Stats: 3,326,603 members, 8,427,220 topics. Date: Monday, 15 June 2026 at 02:44 PM

Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsEnugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame (3009 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by sarrki(op): 8:26am On Oct 05, 2016
givan:
Op in this case, words without picture(s) make no sense.

That road needs both physical n spiritual rehabilitation. Too many live lost on it.
Pls sis don't go spiritual

Heaven help those who help themselves
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by nku5: 8:43am On Oct 05, 2016
sarrki:
Bro

Most times when I talk about issues like this

It's not to create tribal division

Is to make us see why we should see things beyond

ethnic & religious lines.

If a man from zungeru, ogoja, okigwe will make life easy

For the citizenry

He should have our support.
Na so my guy no shaking. So far the man himself does not invoke ethnic/religious divisions people will support him
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by sarrki(op): 8:44am On Oct 05, 2016
nku5:
Na so my guy no shaking. So far the man himself does not invoke ethnic/religious divisions people will support him
wink yeah bro
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by nku5: 8:57am On Oct 05, 2016
mrvitalis:
Sorry please name what he got right in the south East please
For one thing he gave SE industries a good deal of support by encouraging the likes of Innoson to key into his automotive industry policies. Even gave consent to Airforce to service our planes. Imagine the boost to the capacity of the industry

Made sure Enugu Airport was gazetted as international and is now equipped for cargo. Sotay we can now export vegetables

Second Niger Bridge funds he set aside can build the bridge if this government is interested in applying them

A few others I cant recall now
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by sarrki(op): 9:07am On Oct 05, 2016
nku5:
For one thing he gave SE industries a good deal of support by encouraging the likes of Innoson to key into his automotive industry policies. Even gave consent to Airforce to service our planes. Imagine the boost to the capacity of the industry

Made sure Enugu Airport was gazetted as international and is now equipped for cargo. Sotay we can now export vegetables

Second Niger Bridge funds he set aside can build the bridge if this government is interested in applying them

Bro

I disagree with you on the money you said he set aside

The arms shared they shared is enough to do the bridge

Also dualise the road from 9th mile in enugu-Awka -

Onitsha -Asaba-Agbor-Warri Junction -Benin -Ore-Ijebu

Ode - Sagamu in other to link Lagos Ibadan express way

But he failed to write his name in gold

Due to endemic corruption
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by mrvitalis(m): 9:14am On Oct 05, 2016
nku5:

Did what for innoson??. . Are u for real??

Oh my have u been to enugu airport before??

And for the second Niger bridge... What found was set aside abeg? !
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by Abagworo(m): 9:21am On Oct 05, 2016
nku5:

You definitely have no shame. I am sure if this same Road is repaired by this admin you will claim same nonsense as above. Na jazz?
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by 989900:
In relation to the much talked about sale of national assets, I support it, as long as; 1. it will be sold mostly to foreign investors who would bring in much needed Forex, experience, and world standards, 2. we have a well thought-out and fought-out plan to utilize the proceeds astutely.

I have seen a few lists being thrown here and there, and I'd say it's all good, especially the redundant liabilities we mistake for assets. About NLNG, selling a 5% stake won't hurt (especially with a buy-back clause . . . #lease 'sorta') -- "you use what you have to get what you need".

Take a look at some of our government offices and other infrastructure -- you'd literally want to puke.

Personally, after my visit to the country last month, with air traffic schedules cancellation and all, and needing to travel by road, I'd say regardless of paying taxes and government responsibilities and yada, yada, yada, our lives are more important than those relatively trivial arguments (our fellow country people back home might not get the full grasp of this, cause they're used to living dangerously all day, everyday), I'd STRONGLY suggest the railways and federal roads be concessioned to foreign and local companies for rebuilding, expansion, development, and maintenance.

The state of those roads is beyond dangerous, they are basically death 'fxck*n' traps! I'd gladly pay N1,000 as toll gate fee, and get to Ibadan from Lagos in an hour, on a well illuminated 4 lane highway with ambulances at intervals, security details, speed radars, emergency clinics and e.t.c., than ply the same road for free, spending 4-5 hours #timeismoney, in a dark 2 lane expressway riddled with pot 'tank' holes a.k.a death traps, armed robbers, and burning an extra N1,500 fuel in a 'jam', or needing to replace some car part(s).

Also, faster rail travel can come to fruition in double time with more foreign input. This is actually not a new concept, it is done even in comfortable developed economies.

This is our lives at stake. The government (if forthright, or with the right laws) can concentrate on oversight, and utilizing freed up funds and taxes from those projects for other worthwhile expenditure. undecided
I wrote the above article somedays ago, and some inbred-empty cranium-pathetic lowlife who can't even differentiate between federal and state roads, derailed it with comments a toddler wouldn't even dare.

