Buhary should stop disgracing us with this fight against kworuption when evidences have been provided against the people in his own cabinet...

What is EFCC waiting for?

Burantai

Danbazul

SFG

Among others.

This is why I hate APC with passion. Immoral justification and media hullaballoo. angry

Buhary, start the fight against kworuption within your own cabinet among the newly identified thieves, if you got no liver to prosecute the political class. (Amaechi, Fashole etc)

However, my prayers have not change.

- May all looters of our common wealth NEVER find peace in this life and in the life to come everlasting.

- May all who benefited from this loots be strike with various forms of incurable sicknesses never known to human race.

Unless they return our loots in their custody.

Thank you.

28 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by midolian(m): 4:42am On Sep 24, 2016
Firefire:

Buhary should stop disgracing us with this fight against kworuption when evidences has been provided against the people in his own cabinet...

What is EFFC waiting for?

Burantai

Danbazul

SFG

Among others.

This is why I hate APC with passion. Immoral justification and media hullaballoo. angry

Buhary, start the fight against kworuption within your own cabinet among the newly identified thieves, if you got no liver to prosecute the political class. (Amaechi, Fashole etc)

However, my prayers have not changed.

- May all looters of our common wealth NEVER find peace in the life and in the life to come everlasting.

- May all who benefited from this loots be strike with various forms of incurable sicknesses never known to human race.

Thank you.
Beht if your GEJ had done a one-sided fight too, with Buhari doing his now, everything for don balance now grin

Stop speaking dogon turenchi, my brother grin grin

145 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by Flexherbal(m): 4:43am On Sep 24, 2016
Could have!
Not gave!
Following...

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by Firefire(m): 4:44am On Sep 24, 2016
midolian:
Beht if your GEJ had done a one-sided fight too, with Buhari doing his now, everything for don balance now grin

Sorry! Jonathan is a bygone.

Good morning.

15 Likes

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by Pavore9: 4:47am On Sep 24, 2016
A self-professed solicitor to Dame Patience Jonathan, Mr. Charles Ogboli, says the $20m found in the five accounts traced to Patience could have been given to her by her husband, former President Goodluck Jonathan.

"When asked where Patience could have got the money from, the lawyer said $20m (N8bn) was not too much for a woman whose husband served as a deputy governor, governor, Vice-President and President within a period of 16 years".

"sometimes in 2013, instructed the then Special Adviser to the President on Domestic Affairs, Waripamowei Dudafa, to open domiciliary accounts for herself and her late mother".

“Her personal name was on first card while the other two cards had her mother’s name. Her mother used two of the accounts for business. The fact is that the names on the cards were supposed to be the names of her mother and herself."

The lawyer no well at all!

53 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by midolian(m): 4:51am On Sep 24, 2016
Firefire:

Sorry! Jonathan is a bygone.

Good morning.
bygone kor, bywent ni! undecided

Not after all the "ever-surfacing" attrocities he has committed. We can't stop mentioning the hatman bacause whenever we mention a crime, the crime mentions his name.

57 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by nextprince: 4:56am On Sep 24, 2016
What is this liar lawyer saying na? All this account name acrobat no be am. If PEJ really got that money from her husband, I think this can open up another fresh case. All his salaries, allowances and estacodes are on record.

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by nextprince: 4:57am On Sep 24, 2016
midolian:

Not after all the "ever-surfacing" attrocities he has committed. We can't stop mentioning the hatman bacause whenever we mention a crime, the crime mentions his name.
GBAM!

14 Likes

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by SamuelAnyawu(m): 5:01am On Sep 24, 2016
Firefire:

Buhary should stop disgracing us with this fight against kworuption when evidences has been provided against the people in his own cabinet...

What is EFFC waiting for?

Burantai

Danbazul

SFG

Among others.

However, my prayers have not change.

- May all looters of our common wealth NEVER find peace in this life and in the life to come everlasting.

Thank you.

Perfect Prayer cool

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by anonimi: 5:07am On Sep 24, 2016
Firefire:

Dambazul

Burantai

Nothing spoil, bro.
It is all part of the excitement for their zombie followers to take their mind off other pressing issues, including the recession-fueled hunger in the land.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/3206797_123416059658074934612735251373255674989745n_jpeg3f66bee59a7668d2d64db8f955e2f137

www.nairaland.com/attachments/3900895_tmpfbimg14671496201601359061659_jpeg16b35e0420df707155480a7e11564764

www.nairaland.com/attachments/3088738_img20151115154440_jpeg8f611b6c9cc8cd0928a56ef1049ea06d

10 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by Firefire(m): 5:10am On Sep 24, 2016
SamuelAnyawu:

Perfect Prayer cool

That is my honest prayers, but I hate it when people defend looters, just because they have soft spots for them. angry

I repeat, all those who steal our common resources and everyone who has ever benefited from it without proper and adequate restitution will be transiting from one sickness to another, and eventually leave this world in a miserable manner.

