Stats: 3,153,119 members, 7,818,342 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 01:12 PM

How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics (23021 Views)

"How Can One Witness To A Jehovah's Witness?" / Were The Early Christians Roman Catholics? / Roman Catholics Requests Pope Francis Refer To Mary As Co-redemptrix With Jesus (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (11) (Reply) (Go Down)

How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by OLAADEGBU(m): 11:11am On Apr 03, 2017
www.livingwaters.com

"I was raised in a Catholic family and left Catholicism 2 years ago. How do you witness to Catholic family members and also people I used to go to the Catholic church with?" Steven Gorges

Most Catholics (like most non-Catholics) may go to church and know the gospel, but many lack something vital when it comes to their eternal salvation.

Let's say I meet Fred. After some friendly small-talk I ask what he thinks happens after someone dies. He tells me that they go to Heaven, and then he says something I don't hear. He says, "I'm Catholic." I'm deaf to that because I don't want to get into an argument about papal infallibility, Mariology, the Mass, the confessional, transubstantiation, and a number of other unbiblical doctrines. They are time-wasting rabbit trails down which I choose not to go.

I ask Fred if he's born again. He says that he was baptised as a baby, and so I explain that the new birth is something different, that Jesus said that if someone isn't born again he won't enter Heaven (John 3), and that I want to make sure he makes it there. He smiles in agreement.

Although Fred is a committed Catholic he has a big problem. He thinks he can make it to Heaven by being good, by believing in God, by going to mass, and by confessing his sins to a priest. With the help of God, I want to show him that his legs are tied and the leap he's trying to make to Heaven is wider than the widest part of the Grand Canyon. My sincere hope is that he will reconsider his beliefs, before he makes the jump.

So how do I show him that? I ask him if he thinks he's a good person. To see how this is done go to NoahTheMovie.com and watch this principle in action, as I go through the Ten Commandments, and then into the gospel.

Watch again and again until it becomes second nature to you to do it. This isn't something I have made up. I copied it from Jesus (see Mark 10:17-20, and Romans 2:20-22).

See this movie for "Noah" -> www.NoahTheMovie.com

Source: https://www.facebook.com/official.Ray.Comfort 3 April 2014 at 02:30

This is for Christians who are committed to the task of the Great commission. smiley

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by youngest85(m): 11:15am On Apr 03, 2017
grin grin angry grin grin grin grin grin grin
Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by doyinbaby(f): 11:51am On Apr 03, 2017
It takes the grace of God for a catholic to give his life to Christ ,.....those Catholics and their church doctrines and traditions hen.....
.with God all things are possible

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by OLAADEGBU(m): 6:59pm On Apr 03, 2017
youngest85:

grin grin angry grin grin grin grin grin grin

What's funny? undecided
Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by Raphael81(m): 11:23pm On Apr 03, 2017
OLAADEGBU:

What's funny? undecided

Your foolishness is legendary and funny bro

11 Likes 2 Shares

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by Raphael81(m): 11:32pm On Apr 03, 2017
Whenever I read your posts I always try to see if you are a rational being or just an anti-catholic who sits somewhere to orchestrate confusion, if at your age you still have a shallow reasoning then its a big pity for for. If you are not comfortable with Catholics, you can either go to hell or wait on the last day since you worship a denominational God, instead of you to intercede for the souls of your family members and yourself, you just abuse the privilege of the internet to spew out rubbish and hate words..... When you die sir, God will never ask you for ur denomination. Thank you

25 Likes

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by Ubenedictus(m): 12:34am On Apr 04, 2017
doyinbaby:
It takes the grace of God for a catholic to give his life to Christ ,.....those Catholics and their church doctrines and traditions hen.....
CatholicS have already given their lives to christ.

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by Ubenedictus(m): 12:36am On Apr 04, 2017
OLAADEGBU:

This is for Christians who are committed to the task of the Great commission. smiley
That isnt the great commission, the great commission is to make disciples of all nation not to poach people who already have christ and take them to ur church.

