Stats: 3,152,622 members, 7,816,563 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 01:12 PM

Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant - Travel (41) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant (1984311 Views)

Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 / Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant / Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (38) (39) (40) (41) (42) (43) (44) ... (505) (Go Down)

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by IstandWitBuhari: 4:11pm On Jul 29, 2017
Blackbuddy:

Hi, I moved to the GTA in June 2015 and settled in Mississauga. I came with my whole family and my wife and I (bankers) started the job hunt also attending the excellent newcomers training with Acess Employment. After 3 months, my wife got several job offers in her field and accepted an offer from a multinational conglomerate which was bought over by America's largest bank and she's doing very well there, even training other new employees now. I got my own break after 6 months as I was focused on finding a job equal or higher than my last position in Nigeria. I got several job offers as well from top banks and finally decided to accept an offer from a top 5 bank in a senior position. A lot of people here who follow Canadavisa forum know my story and I'm a good example of favour and determination.

Don't let anyone tell you that settling in Ontario, Toronto or any big city for that matter was a mistake. There are Nigerians who came before us doing very well and many more will come behind and do just as well. Remember, the battle is fought, won or lost in the mind first of all and then the physical manifestation follows. Sure there may be those who are satisfied with playing in smaller ponds but there are also others who take the plunge and swim in big waters. Abraham left a small, humble beginning for great adversity to claim a big destiny, not the other way round. Same for when Joshua led the chosen into the midst of giants and they prevailed. It's never about the size of the dog going to fight but the size of the fight in the dog. If you decide to go to a smaller city and start over, it's good and fine as it's your journey in life. If you decide to stake your claim here and get your prize as God is doing it for those of us here, that's also fine. You can send me a private message to share some further support and maybe connect you with other successful Nigerians/Canadians on ground here so you learn and gain from them. It wont cost me anything to lift you up, it only glorifies God.

Please Sir kindly give me your Email address . I need to be clarified on something . Thanks

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Abby2017: 4:56pm On Jul 29, 2017
This is the thread for you
https://www.nairaland.com/2624318/canadian-express-entry-federal-skilled
Xopoh:
Hi everyone,
I have read through every comment in this thread and i have not gotten any reply that answers my burning question about migrating to Canada.

I am 23 years old, a university graduate(2013) with 2+ years work history and i VERY VERY Much want to leave Nigeria for Canada. I have been trying to process a visa since i was done with my NYSC but because of challenges like my age(then 20) or finance issue, i could not successfully process a visa.
I lost my father recently(10 months ago) n was willed a reasonable amount of money(assets which i am about to sell) that kills my finance challenge and i want to use it to process my leave for Canada BUT my age is a barrier that is holding me back(because i was told by many travel agent). Now I want to take a bold step of processing a visa on my own but i still cant do it because i feel i lack enough information.

PLEASE everyone/anyone guide me through, Should i still wait till i am old enough(27-30 + i'm one of those kids that looks older than their age) according to the agents and keep struggling in this country? OR i just man-up n run the visa independently?

For questions, i hope the information i'm giving below will give clarity and tailored response:
1. I want go in to work first because i don't have enough money to process a tertiary institution but enough to fund accommodation for 6 months,feeding and clothing for a year.
2. I have worked as a finance officer for an HR firm, a CSR for a bank, currently a Business support analyst for consulting firm and a business designer (freelance)
3. I am working on getting a invitation from friends, friends of my friends and even enemy in Canada. I don't have any family that want to help(if you know what i mean).

Please i really need guidance and helpful suggestions.. i am tired of waiting.
Thanks,
gjcastleremix2000@gmail.com

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by telias: 4:58pm On Jul 29, 2017
maternal:

What do you specifically want to know.
Also interested in Ottawa- what is the job market like? (specifically for IT); raising kids, accommodation, is public transport easily accessible or one needs to consider a car as one of the first things?
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Algbenguze: 5:08pm On Jul 29, 2017
Xopoh:
Hi everyone,
I have read through every comment in this thread and i have not gotten any reply that answers my burning question about migrating to Canada.