It is our lives at stake.
#enoughsaid
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by sarrki(op): 10:53am On Oct 05, 2016
989900:
I wrote the above article somedays ago, and some inbred-empty-cranium-pathetic-lowlife who can't even differentiate between federal and state roads, derailed it with comments a toddler wouldn't even dare.

It is our lives at stake.
#enoughsaid
Well said
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by nku5: 3:36pm On Oct 05, 2016
mrvitalis:
Did what for innoson??. . Are u for real??

Oh my have u been to enugu airport before??

And for the second Niger bridge... What found was set aside abeg? !
Which govt was the first to embrace innoson vehicles?

Is Enugu airport an international airport or not?

On second niger bridge go and do your research. Go and find out what NSCIA is. Start here -

http://venturesafrica.com/nigerias-sovereign-wealth-releases-fund-for-726m-niger-bridge/

http://m.guardian.ng/news/nigeria/fg-disburses-n18-3b-counterpart-funds-for-second-niger-bridge/
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by nku5: 3:39pm On Oct 05, 2016
sarrki:
Bro

I disagree with you on the money you said he set aside

The arms shared they shared is enough to do the bridge

Also dualise the road from 9th mile in enugu-Awka -

Onitsha -Asaba-Agbor-Warri Junction -Benin -Ore-Ijebu

Ode - Sagamu in other to link Lagos Ibadan express way

But he failed to write his name in gold

Due to endemic corruption
Oga you are biased.

Jona kept money aside for the second niger bridge. Google am

Start with this-

http://m.guardian.ng/news/nigeria/fg-disburses-n18-3b-counterpart-funds-for-second-niger-bridge/
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by obailala(m): 4:25pm On Oct 05, 2016
nku5:

Sometimes i wonder where some people churn out these strange arguments from. Which money was set aside for Niger bridge?.... N10bn out of the required N130billion in 2014, is that what you mean by money set aside for Niger bridge?... Not even a dime was budgeted for the bridge in 2015 budget hence the project was abandoned in 2015 and contractors left the site (with ignorant and evil people spreading rumours that BUHARI has stopped the project).

Enugu airport which was recertified was eventually used as a conduit pipe to steal billions. Of the tens of billions purportedly released for the project, the runway still has numerous potholes because the moneys were swallowed; airlines like Emirates have bluntly refused to bring their planes anywhere close to the Enugu runway because of this very runway. Meanwhile, hope yu are aware that whatever was done for the enugu airport, more was done for other main airports across the country (kano, abuja, lagos etc) so i still don't get how this enugu airport keeps being repeated as a favour GEJ did to Igbos.

Would be nice if you can remember those 'few others' cos it would be interesting to know what they are.
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by nku5: 6:06pm On Oct 05, 2016
obailala:
Sometimes i wonder where some people churn out these strange arguments from. Which money was set aside for Niger bridge?.... N10bn out of the required N130billion in 2014, is that what you mean by money set aside for Niger bridge?... Not even a dime was budgeted for the bridge in 2015 budget hence the project was abandoned in 2015 and contractors left the site (with ignorant and evil people spreading rumours that BUHARI has stopped the project).

Enugu airport which was recertified was eventually used as a conduit pipe to steal billions. Of the tens of billions purportedly released for the project, the runway still has numerous potholes because the moneys were swallowed; airlines like Emirates have bluntly refused to bring their planes anywhere close to the Enugu runway because of this very runway. Meanwhile, hope yu are aware that whatever was done for the enugu airport, more was done for other main airports across the country (kano, abuja, lagos etc) so i still don't get how this enugu airport keeps being repeated as a favour GEJ did to Igbos.

Would be nice if you can remember those 'few others' cos it would be interesting to know what they are.
1. SHUO! He put more than 50% of the FG's share of the funding for the project. Is that not money set aside to ensure consummation of the project? Abi you dont understand the nature of the 2NB? Read up-

"According to the NSIA, the Nigerian government has so far disbursed N18.3 billion of her N30 billion commitment to the project"

2. Is there or is there not a functional international airport with cargo facilities? Na wa to you o!

"First cargo plane lands at Enugu Airport
ON August 24, 2016 6:30 AM
ENUGU—The first cargo plane yesterday landed at the Akanu Ibiam International Airport in Enugu.
The landing of the Ethiopian Airline Boeing 757 cargo plane was witnessed by an enthusiastic crowd and other dignitaries including Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi."
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by obailala(m): 6:50pm On Oct 05, 2016
nku5:
1. SHUO! He put more than 50% of the FG's share of the funding for the project. Is that not money set aside to ensure consummation of the project? Abi you dont understand the nature of the 2NB? Read up-

"According to the NSIA, the Nigerian government has so far disbursed N18.3 billion of her N30 billion commitment to the project"

