Stats: 3,159,037 members, 7,838,597 topics. Date: Friday, 24 May 2024 at 06:13 AM

I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed - Career (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed (15963 Views)

Juju Scare: Should I Quit My Job? / Should I Quit My Job Or Not? / I Have This Amazing Business Idea, But Scared To Quit My Job! (2) (3) (4)

Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by judemeritjude(m): 10:01am On Jul 06, 2017
am a driver willing to gv it my best ,as an uber driver, contact me 07061057534 Lagos state
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by olumaxi(m): 10:01am On Jul 06, 2017
I can only leave my family for a well paid job that could put me and my family in a comfort zone.......seein my beautiful daughter's face evriday is d only motivation i get after comin back home from a stressful underpaid job am doing presently........in essence,kindly quit dat ur job and do what u already av in mind
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by BTT(m): 10:03am On Jul 06, 2017
Your answer is on the first page. No more.
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by wristbangle: 10:04am On Jul 06, 2017
ephi123:

grin grin grin beht why have you no chill?!

grin Seriously I don't know what the guy is driving at oo!
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by lonelydora: 10:04am On Jul 06, 2017
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by GuntersChain(m): 10:05am On Jul 06, 2017
everything in life is all about risk, no venture no success. Carry out a feasibility study but if you weigh both option and see uber pays more then drive the car yourself. Am not an apostle of distant marriage.
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by ephi123(f): 10:06am On Jul 06, 2017
wristbangle:

grin Seriously I don't know what the guy is driving at oo!

I just started laughing when I read it, v funny! cheesy Maybe he has that harry potter disappearing cloak , lol

Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by Ethanegos(m): 10:06am On Jul 06, 2017
From a first hand experience with Uber in Lagos, you are better off driving your own uber in Abuja. Just try and register your car with both Uber and Taxify. You will make your current salary in a week.

Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by apholaryn: 10:06am On Jul 06, 2017
my only advice is for you not to give your car to anyone to drive o

no give your car to anyone to drive for you oo

no give your car to anyone to drive for you ooo

no give your car to anyone to drive for you oooo

no give your car to anyone to drive for you ooooo

Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by Nobody: 10:07am On Jul 06, 2017
Study and work in Cyprus. Check my signature
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by tripoli007(m): 10:09am On Jul 06, 2017
Bros why not keep your office job ,since its your car run your uber in the evening or over the wknds ,one way no enter market ohh .. All na hustle
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by psalmistkakah(m): 10:11am On Jul 06, 2017
Bros drive ur car, no make msitake allow someone to drive, if happen to me
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by Nobody: 10:11am On Jul 06, 2017
Weigh the options... especially on the heavy wear and tear on your personal only car.
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by Thekillingjoke: 10:12am On Jul 06, 2017
Drive ur car, dont give it to anyone.

Without your job you will be motivated, trust me in a bad month, u will make at least twice ur current
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by Ilasan: 10:13am On Jul 06, 2017
There is nothing as being on your own, but before you resign, ensure you have registered with both uber and taxify and ensure that your vehicle is accepted. Then you can resign.

Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by Nobody: 10:14am On Jul 06, 2017
Give it a try... you never might know. And keep looking for a better job.
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by larrypourl(m): 10:14am On Jul 06, 2017
Bros, have someone drive for u in abj with proper monitoring by your wife because it isn't easy giving your car to people to drive but there are ways around it if you can supervise it well and have the car park at your residence in abj after every work hour and your wife can inspect it and do others, also handle repairs and servicing yourself don't allow the driver do any repairs so there won't any flimsy excuse of not working or such, those guys can be annoying. Or test the driver for the first 3 months cos they'll always want to impress in the first 3months and when you see what comes in you can then resign and take over fully cos you already have am idea of what it can generate. Quitting a job in Nigeria now isn't worth it except you have a solid business already bringing in cash b4 u resign. Just think well sha.

