Stats: 3,325,413 members, 8,421,800 topics. Date: Sunday, 07 June 2026 at 04:44 AM

Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsDespite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj (11379 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by Narldon: 4:33pm On Sep 02, 2017
MrIrohKenedy:
[s][/s]
Stop making sense
we know you for talking Nonsense
stop pretending to make sense

This is the Best Quote I've seen Today!

Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by dangotesmummy: 4:33pm On Sep 02, 2017
Nigerians are so religious and traditionally inclined yet so wicked,mean and inhumane

Only if we can practice with all sincerity 1/4 of all our religious practices, Nigeria will have been heaven on earth

Tomorrow now you will see Christians on gele and Muslims on hijab rushing to church as if they practice what they hear every Sunday
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by Rilwayne001:
I don't think it's ever been as bad as things are currently in this country. No thanks to APC and Buhari.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by Nackzy: 4:34pm On Sep 02, 2017
Don't mind them, they claim Nigeria and it's Resources belongs to them Alone...with their smelling mouth and Rubbish mentality...if they don't rule baboons will be soaked in blood
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by Nobody: 4:36pm On Sep 02, 2017
Only if humanity can understand that true worship does not require all this nonsense, the world've been a happier place to live in.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by loomer: 4:40pm On Sep 02, 2017
Them try. Make them continue.

Enriching another country.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by Benekruku(m): 4:48pm On Sep 02, 2017
Statsocial:
There are many mad people governing Nigeria. That money can empower 130,000 entrepreneurs with a million naira grant which can boost the economy, remove folks from "job seeker" to "self employed" and those SMEs also have the potential of employing at least two people.

Religion doesn't generate 1 naira for Nigeria yet ppl would still carry our small money and give it to Saudi. Religion is personal and everyone should care out his religious obligatons at his/her personal cost.
You said it all....

I still intend to sue the my state government for not sending Nigerian Buddhist and Hindus on pilgrimage since other religions have the benefit.

Wasting resource on Middle-East religions inherited over generations.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by SoNature(m): 4:49pm On Sep 02, 2017
omenkaLives:
You people always seem to be the first to take shots. When they come pounding your head now, you'd tuck your tail between your legs crying "everybody hates us for no reason".

Smh.
Shut your trap, mister!
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by breakeven: 4:58pm On Sep 02, 2017
Nigeria is a hopeless country.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by xtiandamondre(m): 4:59pm On Sep 02, 2017
Misplaced Priority
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by olajizz01(m): 4:59pm On Sep 02, 2017
SaiNigeria:
Hope Ogun, Osun, Oyo, Ondo and Ekiti states weren't among them cos it will be an injustice if they are going by the hunger in their respective lands
Guess u kept trooping into SW every seconds as if your region has been torn by war becos there is hunger in the region,u are a big fool with fish brain.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by ElderlyPerson(m): 4:59pm On Sep 02, 2017
Hope Ogun, Osun, Oyo, Ondo and Ekiti states weren't among them cos it will be an injustice if they are going by the hunger in their respective lands.
Must you exhibit that your insensibility and inferiority of your useless clans hereYour foolishness is like peak milk(it's in you).
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by olajizz01(m): 5:12pm On Sep 02, 2017
Redoil:
Omenkalives do you notice that 99.5% of the state mention are apc the so called progressive and the prosperous party that lied to nigerians in their cv?
If you agree with me that apc and their online minions are the solution to nigerian problem click like
If not click share
U are not making sense at all,almost all pdp state were in SS and SE and they were virtually christains.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by Augiiee(m): 5:20pm On Sep 02, 2017
abouzaid:
only in the zoo. Nigeria subsidizes forex for pilgrimages but refused to do the same for Nigerians studying abroad.
Must they study abroad?
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by manfred10(m): 5:21pm On Sep 02, 2017
[quote author=Statsocial post=60062Imagine Ondo paying 1.5 billion on Hajj. I'm sure the state is still owing salaries o.

I just saw the pictures you posted along your comment. I think is shameful what social platforms like nairaland and lindaikeji is doing to our society. I hope NCC does something about this. But I can assure you one thing now and you can take it to the bank in 50 yrs to come. You will NEVER be happy in life if you continue to harbour hate on humans like yourself created by God.

