Stats: 3,162,049 members, 7,849,241 topics. Date: Monday, 03 June 2024 at 05:01 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (1425) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11854993 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1422) (1423) (1424) (1425) (1426) (1427) (1428) ... (16247) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mumemma: 9:20pm On Sep 04, 2017
ve been sayn it.
we need a LB. We need Udenze or Oshaniwa
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:21pm On Sep 04, 2017
Goke7:

Correct coach, that is the hallmark of a coach who know what he wants. Reminds me of mourinho last season who focussed on winning Europa rather than fighting for a fourth place in the epl to qualify for uefa champ league. The coach targeted four points against Cameroon and he got it. He knows he cant loose the next two games as he is done with the strongest team in the group so far. Na we dey worry, the coach and the players already know qualification is sealed

Oh please. We are better than that. The negativity was too much. It was like watching a cartoon called COW AND CHICKEN.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 9:21pm On Sep 04, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

For Christ sake, we are Nigeria and we are a great footballing Nation. We have quality talents that we could set up and give the Camerounians a run for their money. We were very negative. We could play better than that. Concerning Nwakali, the call-up is not based on merit alone but training with the team.

I think in 2014, Juan Manuel Iturbe had not merited a call-up for Argentina but was training with the team and even followed the team to camp in Brazil for the World Cup.

We must not always wait for the sun to shine on player before calling them up.

Cameroon that played us with bravery, are they Spain?

Before this weekend's fixtures did you think we would beat Cameroon 4-0 in Uyo?

Because of that result our egotism is back. You beat the African Champions 4-0 at home played 1-1 away and you say we are better than the way they played today.

I hear you. We are on the same level with Germany.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by daveP(m): 9:23pm On Sep 04, 2017
pyrex23:
definately alampasu
lol. you no wan c ezenwa?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 9:23pm On Sep 04, 2017
edi287:

Yeah we do need a CM. I don't trust that Ndidi - Onazi axis.. they should be competing for a place instead of playing together. For now, we should either try out Ogu or move Mikel to CM and play someone like Etebo or Iwobi as a 10 but we need Mikel in the final third...Iwobi is a great 10 but he needs to work on his stamina.
This is definitely an understated problem we have . It was annoying watching the lack of control in the midfield.

I think they both played to instructions because they did very well until we conceded, though Mikel is another factor that helped them stabilized.

Ogu is a natural CMF but I think Rohr wanted to defend only else he would have brought in Ogu who is more attacking minded but very weak in defending.

However, we need to start looking out for more CMF that could at least control the game should Mikel is out.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:23pm On Sep 04, 2017
Icon4s:

Before this game did you think we would beat Cameroon 4-0 I'm Uyo?

Because of that result our egotism is back. You beat the African Champions 4-0 at home played 1-1 away and you say we are better than the way they played today.

I am more concerned about convincing display than just the score. If you keep playing well, the team will keep getting better and with time achieving nice results with good score.

We should stop towing the line of parking bus.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon79(m): 9:25pm On Sep 04, 2017
Omo, he came on but it wasn't to play Mikel's role. Mikel Agu was already playing that role.
So don't put the collapse on Etebo yet .... if you carefully analyze his game, you'll realize that he has the skill sets to play the playmaker role.
Trust me on that one, some of us had played (and coached) this game to a pretty decent levels.

O pari

TheGoodJoe:

Etebo!? shocked

The same one that came in today and still could not solve the problem. The same one who could not orchestrate the midfield in the match against South Africa. Or are you talking of another Etebo?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by daveP(m): 9:25pm On Sep 04, 2017
LogoDWhiz:
Bro, dnt forget zambia game is still until next month. Next international break.
Sure. glad it panned out well. longest time man! you try o
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by AIG07: 9:25pm On Sep 04, 2017
I'm not happy with the performances of two people and they are:
coach Rohr and Elderson Echiejile.
Reason been that...