I am 23 years old, a university graduate(2013) with 2+ years work history and i VERY VERY Much want to leave Nigeria for Canada. I have been trying to process a visa since i was done with my NYSC but because of challenges like my age(then 20) or finance issue, i could not successfully process a visa.
I lost my father recently(10 months ago) n was willed a reasonable amount of money(assets which i am about to sell) that kills my finance challenge and i want to use it to process my leave for Canada BUT my age is a barrier that is holding me back(because i was told by many travel agent). Now I want to take a bold step of processing a visa on my own but i still cant do it because i feel i lack enough information.

PLEASE everyone/anyone guide me through, Should i still wait till i am old enough(27-30 + i'm one of those kids that looks older than their age) according to the agents and keep struggling in this country? OR i just man-up n run the visa independently?

For questions, i hope the information i'm giving below will give clarity and tailored response:
1. I want go in to work first because i don't have enough money to process a tertiary institution but enough to fund accommodation for 6 months,feeding and clothing for a year.
2. I have worked as a finance officer for an HR firm, a CSR for a bank, currently a Business support analyst for consulting firm and a business designer (freelance)
3. I am working on getting a invitation from friends, friends of my friends and even enemy in Canada. I don't have any family that want to help(if you know what i mean).

Please i really need guidance and helpful suggestions.. i am tired of waiting.
Thanks,
gjcastleremix2000@gmail.com

Copy and paste this your post on the thread given by Abby2017, I'm sure you will get all the guidance and info you need. From the information you've given, you stand a good chance of getting a PR visa. Also, you won't need an agent. In fact, disregard everything your 'agents' has told you and start afresh.
See you in Canada by God's grace. All the best!

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Zibah14: 5:48pm On Jul 29, 2017
40manlappy:

I am still awaiting COPR but let me share what I have done: I followed all the "Big 5" banks in Canada-Bank of Montreal (BMO), Bank of Nova Scotia (Scotiabank), the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (CIBC), the Royal Bank of Canada (RBC), and Toronto-Dominion Bank (TD)-on Linkedin. I noticed that quite a number of Nigerians are working in these banks.

Next is to send connection requests to some of them incorporating the strategy suggested by @Blackbuddy. On professional certifications, I am still researching CSC. Let us hear from our landed immigrants.
Thanks. I'll do same immediately. Please advise as soon as you have any other helpful info.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by yettyopy(f): 6:02pm On Jul 29, 2017
MummyJaygirls:

Please I'm interested too in this topic. Woman matter wink
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Yooku: 6:51pm On Jul 29, 2017
Blackbuddy:

Hi, see my reply above. Hope it assists you.

Hi Blackbuddy,
The specialized training for internationally skilled persons you referred to in the above post, is it one of those bridging programs or the ones organized by the settlement agencies for potential PR's coming to Canada? Can you throw more light on these programs and your opinions on which ones are best for the various categories of skilled workers coming into Canada? Thanks for being helpful as always

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by pauloverdi: 6:53pm On Jul 29, 2017
Thanks for all the responses so far... pls my madam just told me that a friend of hers in canada told her that if a kid doesn't get to canada in time to register for the begining of school term in september, that the kid can't join midway and will have to wait till the start of another school year. I told her that was hogwash though.. never heard of a school system like that anywhere in the world.... but I'd like to hear the actual fact cos I know a lot of us are looking at arriving later than september... especially those of us that just got the copr... please enlighten a jjc abeg
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by 40manlappy: 7:08pm On Jul 29, 2017
@TheCongo2, maternal

Please check your "mentions" smiley

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by 40manlappy: 7:58pm On Jul 29, 2017
CoCoLav:

Depends on what you are into...

If you are into travel, BMO has a nice air miles package on their credit card

If you are into movies, Scotiabank is bae for free movies.