You can't sow bitterness and reap happiness, you can't sow discord and reap peace. Life is a seed don't think because you can form fastest finger on the internet would exempt God's wrath from you for mocking poor people and casting aspersions on them.

Mind you this admonition is for both senseless groups of ppl who shout afonja and Igbo up and about.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by MrIrohKenedy: 5:22pm On Sep 02, 2017
Narldon:

This is the Best Quote I've seen Today!

do you know omenkalives grin
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by omojeesu(m): 5:25pm On Sep 02, 2017
That's why they will NEVER support restructuring with so much free money available to use as they wish!
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by AFONJAPIG(m): 5:26pm On Sep 02, 2017
with all this free social benefits with Niger Delta oil, north will never support restructuring/referendum ....
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by johnnyvid(m): 5:41pm On Sep 02, 2017
So so pathetic our leaders are spending huge money on religion tourism abroad. Like my state governor that hasn't paid his workers salary and he's still sending his relatives and concubine abroad for hajj. It is only God that will judge in this kind of dispensation they put us into. Lautech students are still at home for more than five months and one governor is there shouting ApC change. It will never better for them and their government. Even I heard that the state of osun governor sponsored more than actual number of people to hajj this year alone. Ogbeni destroyed his state to the extent that his people are raining curses to him by the day. Carrying religion like carrying gala can't help our economy. These are the reason why most of them doesn't support restructuring. Enough of Apc government in the state.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by johnnyvid(m): 5:45pm On Sep 02, 2017
Augiiee:
Must they study abroad?
excuse me please. Each and everyone has his or her choice to live. He prefer to study abroad to enjoy the benefit of learning in abroad. Stop beefing him. It is the useless leaders that will should blame and not him okay. Free him.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by johnnyvid(m): 5:46pm On Sep 02, 2017
ElderlyPerson:
Hope Ogun, Osun, Oyo, Ondo and Ekiti states weren't among them cos it will be an injustice if they are going by the hunger in their respective lands.
Must you exhibit that your insensibility and inferiority of your useless clans hereYour foolishness is like peak milk(it's in you).
all the states sponsored their people to hajj.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by Kingspin(m): 5:52pm On Sep 02, 2017
The same people that prefer killing over food and education. Abuja should be scrapped. That is why we need restructuring so that by the time your state earn her revenue the sense to use it way will appear.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by Kingspin(m): 6:02pm On Sep 02, 2017
olajizz01:
U are not making sense at all,almost all pdp state were in SS and SE and they were virtually christains.
Get sense both Christians and Muslim brotherhood pilgrims should be cancel. Religion ought to be a private thing not a government priority. Nigeria is full of useless leaders anyway.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by ModestGal(f): 6:16pm On Sep 02, 2017
please keep on saying nonsense and keep on showing your stupidity, my both parent went to hajj this year, allthough things has been tough,but they could make it. That is why we muslim will always say inshalla,meaning by Gods grace because its only through God that things are possible. And no goverment sponsored them abroad. Nigeria is not the only country right now in Mecca, there are so many countries much more than the numbers of Nigerian pilgrims. You can keep beefing Islam from now till eternity, but still the truth shall prevail. And whether you like it or not, if the whole world has recession, people will always go to HAJJ when God answers thier prayers. Even when therr were no airplanes, no vehicles, no recessiom, people still go to Hajj. pease beef more
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by egoldman(m): 6:22pm On Sep 02, 2017
This is madness , anyone going to mecca or jerusalem must pay from his pocket angry angry
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by tete7000(m): 7:37pm On Sep 02, 2017
bonylaxxy:
Religion is the problem of this country
Religion is not, politicians are. They use religion as a guise. With or without religious they wouldn't have fared better. Infact without a concept of an almighty God who will ultimately reward or punish depending on one's life's project, they would probably fare worse. If religion hasn't solved problems, atheism have not done any good anywhere either.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by Otunba2004(m): 7:43pm On Sep 02, 2017
Statsocial:
Gbenro Adeoyeand

Jesusegun Alagbe

At least N136.5bn has been spent on Hajj in 2017 by state governments and individuals despite the current recession in the country,Saturday PUNCHinvestigation has revealed.

According to the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria, no fewer than 91,000 Nigerians had arrived in Saudi Arabia out of the over 1.7 million foreign pilgrims in the country to perform this year’s Hajj. Meanwhile, the average Hajj fare approved by NAHCON to states for each traveller is N1.5m.

