Stats: 3,143,362 members, 7,780,986 topics. Date: Friday, 29 March 2024 at 06:57 AM

This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... - Education - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... (47133 Views)

Pictures Of University Of Ilorin, The Better By Far / Poor Condition Of Hostels Of University Of Nigeria, UNN, Enugu Campus (Graphic) / 19-Year-Old Nigerian Lady Graduates From UK University After Repeating Exams (2) (3) (4)

This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by apeiron24(m): 8:40pm On May 20, 2017
University of Lagos was named Moshud Abiola University Of Lagos and there was a protest. Thanks to God for the success, if not, Some people would be students of MAULAG now..... what an Impertubably Lugubrious pronunciation.

Naming Higher institutions after heroes I not my problem. My Problem is the abbreviation that follows after.....

Imagine Naming University of Ibadan after "Gbadamosi Adeyinka"... which will make it Gbadamosi Adeyinka University......

The abbreviation is "GAU".... which is a bad word situation in Yoruba language.....

..... Jambite would be like "Mo to wo GAU" I have been admitted.....

....Imagine you are in a Church and a Lady is giving testimony about his admission into "GAU"

...She will be like...... help me praise God o.... I just entered GAU......

..... Please our Governments should think about abbreviation o.....

...Anyone here want admission to "GAU"

113 Likes 6 Shares

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by apeiron24(m): 8:43pm On May 20, 2017
A parent would be like..... My son has been admitted to GAU.... Omo mi ti wo "GAU"

105 Likes 3 Shares

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by joe4real12: 8:54pm On May 20, 2017
apeiron24:
A parent would be like..... My son has been admitted to GAU.... Omo mi ti wo "GAU"
Won ti wo GAU grin grin

68 Likes 3 Shares

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by Abimloaded(m): 8:56pm On May 20, 2017
LOL!

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by apeiron24(m): 9:05pm On May 20, 2017
Abimloaded:
LOL!

Of the greatest GAUlites!!!!!

41 Likes 1 Share

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by davidbanner(m): 9:05pm On May 20, 2017
grin.... GAU......
Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by Nobody: 9:08pm On May 20, 2017
Femi Olukayode University, FOKU.

94 Likes 1 Share

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by apeiron24(m): 9:09pm On May 20, 2017
Omagago:
Femi Olukayode University, FOKU.

FOKUites!!!!

58 Likes

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by Nobody: 9:32pm On May 20, 2017
All these kids sef. Na by university name? Go there and graduate with a good grade. Yeye ni

31 Likes 2 Shares

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by apeiron24(m): 10:27pm On May 20, 2017
beardlessdude:
All these kids sef. Na by university name? Go there and graduate with a good grade. Yeye ni

This Bross don Vex o...... eeyahhh

36 Likes 1 Share

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by apeiron24(m): 10:27pm On May 20, 2017
Bross don enter Gau!

23 Likes 1 Share

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by onward4life(m): 10:43pm On May 20, 2017
apeiron24:

E ma bi nu kilo GAU ati mean ne!

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by emeijeh(m): 10:55pm On May 20, 2017
Op, it is called acronym and not abbreviation
I don't know everything either

52 Likes 2 Shares

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by Oluwasaeon(m): 11:24pm On May 20, 2017
GAU

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by Olanrefront3355(m): 1:04am On May 21, 2017
Daddy, MO ti wo GAU

Daddy :

141 Likes 4 Shares

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by DALE917(f): 1:51am On May 21, 2017
Lmao
Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by Aniexcels01(m): 2:06am On May 21, 2017
lolz!

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by AlvanT(m): 3:04am On May 21, 2017
What does GAU mean?

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by AlvanT(m): 3:10am On May 21, 2017
DALE917:
Lmao
Why'd you put your resume on your profile like you're searching for a job?

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by sheanzy(m): 4:26am On May 21, 2017
wetin gau come mean

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by ikbnice(m): 7:01am On May 21, 2017
AlvanT:
What does GAU mean?
GAU in yoruba means serious trouble
sheanzy:
wetin gau come mean
GAU in yoruba means serious trouble.
So when a student is admitted there and I see such a student, this likely conversation will ensue;
Me: Bawo wa ni admission? (How far with your admission)
Boy: Won ma ti mun mi (I have been admitted)
Me: O ku oriire, ni bo? (congrats!, where?)
Boy : Mo ti pada wo GAU ( I have finally been admitted into GAU which is literally translated as "I have finally entered SERIOUS TROUBLE"wink
I will just be like...

128 Likes 8 Shares

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by apeiron24(m): 7:12am On May 21, 2017
emeijeh:
Op, it is called acronym and not abbreviation
I don't know everything either

I no dey write Formal letter baba

38 Likes 5 Shares

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by apeiron24(m): 7:14am On May 21, 2017
ikbnice:
GAU in yoruba means serious trouble GAU in yoruba means serious trouble.
So when a student is admitted there and I see such a student, this likely conversation will ensue;
Boy : Mo ti pada wo GAU ( I have finally been admitted into GAU which is literally translated as "I have finally entered SERIOUS TROUBLE"wink

Waooo..... This guy will make a good writer..... chaii..... am laughing hard gaann

26 Likes

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by AlvanT(m): 7:18am On May 21, 2017
ikbnice:
GAU in yoruba means serious trouble GAU in yoruba means serious trouble.
Thanks bud,is there any website I can learn Yoruba?The schools I attended were not vernacular friendly and google translator can be a mischief.

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by ikbnice(m): 7:26am On May 21, 2017
AlvanT:
Thanks bud,is there any website I can learn Yoruba?The schools I attended were not vernacular friendly and google translator can be a mischief.
These are two sites I came across
1. http://learn101.org/yoruba.php
2. http://ilanguages.org/yoruba.php
N/B: The best way to learn a language is through constant practice with native speakers

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by ikbnice(m): 7:28am On May 21, 2017
apeiron24:

Waooo..... This guy will make a good writer..... chaii..... am laughing hard gaann
Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by Elthugnificent(m): 7:42am On May 21, 2017
This op self, is this a yoruba forum. You just wrote something without translation.

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by AlvanT(m): 7:47am On May 21, 2017
ikbnice:
These are two sites I came across
1. http://learn101.org/yoruba.php
2. http://ilanguages.org/yoruba.php
N/B: The best way to learn a language is through constant practice with native speakers
I know but I'm kinda too busy to go settle in any pure Yoruba environ right now... I'm I guaranteed to learn something if I frequent some Abules here in Lagos or do I have to go down to Ife and her likes?
Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by DALE917(f): 8:07am On May 21, 2017
AlvanT:
Why'd you put your resume on your profile like you're searching for a job?

Does it bothers you?

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by Adesiji77: 8:21am On May 21, 2017
cheesy grin
Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by Okjay50: 8:33am On May 21, 2017
Really really funny

Re: This Naming Of University After Some People Can Be Funny O! Imagine This... by realestniggah: 8:33am On May 21, 2017
nah Africa mentality dey worry us

I see no reason why a whole university should be named after someone.. yeah I get it..we have heroes and they deserve to be honoured..but naming a university after someone doesn't mean the person generation are going to attend the university the man family are still going to spend the country money to get their education in another country.. better still name a library after them or theater after them which will make more sense..I wonder why we don't have Abraham Lincoln university or Margret Thatcher university

17 Likes

Benjamin Ola. Akande Appointed As President Of Champlain College In America / Where To Download Textbooks Pdf/ebooks / Ambrose Alli University Lecturers Arrested For Cultism, Guns Recovered