If you are into customer service, TD bank is it.

You can also chill till TD bank does their annual Samsung Tab free gift for new customers.

I would recommend visiting the site redflagdeal.com/forums to learn about rent, the best banks, tips/tricks/scams, companies to avoid working for, taxes, your rights as an employee, your rights as a tenant or homeowner, mortgage taxes, daycare etc.

@bolded When is this done during the year? Somebody wants to know wink

6 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Nobody: 8:07pm On Jul 29, 2017
Anyone travelled with over thousand of dollars in cash to Canada and how did it go, any hiccups?
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by 40manlappy: 8:09pm On Jul 29, 2017
debbiejosh:

The express entry that you applied through excludes Quebec from the FSWP.

It states it expressly that if the interest is Quebec, go through their route.

I really don't know why, but you would also be told the same by ICRC.

Your COPR goes a long way, and since Quebec is out of the arrangement, why should they be the one to stamp you in, moreover they Only have the capacity to receive new Immigrants on their program.

Subsequently, after being a PR, I have landed in Quebec.

Please, can you throw more light on how you achieved the bolded? I thought that you would need CSQ before you can reside there...

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Nobody: 8:28pm On Jul 29, 2017
40manlappy:

Please, can you throw more light on how you achieved the bolded? I thought that you would need CSQ before you can reside there...

I only landed in Quebec enroute Calgary.

I don't reside in Quebec.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by papaking1(m): 8:46pm On Jul 29, 2017
jassymama:
Good morning all, please can you tell how I will go about carrying food stuffs? I intend packing fish, crayfish, etc. Please advice. Thanks

Not a big deal. just ensure you put everything in transparent nylons. it would be advisable to ground everything groundable too.

Declare it at Lagos airport. they will ask you to pay 2k for each bag. negotiate it with them and you are good.

Lagos was the only place my food stuff was checked.

you should also ensure to wrap your bags with celotape after the checking. there's is a guy there that would do a professional job for you on agreed fees.

10 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by CoCoLav(f): 8:50pm On Jul 29, 2017
40manlappy:

@bolded When is this done during the year? Somebody wants to know wink

September.

RBC still has theirs ongoing. It's an IphoneSE for $79 on the condition that you open an account with them.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by papaking1(m): 8:51pm On Jul 29, 2017
Qadi:
Anyone travelled with over thousand of dollars in cash to Canada and how did it go, any hiccups?

went with $20k kept in my boxers pocket. was only asked at point of entry how much i had and told them. they didn't request to see it.

please ensure you get a declaration form from your airline to declare the fund to avoid the money being seized.

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by papaking1(m): 8:56pm On Jul 29, 2017
yettyopy:

From my personal experience, they didn't search any of my boxes and i had so much food stuff. i had about six boxes filled with all kinds of stock fishes, crayfish, pap,iru, snail,maggi,even smoked guinea fowl tongue embarassed. all in large portions to last me at least 6 months. While i was on the flight to toronto, the form they usually give to fill asking if you have food stuffs etc, i ticked "no" as i have always done based on past experience to the us, etc . However, if you aren't comfortable with ticking 'no" please do not as long as you are ready to be searched .

I ticked yes but wasn't searched all the same

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by CoCoLav(f): 8:58pm On Jul 29, 2017
Fusion23:

Ottawa is nice ,it is chilled not as popular as Toronto or Montreal .

What you are doing is nice plan ahead , its a do it yourself thing thou people can help.

Let me give you pointers start planning temporarily before you get a job, because some house rent will require one year lease so do not tie yourself, get a temporary accommodation hint (Airbnb) it might look expensive at first but it will pay on the long run, u do not have to buy furniture yet.

on Career my advise build a very good CV and be able to defend it , please dont sell yourself short. Example you have one year experience in .net and they ask like we need 3 years experience in .net , say you have 2-3 years if you can do it.