For example, information made available by NAHCON showing the approved 2017 Hajj seats and fares per state disclosed the package for travellers from Nasarawa State as N1,544,659.85; Niger, N1,525,483.30; Ondo, N1,485,096.07; Katsina, N1,498,502.70; Bauchi, N1,523,122.41; Plateau, N1,529,036.80; Sokoto, N1,521,461.65; and Kwara, N1,501,571.27, among others.

Therefore, at an average fare of N1.5m, 91,000 Nigerians would have spent a minimum of N136.5bn on the exercise, with part of it coming from public purse provided by state governments.

Although going on Hajj at least once in a lifetime is one of the five pillars of Islam, the Quran described it as a religious obligation that is meant for the faithful who can afford it. Meanwhile, visiting Jerusalem for pilgrimage is not an obligation for Christians.

However, state governments have been sponsoring people to Mecca and Jerusalem for pilgrimage andSaturday PUNCHhas information that Katsina, Bauchi, Plateau and Sokoto states had sponsored people on pilgrimage this year.

For instance, Governor Aminu Masari of Katsina State recently disclosed that his administration had been subsidising Hajj exercise for Muslims with N1bn annually.
Masari, while inaugurating an 18-member board for the Katsina State Pilgrims’ Welfare Board, had said no amount spent on religious activities could be considered as too much and described pilgrimage to Mecca as “neither a picnic nor a holiday, but an act of worship, as enshrined in the Holy Quran and the Sunnah of Prophet Muhammad.”

Similarly, the Bauchi State Government spent over N262,650,000 as subsidy on the state’s Muslim pilgrims to this year’s Hajj.
Governor Mohammed Abubakar had disclosed this while delivering his farewell address to 3,090 pilgrims, where he boasted that the state could afford the sponsorship despite economic recession.

“Despite the economic hardship situation, this administration has continued to fund the operation of the state Pilgrims Welfare Board, both at home and at the holy land, so as to guarantee your comfort and satisfaction.
“We have also subsidised the cost of your accommodation in Mecca, upon which the government had to pay at least the sum of 850 Saudi Riyals (N85,000) for each of you so that you will be accommodated in a beautiful edifice close to the Haram,” Abubakar had said.

Also this year, the Plateau State Government went back on its 2015 decision to no longer sponsor both Muslims and Christians on pilgrimage due to the dwindling economic fortune of the state.

It was reported that the state government had sponsored 616 Muslims for the 2017 Hajj, with the state governor, Simon Lalong, saying at a farewell ceremony for the pilgrims from the state that the state government was willing to make the “sacrifice as a result of the relevance of holy pilgrimage to the citizens of the state.”

The Sokoto State Government had spent N91m to sponsor 90 Islamic clerics to the lesser Hajj in June.

The state Commissioner for Religious Affairs, Alhaji Mani Katami, had also announced that each of the benefiting clerics was entitled to a Basic Travelling Allowance of N250,000.
State governments’ sponsorship of pilgrimage has been going on for long. Last year, the Executive Secretary, Taraba State Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board, Alhaji Umar Leme, said the state government had released N288.5m to sponsor about 166 persons on Hajj.

http://punchng.com/despite-recession-states-others-spend-over-n136-5bn-on-hajj/

Lalasticlala
it's high time for state and federal to stay away from sponsor anybody to hajj or Jerusalem, religion is personal thing, I don't know why our government keep in wasting people tax on irrelevant thing, if anybody likes to visit holy land that means you have money to do so, nobody stop you doing it but our government using religion as a way of campaigns.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by agrovick(m): 8:24pm On Sep 02, 2017
Yet ASUU is on strike same with LAUTECH.
smh
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by seXytOhbAd(m): 9:57pm On Sep 02, 2017
Okay. I can now see why Nnamdi Kanu and co call Nigeria a zoo. Only animals will see Hunger coming and yet decide to eat all their food and finish it without sensibly saving for the future.
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by akigbemaru: 12:57am On Sep 03, 2017
Statsocial:
Gbenro Adeoyeand

Jesusegun Alagbe

At least N136.5bn has been spent on Hajj in 2017 by state governments and individuals despite the current recession in the country,Saturday PUNCHinvestigation has revealed.