EFFECTS OF CORRUPTION

- Corruption aggravate unemployment and under development.

- It engenders mass poverty and thwart efforts to overcome it.

- Most infrastructural decay and unsatisfactory provision of amenities can be traced directly or indirectly to corruption. There is a total collapse of power and road net work in the country today due to corrupt attitude of past leaders.

- It erodes the ethical base of society: -as due diligence, excellence, honesty, merit and integrity are discouraged.

- It breeds all kinds of crimes and vandalism – arm robbery, kidnapping, youth agitation etc.

- It lead to massive brain drain – a great number of Nigeria best brains have been driven to other part of the world where they now spearhead developmental and scientific exploits.

http://www.antigraft.org/cc-case/corruption-case-nigeria

10 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by anonimi: 5:11am On Sep 24, 2016
midolian:

Really
Such as when you mention the crime by these comrades-in-LOOTING?

www.nairaland.com/attachments/3267407_abacha_jpeg5dbd38353fc0f4bfc47236b71cb78dbe

www.nairaland.com/attachments/3040085_abachaaa_jpegb9b6ace1c002846314b86b3375f466a0

www.nairaland.com/attachments/3441929_img20160227001458_jpeg3fecf627d6b5447631b348f011e59b5a

7 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by faithugo64(f): 5:14am On Sep 24, 2016
buhari what have you done with all the looted funds you have recovered so far? where are the funds? will collecting this one make any difference? your fight against corruption is indeed one-sided

keep deceiving yourself not us

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by Firefire(m): 5:14am On Sep 24, 2016
anonimi:

Really
Such as when you mention the crime by these comrades-in-LOOTING?

Unfortunately, Buhary himself is morally kworopt. undecided

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by anonimi: 5:16am On Sep 24, 2016
Pavore9:
A [size=13pt]self-professed[/size] solicitor to Dame Patience Jonathan, Mr. Charles Ogboli, says the $20m found in the five accounts traced to Patience could have been given to her by her husband, former President Goodluck Jonathan.

"When asked where Patience could have got the money from, the lawyer said $20m (N8bn) was not too much for a woman whose husband served as a deputy governor, governor, Vice-President and President within a period of 16 years".

"sometimes in 2013, instructed the then Special Adviser to the President on Domestic Affairs, Waripamowei Dudafa, to open domiciliary accounts for herself and her late mother".

“Her personal name was on first card while the other two cards had her mother’s name. Her mother used two of the accounts for business. The fact is that the names on the cards were supposed to be the names of her mother and herself."

The lawyer no well at all!

Truly, IF the lawyer is her lawyer and IF he said such he should be fired and de-robed.
However, I will not be surprised if this is just another episode from the propaganda playbook of the Association of ProgreTHIEF Criminals, APC just as they did for Saraki not so long ago and NOTHING came out of it.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/3356469_screenshot20160131120000_jpeg639beaec46d4ced684f639998a489af2

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by anonimi: 5:19am On Sep 24, 2016
Firefire:
Unfortunately, Buhary himself is morally kworopt. undecided

Very corrupt and a bloody thief just like his comrades in uniform and agbada, walahi!
The man sabi do chop-and-clean-mouth, nor be small!!!

www.nairaland.com/attachments/2026536_image_jpeg9f360c5ab7736510df54c882e9dbf188

www.nairaland.com/attachments/2151923_10959780101527066886056781674305683697845804n_jpeg88571234fc99d5765ef94ba8883de888

2 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by Firefire(m): 5:20am On Sep 24, 2016
faithugo64:
buhari what have you done with all the looted funds you have recovered so far? where are the funds? will collecting this one make any difference? your fight against corruption is indeed one-sided

keep deceiving yourself not us

APC has re-looted the recovered loots.

1. Nobody is asking question about the imposed N50 Stamp Duty on every deposit in Nigeria.

2. And nobody is giving us the account balance of the withdrawals

I laugh the myopic and derailed sentiments of Nigerian youth, who are easily being deceived by the professional looters managing the affair of this country.

Fellow Nigerians, wise-up, ask questions and stop being deceived by supporting some looters and easily gaining organism when other names you hated are being mentioned.

3 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by anonimi: 5:26am On Sep 24, 2016
Firefire:
APC has re-looted the recovered loots.

1. Nobody is asking question about the imposed N50 Stamp Duty on every deposit in Nigeria.

2. And nobody is giving us the account balance of the withdrawals

I laugh the myopic and derailed sentiments of Nigerian youth, who are easily being deceived by the professional looters managing the affair of this country.