1. Echiejile was our weakest link in both matches. He does not merit a starting shirt. The saddest part is that he can't improve any longer so we need a replacement asap. He made Moses and Onazi over worked and capped it all by unbalancing the defence. Practically all players came to his rescue.

2. I made a call on our coach's substitution techniques. He seem to be efficient in substitution. Why for God's sake will u sub like for like while leading. If the players on bench ain't good enough then don't invite them again. Rather than just putting them through emotional stress.

I have never supported Ndidi-Onazi combo. Both players are not good passers. They both lack vision. It cost us a win today cos the battle was lost at the midfield. Kudos to Shehu, Ekong and Balogun. This three salvaged the draw for us.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 9:26pm On Sep 04, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

I am more concerned about convincing display than just the score. If you keep playing well, the team will keep getting better and with time achieving nice results with good score.

We should stop towing the line of parking bus.

More concerned about convincing displays than the scores. Chai na wa.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:27pm On Sep 04, 2017
Icon4s:

Before this weekend's fixtures did you think we would beat Cameroon 4-0 in Uyo?

Is Cameroon on the same level with Germany? We were very boring and negative. You can not change that.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 9:28pm On Sep 04, 2017
Goke7:
Nigerians are ungrateful lots, so you wanna go to Yaoundé and win 4-0 nil, common guys, these are the African champions and you want them to lie down for you to whip them 4-0 nil in their backyard? And who is blaming our courageous keeper or the left back? Pls this is a marathon, every country wants to be at the world cup. We have got 10 points and unbeaten in 4 games and still folks are abusing our players or the coach. What for?

We are just too emotional as Nigerians, some of us can't even last 5 mins on a soccer field and we have guts to abuse players who are holding their own against African soccer giants who have all won the afcon cup one time or the other.

It's not a must to qualify now when you still have two matches to go. There will be stiff competition nah
I tell you. Some people are even here blaming one imaginary party that ONLY ANS reported.

Ungrateful lot the bunch of them. You want to collect six points from African Champions during World Cup Qualifiers, if that is not greed, I don't know is what is.

Show me another team in this qualifiers with a record as good as ours despite playing relatively weaker opposition, they can't, but they think they have the right to complain about this player and that player and who partied and who did not.

Nonsense!

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:30pm On Sep 04, 2017
Icon4s:

More concerned about convincing displays than the scores. Chai na wa.

Yes. How else will the team grow if we can not learn to play well?

Look at Bosz last season with Ajax. Even after conceding five in the Champions League qualifiers, you could tell that team was going places. That same season, he reached the Europa League finals. How can we Park bus in that way. It was awful to watch.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by daveP(m): 9:30pm On Sep 04, 2017
TheSuperNerd:
Well.... I haven't tried myself out I'm actual coaching before but I already understand and deeply appreciate these coaches' challenges...

But Gary... he thought it all goes by the book and by stats and all that theoretical mumbo jumbo... lol... he met reality soon after. Hahahaha....

But Sir Dave... you bad oooo.... so now confess... why you call me Neville's boss? cheesy I saw that comment and laughed so hard my tummy hurt... wetin Gary do you? hahahaha...

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 9:30pm On Sep 04, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

Oh please. We are better than that. The negativity was too much. It was like watching a cartoon called COW AND CHICKEN.
our 4-0 win has greatly affected your judgment of the team.

See, we are not Arsenal that will play beautiful football without results. If we are playing negatively and getting results, so be it. Who gives a shiiit how we play as long as we get the needed results?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by solonnachi: 9:30pm On Sep 04, 2017
VACANCY! VACANCY!! VACANCY!!!
The Super Eagles of Nigeria are desperately in need of an experienced reliable, skillful and dependable Left back player. All applicants can now apply.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 9:30pm On Sep 04, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

Nigeria 0: South Africa 2.
It was positively that caused that defeat. Go back and read our comments days to that match. Icon4s was tempered in his comments and the results justified him.
I don't understand this negativity you talking about. The first leg Cameroun came with positivity and we punished them hard. We weren't negative, we were wise. You wanted swashbuckling football abi? I do too but not today at least.