Apply apply apply , big companies (Accenture, PWC , KPMG, Microsoft etc) , small companies ,every province .etc even if you get rejections, then negotiate your salary well too if it is negotiable.

so in summary plan temporarily first and when you get a job move..you might end up in Vancouver, Montreal or Edmonton if the right offer comes? if you have family and kids consider that too.

Awwww ���
Thank you sir. ��

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by papaking1(m): 9:02pm On Jul 29, 2017
papaking1:
Anybody in Winnipeg here?

I was a business minded civil servant in Nigeria and had a liking for management (Studied Public Administration)
I have always wanted to become a business development manager and would love to go the way of management here.

Though my cousins here are not enthusiastic about it, I feel there are prospects for me as I see a lot of management positions on offer. I intend to take a job as a management trainee while I look for management courses to take, while building my management and Canadian job experience at the same time.

What do you guys please think about a management career in Canada generally?

Two good heads, as they say is better than one.

Any suggestions please
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by 40manlappy: 9:32pm On Jul 29, 2017
Thanks @debbiejosh and @CoCoLav smiley
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by yettyopy(f): 9:56pm On Jul 29, 2017
pauloverdi:
Thanks for all the responses so far... pls my madam just told me that a friend of hers in canada told her that if a kid doesn't get to canada in time to register for the begining of school term in september, that the kid can't join midway and will have to wait till the start of another school year. I told her that was hogwash though.. never heard of a school system like that anywhere in the world.... but I'd like to hear the actual fact cos I know a lot of us are looking at arriving later than september... especially those of us that just got the copr... please enlighten a jjc abeg

That's incorrect . I got here in April and my son was still
Admitted into senior kindergarten.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Mayflowa(m): 10:18pm On Jul 29, 2017
yettyopy:

That's incorrect . I got here in April and my son was still
Admitted into senior kindergarten.

Do you guys pay fees for kindergartens in Canada? It's quite expensive here in US
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by TheCongo2: 10:26pm On Jul 29, 2017
Mayflowa:

Do you guys pay fees for kindergartens in Canada? It's quite expensive here in US

Kindergartens are free in Canada.
Catholic schools are also free

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by SlowlybtSurely: 10:31pm On Jul 29, 2017
CoCoLav:

September.

RBC still has theirs ongoing. It's an IphoneSE for $79 on the condition that you open an account with them.

The whole of September? Which bank please?

Do you know how long the RBC Iphone one will last?
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by 40manlappy: 11:09pm On Jul 29, 2017
SlowlybtSurely:

The whole of September? Which bank please?

Do you know how long the RBC Iphone one will last?

Bargain Hunters cheesy grin

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by SlowlybtSurely: 11:14pm On Jul 29, 2017
40manlappy:

Bargain Hunters cheesy grin

Lol. I no dey use ear hear free. . .

Did some reading and found they have plenty conditions sef. angry

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by MummyJaygirls: 11:40pm On Jul 29, 2017
papaking1:

went with $20k kept in my boxers pocket. was only asked at point of entry how much i had and told them. they didn't request to see it.

please ensure you get a declaration form from your airline to declare the fund to avoid the money being seized.

$20k in ur boxers pocket, o boy, make I see d thief wey go reach there carry your money, lol

14 Likes

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by MummyJaygirls: 11:44pm On Jul 29, 2017
yettyopy:

From my personal experience, they didn't search any of my boxes and i had so much food stuff. i had about six boxes filled with all kinds of stock fishes, crayfish, pap,iru, snail,maggi,even smoked guinea fowl tongue embarassed. all in large portions to last me at least 6 months. While i was on the flight to toronto, the form they usually give to fill asking if you have food stuffs etc, i ticked "no" as i have always done based on past experience to the us, etc . However, if you aren't comfortable with ticking 'no" please do not as long as you are ready to be searched .