Check below for your quality loafers
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by kevoh(m): 10:16am On Jul 06, 2017
Quit that job and return to Abuja! You will spend less with you and your family in one location:
1 house rent, 1 light bill, 1 foodstuff shopping, money you use for traveling down everytime from lagos to Abuja can be used for something else, good roads and lesser hold ups meaning that your car will last.
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by nifemi25(m): 10:18am On Jul 06, 2017
leksonltd:
Am married with kids, my family is in Abuja while am currently employed with a private company in Lagos, the job is an unsecured one, could be fired anyday anytime. The salary is less than #100k without accommodation, have been managing with a family. Am six months on the job and don't see chances of settling down here due to the poor pay and high house rent.

I have a car I can use on the uber platform in Abuja, will stay in my house and see my family on a daily basis (this is my desire). Pls is it wise to quit the Job. I seek your humble opinion. Thank you

Nice step you are about to take. Well am currently working in uber as a driver partner and I knows how the job goes. Though I don't know how it goes in abj cos I reside here in lagos. Uber business is a good business and I can assure you of making money with your capacity of time to work. Mind you there are lots of embarrassment in the work which am sure you won't want to endure cos you are already working in a company where no one embarrassed you. Mind you it's not necessary you work in uber with your car since you has a work you are doing for now. You can register your car with uber and give it out in higher purchase to someone in uber. I can assure you of collecting 40k per week either the car was on rentage or higher purchase. The choice is yours. You can contact if you need more advice. Thanks
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by E1(m): 10:31am On Jul 06, 2017
Please don't resign your job. Uber in Abuja is not lucrative. You can do uber in Lagos at night and on weekends while you still keep your job, that's double income for you.
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by obataokenwa(m): 10:38am On Jul 06, 2017
[quote author=leksonltd post=58171516][/quote] Go with Uber bro cos it will give you opportunity to even meet more people and who knows, you may get a better job through it. Cab pays more than all this office work of below 100k. Don't think it... start at once... first of all register with uber and let them screen your car and accept it before u resign. Good luck
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by oscaruzie(m): 10:39am On Jul 06, 2017
gimakon:
If i were you, id do Office work in the Morning and Uber in the Night.

Naija situation don turn us to something else. Thats my own o, i dont know about you smiley

na superman him be nah
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by Tmercy(m): 10:41am On Jul 06, 2017
leksonltd:
Am married with kids, my family is in Abuja while am currently employed with a private company in Lagos, the job is an unsecured one, could be fired anyday anytime. The salary is less than #100k without accommodation, have been managing with a family. Am six months on the job and don't see chances of settling down here due to the poor pay and high house rent.

I have a car I can use on the uber platform in Abuja, will stay in my house and see my family on a daily basis (this is my desire). Pls is it wise to quit the Job. I seek your humble opinion. Thank you
hi Uber partnership has not being at it's best lately, if u have initiated dis move last year or two years ago it would have been the best. Reasons are 40percent slashed rate, work more earn less, riders behavior , increase in price of PMS , car maintenance u will even pity ur car. Uber in Abuja presently is a no no. Drivers in Lagos are still in the Biz cos of taxify that encourages more earning I don't think taxify is in Abuja get a driver to drive for u in Lagos for now that's the best I'm also in your shoes

Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by adegeye38(m): 10:42am On Jul 06, 2017
leksonltd:

go ahead my brother, as you make more money you can continue to reinvest, you will become a millionaire in no time
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by toastedbread: 10:48am On Jul 06, 2017
do you daily 8-4 hustle and run the uber at nights. until you are sure you can earn 50k/week from uber, don't leave your present job.

no one tests the depth of a lake with 2 legs.

Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by PastorAji(m): 10:54am On Jul 06, 2017
like visiting gomyway.com and check it out yourself
honmusa:
Bad decision !!!Quit your job for the unknown .You need to test the water with one feet inside before taking take that huge risk of putting both inside.
Do the driving on part time basis so that you can actually see what the business entail first before u resign your job.
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by abiambo(m): 10:59am On Jul 06, 2017
gimakon:
If i were you, id do Office work in the Morning and Uber in the Night.

Naija situation don turn us to something else. Thats my own o, i dont know about you smiley
did you read the part where he said he works in Lagos and family live in abj whr his uber opportunity came from
Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by jakesbaba: 11:01am On Jul 06, 2017
leksonltd:

Family is more important. At least you're still making money while bonding with your family. Please move to abuja for uber.

Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by DieBuhari: 11:03am On Jul 06, 2017
Family first.
You already said the job is insecure, salary is poor, high cost of rent in Lagos while you have your own house in Abuja.
Do the needful before somebody go dey knack your wife for you. leksonltd

Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by bravolad(m): 11:07am On Jul 06, 2017
There's actually no straightforward answer to your query here. A number of variables need to be considered to arrive at the best the best response.

First, you did not state the kind car you have as certain cars are extremely good for uber business. Given that this is an online platform, it will be difficult for you to answer the following questions;
1. Are you the one currently paying for your family accommodation in Abuja?
2.Does your wife work?
3.What percentage of your current salary do you save monthly?
4. What kind of car do you have? This is important for fuel consumption, cost of maintenance etc. If your vehicle's engine displacement is any of the 1.6 - 2.0 then, you are more likely to make more money.

Personally, I would not advise you to give out your car to another driver; you will almost always regret it as you lack experience of how uber works. Except perhaps, you are giving the car on a higher purchase then it's a different kettle of fish. Rentage may have been okay but inexperience will be explored by an unscrupulous driver who may use the car rough within a short time.

The uber price in Lagos has been watered down & does not favour drivers anymore except you complement with Taxify. Abuja on the other hand, is a little better. Driving on uber in Abuja by yourself will guarantee you some consistent income which is dependent on the kind of car you use because of fuel and maintenance as I earlier said. It's not as though you won't make money with bigger engine displacement, of say 2.4 etc but by the time you remove overhead, your take home is drastically reduced. Realistically, you will get your current salary in about 2 weeks of driving with a little more time to play with plus getting to be with your family which is much more important than even the money you may not make working with your current employer.

Having said the above, the bitter kola is not as sweet as it sounds in the mouth. To make the money, you must work hard. Concerning insults associated with driving on uber, that should not discourage you as every profession has its perculiar challenge. For as long as you keep your eyes on the ball, you will always see reasons to smile. Before you set off each day to drive, keep your ego & pride at home knowing that your goal is to make money. Of course, as much as some riders will insult you, so many others will appreciate you & encourage you.

If your decision favours driving on uber, there are drivers' and partners' group that can always guide you.

Finally, since the car belongs to you, there's no loss on the uber platform if you consider it a full time business.

Good luck with your choice.

Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by Nobody: 11:09am On Jul 06, 2017
dingbang:
Why not employ someone to be driving for u While you still are in the employ of your company.
Dem go damage his car.Not a good advice.

Re: I Want To Quit My Job For Uber Abuja Partner-Driver Business, Advise Needed by bravolad(m): 11:11am On Jul 06, 2017
obataokenwa:
Go with Uber bro cos it will give you opportunity to even meet more people and who knows, you may get a better job through it. Cab pays more than all this office work of below 100k. Don't think it... start at once... first of all register with uber and let them screen your car and accept it before u resign. Good luck

Great. Provided his car is 2000 model year & above, it will be accepted. He only needs to ensure that it's in a very good shape with aircon very effective. He should be more worried about passing the psychometric test for driver/partners.

Stanbic IBTC Or MTN Nigeria For A Graduate Trainee / Army, Navy, Air Force Promote 235 Generals, Rear Admirals, AVM, Others / Police To Give Junior Officers With University Degrees Instant Promotion

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 77