2. Is there or is there not a functional international airport with cargo facilities? Na wa to you o!

"First cargo plane lands at Enugu Airport
ON August 24, 2016 6:30 AM
ENUGU—The first cargo plane yesterday landed at the Akanu Ibiam International Airport in Enugu.
The landing of the Ethiopian Airline Boeing 757 cargo plane was witnessed by an enthusiastic crowd and other dignitaries including Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi."
If you go back and read further news reports on the 2NB, it says only about N10bn was actually released in 2014 out of the 'disbursed' N18.3bn; about N4.4bn was the amount that had already been spent previously for consultancy and other stuff (this N4.4bn bit doesn't seem to be part of the N30bn which is FG's counterpart share). The part of your story I didnt get was where you said "funds had been set aside which is enough to build the bridge if this government is interested in applying them," you made it sound like the full funds required for building the entire bridge had been provided and kept in a special safe somewhere but that the new govt isn't interested in completing the project. Meanwhile about N15bn or N17bn (not sure of exact amount) was budgeted this year to offset part of the counterpart funding too.

As for Enugu airport, yes the airport was upgraded and that is commendable, but remember that whatever was done in the enugu airport was also done in Kano, lagos and Abuja, so why exactly should this upgrade be a substitution for important things like the Onitsha-Enugu road repair?

Meanwhile in the euphoria of the development, half of the money meant for the real structural upgrade (runway repairs and expansion etc) developed wings and flew away (or probably was never released). There's a reason why major airlines are still avoiding the airport, and its not because of a 'conspiracy' or 'gang-up' by 'enemy tribes' as many people allege and believe. The reason is cos the standards (infrastructure) haven't really been upgraded yet (except on paper).
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by nku5: 7:17am On Oct 06, 2016
obailala:
If you go back and read further news reports on the 2NB, it says only about N10bn was actually released in 2014 out of the 'disbursed' N18.3bn; about N4.4bn was the amount that had already been spent previously for consultancy and other stuff (this N4.4bn bit doesn't seem to be part of the N30bn which is FG's counterpart share). The part of your story I didnt get was where you said "funds had been set aside which is enough to build the bridge if this government is interested in applying them," you made it sound like the full funds required for building the entire bridge had been provided and kept in a special safe somewhere but that the new govt isn't interested in completing the project. Meanwhile about N15bn or N17bn (not sure of exact amount) was budgeted this year to offset part of the counterpart funding too.

As for Enugu airport, yes the airport was upgraded and that is commendable, but remember that whatever was done in the enugu airport was also done in Kano, lagos and Abuja, so why exactly should this upgrade be a substitution for important things like the Onitsha-Enugu road repair?

Meanwhile in the euphoria of the development, half of the money meant for the real structural upgrade (runway repairs and expansion etc) developed wings and flew away (or probably was never released). There's a reason why major airlines are still avoiding the airport, and its not because of a 'conspiracy' or 'gang-up' by 'enemy tribes' as many people allege and believe. The reason is cos the standards (infrastructure) haven't really been upgraded yet (except on paper).
So you have agreed that GEJ set funds aside for 2NB and that there is an international airport in Enugu.

I am satisfied
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by obailala(m): 8:11am On Oct 06, 2016
nku5:
So you have agreed that GEJ set funds aside for 2NB and that there is an international airport in Enugu.

I am satisfied
Of course he paid a fraction of the required counterpart fund of the FG, that isnt news. You are however making it sound like he 'set aside' or 'provided' the full funds for the bridge; if that was the case, the bridge would have since been completed.
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by nku5: 3:43pm On Oct 07, 2016
obailala:
Of course he paid a fraction of the required counterpart fund of the FG, that isnt news. You are however making it sound like he 'set aside' or 'provided' the full funds for the bridge; if that was the case, the bridge would have since been completed.
No be fraction na more than half. My point is simple bros GEJ shall forever be the MAN because its forever on record that he started the 2NB. Shikena
Re: Enugu-onitsha Expressway Of Shame by obailala(m): 10:23pm On Oct 07, 2016
nku5:
No be fraction na more than half. My point is simple bros GEJ shall forever be the MAN because its forever on record that he started the 2NB. Shikena
More than half kwa?... abeg how much was paid to contractors?
1 2 Reply

Reconstruction Of Enugu-Onitsha Expressway, Lauretta Onochie Mocks PDPPhotos Of The Present State Of Enugu-Onitsha ExpresswayFG Sets To Rehabilitate Enugu-onitsha Expressway234

Osibanjo Is A Vagabond Fake Pastor Bribe Eating ScumbagBreaking: Obasanjo, IBB Take Final Decision On Impeachment Plot As Osibanjo Meet24 Hours Electricity In My Area