14 Likes

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by Ubenedictus(m): 12:39am On Apr 04, 2017
OLAADEGBU:

You guys won't preach to muslims or pagans, no! your sole interest is to poach member from churches older than urs.

you are not adding to God's kingdom, u are adding to ur pastors business\investment.
repent.

15 Likes

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by doyinbaby(f): 12:45am On Apr 04, 2017
Ubenedictus:
ok
o

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by btoks: 3:05am On Apr 04, 2017
doyinbaby:
It's sad how you're to validate OP's topic(a long time catholic basher) without the correct information.

My kids don't understand why I have to go to work everyday due to their lack of understanding/experience - it's the same case here where you've assumed catholics haven't given their lives to Christ or that their doctrines are erroneous (due to lack of understanding )

I'll urge you read up on catholic church beliefs before you make assumptions, please see a link to the cathechism of the Catholic Church to start off with:

http://www.vatican.va/archive/ENG0015/_INDEX.HTM

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by Syncan(m): 11:44am On Apr 04, 2017
doyinbaby:

Do not be like the OP, for the apostle Jude already talked about such: Jude1:10 But these men certainly blaspheme against whatever they do not understand. And yet, whatever they, like mute animals, know from nature, in these things they are corrupted . btoks above already made this point calmly.

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by OLAADEGBU(m): 3:14pm On Apr 18, 2017
doyinbaby:

I agree with you that with God all things are possible. smiley

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by Raphael81(m): 9:19pm On Apr 18, 2017
doyinbaby:

Are u ok or u are proud to display it in public ma?

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by plappville(f): 10:51pm On Apr 18, 2017
OP grin cheesy

Its true that Catholics have Christ already. The issue of so much Man tradition in the church is a big problem.

But only God can help some of the members to see the truth and not practice all of Catholic doctrines.

The Image worshiping and child baptism are the worst practice of Catholicism. I can go in and worship there but never will i bow to the socalled Jesus image or say "Holy Mary mother of God." Or even confess my sins to a man (priest). One good thing is that. They know and Love Christ. But they hold on to too much traditions like the pharisees.

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by plappville(f): 10:56pm On Apr 18, 2017
Ubenedictus:
You guys won't preach to muslims or pagans, no! your sole interest is to poach member from churches older than urs.

you are not adding to God's kingdom, u are adding to ur pastors business\investment.
repent.

The Pope does not preach to Muslims either. He even supported them last year when He said. If anyone insults his mum he will blow up the persons head.

A way of justifying the terrorist attack carried out by the islamist two brothers who killed French journalists just because they caricatured Muhammed.

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by plappville(f): 11:00pm On Apr 18, 2017
doyinbaby:

They have given their lives to Christ. They believe Christ is the Son of God. The messiah etc. But There are some issues in the Church. God will help the members to see they are been les astray by the too much men tradition of the Church.

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by plappville(f): 11:07pm On Apr 18, 2017
Ubenedictus:

Agreed!

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by Ubenedictus(m): 11:43pm On Apr 18, 2017
plappville:

The Pope does not preach to Muslims either. He even supported them last year when He said. If anyone insults his mum he will blow up the persons head.

A way of justifying the terrorist attack carried out by the islamist two brothers who killed French journalists just because they caricatured Muhammed.
D pope never said he will blow up d persons head, oga pls don't lie. read up on d issue again.

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by Ubenedictus(m): 11:54pm On Apr 18, 2017
plappville:

They have given their lives to Christ. They believe Christ is the Son of God. The messiah etc. But There are some issues in the Church. God will help the members to see they are been les astray by the too much men tradition of the Church.
It is a pity, you don't even know it is your protestant church that follows traditions of men.

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by plappville(f): 12:11am On Apr 19, 2017
Ubenedictus:
D pope never said he will blow up d persons head, oga pls don't lie. read up on d issue again.