Thanks,

But wait o, how many family members u get? How did u carry 6 boxes of food stuff minus other belongings

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ballerz: 1:20am On Jul 30, 2017
yettyopy:

Please never tick NO. It is a criminal offense to lie on a landing card. If in doubt, please watch Border Security. Channel 132 on Saturdays and Sundays. It is better you tick yes and if they pull you aside for secondary inspection, your card had indicated a Yes. Never never lie on a landing card. When I landed I simply told the lady the list of food items and all she asked was are you expecting more bags and I said No. Sefini. You are cleared. If you lie on the card and they randomly select you for secondary inspection and see all those food, you face up to 10 thousand dollars penalty and prosecution. God will save you if your foodstuff esp those fishes now have insects.... never lie on a landing card, everyday for the traveller (thief) one day for the Border Officer (farm owner)

31 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by VEIL1234: 1:31am On Jul 30, 2017
Gbam!, way to go...
passe:
@Oluwapelumni87

For some personal reasons,I only read and appreciate the contributions of members of the forum. I don't usually get involve on issues personally to avoid unwarranted issues on a faceless forum, I am not someone who who likes to make assumption on people I have not met in person.What works for someone in a particular province in Canada may not work for the best of brains in that particular province. So the idea that Toronto is not a city where one can make it is a total fallacy that can only be made by Nigerians.

If you can make it in Nigeria and Europe, you will make it anywhere in the world.It is all mindset. Please don't allow anyone to tell you that you can't make it in Toronto. If for any reason, you decide to move to another province on your own accord,that is fine by me. I have gotten offers from the same Alberta and refused them,yet I have still survive Toronto till date.We are all products of our imaginations,which sets our limits and otherwise.
I have worked in Financial services in Nigeria,UK and recently in Canada(with Scotia Bank) and still ended up dumping the Financial services job and acquired education on a "Recession Proof field", where I am presently working and also doing my business along side.

If you are business minded,you will make millions of Money out out of nothing In Toronto, based on your ability to see things others don't see.

Please try and PM me........you should be able to start something within the next 6weeks after few days training ,which csn give you financial stability to get your desired job afterwards.

People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it. -George Bernard Shaw.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Adeniyitob: 9:52am On Jul 30, 2017
God bless you Blackbuddy. I admire your humility alot..

Come to think of it..I was just going to comment that oluwapelumi should PM you and then I saw this.

God bless you once again and everyone providing useful tips on this forum.

Blackbuddy:

Hi, I moved to the GTA in June 2015 and settled in Mississauga. I came with my whole family and my wife and I (bankers) started the job hunt also attending the excellent newcomers training with Acess Employment. After 3 months, my wife got several job offers in her field and accepted an offer from a multinational conglomerate which was bought over by America's largest bank and she's doing very well there, even training other new employees now. I got my own break after 6 months as I was focused on finding a job equal or higher than my last position in Nigeria. I got several job offers as well from top banks and finally decided to accept an offer from a top 5 bank in a senior position. A lot of people here who follow Canadavisa forum know my story and I'm a good example of favour and determination.

Don't let anyone tell you that settling in Ontario, Toronto or any big city for that matter was a mistake. There are Nigerians who came before us doing very well and many more will come behind and do just as well. Remember, the battle is fought, won or lost in the mind first of all and then the physical manifestation follows. Sure there may be those who are satisfied with playing in smaller ponds but there are also others who take the plunge and swim in big waters. Abraham left a small, humble beginning for great adversity to claim a big destiny, not the other way round. Same for when Joshua led the chosen into the midst of giants and they prevailed. It's never about the size of the dog going to fight but the size of the fight in the dog. If you decide to go to a smaller city and start over, it's good and fine as it's your journey in life. If you decide to stake your claim here and get your prize as God is doing it for those of us here, that's also fine. You can send me a private message to share some further support and maybe connect you with other successful Nigerians/Canadians on ground here so you learn and gain from them. It wont cost me anything to lift you up, it only glorifies God.

(1) (2) (3) ... (38) (39) (40) (41) (42) (43) (44) ... (505)

Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 / Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. / Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program Connect Here

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 78