Stats: 3,328,105 members, 8,434,083 topics. Date: Friday, 26 June 2026 at 08:34 AM

Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck - Education (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralEducationNigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck (30318 Views)

1 2 3 4 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by TheSpellChecker: 3:01pm On Mar 01, 2017
The same thing I've been saying for ages.

Funnily enough, these same set of ignorant Nigerians who can't differentiate between 'am' and 'I am' or who write in stupid abbreviations all the time still find the time to capitalize the letter G when writing god.
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by Nobody: 3:01pm On Mar 01, 2017
Some Nigerians will bash the lady instead of taking correction.

We are just too defensive for the wrong reasons.
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by Nobody: 3:01pm On Mar 01, 2017
ernesty20:
Yeah.. Nigerians are illiterate.. Come to London where i live, you will see them roaming the streets of london.
Really? What does this comment make you? An educated folk? Nah... You are as 'illiterate' as those you accused. Maybe we should first educate you about the use of the word, 'I'. Regardless of its position in a sentence, it must be in capital. 'I', in a sentence, (except otherwise indicated) is a word, and not an alphabet! Got it?!
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by diegosticks(m): 3:01pm On Mar 01, 2017
If anyone should correct us in English language, it should be the British. American English is also wrong English whether they like it or not.
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by JhaayYoung: 3:02pm On Mar 01, 2017
"I arrived yesterday"..
Is the usage of "I" in this statement grammatically wrong?
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by PrinceAbinibi: 3:04pm On Mar 01, 2017
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by olawonder(m): 3:04pm On Mar 01, 2017
Emperoo:
Haha, this damn serious!
See them, u no see say u don misfire too?
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by repogirl(f): 3:07pm On Mar 01, 2017
Lol, this is quite funny. So Nigerians can be recognised by am and i? We always stand out, don't we?
aluk:
Really? What does this comment make you? An educated folk? Nah... You are as 'illiterate' as those you accused. Maybe we should first educate you about the use of the word, 'I'. Regardless of its position in a sentence, it must be in capital. 'I', in a sentence, (except otherwise indicated) is a word, and not an alphabet! Got it?!
don't mind that one deceiving himself, he is a local Nigerian forming UK. He cannot even afford a good phone which autocorrects every "I".
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by jericco1(m): 3:09pm On Mar 01, 2017
We need a change
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by JeffreyJamez(m): 3:10pm On Mar 01, 2017
And as usual,instead of them to take to correction,they will argue baselessly and aimlessly. Typical.
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by CJAYFORTUNE: 3:11pm On Mar 01, 2017
Oga your corrections were too poor to disturb over 3000 narialanders! Besides English is never our language, Lionel messi of Barca can speak English yet he's world best and etc.
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by CJAYFORTUNE: 3:14pm On Mar 01, 2017
Oga your corrections were too poor to disturb over 3000 narialanders! Besides English is never our language, Lionel messi of Barca can not speak English yet he's world best and etc.
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by TexasR: 3:16pm On Mar 01, 2017
Kondomatic:
And which Nigerian language can the American woman speak?
Soon as you tell me which Nigerian language is as internationally accepted and used like the English language.
Some things are just so simple to comprehend and flow with,but people like you must find a way to excuse the very glaringly inexcusable
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by Ahmadgani(m): 3:17pm On Mar 01, 2017
neocolonialism
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by TexasR: 3:20pm On Mar 01, 2017
This correction is for Tonto Dike who keeps saying "am not surprised,,,,am not worried,,,,am okay" rather than I'm not surprised,,,,I'm not worried,,,,, I'm okay as well as hordes of nairalanders who are fond of wrongful use of those words
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by Nobody: 3:20pm On Mar 01, 2017
aluk:
ernesty20: She just schooled you son.

https://i.imgur.com/WSZosZi.gif
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by Marty2020: 3:24pm On Mar 01, 2017
Most times, its not all about speaking English, can you write it down? can you explain the words that are been pronounced? do you have anything upstairs? can the English feed you, cus they are people who can't speak but they do better than the so call grammerians?
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by amazon14: 3:25pm On Mar 01, 2017
Do americans speak good english? No. The should go and sit down
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by SwillG: 3:27pm On Mar 01, 2017
JhaayYoung:
"I arrived yesterday"..
Is the usage of "I" in this statement grammatically wrong?
Yes!
Correct Ans:
"I am arrived yesterday" ---- Correct.grin