Fellow Nigerians, wise-up, ask questions and stop being deceived by supporting some looters and easily gaining organism when other names you hated are being mentioned.

The man who is officially responsible for DullardPoo's propaganda has said he won't even answer us if we ask questions.
No wonder the propaganda ministry's budget is multiple that of Agric.
Oya, make their zombies dey chop propaganda dey go.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/3711426_laimuhammedidontowe_png3d123b27e8f04701820553cb9b600a90

Revealed: How Buhari Budgeted N39 billion for Propaganda

In a bid to launder his already battered image, President Muhammadu Buhari has allocated a whooping sum of N39 billion in the 2016 budget to the Ministry of Information and Culture, a sum higher than the paltry N29 billion allocated to the Ministry of Agriculture.

This is a direct inverse of the 2015 budget, where Former President Goodluck Jonathan allocated the sum of N23 billion to Ministry of Information and N39 billion to the Agricultural Ministry.

The meager allocation to the Agricultural ministry has left political stakeholders wondering if the present administration aims at diversifying the economy or thriving on propaganda.

Buhari had in August, 2015 stated that Nigerians must stop paying mere lip service to agriculture, as crude oil and gas exports will no longer be sufficient as the country’s major revenue earner.

“It’s time to go back to the land. We must face the reality that the petroleum we had depended on for so long will no longer suffice. We campaigned heavily on agriculture, and we are ready to assist as many want to go into agricultural ventures,’’ Buhari stated.

However investigations by Post Nigeria revealed that Buhari’s words did not match his action following the lean budgetary provision for Agriculture.

More from: https://www.post-nigeria.com/revealed-how-buhari-budgeted-n39-billion-for-propaganda/

4 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by kcnwaigbo: 5:34am On Sep 24, 2016
midolian:

My dear Buhari would not be allowed to continue with his one sided war on corruption.He will set this country on fire should he continue with this approach. I sincerely hope he is not stupid enough to contemplate arresting PEJ as the consequences would be devastating for the Nigerian economy

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by modath(f): 5:42am On Sep 24, 2016
This self professed lawyer certainly does not mean well for Mama Piss and her household..

Jonathan could have given her what? If not for the deep seated corruption that has eaten deep into the fabric of this country, he ought to be disbarred.. Some folks just don't know what not to say and the place not to say it.

14 Likes 1 Share

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by Pavore9: 5:52am On Sep 24, 2016
anonimi:

Truly, IF the lawyer is her lawyer and IF he said such he should be fired and de-robed.
However, I will not be surprised if this is just another episode from the propaganda playbook of the Association of ProgreTHIEF Criminals, APC just as they did for Saraki not so long ago and NOTHING came out of it.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/3356469_screenshot20160131120000_jpeg639beaec46d4ced684f639998a489af2

I hold no brief for anyone as no political party is a source of my sustenance! I have never invested my emotions in defending any politician over allegations of corruption irrespective of political affiliation and my posts history shows that.

This link shows there are Nigerians who watched the lawyer live on Channels TV.

https://www.nairaland.com/3366461/15m-fraud-channels-tv-yanks

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by Boleyndynasty2(f): 7:05am On Sep 24, 2016
midolian:

with the one sided fight, so far what has been achieved? Who's been jailed? Who's trials have come to a finally conclusion? Who has any court of competent jurisdiction tried and found guilty? My dear this eye service fight is killing us more than its helping us.Efcc operatives are even in on the corruption saga.

Good morning sir

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by Histrings08(m): 7:12am On Sep 24, 2016
This woman is just a pain in d ass of our humble Gej

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by joseph1832(m): 7:43am On Sep 24, 2016
Arrant nonsense!. Imagine the hogwash this so called lawyer is spewing.

I wonder if Mitchelle Obama have 8 billion dollars in her personal account. This goes the level of decadence in this country.

People giving lip service who people who got money just because the want something in return, it doesn't matter if the money is stolen, nope! All the think about is their stomach.

The lawyer should watch what he say cos even 8 billion Naira is too much for a first lady to own.

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by Nobody: 8:04am On Sep 24, 2016
angry sad Stupid and Coconut head Lawyer

Re: Jonathan Could Have Given $20m To Patience, Says Lawyer by Standing5(m): 8:26am On Sep 24, 2016
midolian:

If Jona had to resort to stealing arms fund to hire Dokpesi to blackmail opposition, doesn't that prove there was a one-sided prosecution persecution in the past?
Let the wailers wail. Wailing is emotional stuff. You don't tell a theif who lost his loot not to wail when he is sad.

6 Likes 2 Shares

Saraki To Hold ‘world Press Conference’ On Wednesday / Jeffrey Guterman Seeks $10,000 To ‘Deal With Financial Problems' / Xenophobia: Nigeria To Commence Evacuation Wednesday - NICASA

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 76