I watched the interview live. Dont want to go into debate on this. He said so. See photos:

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by plappville(f): 12:12am On Apr 19, 2017
Was Jesus not insulted? Yet he didnt punch anyone. cheesy

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by plappville(f): 12:13am On Apr 19, 2017
Ubenedictus:
It is a pity, you don't even know it is your protestant church that follows traditions of men.

No comment !
Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by Ubenedictus(m): 12:43am On Apr 19, 2017
plappville:

I watched the interview live. Dont want to go into debate on this. He said so. See photos:
oga read up.

www.premiumtimesng.com/news/top-news/175010-someone-insults-mother-punch-pope.html
www.nydailynews.com/news/world/pope-charlie-hebdo-insult-faith-article-1.2078860

He also never justified the terrorist, infact he clearly said that violence is never d right answer and called violence in the name of God an aberration. He also noted that freedom of expression should have it just limits and mocking other peoples beliefs isn't right.

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by Ubenedictus(m): 4:45pm On Apr 19, 2017
plappville:
OP grin cheesy

Its true that Catholics have Christ already. The issue of so much Man tradition in the church is a big problem.

But only God can help some of the members to see the truth and not practice all of Catholic doctrines.

The Image worshiping and child baptism are the worst practice of Catholicism. I can go in and worship there but never will i bow to the socalled Jesus image or say "Holy Mary mother of God." Or even confess my sins to a man (priest). One good thing is that. They know and Love Christ. But they hold on to too much traditions like the pharisees.
have u taken time even research these issues u seem to condemn? or u just condemn them because ur pastor say so.

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by italo: 4:58pm On Apr 19, 2017
doyinbaby:

Reverend King, Apostle Suleiman, Pastor Biodun COZA gave their life to Christ...

But St. Mother Teresa, St. Maximillian Kolbe, St. John Paul II did not give their lives to Christ abi?

Keep fooling yourself.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by italo: 5:06pm On Apr 19, 2017
plappville:

If it is true that the Pope did or said something wrong, does that make Catholic doctrine false?

Did the apostles never do or say wrong things?

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by OLAADEGBU(m): 2:18pm On Jul 26, 2017
Ubenedictus:

repent.

Christians preach the good news to all traditional religions of which yours is one. smiley

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by OLAADEGBU(m): 2:20pm On Jul 26, 2017
Ubenedictus:

That isnt the great commission, the great commission is to make disciples of all nation not to poach people who already have christ and take them to ur church.

Jesus did not come to preach religion, He came to seek and to save those that are lost, wherever they may be.

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by OLAADEGBU(m): 2:22pm On Jul 26, 2017
Ubenedictus:

You mean Catholics have given their lives to their traditional religion? It is unfortunate that religion does not save only Jesus does.

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by OLAADEGBU(m): 2:23pm On Jul 26, 2017
Raphael81:

Whenever I read your posts I always try to see if you are a rational being or just an anti-catholic who sits somewhere to orchestrate confusion, if at your age you still have a shallow reasoning then its a big pity for for. If you are not comfortable with Catholics, you can either go to hell or wait on the last day since you worship a denominational God, instead of you to intercede for the souls of your family members and yourself, you just abuse the privilege of the internet to spew out rubbish and hate words..... When you die sir, God will never ask you for ur denomination. Thank you

Your religion will not and cannot save only Jesus saves.

Re: How To Witness To Loved Ones Who Are Roman Catholics by OLAADEGBU(m): 2:28pm On Jul 26, 2017
Raphael81:

Your foolishness is legendary and funny bro

"But we preach Christ crucified, unto the Jews a stumblingblock, and unto the Greeks foolishness" (1 Corinthians 1:23).

I can understand why you see it as foolishness.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (11) (Reply)

Is It Only Africans That Believe In The Existence Of Ghosts And Witches? / Mbaka: Buhari Working With Those Who Will Pull Him Down / Catholicism Doctrines And Its Biblical Root(debunking An Argument)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 58