Truth be told guys: The Whites are taking advantage of the fact that Nigerians are opportunity seekers so they'll do anything and everything to humiliate us. For the benefit of those who will be travelling out of 9ja someday in the future, "This Correction Is For YOU". English na white man language so them get every right to correct us. We na borrow we borrow am. And the use of abbreviation has really done more harm than good as most of us are forgetting how to make good sentences and correct spelling of words. PEACE
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by Totino: 3:27pm On Mar 01, 2017
Paul2434:
Naija people make we learn!
Learn how not to mind our business or what exactly are we to learn?...
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by jayriginal: 3:27pm On Mar 01, 2017
. . . and then the writer did his own gbagaun by saying "get's to see it". Who will now correct him?
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by horllyma(m): 3:29pm On Mar 01, 2017
musulumi:
Am coming back to comment
i will wait for u then.
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by Dyt(f): 3:31pm On Mar 01, 2017
Ttrrffyyghuuh:
Am coming back

i will comment later
cheesy cheesy cheesy
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by ngolokante(m): 3:32pm On Mar 01, 2017
ernesty20:
Yeah.. Nigerians are illiterate.. Come to London where i live,9 you will see them roaming the streets of london.
Crap...even some of the the so called white men can't speak English...it's not unusual to hear things like "me thinks",or me dad...
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by horllyma(m): 3:32pm On Mar 01, 2017
Marty2020:
Most times, its not all about speaking English, can you write it down? can you explain the words that are been pronounced? do you have anything upstairs? can the English feed you, cus they are people who can't speak but they do better than the so call grammerians?
Let them know
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by ngolokante(m): 3:34pm On Mar 01, 2017
CJAYFORTUNE:
Oga your corrections were too poor to disturb over 3000 narialanders! Besides English is never our language, Lionel messi of Barca can speak English yet he's world best and etc.
Gbam!!!
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by ngolokante(m): 3:35pm On Mar 01, 2017
Abegiiiii!!!...who correct English epp? And to think it's an American that's saying this?...just listen to the lyrics of any rap song and see how Mama Charlie's language is been murdered
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by bulletproofmonk(m): 3:36pm On Mar 01, 2017
Kondomatic:
And which Nigerian language can the American woman speak?
Keep justifying nonsense.When you get to a job or visa interview,feel free to express yourself in your native dialect.
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by nextprince: 3:37pm On Mar 01, 2017
Emperoo:
Comrade Nnadi Goodluck adviced Nigerians on the poor usage of "am" and "i" in a sentence.

Below were his words as shared on his facebook page,

Nigerians, what is your take on this?

Source- http://www.facebook.com/100014089426009/posts/207516769727969
My take is that you need to work on your grammar. In this case, use 'advised' rather than 'adviced'.
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by ngolokante(m): 3:37pm On Mar 01, 2017
aluk:
Oga, can I send you a plate of nkobi or isiewu? You just made my day
Re: Nigerians, Stop Starting A Sentence With 'Am' Or 'i' - Comrade Nnadi Goodluck by iykenathan162(m): 3:43pm On Mar 01, 2017
It is very important to we learnoo. Who knows why I'm still unemployed probably be because I have been using "Am" in my application letter.
1 2 3 4 Reply

ALUTA GYRATION: Comrade Fijay Releases Volume 3 Of Comrade Song �(download)“I Am In The Bus” Or “I Am On The Bus”: Which Is Correct?Nnadi Nnedimkpa Susan Graduates With 4.93 CGPA From Covenant University234

Dress Code: UNILORIN Bans Hair Attachment, Sagging, Tight Trousers, Skimpy DressStudents Banned From Wearing Earphones In UNIBEN Following Death Of Student"Schooling In The UK Made Me Realise How Different Nigerian Lecturers Are" - Man