Stats: 3,162,068 members, 7,849,327 topics. Date: Monday, 03 June 2024 at 06:39 PM

Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia - Sports - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia (39915 Views)

Will Super Eagles Escape From World Cup Group D? / Mikel Obi, Iheanacho, Others Check Into Hotel As Zambia Squad Lands In Uyo. PICS / Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia (2) (3) (4)

Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by Nobody: 2:29pm On Oct 10, 2016
– The Super Eagles of Nigeria returned to the country after their 2 – 1 away win to Zambia

– The delegation arrived at the Nnamdi Azikiwe airport in Abuja amidst violence

– Unknown gunmen attempted to arrest Shehu Dikko who was part of the party to Zambia

The Super Eagles of Nigeria returned into the country on Sunday night, October 9, amidst violence at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Airport where fully armed unknown gunmen were waiting to arrest the League Management Company (LMC) chairman Shehu Dikko.

Dikko was part of the delegation that led the Eagles to Ndola where the Super Eagles defeated the Chipolopolo of Zambia 2 – 1.

Two men who were in mufti claiming to be police officers stated that they were from the Jos police command, stressing that they have been given the order to arrest Dikko who is also the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) vice chairman.

Our correspondent learnt that the acclaimed police officers failed to present identity cards or warrants to back their presence at the airport.

However, Dikko was said to be having a discussion with the Super Eagles’ players, and all efforts by the security agents to arrest him proved abortive.

The unknown men decided to shoot sporadically into the air when journalists, NFF officials and members of the club owners accosted them.

The Super Eagles players were hurriedly ushered into their bus before being driven off for the safety of their lives.

“It was hell last night for us as these two men just appeared from no where claiming they were police officers. They even threatened to shoot us, and we said they should go ahead, but they later left after shooting into the air,” a journalist told NAIJ.com.

The Super Eagles media personnel Toyin Ibitoye also confirmed the incident, but quickly added that he was not at the scene when it happened.

“Yes, but I was not around the place as I was at the place where we were offloading our bags, but I was later told of what happened,” he to NAIJ.com.

All players will now return to their respective clubs but will return for the in November for their next game against the Desert Foxes of Algeria who were held to a 1 – 1 draw by Cameroon.

Nigeria top CAF qualifying Group B with 3 points, followed by Algeria and Cameroon who have one point each. Zambia are fourth with no point.

https://www.naij.com/1002032-shocker-super-eagles-escape-gunshots-upon-return-zambia.html

1 Share

Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by ammyluv2002(f): 2:44pm On Oct 10, 2016
O ga o
Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by ngmgeek(m): 3:34pm On Oct 10, 2016
No good news coming from this Country. Sad news or stories all the time. angry

Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by Kunleskey(m): 3:34pm On Oct 10, 2016
nawa o
Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by majekre: 3:34pm On Oct 10, 2016
shocked shocked shocked shocked
Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by Lilimax(f): 3:34pm On Oct 10, 2016
Lawlessness everywhere embarassed

Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by lyterydim(m): 3:35pm On Oct 10, 2016
Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by yorex2011: 3:35pm On Oct 10, 2016
Dafuq??
Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by Branzy(m): 3:35pm On Oct 10, 2016
weten we no go hear.. dy say from Jos I smell sumtyn like giw....
Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by WackyJ1(m): 3:36pm On Oct 10, 2016
What is this country turning into God? shocked

Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by soberdrunk(m): 3:36pm On Oct 10, 2016
grin una nor understand wetin happen *!dodges plate of spoilt beans*! Na 'welcome' home shots/victory shots *!dodges wheel spanner*! We just wan surprise them *!dodges 16 rim tyre*! grin grin

15 Likes

Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by Nobody: 3:36pm On Oct 10, 2016
Front page! anyways visit www.slashnec.tk for latest blogging tips
Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by engrdosmen01(m): 3:36pm On Oct 10, 2016
Dis babe above me
Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by meImyself(m): 3:36pm On Oct 10, 2016
That's terrible.
Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by babyfaceafrica: 3:36pm On Oct 10, 2016
noted
Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by Nobody: 3:37pm On Oct 10, 2016
Seen , next
Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by Neimar: 3:37pm On Oct 10, 2016
lemme laff.....zoo republic

Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by Zonacom(m): 3:38pm On Oct 10, 2016
I don't understand what's happening in this country again. What kinda lawlessness and total disrespect to rule of law is this? Buhari and his goons must learn to follow due process in his selective fight against corruption. What rubbish!

15 Likes

Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by abdulrazat(m): 3:38pm On Oct 10, 2016
Daura secret service?

Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by SamuelAnyawu(m): 3:39pm On Oct 10, 2016

There was a Country

Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by wayne4loan: 3:39pm On Oct 10, 2016
Chinaka's dog want to turn this country to Afghanistan

13 Likes

Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by Nobody: 3:41pm On Oct 10, 2016
Thank God for their lives...

listen to my songs at http://my.notjustok.com/p/oracle/

A blind guy visited his choir mistress at home and found her bathing. since he was blind, she let him in. After bathing, she came out naked with legs spread and shaving in front of him and tried to make a conversation by asking him, brother John, what brings you here? Is everything OK at home? He replied, yes o, very fine. I came to tell you that I have done the eye surgery and I can see very clearly now. grin

13 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by 1shortblackboy: 3:41pm On Oct 10, 2016
When u talk about lawlessness they will call u a supporter of corruption. Now anybody can just stop u at anywhere at anytime and claim to be anybody and arrest u for anything..... make una enjoy the fascism

Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by ebujany(m): 3:41pm On Oct 10, 2016
Change every were......unheard of b4.an attack on the super eagles is an attack on Nigerians but now that change is in the air, boys no dey smile o

Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by winkmart: 3:41pm On Oct 10, 2016
it well

my signature dey hot
Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by Cubeet: 3:42pm On Oct 10, 2016
Nigerian police under Buhari worse than Boko Haram

Re: Super Eagles Escape Gunshots Upon Their Return From Zambia by oxygen004: 3:42pm On Oct 10, 2016
See make them give dose guys enough security oooo... I hold our players in high esteem, esp iheanacho, iwobi.... We don't want the story that touches the heart....

BBC Apologises After Sex Noise Was Heard In The Studio During A Live FA Cup / Everton Suspends Player After Being Linked To Child Sex Abuse / UEFA Super Cup: Liverpool Goalkeeper, VAR Accused Of Cheating In Penalty Kick

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 19