We often stand in the compound of the coward and point to the ruins in the house of the brave man.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 9:31pm On Sep 04, 2017
Look... Egbon Forgiveness... don't hesitate to call the names... say them...

Lemme start...

Joel Obi.... Abduljaleel Ajagun..... Kelechi Nwakali (in the long run)...... who else?

These are Ball Holders and CMF materials... We cannot keep watching our midfield plays collapse almost every moment Mikel steps out.

forgiveness:

I think they both played to instructions because they did very well until we conceded, though Mikel is another factor that helped them stabilized.

Ogu is a natural CMF but I think Rohr wanted to defend only else he would have brought in Ogu who is more attacking minded but very weak in defending.

However, we need to start looking out for more CMF that could at least control the game should Mikel is out.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by pyrex23(m): 9:32pm On Sep 04, 2017
tbaba1234:

The game plan was excellent... The Cameroonians could not manage a single chance inspite of all the possession. Nothing changed with the sub. The Keeper just needed to keep his head.
sir tbaba.....who is better at LB ebeui or aina
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by AndreTAyodeji(m): 9:32pm On Sep 04, 2017
TheSuperNerd:
It is official!!!!!!

I am sorry.... but I cannot take this anymore.... Elderson Echiejile is the worst player in our First XI.... he is the only player whose place needs serious bad-ass upgrade.. chaaaiiiiii...... shocked

How do we go about replacing this guy now? He has been our first choice left back for quite a good while....

His fullback partner on the other side, Shehu was a class act.... He made a game-high Four interceptions alongside Onazi who also had four...

Leon followed next with about 2 or 3 interceptions....

I cry for our left back position.

Yo bro,please what is our chances of getting Jordan Torunarigha?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:32pm On Sep 04, 2017
AIG07:
I'm not happy with the performances of two people and they are:
coach Rohr and Elderson Echiejile.
Reason been that...

1. Echiejile was our weakest link in both matches. He does not merit a starting shirt. The saddest part is that he can't improve any longer so we need a replacement asap. He made Moses and Onazi over worked and capped it all by unbalancing the defence. Practically all players came to his rescue.

2. I made a call on our coach's substitution techniques. He seem to be efficient in substitution. Why for God's sake will u sub like for like while leading. If the players on bench ain't good enough then don't invite them again. Rather than just putting them through emotional stress.

I have never supported Ndidi-Onazi combo. Both players are not good passers. They both lack vision. It cost us a win today cos the battle was lost at the midfield. Kudos to Shehu, Ekong and Balogun. This three salvaged the draw for us.

Em. Ekong gave the Camerounians some killer passes. He needs caution on that. He should stop trying to be too inventive and connect simple passes to his midfielders to create for the forwards.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by soetanoreoluwa(m): 9:32pm On Sep 04, 2017
safarigirl:
I tell you. Some people are even here blaming one imaginary party that ONLY ANS reported.

Ungrateful lot the bunch of them. You want to collect six points from African Champions during World Cup Qualifiers, if that is not greed, I don't know is what is.

Show me another team in this qualifiers with a record as good as ours despite playing relatively weaker opposition, they can't, but they think they have the right to complain about this player and that player and who partied and who did not.

Nonsense!

Lol... I tire o... Dem boys really tried... We could only get better...

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:34pm On Sep 04, 2017
Mujtahida:

Nigeria 0: South Africa 2.
I don't understand this negativity you talking about. The first leg Cameroun came with positivity and we punished them hard. We weren't negative, we were wise. You wanted swashbuckling football abi? I do too but today at least.

We often stand in the compound of the coward and point to the ruins in the house of the brave man.

We still had some invention against Cameroon at Uyo. We still wanted to prove we could beat them. In this game, we set up not to lose. Cameroon looked like Brazil playing Libya.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by soetanoreoluwa(m): 9:35pm On Sep 04, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

Em. Ekong gave the Camerounians some killer passes. He needs caution on that. He should stop trying to be too inventive and connect simple passes to his midfielders to create for the forwards.