According to the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria, no fewer than 91,000 Nigerians had arrived in Saudi Arabia out of the over 1.7 million foreign pilgrims in the country to perform this year’s Hajj. Meanwhile, the average Hajj fare approved by NAHCON to states for each traveller is N1.5m.

For example, information made available by NAHCON showing the approved 2017 Hajj seats and fares per state disclosed the package for travellers from Nasarawa State as N1,544,659.85; Niger, N1,525,483.30; Ondo, N1,485,096.07; Katsina, N1,498,502.70; Bauchi, N1,523,122.41; Plateau, N1,529,036.80; Sokoto, N1,521,461.65; and Kwara, N1,501,571.27, among others.

Therefore, at an average fare of N1.5m, 91,000 Nigerians would have spent a minimum of N136.5bn on the exercise, with part of it coming from public purse provided by state governments.

Although going on Hajj at least once in a lifetime is one of the five pillars of Islam, the Quran described it as a religious obligation that is meant for the faithful who can afford it. Meanwhile, visiting Jerusalem for pilgrimage is not an obligation for Christians.

However, state governments have been sponsoring people to Mecca and Jerusalem for pilgrimage andSaturday PUNCHhas information that Katsina, Bauchi, Plateau and Sokoto states had sponsored people on pilgrimage this year.

For instance, Governor Aminu Masari of Katsina State recently disclosed that his administration had been subsidising Hajj exercise for Muslims with N1bn annually.
Masari, while inaugurating an 18-member board for the Katsina State Pilgrims’ Welfare Board, had said no amount spent on religious activities could be considered as too much and described pilgrimage to Mecca as “neither a picnic nor a holiday, but an act of worship, as enshrined in the Holy Quran and the Sunnah of Prophet Muhammad.”

Similarly, the Bauchi State Government spent over N262,650,000 as subsidy on the state’s Muslim pilgrims to this year’s Hajj.
Governor Mohammed Abubakar had disclosed this while delivering his farewell address to 3,090 pilgrims, where he boasted that the state could afford the sponsorship despite economic recession.

“Despite the economic hardship situation, this administration has continued to fund the operation of the state Pilgrims Welfare Board, both at home and at the holy land, so as to guarantee your comfort and satisfaction.
“We have also subsidised the cost of your accommodation in Mecca, upon which the government had to pay at least the sum of 850 Saudi Riyals (N85,000) for each of you so that you will be accommodated in a beautiful edifice close to the Haram,” Abubakar had said.

Also this year, the Plateau State Government went back on its 2015 decision to no longer sponsor both Muslims and Christians on pilgrimage due to the dwindling economic fortune of the state.

It was reported that the state government had sponsored 616 Muslims for the 2017 Hajj, with the state governor, Simon Lalong, saying at a farewell ceremony for the pilgrims from the state that the state government was willing to make the “sacrifice as a result of the relevance of holy pilgrimage to the citizens of the state.”

The Sokoto State Government had spent N91m to sponsor 90 Islamic clerics to the lesser Hajj in June.

The state Commissioner for Religious Affairs, Alhaji Mani Katami, had also announced that each of the benefiting clerics was entitled to a Basic Travelling Allowance of N250,000.
State governments’ sponsorship of pilgrimage has been going on for long. Last year, the Executive Secretary, Taraba State Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board, Alhaji Umar Leme, said the state government had released N288.5m to sponsor about 166 persons on Hajj.

http://punchng.com/despite-recession-states-others-spend-over-n136-5bn-on-hajj/

Lalasticlala
Re: Despite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj by Yahami(m): 7:32am On Sep 03, 2017
why is punch trying to bring us fake news now, this is money that each participants were been order to pay as per head. is punch telling the world that money that my brother and sister pay is from National Hajj Commission. no its been paid by themselves or their love once, well wishers and so on. FG pays no dime to even support them
1 2 3 Reply

Yahaya Abdullahi: It Is An Insult To Say Senators Shouldn’t Spend N5.5bn On CarsNigerians Drag Senate To Court Over Plans To Spend N5.5bn On Luxury CarsDespite Recession, States, Others Spend Over N136.5bn On Hajj234

How About A Nigeria Governed By President Omoyele Sowore?Developmental Indices: South West Vs North WestAhmad Lawan: APC Will Continue To Rule Lagos, Nigeria