Oga goodjoe you are too strict and rigid... It takes alot of time for you to bend rules... grin

Can we have a perfect team without no mistakes in this world? Or perfect player... Ekong Realyy tried today... Helping Sheu out...

I understand you bro.. But we get the job down... That's it...

Cool temper... Take a glass of �

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:36pm On Sep 04, 2017
safarigirl:
our 4-0 win has greatly affected your judgment of the team.

See, we are not Arsenal that will play beautiful football without results. If we are playing negatively and getting results, so be it. Who gives a shiiit how we play as long as we get the needed results?

So why did God bless us with such creative talents, if we are to play Cow and Chicken football? . cheesy
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Goke7: 9:36pm On Sep 04, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

your views today are extreme, when last have the eagles played with such hunger, pls free the coach and the boys, they have met their personal targets so far. Thank God they did not loose the match, you guys would have been calling for Rohr's head by now.

Have we forgotten where we are coming from? none participation in the last two afcons. Your views which I respect so much on this platform are extreme today and sorry don't agree with you.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon79(m): 9:37pm On Sep 04, 2017
Folks, enough of all these permutations. Here's your SIMPLE MATH: Nigeria now need just one point against Zambia in Uyo in October to qualify for #Russia2018.

So get all those champagne bottles chilled for the October 7th cracker at Uyo.

O pari
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:38pm On Sep 04, 2017
Is this what I watched today? grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Goke7: 9:39pm On Sep 04, 2017
soetanoreoluwa:

Oga goodjoe you are too strict and rigid... It takes alot of time for you to bend rules... grin

Can we have a perfect team without no mistakes in this world? Or perfect player... Ekong Realyy tried today... Helping Sheu out...

I understand you bro.. But we get the job down... That's it...

Cool temper... Take a glass of �

It's like some folks think cameroon made no mistakes at all in uyo and we beat them 4 nil like that grin mistakes lead to goals and if we made only one mistake that led to a goal in yaounde, na sin?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by PDPGuy: 9:39pm On Sep 04, 2017
tbaba1234:

I don't see how Zambia wins..

Me neither. The Algerians are good enough to secure a home draw.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 9:39pm On Sep 04, 2017
Plssss if na by experience then Taiye Taiwo should be called up.... Besides which "experienced LB do we boast of now aside Echiejile and Taiwo"? None...

But based on other qualities and based on super potentials... I suggest Jordan Torunarigha... we should make that guy our top LB priority. Abeg!!!! NFF Abeg!!!! Rohr U hia!!!!

Until then.. Ola Aina can do a job at LB.... but Aina is our longterm RB option alongside Shehu Abdullahi... and it will be hard to displace Shehu even if Nura shows up too...

So Aina can serve as LB "gradual upgrade" for now going forward while we pursue Torunarigha to give us quality depth in that position.

solonnachi:
VACANCY! VACANCY!! VACANCY!!!
The Super Eagles of Nigeria are desperately in need of an experienced reliable, skillful and dependable Left back player. All applicants can now apply.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by soetanoreoluwa(m): 9:40pm On Sep 04, 2017
[quote author=safarigirl post=60137045]our 4-0 win has greatly affected your judgment of the team.

See, we are not Arsenal that will play beautiful football without results. If we are playing negatively and getting results, so be it. Who gives a shiiit how we play as long as we get the needed results?[/quo

God bless you... Who cares about ball possession... I could remember Greece 2004 won European Cup with not entertaining match... The trophy is part of their history

Nigeria ain't arsenal that care about decent entertaining match without a result... Win is win draw is draw...

(1) (2) (3) ... (1422) (1423) (1424) (1425) (1426) (1427) (1428) ... (16247) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Ginistev, LoverOfPussy, TheGoodJoe(m), foxman04, Danielnino00(m), Mujtahida and 10 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 63